Barking Riverside, IG11

By
L&Q, Bellway Homes
Ranked 8th out of 10 in Barking
3.34 (91 reviews) 3.34 (91 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.14
Facilities
3.74
Design
3.29
Location
3.47
Value
2.71
Management

Barking Riverside is a L&Q and Bellway Residential development that offers a selection of studio, one, two and three-bedroom apartments and a range of houses in Barking. It also offers 100 units of specific build-to-rent units operated and managed by L&Q PRS. Upney Station is the closest form of public transportation and it serves the District Line Service to Upminster.

Read more Read less
Barking Riverside, IG11 Available Properties

For a 25% share

Show all
For sale
To rent
£63,750
1 Bedroom Home
1 Bed
1 Bath
548 sq ft
L&Q
More info
£81,250
2 Bedroom Home
2 Bed
1 Bath
769 sq ft
L&Q
More info

Barking Riverside, IG11 Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Private Tenants
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Showing 77 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Very nice locality and surroundings

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

The buildings are of good quality except for the claddings which are due to be replaced by the end of this year. There were a few issues when I moved in but they were resolved by Bellway homes. The neighbourhood is also friendly and is ideal for a growing family.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very nice locality with easy commute to the city, There is one convenience store and ASDA is 10 minute drive,

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew that that there was only one convenience store in the locality.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management has resolved any issues that arose after moving into the property.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for your positive review. We really appreciate you taking some time to share your experience with us.
We’re delighted to hear how happy you are in your home and neighborhood.
Much appreciated and thanks again!
Customer Service Team

I wish I bought a flat somewhere else. For the amount of management charges we pay annually, we should get more really.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2022

The overall design is not too bad but the quality of the material is not great. The cladding on the balcony needs changing and the window frames are badly fitted. There are no many green areas or parks, benches nearby and the management company is providing not great service. It’s still reasonably clean on the streets but it’s getting dirtier

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is only one local shop since 2018. Nothing has been developed further in the side of the development I live. The overground was late and the Uber boat pier too.
Streets are not dangerous but it’s smelly from the sewage plant nearby and also dusty from the building works around us. It’s not enjoyable leaving here sadly.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That it will take that long for the area to develop. 5 years here, there is only 1 corner shop, no gym, post office, etc.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Had bad management company before. Current company’s comms are better but service is still not great for what we pay

3
Facilities
3
Design
2
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Barking Riverside – Unless its your only option please don’t buy.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

This is very tough to write, as a homeowner who has lived here for 5 years now. I brought my fist ever property here over 5 years ago now on the help to buy scheme. I was 27 and desperate to make the change from paying a landlord to paying off my own mortgage. I own a modest 1st floor two bed two bath flat and I want to start with the positives, which are as follows.

The build quality is actually very good and the room sizes are by new build standards huge! Heating and electricity bills are very cheap thanks to the modern insulated design and there are several areas/ parks for young kids to play and explore. You can take a walk to the river and enjoy their small wilderness walks among long grasses and wild flowers.

Now for the not so nice parts, in the 5 years I have lived here I have seen the arrival of the uber boat service and the train station, despite these additions the value of my flat has not increased. So if your hoping to see growth on your property’s value I suggest you look elsewhere, although the help to buy scheme will save you a few bucks, the flats are over priced to ensure the developer is well compensated.

The train station, well for some reason the train line runs to gospel oak and avoids zones 1 & 2. So if your working in central its actually just as quick to get on a bus as it is to take the train. Check its route and your travel time as its still an hour. And as for the boat its allot more expensive and unless your work is close to the river your actually worse off. Again I highly recommend you check your route and travel times, plus costs.

However if you are someone who drives to work please bear in mind that the traffic in and out of the development is truly horrendous from the hours of 7am to 6pm. Again please check using google maps as I kid you not their are times it takes 15-30 mins to drive what must be all of 3 miles. And there are plenty of idiot drivers trying to undertake and push you out.

You also need to remember this development is no where near at full capacity, and seeing as the trainline goes to nowhere, people are likely to remain going by car so its only going to get worse, food for thought if I haven’t already discouraged you!

So that about wraps up transport links.

