Aston Place, B1

By
Dandara Living
1st
Ranked 1st out of 27 in Birmingham
4.86 (124 reviews) 4.86 (124 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.81
Facilities
4.73
Design
4.97
Location
4.69
Value
4.86
Management

Excellent

90%

Very Good

10%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Aston Place, by Dandara Living, sits in central Birmingham. Comprising of studio to 2-bed apartments, residents benefit from a gym with fitness classes, resident events and car parking. As well as this, the development is just five minutes from Birmingham New Street Station and the business/retail districts.

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
From £750 pcm
Studio Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
307 sq ft
Dandara Living
More info
From £895 pcm
1 Bedroom Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
452 sq ft
Dandara Living
More info
From £1,100 pcm
2 Bedroom Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
631 sq ft
Dandara Living
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Visitors/Viewers
Verified
Showing 123 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Best place we’ve ever lived – no joke

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

Everything so far has been fab. We had the smoothest stress-free moving day and the apartments have been a delight. Rooms are nice and ideal for us and the balcony is lovely. Only thing I didn’t like were the electric hobs instead of gas but we quickly got used to it and saved money because of it!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great area with nice restaurants and shops, right in the centre of town

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Perhaps a view of the view from our balcony before moving in

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Nice and friendly and always willing to help with anything.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amazing building

Review Date Apr 2021

All the staff is hugely available, the design is modern and fresh and the management is simply fantastic.

The gym is very well equipped and the common area for hosts is big and welcoming.

The area outside the building is huge and clean

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Aston place has a central and strategic location near wonderful bars and restaurants, good links

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing, everything perfect and explained before

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

In a fast, available and timely manner, I loved it

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Would recommend! 10/10

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

Very modern design and well taken care off! Residents have a gym downstairs which is great and you even can book a space/room within the building for any get-togethers, or meetings with friends!
The property managers and concierge are so nice and accommodating, they’ll do whatever can to make sure you’re happy; plus any maintenance issues are always taken care off in good timing.
Secure parking is available for residents and you can arrange this for guests visiting you aswel.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Everything you need is within walking distance: your grocery stores, retail shops, restaurants, cinema, night clubs, library etc…

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Your move in date becomes the day your direct debit for rent payment is set and this currently cannot be changed. So it’s worth considering what day you decide to move in if your pay day falls on an awkward date.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building Management have been consistent in responding promptly with any concerns or queries I’ve had. No complaints here 🙂

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Comfortable and homely!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

It is a very cozy building/apartment. The staff are very courteous and understanding. They are also ready to listen and help when required. Special shout out to the manager and Habiba who attended to me personally and helped with settling in.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I do not drive. However, there’s a huge parking space available as my friend found it easy to download the app and park in about a minute or 2. It is a very serene environment and pretty close to basic amenities and the city Centre itself.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew the electricity and water bills were included in the rent. Aside that, I’m happy with every other thing.

What is the best feature of your home:

The design and the furniture and fittings are really nice.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

New and Excellent Apartment Development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

The team managing the facility is very professional and friendly, the concierge service is fantastic, and the parcel safe room is very convenient and safe. Good soundproof system. Complementary private wifi and public gym included in the rent. The overall design of the apartments is modern and attractive, and the quality of furniture is great.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent location, close to the train station and the city centre, wide variety of shops, restaurants, and grocery stores. Parking available for extra fees. The bin is located in the basement (-1).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It would have great if there was an automated bin collection for recycling.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They respond very quickly and efficiently. The maintenance team works on site.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent development and a must if wanting to move to Birmingham

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

The design of the building is quite unique and aesthetically pleasing. There has been no issues with the apartment itself or the functions of the building such as the gym and private roof. The views are quite spectacular more so in the night. The staff are wonderful and easily approachable and do their best to resolve any issues ASAP. The furniture such as the beds and sofa are new and comfy and the entire building is always clean regardless the time

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

the development is in a great location due to the close amenities and transport links. The area is not overly busy but it has potential to be a vibrant area once lockdown is lifted.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Views in the night are recommended as I believe they are better in the night than the day however this may not be possible

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No issues so far except for a door rattling but maintenance resolved this within a day of me notifying them

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Tenant Review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Good:
– The building’s design is modern and pleasing from outside and inside.
– The building has an indoor gym which is great for blowing some steam off.
– Concierge in the building is super friendly and helpful.
– Parcel room is a perfect place for keeping your online purchases safe until you are able to receive it.

