Aston Place, B1

Aston Place, B1

By
Dandara Living
1st
Ranked 1st out of 17 in Birmingham
4.79 (based on 48 reviews) 4.79 (48 reviews)

Category Scores

4.73
Facilities
4.73
Design
5.00
Location
4.65
Value
4.89
Management

Excellent

88%

Very Good

13%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

perfect city living

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

Sadly we haven’t been able to use the gym/facilities yet due to covid but the actual apartment is perfect for us. It’s nice and open plan and came with all the essentials. Balcony curves round the apartment so you get the sun for longer each day. Great big wardrobe in the bedroom too so plenty space. Also the apartments are very sound-proofed. You can hear other people if you’re out in the corridor but as soon as you’re in your own flat it’s super quiet which is great. Only little negatives are that the bathroom doesn’t have a window so even though there’s an extractor fan the flat can get a bit steamy after a shower, and also there’s only two lifts in the building (which seems mad) so sometimes you wait a while for the lift but that’s not really a big issue. All of the staff are absolutely lovely, couldn’t ask for friendlier faces 🙂

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I just moved to Birmingham so I wanted to be central. Aston Place is only a 5 minute walk from all the best city bits (shops, bars, restaurants and short walk from new street station!) but it’s right next to the lovely centenary square and mailbox and feels very safe.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

sometimes hotel guests next door (the bar is outside) can be really loud but i guess this will be the same in any big city!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

not had any issues to raise so far which is pretty good!

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

So happy, couldn’t really ask for more!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

I am so very happy living here. The staff on site are very friendly and pollute and happy to help with anything you need. The quality of the flat is great, no flimsy furniture and the beds are super comfy. The balcony’s really add something to the flat, I love to stand out there when it’s raining, not getting wet but watching the rain. Only a couple of things I would change within the flat, we had to get a bigger fridge freezer but that’s because we are two couples living in a two bedroom apartment. And the kitchen sink tap has very low pressure. But these are either fixable or very small problems! Overall, I am so so glad we found this apartment!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is amazing, takes 5 minutes if not less to walk to Grand Central. We are dead in the middle of the city but we don’t get too much noise because the windows and doors are so solid. The library is just over the road and we can be on broad street within minutes. There are lots of restaurants in town and it takes about 5 minutes to walk there! The tram line is less than 2 minute walk away. Food shop wide we tend to do an online order because the closest big shop is Morrison’s by five ways (15 minute walk) which is doable. For small shops you have either sainsbury’s local and tesco’s in the mailbox. Also the Tesco metro in town on new street. Across the road they are developing a new restaurant area so we are excited for that to be open!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There weren’t really any big surprises!

What is the best feature of your home:

Best feature would have to be the sliding doors from the lounge area to the balcony. Feeling like your both inside and out! Feels so open.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great Place to Live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

In pretty much every way, the development is excellent. The building itself has a really high level of finish and the staff are truly superb. The apartments are compact but well laid out and offer superb views of the city. Kishor, the ops and building manager can never do enough for you and is always on hand to make sure you are happy. The customer team on front desk again, are truly fantastic, no matter what the time of day or night, one of the team will be more than happy to assist. When we first moved in, we had a few teething pains and Donahue was always on hand to make sure that we were happy, Kirsty has been consistently there for us when we’ve needed anything even at 2 in the morning. Similarly, Paul in maintenance has been nothing, if not willing to help at any possible moment.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Birmingham City Centre is an amazing place to live, everything is literally on your doorstep. You’re able to walk to pretty much any area you would want to get to within minutes on foot. Local shops are great, eateries are great, next to the canal for walks and supermarkets in abundance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There’s a few small design floors in the flats, the biggest one for us has been that there isn’t really anywhere to put a bin. Also, sometimes bits and pieces have gone wrong a little quickly, such as bits of fittings just falling off, but it’s always fixed immediately.

What is the best feature of your home:

The view, coupled with the large balcony are what really make this place what it is.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great studio apartment

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

Very good facilities including a gym, mail and parcel room. Studio apartment well laid out, with living space and bedroom separated by a wall. Kitchen comes with washer/dryer, fridge with small freezer shelf and plenty of storage. Management is fantastic at sorting any problems and always easily reached. Reception staff are welcoming but not as knowledgeable about the development as management and often have to get back to you with a response to queries after they have spoken to their senior staff. Overall a great property, with pet friendly floors available, all with large balconies overlooking the city.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very good access to city, shops and transport. 5 minute walk to New Street Station, slightly less to a Sainsburys Local and slightly further to a Tesco Metro. All shops/restaurants in the city centre are easily accessible on foot and the canal is easily reached within 5 minutes walk in the direction away from New Street.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

More information from the landlord about setting up bills would have been appreciated.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Perhaps having central heating as electric heaters drive up the electricity bills. Also having door locks that conform to British Standard as many contents insurance companies require this and these properties do not have them.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Aston Place, B1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Aston Place Residency Review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

The staffs here are great, reliable and very friendly, really swift reply for my problems and they’ve been so helpful while I was moving in. Every room has its portal and residents can access free magazines paid by the development, view all past transactions and report maintenance issues. Parcels would be signed by conceiger and residents would get a text & email notification with QR code to scan at the storage facility while collecting. There is also a gym, coffee area, a big room at ground floor bookable for party/ dining etc. Rooms are nice and cozy with a balcony. I find the rent slightly expensive but worthy for the service and quality of accommodation, so definitely recommend.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Walkable distance: tram (4min), Birmingham library (6min), Mail Box (8min), New Street Station (10min), so great amenity, quiet area despite locating in the centre of Birmingham.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The dining table & chair are already good fit for my office work, I’d not buy additional chair/ desk if I knew earlier. I’m about 174 cm tall, using a PC with a monitor while working.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Bathing basin to use something/ design to prevent hair blockages.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Perfect central location , beautiful in and out .