Now for the bad bits about the environment, firstly I would like to mention the lovely buzz of the overhead power lines, fortunately I am not that close to any of them however at certain periods of the day in the week they make allot of noise. My advice is try to buy as far away from them as possible, say for instance not on the development.

The deal breaker, so if you do not already know the development is situated in between two very large and very pungent human waste sites. Beckton Gas works is actually a site where they process our human waste and create methane gas, the name Beckton Gas Works is just a clever play on words. Then on the other side of the river to the east of us you have crossness sewage treatment works. Together these make up the largest waste sites in the whole of Europe, and luckily they are right on your door step. Now to be frank they don’t always smell, in fact more often than not they don’t. They have sealed the lids to allow the processing of the smelly gasses, however from time to time they have too much and need to realise it into the air. The problem is it leaves the smell of what can only be described as a 7/10 human fart rating, and say its released at 3pm, you will be left with the smell until the early hours of the morning. This tends to happen 2-3 times a week in the summer and 1-2 in the winter.

Thirdly you may or may not be aware that it is still a building site, and it is right next to gill aggregates, a company that ships in thousands of tonnes of sand. The sand is stored in giant open pits, the problem with this is the sand is free to travel with the wind. And this sand tends to land on cars, now if your using your car daily this is not a major issue however it will stick to windows, balconies and cars that don’t get used all that often. Again depending how wind a day it is will play a factor although it can get very windy what with being next to the river.

You also need to remember that the development is surrounded by a big dirty industrial site, that has many businesses that deal in waste management, they have large lorry’s carrying building waste and recycling waste and they tend to leave a trail of mess in their wake. I couldn’t tell you how many lorry’s pass through there every day but its a huge amount and they are mainly responsible for the horrendous traffic throughout the day. I don’t know if the industrial site will be moved at any point but until it is, it will continue to ruin the roads with traffic and overflowing waste.

So that round about wraps up the local environment.

So finally time to review the not so local amenities, community and developers.

I cannot deny their are now two local small co-ops, they are reasonably priced and open 7am-10pm and have very friendly, welcoming staff. You can definitely pick up a variety of supplies however as always they don’t have everything you need, so your still going to need to pop to a big store or get a home delivery. If your not a fan of online shopping then its a 15 min drive to Asda, Sainsburys or Tesco’s, although the latter two can take longer during peak traffic hours. There is a small tatty looking coffee shop next to the co-op that’s part of the older development but I have never been interested in going to it. And there is also a local pharmacy but again its small and my experiences in their have not necessarily been bad but they could definitely be allot better.

For all the gym freaks out there your closest one is back in town which is about a 25 min trip, other than that there is a floodlight pitch for football though i have never seen any invites to play. And to be fair I’m useless at football so there may be an opportunity for any football fans to join up but you would need to check first.

As for community the local church seems a blast and always has things going on, its a majority african community and they are really friendly. If you are into this sort of thing I have no doubt you will really enjoy yourself. Its as busy as the A13 slip road most days so evidently a great venue.

As for schools I cannot comment but they are new and there are several to choose from. As for trouble/ crime, I am aware that there are two local drug gangs and we have had several police vans and police squads in the local area protecting one gang from another, due to a gag related shooting. However I have to state that i have personally never had any trouble at all in my time here. And I have often stumbled home from the local bus station with absolutely no issues at all. In reality there is trouble in most areas and of all the places I have lived this definitely scores low on crime in relation to the other places I have lived. It is genuinely a very nice community here.

Finally onto the developers, now lets be real here, anyone expecting high quality service from a business that’s building cheap houses on this development is kidding themselves. They know its cheap, they know its smelly and they know if your buying here, you either cant afford anywhere else or you haven’t bothered to do your research. Fortunately the only issues i had with my place were scuffed doors and some finishing of painting. Now I had to chase them to complete what should have been done before I got the keys but one call and one email sorted it relatively pain free. However since this time I have had multiple parking issues that go undealt with and as for the maintenance charges well they are a rip off to start with and they went up 50% around 12 months ago. In total I spend £3,300.00 a year on ground rent and maintenance. And in return I get someone to hoover the communal spaces once a week and spray some cheap perfume. The lift gets a sticker once a year and a couple of blokes cut the grass once a month. The windows also get washed twice a year so all in all, I’m getting robbed as there are about 90 properties in our building.

