Ambition, LS14

Ambition, LS14

By
Strata
Ranked 9th out of 11 in Leeds
3.88 (11 reviews) 3.88 (11 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.82
Facilities
3.82
Design
3.36
Location
4.27
Value
3.55
Management

Excellent

27%

Very Good

64%

Average

9%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Ambition is a new development by Strata located in the village of Seacroft and 4 miles east of Leeds, with proximity to the M1 and M62.

Read more Read less

Ambition, LS14 Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

Very happy with our new home.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

We love our new home and the design of the kitchen and bathroom, it had been built before we reserved it so we didn’t get a say in the bathroom or kitchen however it’s been kept modern yet minimalistic, making it very easy to like, and easy to make your own with added extras. We have a 3 story house, set out different to anything i’ve seen before with the bedroom and bathroom been ground floor, living area and kitchen middle, master and en-suite top. It was our choice to give our toddler the master and en-suite simply because we didn’t like the idea of him been ground floor without us, incase we were broken into. We would rather be on the level of the entrance. This has been absolutely fine for us and infact keeps him out the way of noise and disturbance and helps him sleep better since there’s literally no one on the same level as him at bedtime to distract him, plus there’s space for him to play well. For a 2 bed house the bedrooms are both spacious and the master could easily accommodate 2 children. The bathrooms are also both plenty big enough, either of them to be classed as ‘the main’ bathroom. We moved in amidst covid-19 and so our experience with getting support with snagging issues hadn’t been 100% however we understand and consider the circumstances and the lady dealing with our property, Hannah, has been lovely and easy to contact so this made up for it. I’m hoping our snagging issues will be sorted now things are going back to normal. We do have quite a list of problems we’ve noticed with the property but none are serious or dangerous; hence why we are happy to wait until someone is free to help solve the issues. We are pleased overall that we went with purchasing a new build as it suits our family well.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We live very close to roundhay park, which is a huge open space
for walks, cafes and play parks. In the area there is a variety of schools, primary and secondary. There is a shopping complex with a supermarket amongst other high street stores a 2 minute drive away, and 15 minute walk. The closest local corner shop for us is about a 10 minute walk. There is a doctors surgery and pharmacy 10 minutes is both directions, so you can choose. The new build estate itself is very quiet, nice neighbours, plenty of parking, and kept tidy. The main road near us can be busy on evenings and weekends but never enough to stop you sleeping, or distract you if you’re working in your home. There is a bus stop 5 minutes away from on foot, in both directions, which takes you to leeds city centre and on all the way to horsforth, and then up to the local shopping complex too, which also passes by a few local schools, this would be useful for non driving parents. We luckily haven’t experienced any anti-social behaviour, although the estate has become a cut through for teenagers walking too and from the local high school, which can be noisy but we’ve experienced no bad behaviour and personally aren’t affected or put off by this aspect. We have children ourself.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It may seem obvious to some but instructions on different appliances/facilities would’ve been so useful. For example the house alarm and how to set it, the central heating controls, the boiler and instructions, the outdoor tap and electricity supply (which weren’t actually connected and we had to sort ourselves). Although obvious to some, as first time home owners and fairly inexperienced people when it comes to running a home (lived with parents previously), it can’t be presumed people just know these things. And whilst a quick google sorted us out, in the midst of moving into a new home with a young toddler; this was a stress we would’ve been thankful to avoid. If the people handing over the keys could give a quick demonstration or even the fitters of these appliances could leave an instruction pack, that would be so useful. I imagine if i went out and hired someone to come fit me an alarm system i would receive some kind of manual and a demonstration, so the same needs to be applied when purchasing a home with these things already installed.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have had a quick and friendly response to most issues raised, getting them resolved and fixed if need be has taken a little longer but we have allowed for that since we moved in right during the pandemic. Generally it’s been okay, i would like to see how it’s dealt with now the rules have relaxed and life is resuming at some kind of normality.

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Generally a good estate to live in.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Design is good.
Property Management not always prompt with repairs.
Build management are very good.
Facilities are very good.
Lack of storage in the house and outside the house is let down.
It would be good to have a gate at obe exit to deter the quad bikes been accelerated accross the estate at high speeds

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Ample parking
Prompt bin collections on due days
Occassional noisy from quad bikes as they have access through access through the estate and no gate to stop them on either end.
Calm traffic
Occassional antisocial behaviour from passersby
Clean estate

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would have paid more attention on storage.
The lighting in the kitchen is especially poor even in summer months

There are excellent green areas all round and houses have plenty of space around them.

