About Bellway Homes

Bellway Homes is one of the largest housebuilders in the UK. Based in Newcastle, it operates up and down the country. Bellway creates new homes with three pillars underpinning every project – quality, service and trust. Read on for more information and verbatim Bellway Homes reviews.

Developments

You’ll find a selection of London developments by Bellway Homes on HomeViews, from E14’s waterfront Limehouse Basin to the glamorous The River Gardens in SE10. Look out for in-construction Bellway Homes developments on HomeViews to see what’s coming up, too.

This collection of one, two and three-bedroom apartments – including a handful of wheelchair accessible homes – will no doubt appeal to City and Canary Wharf workers, first-time buyers, and families looking to be a part of the picturesque community of Greenwich. The development stretches for 300 metres along the Thames and covers a 12-acre site, set within pristine landscaped gardens, with views across the City of London and Canary Wharf.” – Bellway Homes review by HomeViews Property Pro on The River Gardens.

Bellway Homes reviews

“Great location that over time will improve. A variety of transport links available and only a short trip to central London.” – Anonymous, verified resident at The Residence.

“The building management are always responding to me on time and even better the concierge, they’re friendly and we all get along. My neighbours are all professionals and never disturb us either.” – Julie, verified resident at Lansbury Square.

“The gardens here are well maintained, plenty of greenery and ponds that are great for the kids to play around in summer.” – Deepak, verified resident at City East at Barking Riverside.

So, to find out more – click on the developments below to read Bellway reviews from residents. Do you live in a Bellway Homes development? Leave a review here. If you can’t find a Bellway Homes development on HomeViews, click here to submit a new listing.

Number of Developments

71

Ratings

3.94 Rating

Rating (based on 886 reviews)

Excellent

31.94%

Very Good

44.81%

Average

18.17%

Disappointing

2.14%

Very Poor

2.93%

Developments

MAP

Showing all 71 developments

Bellway Homes reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 886 reviews

Vibrant area

I bought my flat 5 years ago and moved in 4 years ago. Having previously lived in the Clapham area for 8 years I was drawn to this development because I wanted to stay in the area and this felt like a good opportunity to buy. My purchasing experience was very quick – I did the viewing on the Saturday, offered on the Sunday and offer was accepted on the Monday! The process as all very easy but because I had bought quite far into the project there wasn’t an opportunity to make any major requests for changes – I think I could make choices like what type of dishwasher I wanted but nothing more major than that.

I believe Bellway used a subcontractor to do the actual building work and there have been some really bizarre design decisions. For example in the bathroom there is a shaving point behind a tile! You would have to smash the tile if you want to use it and if I sell no one is going to know it exists.

I moved in about a year after buying, I think there was a delay by a few months. There were a lot of small snagging issues – like over 40 – I don’t consider myself a detailed person but there were a lot on my list. Bellway did come and sort them out but I think because of the subcontractor it just took longer and it was just a hassle.

There is now a managing agent who is good, they seem to look after the site well. It was a pain at handover as we were all having issues with our boiler and there was a battle between the managing agent and Bellway over who was responsible so it just took a long time to get sorted – but all is now good and well managed.

I love my balcony and view of Battersea Power Station, it is a great location and that is the best thing about the development. I do think the open plan layout is good in the flats, my flat is small but has a nice feel from the open plan layout. I think it has good storage, when there were two of us in the flat it was tough but it is a nice size of flat.

The wifi was set up and provided by the developer, I tried to change company but they couldn’t figure out how and for me it is fine. There is no parking and within our lease we are not eligible to get a parking permit on the streets nearby so that is definitely something to be aware of.

I think the flat value at the time of buying was good and it has held well with the market, it might not have gone up much but that is to do with the general London market and not the development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is amazing. It is 2 mins to the tube, 4 minutes to the overland and Clapham Common is close by with lots of restaurant and bars. Clapham North is slightly cheaper than Clapham Common but it is still close to everything going on and within 15 minutes on the tube you can get to everywhere.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The flats are really well insulated and over the winter months I have no heating bill but in the summer the flats can get really hot.