Bad:
– At the time of viewing the property, the management person who showed me the apartment told me that all apartments have exactly the same design. Later, I learned from some neighbors that similar apartments have more or less space, have or don’t have bath tubs, and all are the same price!! So, please be aware to know all layouts because you’re paying the same amount of money.
– Car parking are paid, except for persons with an NHS card! It would be great to have free of charge parking same as workers in NHS!
– The fridge in the apartment is too small. I have to buy daily groceries to accommodate inside the tiny fridge I have.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good:
– The location of the building is convenient to groceries stores (Sainsbury’s – 200 m, Tesco – 300 m).
– The city center and shopping malls are also within few hundred meters away.
– Within walking distance, there is a canal that you can enjoy walking around and has some coffee shops to enjoy having a cup of coffee as well.

Bad:
– The access to the building’s front gate is confusing. Sometimes, Uper drivers and food delivery personnel can’t access to the building’s front gate because there is a sign at the entrance prohibiting drivers somehow to enter.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

– I wish I had known that similar apartments to mine have different layouts. I would’ve choose to pay money on an apartment with better layout.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

– I would have larger fridge. The fridge in the apartment is too small.

5
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A wonderful place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Carefully thought out and stylish design.

Stylish soft furnishings, bathroom and kitchen area

The one thing that would make the bathroom perfect would be a small heater towel rail. Other than that my apartment is perfect for me

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I moved into my apartment last April 2020, I could never be happier both with the apartment and fantastic location.

Both the operational manager Kishor, the customer support ambassadors and not forgetting Paul the maintenance manager are truly a wonderful team.
I cannot praise them enough.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

What a fantastic place and location

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any repairs or issues have been dealt with efficiently and promptly

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Aston Place stars

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Best property and building management that I had in my life..really helpful and friendly.
Kishor and his staff are simply amazing.
From reception team to housekeeping and technicians.
Feeling like I was living again in my beautiful Italy.
Thank a lot Aston Place Team

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice central area served from many bar and restaurant venues.
Best place to live in city center area

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Aston place Staff is for sure one extra touch that you couldn’t find anywhere else in Birmingham.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Nothing at all..
All is perfect and nice.
Really lovely property

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely Aston Place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

The management is excellent, definitely a reason to decide to move to Aston Place. Extremely helpful with daily activities. One never needs to worry about deliveries as the building has its own safe storage and the concierge to make sure all the parcels are safely received and stored. The building includes communal facilities such i.e. gym and social spaces.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location-wise, nothing beats the location. Lot’s of shops and restaurant in a 5min walking distance. Tram station is literally next to the building. Parking is available with in the building for a monthly fee.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Personally I had no good or bad surprises, I was properly informed about all the details before moving in

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Always in timely manner, kindly and available to accommodate our schedules

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amazing Staff

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Amazing place to live and enjoy Birmingham. Special mention to Kishor and all customer service team Abs, Habiba, Kirsty, Bash, Abdul, Technician Paul & Pete , housekeeping team Carolyn , Kasha, cristina & Umu and all operational team on ground.
If you look for a perfect flat in Birmingham,Aston Place is the place that you need to looking for.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

No bad aspects.Area well served and no traffic noise

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nice staff that is always looking after you.
Very clean buildings

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management is very efficient to resolve ASAP any problems or issues

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Love living at Aston Place!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

All the staff are lovely and friendly and again feel very safe when walking into the building. The design of the building and the apartments are very modern and have everything one would need in a flat. The staff always make effort to make this feel like a proper home.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Feels very safe, good selection of restaurants and shops as it’s right in the city centre. Very convenient for the station as well.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I think everything was very nicely explained when we had a viewing, some of the flats get more sun on the balcony’s depending on where they are in the building. Sometimes building block the sun on some of them.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very speedily and quickly, one member of staff stayed on past his shift time to fix our hot water when we moved in.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent for young professionals

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Well designed and clean communal areas, friendly staff and very helpful for all queries. Response to requests is very fast. Create a homely community feel with seasonal events and occasional gifts. Good facilities with on site gym and parking. Well designed flat interior. Comfortable accommodation.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Easy access to the city centre, shops, restaurants and public transport

