Affinity, LS14

Affinity, LS14

By
Keepmoat Homes
Ranked 51st out of 64 in Yorkshire and the Humber
3.63 (17 reviews) 3.63 (17 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.59
Facilities
3.76
Design
3.41
Location
3.82
Value
2.88
Management

Affinity is a development by Keepmoat, situated in the popular area of East Leeds and close to local amenities. It sits a ten minute drive from the leisure and shopping facilities of Leeds city centre and M1 Junction 46 is less than 4 miles away.

Read more Read less

Affinity, LS14 Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

Initially, on moving in, our new -build house was very smart, new etc etc.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The local shops are adequate.
The local buses are adequate.
There are a lot of characters in Seacroft.
I have nothing against council tenants but behaving like a human is really quite easy.
I have said what I wanted to say in my review.
I don’t wish to repeat myself.
Please see my review.
I cannot be rude on here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Initially, on moving in, our new -build house was very smart, new etc etc.
When Keepmoat were walking around the first day to check for snagging issues, it was discovered the extractor fan in the family bathroom wasn’t working.
The light came on that is on the box, but that was all. In total, it was well over a month before it was mended. The extraction hose was in the loft, but had not been connected at all.
The bathroom sink in the family bathroom, the overflow hadn’t been connected correctly, resulting in water damage to the kitchen ceiling. Eventually it was sorted out.
We have had long-running and still ongoing issues with the windows.
And we STILL have a draught coming in through the larger window in the lounge.
We have bad excuses about change of contract, change of window company, a company suddenly went bust, someone will contact you next week/Tuesday etc etc.
Then came Covid & a whole rash of new excuses.
And still we have a draughty window….
The 2 years warranty ended in June 2021, but we noticed that the front door is draughty and seemed to be warped, perhaps through extremes of weather.
First, I will mention the back garden.
Most of of the garden is sloping, so the rain water collects near the house in puddles, resulting in muddy grass, which is patchy as grass isn’t supposed to be submerged in water, and also flies above the stagnant water, especially in any hint of warm weather.
The front garden.
We have a corner plot so a lot of lawn.
However, the extent of clover is such that the “lawn” is 90% clover and 10% grass.
Our corner plot has had louts on motorbikes and bicycles riding across our garden, members of the public allowing their dog/s to defecate in our garden or people using our garden as a shortcut, just an extension of public land.
Our front garden and indeed the driveway has wide open access to the public.
Keepmoat has stated that boundary fences are not allowed.
We are confused why boundary fences/walls are not allowed.
It is a solid & physical disruption to any would be thief, and there has been plenty of thieves in operation in this area since we moved in.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I hope new neighbours don’t have any snagging issues.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Please see my review.
I don’t wish to repeat myself.

2
Facilities
2
Design
2
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

House is designed well and for the most part been pretty good.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

house is designed well and for the most part been pretty good. the house is insulated well and we have solar panels which is pretty decent. didn’t have to many snags with house except for the state they leave the gardens in. think everyone on the development has the same gripe. the paint and plaster work inside is also not great which is a shame feels like they just didn’t really care about the finish. they have fixed most snags except these. (you do have to keep at em to get anything done)

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good location wise. huge tesco and asda and aldi nearby. 2 local shops. dosnt take long to get to town or m1 or a1.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

once they’ve got ur money they’ll take a step back. overall though it’s a decent place and cheap on bills.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

they have fixed most problems however somethings have taken chasing 10+ times which isn’t on.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice house, poor quality.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The design is fine, the house is lovely. The rooms could be a little bigger but it is what it is for a new build. However the quality is poor, we’ve needed so much work redoing on the house, but a lot of it we have had to pay for ourselves as keepmoat take WAY to long to sort it. Such as the garden, front and back doors, leaks, shower issues, and that’s just the start, are all problems we’ve had to fix and pay for, all because keepmoat take months to find a solution, then another couple of months to then start fixing!!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We have a nice built area and close to schools, transport and shops, even some right down the road if you need something small n

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How bad Keepmoat are with quality, but more so the fixing aspect.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very slowly, it’s a joke how long we’ve had to wait. Like I’ve previously said, we’ve spent a lot of our money on fixing these issues and problems because keepmoat have took way to long to offer a suggestion and then even longer to even fix it.. still waiting on some stuff from our nag list, I’ve given up hope of them but more annoyed about the money we’ve spend on fixing.