So why write this? Well assuming this actually gets posted, I don’t want my loss and pain to be experienced by anyone who has bothered to do what I didn`t. And that’s research, as soon as the fire cladding issue is fixed on my property it will be going up for sale and I shall never return.

I am confident even if this makes it onto the website, some unfortunate sole will still buy my flat and if not I will just rent it out.

As they say you get what you pay for…

Cheap but overpriced, Smelly, poor commuter links, ridiculous traffic, now property value growth and a severe lack of local amenities.

And there are still more homes to be built so the above will only get worse.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How bad it smells, how bad the traffic is, how unclean the surrounding areas are, how bad the transport links are and how much sand blows onto the development.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are non existent and ignore every email. Too lazy to actually deal with any issues.

1
Facilities
3
Design
1
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

We are very sorry to hear you have had problems since moving to Barking Riverisde. If you would like to contact us at lqdirect@lqgroup.org.uk (with Homeviews in the subject line) a dedicated agent will get in touch.

Beautiful but Isolated Development with little to do

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2022

I love the open spaces and the are is designed so well (other than the parking) it looks beautiful and is always clean and makes me feel proud to live here. I love that the train station, busses and boat are within walking distance and cannot wait for everything else that is to come to the area. But I will stress again we are desperate for a solution to visitor parking. We haven’t been able to have any guests round and it’s very isolating. This view is shared by many of the residents I speak to.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

No local shops, bars or restaurants. Nothing to do and quite isolated, particularly as guests of residents have absolutely nowhere to park so we often feel alone that we can’t have visitors. There’s 8 visitor bays to share between hundreds of people. The Wilds is a really good space and the cafe there is awesome although open at strange times. I can see progress and events going on which is a great start. The residents gym was promised when we bought and a year later still isn’t here. I love the Uber boat and when the train station opens that will be huge for all of us. Would love to see an extension across the river. Biggest issue is visitor parking, we need far more spaces and need to allow guests to stay overnight whilst stopping residents parking their own cars / second cars there. I’m sure there are good examples of how this can be managed in other successful developments. It shouldn’t just be a money making scheme. That’s what many of the residents feel like currently.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the gym wouldn’t be ready over a year after it was promised and that there would only be 8 visitor spaces for a development set to serve tens of thousands of people.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They haven’t. They haven’t even been in communication once, not even a statement of how much we owe.

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

We are very sorry to hear you have had issues with parking at Barking Riverside. Please contact us at lqdirect@lqgroup.org.uk (with Homeviews in the subject line) and a dedicated agent will do their best to assist.

The Building materials were of poor quality: very prone to damage and with no noise cancellation whatsoever.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

The cosmetic finishes great. The flat came with appliances upon purchase, which was great also. However, we soon noticed the very poor design. The at our 3-bed flat is limited to 21 degrees, even with the heating set to the maximum, after a full day. L&Q said they could not do anything about it. The Building materials were of poor quality: very prone to damage and with no noise cancellation whatsoever.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes: new Barking Riverside overground extension. Dislikes: No amenities whatsoever as of Apr2021

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If we had known about the poor energy efficiency and design features, we would likely not purchased the property. We bought off plan and were disappointed that key information such as energy efficiency and material quality used by the developer were omitted. In all honesty, I would not purchase from L&Q again and do not recommend it to anyone.

What is the best feature of your home:

The location is the best feature. our property is located near the upcoming Barking Riverside overground extension station, which will allow better accesses to central London

1
Facilities
1
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.
We’re sorry to hear your experience hasn’t been positive. We would like to know more and help to put things right.
Please contact us at lqdirect@lqgroup.org.uk (with Homeviews in the subject line) and a dedicated agent will do their best to help resolve any concerns.
Thanks
Customer Service Team

Not a great development and poor property management

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Property management is very poor, we pay so much money and almost nothing seems to be done. It’s very disappointing. The design of the buildings is not too bad but the facilities are not great quality and they look cheap and break easily. We have wooden cladding on balconies and it looks like we’ll be asked to pay for removing it, which very unfair.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are no local shops around apart from a small coop and a pharmacy. The place is like an isolated island, nothing has changed since I moved here 3 years ago.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I didn’t realise that I’ll be leaving near recycling plants and a huge sewage plant. Big mistake!

