About Strata

Strata pride themselves in building homes, not houses.

Number of Developments

10

Ratings

4.09 Rating

Rating (based on 104 reviews)

Excellent

36.54%

Very Good

44.23%

Average

15.38%

Disappointing

2.88%

Very Poor

0.96%

Developments

MAP

Showing all 10 developments

Strata reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Showing 104 reviews

Very happy with our new home.

We love our new home and the design of the kitchen and bathroom, it had been built before we reserved it so we didn’t get a say in the bathroom or kitchen however it’s been kept modern yet minimalistic, making it very easy to like, and easy to make your own with added extras. We have a 3 story house, set out different to anything i’ve seen before with the bedroom and bathroom been ground floor, living area and kitchen middle, master and en-suite top. It was our choice to give our toddler the master and en-suite simply because we didn’t like the idea of him been ground floor without us, incase we were broken into. We would rather be on the level of the entrance. This has been absolutely fine for us and infact keeps him out the way of noise and disturbance and helps him sleep better since there’s literally no one on the same level as him at bedtime to distract him, plus there’s space for him to play well. For a 2 bed house the bedrooms are both spacious and the master could easily accommodate 2 children. The bathrooms are also both plenty big enough, either of them to be classed as ‘the main’ bathroom. We moved in amidst covid-19 and so our experience with getting support with snagging issues hadn’t been 100% however we understand and consider the circumstances and the lady dealing with our property, Hannah, has been lovely and easy to contact so this made up for it. I’m hoping our snagging issues will be sorted now things are going back to normal. We do have quite a list of problems we’ve noticed with the property but none are serious or dangerous; hence why we are happy to wait until someone is free to help solve the issues. We are pleased overall that we went with purchasing a new build as it suits our family well.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We live very close to roundhay park, which is a huge open space
for walks, cafes and play parks. In the area there is a variety of schools, primary and secondary. There is a shopping complex with a supermarket amongst other high street stores a 2 minute drive away, and 15 minute walk. The closest local corner shop for us is about a 10 minute walk. There is a doctors surgery and pharmacy 10 minutes is both directions, so you can choose. The new build estate itself is very quiet, nice neighbours, plenty of parking, and kept tidy. The main road near us can be busy on evenings and weekends but never enough to stop you sleeping, or distract you if you’re working in your home. There is a bus stop 5 minutes away from on foot, in both directions, which takes you to leeds city centre and on all the way to horsforth, and then up to the local shopping complex too, which also passes by a few local schools, this would be useful for non driving parents. We luckily haven’t experienced any anti-social behaviour, although the estate has become a cut through for teenagers walking too and from the local high school, which can be noisy but we’ve experienced no bad behaviour and personally aren’t affected or put off by this aspect. We have children ourself.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It may seem obvious to some but instructions on different appliances/facilities would’ve been so useful. For example the house alarm and how to set it, the central heating controls, the boiler and instructions, the outdoor tap and electricity supply (which weren’t actually connected and we had to sort ourselves). Although obvious to some, as first time home owners and fairly inexperienced people when it comes to running a home (lived with parents previously), it can’t be presumed people just know these things. And whilst a quick google sorted us out, in the midst of moving into a new home with a young toddler; this was a stress we would’ve been thankful to avoid. If the people handing over the keys could give a quick demonstration or even the fitters of these appliances could leave an instruction pack, that would be so useful. I imagine if i went out and hired someone to come fit me an alarm system i would receive some kind of manual and a demonstration, so the same needs to be applied when purchasing a home with these things already installed.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have had a quick and friendly response to most issues raised, getting them resolved and fixed if need be has taken a little longer but we have allowed for that since we moved in right during the pandemic. Generally it’s been okay, i would like to see how it’s dealt with now the rules have relaxed and life is resuming at some kind of normality.

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Really pleased with our new Strata home, it couldn’t have been better.