2
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I particularly like the compact nature of the housing as is very easy to upkeep as I live on my own.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

I particularly like the compact nature of the housing as is very easy to upkeep as I live on my own. The shed is very useful to store things in and the garden is much larger than on similar sized developments. Having two parking spaces with kerbside parking as well is very convenient for visitors. The house is very modern and I would recommend the development to anyone who is looking to relocate to the suburbs of a major city.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Living on the edge of a major city gives easy access to lots of different facilities such as bars and restaurants and shops in the centre. Transport links to the centre are excellent as they are reliable and frequent. Being in the middle of the development means I am partially insulated against traffic noise and other major issues. In the two years I have been here I have had very few problems.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The only thing I noticed was that standard size dinner plates only fit in one of the cupboards.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

All snags and issues I have had with the property have been dealt with very promptly and all issues have been resolved.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great design of the houses and built to the latest regulations etc.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Great design of the houses and built to the latest regulations etc. The team are keen to make any changes required at design stage inline with building regulations and timescales. Great garden space on my property as well as private drive and parking.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

As far as I can gather the local area is great, it’s less than 10 minutes to Leeds city centre and far enough so you get away from the hustle and bustle.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew how long arranging things like council tax and internet would take for a new build!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Site management made contact regarding the snagging list and it was completed within a few weeks of me moving into the property.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall not bad, although lacking a few things to be perfect

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The development itself is very good, although it’s lacking a few points, mainly in terms of design. As such, green open space was planted with trees, which died in the very first planting season and have never been replaced. Paving is missing in certain places, whilst somewhere it’s been replaced by pebbles which is neither practical nor pretty.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location of the development is not the best. As a result local residents face a high level of crime, including for example, thefts and assaults. Otherwise, however, we only have positive experience. The area is easily accessible and has amenities close by.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would have appreciated having more information about the local area and perhaps issues that have been raised by previous buyers.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We’ve been lucky with all our issues being dealt with quickly and efficiently.

3
Facilities
3
Design
2
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall the design of the house is good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Overall the design of the house is good and practical and I’m generally happy with the inside of the house.

The communication and organisation has improved but still needs work.

I’ve lived at my property for two and a half years and I’m still waiting for work to be done by Keepmoat.

The garden is extremely poor. I have been told this will be redone but have yet to be given a date.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good points are that the area is improving and has good access to shops and town.
Bad points is that there’s no entertainment.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

To not complete until you have seen your property properly.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes but very slowly. I’m still waiting for some issues to be resolved that were reported over 2 years ago.

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice houses, poor area.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The houses are well designed and the location is very convenient for buses and local shops. The area is quite scruffy as the developer hasn’t kept up with the upkeep of the common areas and these look terrible. The roads on the new development are terrible

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

This is very handy for the shops , post office , barbers . This unfortunately attracts a lot of unsocial behaviour and litter

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The local shops attract an anti-social element and a lot of litter

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We had an issue with the border in front of our house . We continuously raised this issues and the problem would always be sorted “soon” . Finally had to resort to escalating the issue to the managing director and it was finally sorted. This took nearly a year.

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Building management is not client orientated at all

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Building management is not client orientated at all. All the issues that
Need resolving we basically have to beg for anything to be done with them. Everything is being postponed without a reason. Media plate damaged 2 months ago by electrician hadn’t been attended to yet.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local shops and post office near by, very good schools around.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That customer service will be lousy

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Too slow, everything takes ages to be sorted, our garden sorting (poor drainage) took 6 months.

4
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Open boundaries.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Exterior gardens could be made so more private with exterior fencing to boundaries to stop motor bikes or pedestrian or dogs fouling.
No public bins for communal grass area. Parts of communal grass areas not sorted out and can’t be lawned. Several tree planted are dead.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Deeds are written up so much can’t do much to inprove house or property or custom to suite

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Don’t buy

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Get intouch with local authorities not a Keepmoat concern

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 30

3.66

Average rating based on 464 reviews

View company