What is the best feature of your home:

It’s a quite spacious and bright flat, and I can see the river.

3
Facilities
3
Design
2
Location
3
Value
1
Management
User submitted image of  Barking Riverside, IG11
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback!

We’re sorry to hear your experience and would like to offer our help to put things right.

Please contact us at lqdirect@lqgroup.org.uk and a dedicated agent will do their best to help resolve any concerns.

Thanks
Customer Service Team

Very nice locality

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

The building design is very nice, very well constructed. I had a few issues after I moved to the property but the builder was very helpful in getting all the outstanding issues resolved. Very nice community and locality. The place is quite safe without too much noise. I would highly recommend any one who wants to move here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very nice community and locality. The place is quite safe without too much noise. I would highly recommend any one who wants to move here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew that there was only one shop in the locality for buying house hold items.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management has been very proactive in resolving issues. They have been quite helpful.. Any issues are addressed at the earliest and they are very responsive. I had 3 issues reported in the 1st 3 years of moving in and all of them were addressed at the earliest.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for your positive review, we really appreciate you taking some time to share your experience with us.

We’re delighted to hear how happy you are in your home and neighborhood.

Much appreciate and thanks again!

Customer Service Team

Don’t buy a Bellway one but the others are good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The site will be amazing in time to come but not much happening at the moment and a local shop which was promised has still not arrived. The designs of the development is good and its just a shame that the management currently in place is useless and that coupled with Bellway housing being so bad is probably going to make the residents unhappy. Advice – Buy but not from Bellway. The whole area will be amazing in time but just not yet

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Bellway buildings are terrible with bad customer service

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

we purchased a leasehold house as Bellway stated that the entire site was leasehold yet all their new homes are now Freehold –

What is the best feature of your home:

Still standing I suppose is the best point I can state at this time.

1
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your honest review. We appreciate your feedback.
We’re sorry to hear your experience hasn’t been wholly positive. We would like to know more and help to put things right.
Please contact us at lqdirect@lqgroup.org.uk (with Homeviews in the subject line) and a dedicated agent will do their best to help resolve any concerns.
Thanks
Customer Service Team

Barking riverside -Great place to live in

Review Date Apr 2020

The design and facilities of the developed are really good .The development is eco friendly and great place for children as there are parks and play areas all around the development .I would appreciate the work of property management as the surroundings are always clean and well managed

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the park and play area for children .
Only thing I dislike is lack of train station

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I was informed well about the transport services

What is the best feature of your home:

Security and parking space is the best feature of my home

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Highly recommended, very nice place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

Very nice area, highly recommended, peaceful place to live. Bellway builders have done a fantastic job in building the houses to fantastic standards. Very nice area, highly recommended, peaceful place to live. Bellway builders have done a fantastic job in building the houses to fantastic standards.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very nice area, highly recommended, peaceful place to live

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Very nice area, highly recommended, peaceful place to live. Bellway builders have done a fantastic job in building the houses to fantastic standards.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very nice area, highly recommended, peaceful place to live. Bellway builders have done a fantastic job in building the houses to fantastic standards.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

City east !

Review Date Apr 2020

I really like the development, the buildings and people are great. The area isn’t quite as wonderful as despite the development being great there is still a high crime rate and unfortunately that doesn’t seem to be changing any time soon. Haven’t had any issues regarding neighbors or site management

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like the surroundings!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I already knew about crime but I wish I could’ve changed that aspect.

What is the best feature of your home:

To be honest I love everything about my home! I haven’t had any issues

4
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Barking Riverside, IG11

Facilities

Garden

Garden

Parking

Parking

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by L&Q

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by Bellway Homes

Location

Available properties

From £63,750

Number of developments 69

3.94

Average rating based on 873 reviews

View company
L&Q
Number of developments 68

3.70

Average rating based on 946 reviews

View company