Excellent paving

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management were prompt in responding to rsised issues.

4
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Decent but improvements needed.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The design of the property is very nice. Very spacious living room and well designed kitchen. However, bedrooms are quite small and garden needs a lot of work. No grass, just weeds. Strata have been ery helpful with property management and any problems that need solving quite prompt.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is a good location with local shops and parks nearby. There are also regular buses for public transport users. However, there is a lot of anti social behaviour that is very disruptive in the neighborhood.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish I had done more research about the area. A lot of crime and anti social behaviour.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We had no initial problems however, they offered assistance and made themselves present so we knew who to contact.

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Living here is great

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

We really like the house, living here is great. Large bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms gives us the space we need. The living space, kitchen and living room are well situated and makes life easier when everything is easy access. Also parking spot and garden is nice on the front

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Really enjoy living in the area, albeit there are a few people who often make lots of noise and are selfish. I.e riding a motorbike at 10pm

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How long it would’ve taken for the roads to be built. It took ages

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management have been satisfactory during the period of living here

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good road links in and out of the city.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Paths should have p bars or something to stop motorbikes mounting the pavements. Getting issues resolved with the house has sometimes been difficult to get a reply but when we do the work is usually booked in quickly.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good road links in and out of the city. Anti social behaviour such as motorbikes on paths is common.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

House is not very sound proof, here a lot of noise from neighbours and general outside sounds.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Usually a delay in getting a response when you email but after a few efforts works did get booked in and rectified

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A great spot to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Very spacious siting of my property meaning you don’t feel crammed in like some new build estates. Support staff are very punctual with issues that arise and snagging problems were resolved very speedily and without stress. Landscaping is also maintained on a regular basis.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Convenient spot for gyms, supermarkets and leisure activities. Plenty of parking available and easy transport links into the city centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There’s a Community group on Facebook to reach out to for help.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yeah I had an issue with some snagging that were resolved immediately!

5
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

It is a very well designed and a compact town house with sizeable rooms and modern amenities. It has energy saving measures which is a plus. It is a well laid out area in a nice and quiet neighbourhood. There are many aesthetics put in place eg. planting of flowers.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It has a lot of access to public transport. It is also very close to a range of different shops.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Warning against shrinkage/cracks

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Experienced delays probably due to Covid 19 backlog

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great house, lovely development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

It’s a really nice estate. House designs are good too and the build quality is really good. Things I wish were improved were either gas hob (especially as gas boiler is literally right next to it), or if not at least go induction. Basic electric hob isn’t so nice and will probably be upgraded. I also would have liked the house to be built with ethernet installed in every room. Any new house in this day and age should have that.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great local takeaways, restaurants and supermarkets nearby. Several regular bus links to the city centre too and easy access out to the M1.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known that ethernet wasn’t installed. It would have been nice to have this, or at least have the chance to ask for it.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Mostly okay, however we still have a couple of snags not sorted a year on. These are really minor snags however, so due to covid we decided it best not to chase these and to raise them later at the end of the two year warranty.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice Houses, okay area …

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The design is a little odd for some but works well for us. Facilities are good, no complaints and we have had no issues with building management

One flaw is that because of the layout of the houses attached and including ours, you can hear every little thing any other household does!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good public transport, easy to get into the city centre. Anti-Social behaviour is an issue at times and the traffic noise is pretty bad.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known about any noise issues in the area – though not terrible it isn’t great, walls feel very thin when it comes to noise

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, usually pretty quickly, and very effectively.

4
Facilities
3
Design
1
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great but could be better!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The design of the house is great, the property management is a bit all over the place at the moment so I’m still waiting for work to be done, but if you chase enough times you do get a response eventually. They’re just super busy post lockdown.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Everyone that lives here is lovely. There’s a lot of break-ins and antisocial behaviour though.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known about all the building work that would go on outside the house. No one warned me and it’s been months and months of drilling with little warning.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, it took a lot of chasing but they did eventually.

3
Facilities
2
Design
1
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 10

4.09

Average rating based on 104 reviews

View company