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

Happy with facilities , as have access to the gym , both lifts are operating fast , or I can use stairs to my 3rd floor.
Cleaning is in process on daily basis , all areas are spot free .
Great with parcel and grocery storage , I never miss my parcels , and concierges are very helpful in most aspects.
There is by the entrance parking for 15 min only , if notify concierge of the delay you wouldn’t be affect but the parking fine.
Parking area for tenants is a bit uncomfortable. As at the beginning the was not connection between Aston place and hotel parking . Now it is access but we have to use 3-4 doors using fab too, to access parking . At but uncomfortable as going with small kids and pushchairs , or we have to go out from outside the building .
There is a maintenance team on the site , what is great . Any issue it will sort it out ASAP.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s perfect location , to access work , schools, shoppings. Saving money on traveling to work and school .
Not much happy with the road works on the Suffolk street Queensway , as to come back by car I have to make a big circle . And at the beginning and sometimes now doesn’t recognise the post code yet , and deliveries sometimes as well confused how to get here .

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The parking ,
Sunny side

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, but regarding parking could be helpful more.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great new building

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

Very friendly staff providing 24/7 excellent concierge service.

Complimentary gym, dining and meeting area for guests, working place with free coffee, excellent parcel.

The furniture is of high quality, and the noise-minimizing (soundproof) system is fantastic.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close to the grand central (rail station) – only 7 min walk,
Close to the mailbox. and the bullring shopping centre.
So many grocery shops and restaurants around the place.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish there was a gas-based heating system.
The fridge is small, but this is a minor point.

What is the best feature of your home:

The location in the city centre.
The conceirge and parcel services.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Honestly, just perfect!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

The building and layout is very modern, interior decor very nicely set up. What you see online is what you get to see when you come to view the show rooms, which is something that stood out for me. You get to see the actual apartments aswel to get a feel of what you’ll get, which is good. Not sure if all apartments have balconies, pretty sure they do, the balconies are just the right size.
The concierge team is always on sight if you need anything- a friendly bunch. Same goes for the property managers- they’re just as nice and they’ll remember you and say hi when they see you about.
There’s gyms in the city centre, but the building block itself comes with its own gym. Perfect for saving yourself some money in this climate

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is perfect! Couldn’t have asked for anything more. You have multiple grocery stores in the surrounding area, restaurants & cafes within walking distance; if you’re a student- the train station, Birmingham library (and night clubs) are literally a stones throw away! Everything you need is within easy reach. If you have a car, you’ll be able to save yourself the miles because of this. It’s honestly just perfect!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The day you move in is the day that becomes your rent payment day each month so take that into consideration when deciding a move in date.
We have been told this date cannot be changed at the moment, but hopefully that can be sorted soon, as it would be ideal to set up the rent direct debit on a desired date

What is the best feature of your home:

The balcony and the windows- they produce so much natural light 🙂

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

No place like Home!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

A wonderful place to live, with apartments that are to an exceptionally high standard. The whole team that work here are the real stars of the show, from Kishor, to the 24 hour concierge team, the amazing Paul in maintenance and the front desk team every single person that works here genuinely wants to make your life better. Great apartments, gym is great when you Covid isn’t here and the communal room that can be hired is an absolute god send especially if you want to have a big dinner party. There is unfortunately a lot of building work going on in Birmingham so when the weather is hot and all the windows are open it can get very noisy but that’s central city living. a great place to be!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is amazing!! Everything is on your door step! Shops, eateries, bars, everything. There’s nothing you would want that you couldn’t get right here!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The fridge is very very small and freezer almost unusable and there isn’t really anywhere for a bin. The staff are second to none.

What is the best feature of your home:

Our view and balcony are the best part of living here it really is amazing!

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very good location and staffing. A bit on the expensive side

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

Good place, a bit on the expensive side. Great staff and service. Very friendly.
Repairs are swiftly handled and if necessary a specialist is ordered.
Staff is 90 % always available except when they are doing their rounds.

Lots of glass surface that needs regular cleaning due to the current construction site next to the building

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nothing really to dislike. Only concern are the other tall buildings with opportunity to look sindoe tour flat.. But that’s visible before you rent

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the drainage in the shower is special and does not fit the standard hair strainers

What is the best feature of your home:

Best feature is the location and the very good insulation and air availability

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Aston Place, B1
User submitted image of Aston Place, B1

Location

About Dandara Living

Number of developments 3

4.73

Average rating based on 82 reviews

View company