Weogoran Park, WR5

Weogoran Park, WR5

By
St Modwen Homes
4th
Ranked 4th out of 4 in Worcestershire
3.67 (32 reviews) 3.67 (32 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.59
Facilities
4.03
Design
4.50
Location
3.69
Value
2.72
Management

Weogoran Park is a new development by St Modwen Homes situated on the outskirts of Worcester city centre, with proximity to the M5 and a train journey under an hour to Birmingham.

Read more Read less

Weogoran Park, WR5 Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

Attractive modern living in a friendly estate

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The design of the St Modwen houses are lovely with large windows making the houses bright and airy. The modern design of the houses makes for very easy living for a young family. The mix of white rendered houses and brick house makes the street attractive and other than still waiting on the road to be completed (despite living here for over 4years) the estate is also very attractive and easy to navigate around.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very friendly street with lovely neighbours. Lovely little park at the top of the road which is ideal for small children, although more green space would really enhance the development. Very good access to the motorway and parkway train station. Love that our local shop is waitrose.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We were very lucky when buying off plan that we really thought through how overlooked our garden might be as new build developers do put a lot of houses in a small space. Thankfully it paid off and we are very private in our garden compared to neighbours.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Always very friendly and reassuring but the time frame was always so long to get things done and they never planned enough time to complete the jobs.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall happy with our home!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

We’ve been here for a year now. We do love our house, we love the design and layout. We wish that there were more green areas. The park is great for small kids but I think they could have added more things in the park as it’s such a big space. We weren’t really told about upgrades for the house which we definitely would have gone for if the sales team had spoken to us about it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Not far from the M5 and it’s very close to town which is great for us. I do really like the layout of the estate but I cannot wait for the roads and the street lights to be sorted. It can be so dangerous when you’re our walking your dog in the evenings as you can hardly see the path in front of you. We’ve had no updates about when this will be however. Most houses do have space for at least two cars however some houses have more than two cars and so there can be a lot of cars parked on the paths.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Whilst still living on a building site – keep your windows closed during the day! My blinds and windows are covered in dust and dirt!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We had quite a few snags when we first moved in which we did expect, however we have had so many issues with the plumbing! Almost all of our snags have been sorted which is great, the customer service team have been so helpful and get back quite quickly. However things can take so long to be fixed but this seems to be due to the external contractors that they employ to do the jobs.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modwen Review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

I really like the modwen design. I think it’s very funky and stands out due to the cladding and window to ceiling windows. I prefer the drive side by side rather then tandem but that doesn’t affect us as we have side by side. Facilities are on the weak side. We only have a really small grass area. Build management is ok, lorries always move if we need to get past. Property management is on the poor side. We have and still are waiting for issues to be sorted and we have been here 2 years, it’s down to lack of communication. Saying that the one guy that does come, can’t remember his name is excellent.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is a Waitrose not too far away along with Oak Apple Pub. It’s a short drive into town and has great links to the M5 motorway and good school catchment. Good area for walks. Parking is a bit tight as the roads are slim but we have two parking spaces. There is sometimes anti social behaviour in the corner where the council tenants are.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

To be prepared for build delays. It was 100% worth it once we got our keys but we were delayed 3 times

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Not great. We are still waiting for issues to be resolved. Never turned up on days should do but once you do get someone come out then gets sorted.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Family friendly estate

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The estate is aesthetically pleasing although we are relieved we bought where we have. The latter part of the building work has been more chaotic and only this morning we were woken at 7.30am by trucks seemingly lost on how to get in to the current building area. This was not an issue pre COVID when there was a contractor stationed at the entrance to direct site traffic accordingly. The parking of site vehicles has been dangerous and has been cited by the authorities as such making entrance from the dual carriageway very scary at times. You should not have to be stationery on a dual carriageway waiting for site vehicles to move so you can gain access. The ongoing issue with the road surface is now almost farcical. The raised manhole covers are seemingly ready but there has been no communication to homeowners for months now as to what the situation is.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very family friendly estate where residents are keen to promote a community feel. Excellent location for both central Worcester and the motorway network. Worcester woods and RWH only a 10 minute walk away. Bins are collected fortnightly without issue, and so far, 4 years in, we have not experienced any anti social behaviour. A peaceful, and overall well designed estate.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Be aware there will be a need to re-landscape your garden. The lawns are thrown down on top of house debris making them uneven and in patches unable to grow properly no matter what you do.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have been apologetic and issues with the property have been dealt with efficiently however, issues with the road are ongoing and nobody we speak to has any clue as to what it happening.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good for a new development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The development, as a whole, seems a much better quality than some other local developments, although in the time we have lived here we have noticed a dramatic change in the state of the working areas as site staff have changed. It appears this has also been reflected in the build quality of the later phase from talking to other residents.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The development is within easy walking distance of a good supermarket, and some local smaller shops. The main city centre is a further walk, but manageable. Where needed bus services are relatively frequent. Our particular street is very quiet, tidy and well presented.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The only issue we had was delays of around 8 weeks for our build completion, which resulted in friction within the family with our temporary housing situation