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

We are getting our parents to move in too!

We love this development, we currently live in the Blackheath area but we want to stay close to friends and family and also take advantage of the developments happening in Greenwich for a longer term investment. Wewould like to buy and moved in with our daughter – we love the facilities here with pool/gym/tennis court/childrens area/parking it just makes life so easy. My parents are looking to downsize but didn’t want to move out of London so they are also considering buying! – it is great that they will be here and I can keep an eye on them but also all the facilities mean they stay active but I don’t have to worry about my dad stressing about the ongoing issues with our tired family home.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If buying off plan speak to the team if you have specific requirements on your kitchen preferences (i do!) they are very accomodating

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Sadly lacking unfortunately.

I have been in a Bellway home for 2 years now. I wanted to give them time to fully assess.
Sadly lacking unfortunately. Initially I would have said they were great but as time has gone on their customer service has been bad.

I have had to chase numerous times for repairs, follow repairs and repeated repairs due to not being resolved.
Having to constantly chase up on things is not acceptable.
There has been poor workmanship on various things in the home unfortunately.
On the estate generally, things have not been completed or ave been missed altogether compared to the site plans. Some things with no hope of being done now.

Cost cutting and corner cutting actions have left things not up to scratch. You can literally see where they have tried to penny pinch and not do something properly and to a standard around the site in general just to save their costs.
Dead trees not replaced. Pavements left holey with old posts still protruding.
Patches of land left barren and weed ridden. Cracked and sunken paving.

There have been issues with contractors on site and a mismanagement of parking requirements, Hgv access and parking issues. Poor planning of deliveries and the impact on residents. Littering by contractors terribly.

We took into account that this is a building site and allowances have to be made but it has been extreme and the lack of management and care to the residents unacceptable.

The estate is such a lovely estate that is has been a shame to see a lack of attention to detail in the finishings.

I unfortunately would not consider buying from Bellway again following my experience and would also really think about the idea of buying a new home from a large corporate building company like this in the future.
Profit is king above fulfulling actual plans and completing works to a high standard.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location and area itself is lovely.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Speed and profit is more important than quality and attention to detail.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Apathy and slow until you have to escalate. Only taken seriously after numerous complaints and escalating and losing temper.

2
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The flat feels very modern and spacious and as we are on a corner there is light from two sides.

I bought in Hale Village 4 years ago before the building had been completed and moved into my flat a year later. At the time of buying the London property market was booming and we were finding it impossible to find a place. We were looking at lots of different options and not much choice as we wanted to be within Tottenham. We learnt about Hale Village as they were still building the final building and we queued overnight on the Friday so that we could secure a flat, some people had camped out for 3 nights.

My experience of buying with Bellway was fine. We had to wait one year whilst the building was being completed and they kept us updated. We could view the flat 2 weeks before we moved in and an opportunity to spot anything that needed doing. They then staggered the move in dates so we moved in in batches. We had a few small issues but these were sorted out. The management company has been good – for the first 2 years any issues were covered by Bellway and since then I haven’t really had to go to the management for anything. They clean the buildings and everything is looked after very well. There is a concierge for the village at the front gate but I don’t have much cause to speak to them and everything is always well looked after.

My flat is 2 bed and 2 bathroom, the second bathroom is a definite plus. The flat feels very modern and spacious and as we are on a corner there is light from two sides. The communal gardens are entered via a coded gate and are between two buildings. They always look well kept and are nice to look at.

I feel very secure within my development though Tottenham as a whole is not always considered as the safest area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We wanted to buy here because of the amazing transport links and how close it is to get to the Victoria line and the train to Liverpool Street. You also have the wetlands and Lee Valley a step from the development and it is great to have such great open spaces that make you feel like you are out of London.
It takes 20 minutes to get into town door to door are there are some great cycling routes and the lee river for running. The area is lacking some shops and restaurants which would be good with the new developments being built nearby rather than having to go elsewhere.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is no parking permit if you live in the developments – we have a car parking space but with the new developments being built there is less and less available to get and you are not allowed to apply to the council for a permit.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More