Very happy with the house and the development in general. The homes and streets are aesthetically pleasing (although not all roads are quite finished yet.) The houses look great, mine seems very well made with very little in way of snags but all were sorted extremely quickly and to a high standard when raised. A particular good point was the thought in design and layout…. The amount of times I was told, “new builds are tiny” and “you can hear everything the neighbours do” and it simply isn;t the case. Our home is very well laid out and makes the absolute best use of the space and plot. It is well insulated both for heating but also sound.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The village of Ackworth is excellent, I have wanted to live here for a number of years and also wanted a quality new home so the Elegance development was perfect. The local area has a great community spirit, local shops ranging from bespoke florists, cards and gifts to petrol stations. There is a good selection of pubs and restaurants and has the facilities required such as a dentist, pharmacy and Dr’s surgery too.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

My only criticism or further consideration would be in regards to parking. Not all homes have 2 parking spaces when each home usually has at least 2 cars, some of them with more and there is no room for visitors and guests to park. The road layout do not allow for safe parking easily either. There really should be more space allocated for residents and visitor parking and better layout design to accommodate.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have had very few snags or issues and anything raised has been responded to quickly and to a high standard by the developer.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Strata Ackworth – We love our Strata home ?

We had many snags as any new build home does but they came and fixed all problems within a reasonable time frame. I love my strata home I feel the quality and design of my strata home is perfect. We have been here 4 years now.

The only downside to the estate is the layout of the houses, there is not enough green spaces on the fronts of the property’s as these used as car parking spaces and there are no parking for guests due to dropped curbs.

Overall we love our home and our estate.

I have only 4* to the design due to the parking issues and 4* due to value as the smaller 3 bed houses seam quite pricey.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Ackworth is a lovely sociable place to live. The strata estate is near to a fantastic little flower and gift shop and a delicious sandwich shop. We have numerous little trendy refurbished bars quite literally on our doorstep not to mention a lovely EGO restaurant about a 10 minutes walk away.

We have Fitzwilliam country park 15 mins walk away across from the estate, and numerous walks behind the estate up to wards farms and countryside. You can also walk to Hemsworth water park across fields in summer in around 45 minutes.

The village does not have a train station which is rubbish as the nearest one is not within reasonable walking distance. Walking home in summer months across fields is lovely and takes around 35-40 minutes but would be muddy in winter months and no lighting so I wouldn’t recommend.

The residents are friendly and hold a gathering on the green every year. The community centre is not yet open but I’m sure when it is it will make it an even better place to live.

We don’t encounter and antisocial behaviour, bin collections are spot on and the only noise you hear is from children playing in the gardens, which is obviously to be expected on a large family estate.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The overall size of the estate and lack of parking, too many dropped curbs

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We contacted customer services who would the respond i a timely manner. We had an issue with our roles when we moved in and they replaced all flooring with no arguments.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The buying process could not have been better.

The buying process could not have been better. Olivia Lefevre was amazing and went above and beyond what we expected. We looked at the Newett development nearby but Olivia won it for us and we would not be in our house without her, an absolute credit to Strata.

The on-site aftersales was a shambles. Trying to contact people who were always, constantly “on a course”. Again I had to go to Olivia to get updates. Random workman show up at the house to resolve snags with no notice they were coming, or had come to the wrong house.
There wasn’t many snags at all, 99% of the problems were (and are) plumbing related and our neighbours are the same. But I think Strata have changed contractor as a result.
After 8 weeks you move to off site aftersales and 2 years, and James has been great.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The village of Dishforth has a few local pubs but shops etc are driving distance to boroughbridge or Ripon. Hopefully with the new houses there will be more amenities in the village.
Very quiet on the estate and no issues at all. Neighbours are lovely and everyone local on the Dishforth Facebook group helps eachother.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Report any snag, no matter how small and don’t expect the house to be perfect. Things change as the house settles too. Keep a list/record of all outstanding.

What is the best feature of your home:

The Cologne and Strata development won it for me due to the high ceilings and attention to detail on the finishing. It’s a high quality property, with big rooms and any imperfections have since been rectified.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More