Waterside Apartments, LS12

Waterside Apartments, LS12

3rd
Ranked 3rd out of 10 in Leeds
4.30 (47 reviews) 4.30 (47 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.94
Facilities
4.09
Design
4.47
Location
4.30
Value
4.55
Management

Excellent

32%

Very Good

60%

Average

9%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Waterside Aparments is located in Leeds City Centre, very close to the Victoria Quarter (known for its vast range of shopping amenities) and the Corn Exchange – a Grade 1 listed building known for its aesthetic and alternative cafés and independent businesses. Residents have access to balconies, a concierge and private parking.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

Property management have always been helpful

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Building/property management have always been helpful and prompt to respond to any queries. The management office is in one of the two buildings and they take in parcels etc during working hours. A handy man for any maintainance issues works specifically for the development and again very prompt response and quick to fix any issues. There is a lift in each building which is necessary with the number of floors! This has only been out of order once in the year we have lived here and was fixed within 48 hours.

Parking is the only real negative. As mentioned above you have to pay an additional £90 per month for a space (albeit city centre location) and these are in a secure car park, however a lot of the spaces are difficult to maneuvere into/out of and it appears to be pot luck which are available. Bike storage is available but does seem fully in use. Have seen people taking bikes down in the lift or storing on balconies suggesting there needs to be more storage.

Most flats seem to have balconies, ours is spacious. Key fob access to the building/swipe card access on foot means the development feels as secure as it can.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Within 15 minutes walk via canal path or through town to: train station, town centre, sainsburys local, cash machine, bars/restaurants. Can get directly on to the canal path from the development – great for running/cycling but also quick access to bars/restaurants by the lock behind the train station. Can drive straight out onto the A58 and good links to M621/M1/M62, or back onto the A64 towards York.

No other shops in walking distance except sainsburys local and nearest supermarket is morrisons at hunslet or kirkstall. Not a lot of choice of supermarkets but there is limited space with it being so close to city centre. Traffic noise is noticeable with windows open especially on the side of the building closest to the A58 as this goes directly past the building. Still audible but not as loud on the opposite side of the building. Noise from passing trains is audible but not so loud or is disturbing. Parking is non existent unless you pay for a space in the underground car park or only want to stay for a short time in front of the building (e.g. moving, deliveries).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

This development was one of many in Leeds which had cladding which did not meet fire standards (following Grenfell tower fire), this was redone it appears fairly quickly and at no cost to residents, however work was being undertaken at the time of us moving and we were not made aware. Would have been useful to know.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, very efficiently. Easily contactable by email or phone.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent value but not without its flaws

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The development recently replaced its cladding from blue to a fireproof olive cladding. It doesn’t look as nice with red bricks but that’s not noticible from apartments that don’t see the bricks. The green looks more natural and modern. There is an attempt to support recycling but this could be taken further (i.e. coffee pods, more recycling, etc.) management are keen to help but I have had issues fall through the cracks. The interior doesn’t seem to have had much attention from cleaners in a while, and there is only one lift per building (no cargo lift) and they break down regularly, forcing you to take the stairs. However the location and views are fantastic, the apartments are surprisingly well soundproofed, the layouts are good, the appliances are Smeg. Parking is a huge issue, there are 1-hr no-return bays outside that go quickly and parking spaces internally are expensive. As the South bank of Leeds is being developed there is continuous building work going on, but that’s not at the fault of the apartments and hopefully this will be a benefit in the future.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The nearest shops are a 15 minute walk away and are shared with the city’s commercial business district (CBD), so there are considerable mark-ups on items and limited selections, but there are developments that will hopefully change this soon. Excellent transport options, and Leeds Railway station is a 15 minute walk away. The area has its issues but the development has done a fantastic job at minimalising the affect on residents. Bin collections are weekly for recycling and general waste, but there are not enough recycling bins, as they fill up within the first couple of days and you’re force to put recycling in general waste towards the end of the week.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There was no mention of local building work, let alone to the extent it has been, and rent increases are likely without negotiation.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Staff are friendly and polite, but a little rigid in how they can help. I understand it’s just work for them, but they’re homes to us.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good for young professionals

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

its a nice place to live, there is a community here and they talk to each other and are in the Facebook group too. we have a shared herb garden which is fantastic. its safe here and the ground security look after residents.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

the location is great, its great to the city centre. great transport links with the station being so close

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish i knew about the great sense of community that the accommodation provides, as i would’ve moved in sooner. also love the level of security