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We do not have building management services as our house is privately owned

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Sort the roads out and get some street lamps

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Houses look nice, too many crammed into one estate though. Roads are tiny can barely get 2 cars by and with such little parking, this causes a lot of problems. Wider roads are needed to allow for on street parking. The roads are a mess and my car is constantly dirty due to the works. There is also no street lamps at all. It’s so scary and dangerous walking here at night as it is pitch black.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There’s a local pub and a shop not too far away. The park at the back of the estate is nice and county hall is close by. Parking is a real issue. The machinery and diggers constantly block the roads and cause problems. My car is always filthy due to the ongoing building works.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish I had known that it would still be an active building site 2 years on. It’s horrible living amongst diggers and the noise.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Would have liked to have option to add extra things

Review Date Aug 2021

Design of the building is great, would have liked to have option to add extra things. Property management hasn’t been great- a lot of our neighbours struggle to get in touch with them and are left waiting weeks for a response. Building management poor as they missed two of our windows out of our house!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location, just off a main road but cannot hear traffic. Great location to access motorway.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Check that there aren’t any missing windows!! We moved in and then got told we were meant to have a window in our main and downstairs bathroom but got missed by the builders. We then had to live around builders in our home for a week. We decided against downstairs bathroom window purely because of disruption

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Our turf wasn’t laid properly so we got in touch with management who took a long time to respond. We went to customer service and received similar response. They eventually replied but we was not convinced it would be completed so got it done ourselves.

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall though, the development is well laid out and is a quiet area.

Review Date Aug 2021

The development is still being finished. To begin with, a lot of care was put into its appearance but as time is going on, we’ve noticed a lot of the landscaping and maintenance is very scruffy. We’re still yet to have roads laid, despite being told for two years, it would happen in “a few weeks”. The grass pavements look scruffy now, too. Would be better if tarmaced or paved

Overall though, the development is well laid out and is a quiet area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The development is very close to the motorway, connecting you to M5 north and south in less than 5 minutes. Just a short 5 minute drive to the town centre, or a 20 minute walk. Close to supermarkets and good schools.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wouldn’t have moved in on completion day in hindsight. The house was filthy and unfinished. I would have made them rectify it and hand it over once it was “new build ready”.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Problems were resolved, but this often involves months of back and forth communication, tradesmen but turning up. In the end we wrote off 20 issues simply because we did not want to have any more stress.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The design of the buildings are eye catching and in the social housing and private housing the design seems to be very well thought out and generally works well. The facilities are good having a downstairs toilet is a bonus the garden is a good size however when I moved into the property I had to have half of the garden dug up and re-leveled as it was so uneven and the grass would not grow because of all the old and odd bits of building materials that were dumped into the ground before they lay turf over the top of it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is perfect close to a motorway junction and not to far away from the city centre. However there is only one entrance/exit into the development that comes off and onto a busy bypass which could cause a problem in the future if work needed to be done around that area, all accommodation has atleast a car parking space most have 2 however that is the only parking on the development and there is not space for cars to park on the road sides so not great if you have visitors that drive.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

About car parking spaces not just for the tenant or owner but any visitors people may have.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Let down by St Modwen

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Looks great from the outside, however the build and finishing quality was very poor considering the house was >£400k.
We have had hundreds of issues, many whist reported to St Modwens are still unresolved.
We have had several new doors, missed cavity insulation, missed brick from the eaves, uneven floors, walls not level, damaged kitchen units, scratched metal work in kitchen, rank bad plastering, skewed tiles, issues with showers, the list is endless…
They have also used super cheap fittings for doors, sockets, etc.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good location, easy access to the M5. A nice Waitrose within walking distance. We are in the edge of Worcester, so countryside 5 mins to the left, yet only a 20 mins walk into the City Centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Never buy a new house..

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very slowly and never once proactively. Always been nice enough on email, but I have chased and chased and chased about known and recognised issues for >2 years with several issues still outstanding.

3
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 13

3.81

Average rating based on 274 reviews

View company