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Falls within low emission zone so diesel cars can be a problem

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Faster elevator response time and built in towel rack in bathroom

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great experience

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

The facilities and all services offered are amazing. I love the design of the building and the apartments and I have recommended it to friends. I just hoped there was a bigger fridge. The building management and staff are so friendly and helpful.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is very close to the center and easy access to all required facilities

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I viewed the place beforehand so I had a good idea about everything before moving in

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Installing a bigger fridge and freezer. It is very small fridge and does not fit all the essentials

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Home away from home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

I couldn’t fault Aston Place.
The building is modern, I love the communal spaces by the entrance of the building, I love that we have concierge as well as it adds to the safety element that is required in any home. I especially love that I don’t need to be home to accept parcels and that they’re kept safe in the building’s parcel room.

The team here at Aston Place make you feel welcome, there are a lot of online events organised to get people involved, on special days such as for example Valentine’s Day, I was delighted to have received a card and chocolate. It’s little touches like these that make you feel valued as a resident.

It truly is a home away from home.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Aston Place is in the perfect area. Just a short walk to New Street station and Snow Hill station as well. Within a 5-7 minute walk, you’re at the Bullring, with hundreds of shops to choose from and loads of restaurants.

Our street isn’t busy at all, however we are right next to Suffolk Street Queensway so it can sometimes be loud. The apartment is adequately soundproofed though so I’m rarely disturbed by the noise from the highway.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I absolutely love living here. If there was one thing I would change about the flat, it wouldn’t be the flat itself but the highway beside the building. It’s not a big problem at all but to make this a 100% ideal apartment, that would be the one thing I would change. You can’t ever have a perfect property though- there will always be something that’s a con.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Aston Place Review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

The building is really modern great facilities (which can’t be used due to the pandemic), super smiley and polite reception staff and an all round happy place to live. Quiet neighbours and never any fuss, even though interaction is limited between flats, everyone does seem to look out for each other, whether that is to borrow a bottle opener or need a hand moving out.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location wise in Birmingham you can’t get much better than Aston place, a stones throw away from Centenary Square to catch the metro that goes all the way out to Wolverhampton, or equally as close to Grand Central with the best rail links to anywhere in the country. The Bin area is always clean and tidy and lots of room to park, the only issue being the extortionate parking fees, but I guess that comes with B1 city centre living (however I do feel the empty car park is a reflection of the pricing).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I think it has to be the positive vibe and extra effort the team put into the various themes and special days throughout the calendar. Although I have to admit I didn’t stop to take advantage of the superhero background for Superhero Day, the extra touches are much appreciated by all tenants as it just adds that bit extra going on.

What is the best feature of your home:

Personally I think the best feature of our apartment is the view, the sunrise when I get up and make a coffee every morning is a brilliant start and really motivates you for the day ahead.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent location and staff

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Excellent quality of furniture, apartment was in great condition.
Staff are extremely helpful and friendly, they always do their best to help and remind you that you aren’t alone. The apartment c

I am particular about the shower and the apartment’s shower is great with excellent pressure.

The design of the apartment is modern yet cosy with a spacey balcony.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent location with easy access to everything.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there were two elevators only

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are always prompt with their replies and do their best to help

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent Location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Nice and new building with excellent facilities including good wifi, clean well equipped gym and a parcel room.
The maintenance services are superb and the staff are always there and very helpful.
The apartment itself is coffy and adequately equipped.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent Location in the heart of Birmingham city centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The refrigerator is a bit small and there is only two lifts for the whole Bulding.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very quick, I had an issue with my washing machine and Mr Kishor replaced it in the very same day.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

aston place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

the place has a modern design which i like plus the apartment is spacious to store all my belongings and also the gym in the building is convenient. also as mentioned earlier, the location of the building is great as its close to everything which is great

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

the place is close to the city centre so it’s convenient as everything is a walking distance of 15 minutes max

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

there isnt much to be honest

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I haven’t had any issues so far, but the staff are friendly and helpful

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Aston Place, B1
User submitted image of Aston Place, B1

Location

Dandara Living
Number of developments 4

4.83

Average rating based on 234 reviews

View company