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

more professionals less families, but still love the community feel

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great proximity to town!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

I dislike that the council tax is expensive but generally it’s nice and modern. The kitchen and bathroom are fine and I probably wouldn’t change much about those. The decor could do with a bit of a spruce up.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the proximity to centre and it’s easy access to and from the main roads although I dislike the park.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known that it was close to the canal which can be a bit dangerous

What is the best feature of your home:

The proximity to the centre, it’s so handy for walking to work

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely feel to the place and staff.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

A lot of development currently being done.
Still on going work being done.
Lovely feel to the place and staff.
Security very helpful and kind.
Parking can be an issue.
No other concerns. I am a very happy resident and very much enjoy living here. Thanks

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Brilliant community!!
Real sense of community spirit.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

None

What is the best feature of your home:

Water feature is lovely and calming, makes me feel happy.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

It’s fabulous!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

Its fabulous! I liked the view from the 8th floor. The furniture was not bad, kitchen and bathroom of good quality. Not the best transport links. Takes 15 mins for Uber. Location is far from university and city centre.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Its too far from the centre and university and one main road makes transport links difficult. Very quiet.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish i had known how quiet the area was around here.

What is the best feature of your home:

Definitely the view, you can see for miles, especially from the top floor.

4
Facilities
4
Design
1
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Wonderful Waterside

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The building management has improved recently with the addition of being able to log maintenance requests on the building app and this usually means they are dealt with pretty quickly. The design and shape of the building makes it interesting and has good views over Leeds. However, the facilities are nearby buildings are better as they have a gym and a social space on the top floor, while waterside apartments only has an outdoor smoking area

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The building is very well situated and is close to the main station in Leeds, as well as having a coop and bars only 10 minutes away. There could
be more on street parking and sometimes the bins are overflowing in the bin room so the collections could be more frequent

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The balcony’s are very windy so if you’re planning on growing veg on them make sure they’re tied up 🙂

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any problems we have mentioned have been dealt with quickly and in a friendly manner

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

City centre living without city centre hustle and bustle.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The management team are a friendly bunch and always happy to help. The interior design is slightly dated but still seams modern compared to similar priced alternatives. There could be more bike storage and parking spaces are limited and expensive. Bin collection can be an issue with the bin area often overflowing before the bins are emptied. Other than thus its a great place to live. Recommended .

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location is great, easy to walk to the city centre and good for those that need to be close to the but also the motorway network. Coty centre living without having to deal with city centre traffic. Plenty of bars and cafes close by and 3 mini supermarkets. The canal is on the doorstep so nice to walk along in summer.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The gates for the short cut to the train station and shops is owned by the property opposite so access cards are £20 extra per card.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any issues raised have bean dealt with quickly. No problems in this area.

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Perfect location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

Very good apartments with fabulous landlord. I like how modern the space is apart from the bathroom which is a bit tired and i would prefer it to be standalone shower. Has a lovely living area and bedrooms.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Handy for walking to work. Very accessible, but bit close to main road

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish id known how close to the main road it is as it can be a bit noisy.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would change the bathroom as it is a bit tired.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Fantastic Property & Management with a Few Maintenance Issues

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Design is fantastic, apartment is absolutely lovely, great modern design and lots of space with floor to ceiling windows and balcony.

Had a lot of maintenance issues constantly over the first 2/2.5 months, however they usually get sorted and seen to within a day or two unless a contractor needs to be sent out then it can take a few days.

Very friendly staff and management with the odd social event occurring also.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of great quality restaurants, bars and shops within 10/15 minute walk. Number of bus stops right around the corner as well as the train station being only 10/15 minute walk away.

Parking space high demand but good quality if you manage to get one. Street parking free during the night. Good bin space and collection, handy to get rid of waste. Not much anti social behaviour, the odd bit of noise and traffic from main road is easily slept through, don’t notice it too much.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Get a longer viewing to go into more detail on smaller things that you might not see within a 2 minute viewing as there were a lot of things we missed that needed fixed and addressed straight away.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Issues tend to get seen too and fixed quite quickly if they are small. However bigger maintenance issues can take a few days or up to over a week.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Waterside Apartments, LS12
User submitted image of Waterside Apartments, LS12
User submitted image of Waterside Apartments, LS12
User submitted image of Waterside Apartments, LS12
User submitted image of Waterside Apartments, LS12
User submitted image of Waterside Apartments, LS12

Location