Waterside Apartments, LS12

Waterside Apartments, LS12

By
Savills
4.30 (47 reviews) 4.30 (47 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.94
Facilities
4.09
Design
4.47
Location
4.30
Value
4.55
Management

Excellent

32%

Very Good

60%

Average

9%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Waterside Aparments is located in Leeds City Centre, very close to the Victoria Quarter (known for its vast range of shopping amenities) and the Corn Exchange – a Grade 1 listed building known for its aesthetic and alternative cafés and independent businesses. Residents have access to balconies, a concierge and private parking.

Read more Read less

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 47 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Fantastic Property & Management with a Few Maintenance Issues

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Design is fantastic, apartment is absolutely lovely, great modern design and lots of space with floor to ceiling windows and balcony.

Had a lot of maintenance issues constantly over the first 2/2.5 months, however they usually get sorted and seen to within a day or two unless a contractor needs to be sent out then it can take a few days.

Very friendly staff and management with the odd social event occurring also.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of great quality restaurants, bars and shops within 10/15 minute walk. Number of bus stops right around the corner as well as the train station being only 10/15 minute walk away.

Parking space high demand but good quality if you manage to get one. Street parking free during the night. Good bin space and collection, handy to get rid of waste. Not much anti social behaviour, the odd bit of noise and traffic from main road is easily slept through, don’t notice it too much.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Get a longer viewing to go into more detail on smaller things that you might not see within a 2 minute viewing as there were a lot of things we missed that needed fixed and addressed straight away.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Issues tend to get seen too and fixed quite quickly if they are small. However bigger maintenance issues can take a few days or up to over a week.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Decent building to live in

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

I love my apartment as I get sunset view and it’s amazing. It’s a good space however I don’t have much storage space here so that’s something to bare in mind. Building/property management has been good. It’s a well maintained building. Not many facilities in terms of gym or evening/weekend concierge.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s quite easy to get into town or train station from here. Parking can be slightly tricky as very limited parking available in the building and on the street.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Storage space is definitely very limited. There aren’t many parking spaces in the building so would have been good to know it can take months to get a space.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Fairly quick response to issues in the building. Any repairs are processed quite quickly which is really good.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good development in a quiet area

Review Date Oct 2021

The building is modern and comfortable, with a good layout and aesthetic. There is a lift to facilitate easy access. The on-site management team are friendly and helpful if you ever need anything. All issues get resolved very quickly. The pricing is reasonable for the location and size of apartment.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very close to city centre, quiet and relaxed area off the main road. Local bars and shops are close by.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There unfortunately isn’t a resident’s group or forum for all residents to chat about issues or opportunities.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any issues typically are resolved by the on-site team quickly.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Property management have always been helpful

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Building/property management have always been helpful and prompt to respond to any queries. The management office is in one of the two buildings and they take in parcels etc during working hours. A handy man for any maintainance issues works specifically for the development and again very prompt response and quick to fix any issues. There is a lift in each building which is necessary with the number of floors! This has only been out of order once in the year we have lived here and was fixed within 48 hours.

Parking is the only real negative. As mentioned above you have to pay an additional £90 per month for a space (albeit city centre location) and these are in a secure car park, however a lot of the spaces are difficult to maneuvere into/out of and it appears to be pot luck which are available. Bike storage is available but does seem fully in use. Have seen people taking bikes down in the lift or storing on balconies suggesting there needs to be more storage.

Most flats seem to have balconies, ours is spacious. Key fob access to the building/swipe card access on foot means the development feels as secure as it can.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Within 15 minutes walk via canal path or through town to: train station, town centre, sainsburys local, cash machine, bars/restaurants. Can get directly on to the canal path from the development – great for running/cycling but also quick access to bars/restaurants by the lock behind the train station. Can drive straight out onto the A58 and good links to M621/M1/M62, or back onto the A64 towards York.

No other shops in walking distance except sainsburys local and nearest supermarket is morrisons at hunslet or kirkstall. Not a lot of choice of supermarkets but there is limited space with it being so close to city centre. Traffic noise is noticeable with windows open especially on the side of the building closest to the A58 as this goes directly past the building. Still audible but not as loud on the opposite side of the building. Noise from passing trains is audible but not so loud or is disturbing. Parking is non existent unless you pay for a space in the underground car park or only want to stay for a short time in front of the building (e.g. moving, deliveries).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

This development was one of many in Leeds which had cladding which did not meet fire standards (following Grenfell tower fire), this was redone it appears fairly quickly and at no cost to residents, however work was being undertaken at the time of us moving and we were not made aware. Would have been useful to know.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, very efficiently. Easily contactable by email or phone.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent value but not without its flaws

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The development recently replaced its cladding from blue to a fireproof olive cladding. It doesn’t look as nice with red bricks but that’s not noticible from apartments that don’t see the bricks. The green looks more natural and modern. There is an attempt to support recycling but this could be taken further (i.e. coffee pods, more recycling, etc.) management are keen to help but I have had issues fall through the cracks. The interior doesn’t seem to have had much attention from cleaners in a while, and there is only one lift per building (no cargo lift) and they break down regularly, forcing you to take the stairs. However the location and views are fantastic, the apartments are surprisingly well soundproofed, the layouts are good, the appliances are Smeg. Parking is a huge issue, there are 1-hr no-return bays outside that go quickly and parking spaces internally are expensive. As the South bank of Leeds is being developed there is continuous building work going on, but that’s not at the fault of the apartments and hopefully this will be a benefit in the future.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The nearest shops are a 15 minute walk away and are shared with the city’s commercial business district (CBD), so there are considerable mark-ups on items and limited selections, but there are developments that will hopefully change this soon. Excellent transport options, and Leeds Railway station is a 15 minute walk away. The area has its issues but the development has done a fantastic job at minimalising the affect on residents. Bin collections are weekly for recycling and general waste, but there are not enough recycling bins, as they fill up within the first couple of days and you’re force to put recycling in general waste towards the end of the week.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There was no mention of local building work, let alone to the extent it has been, and rent increases are likely without negotiation.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Staff are friendly and polite, but a little rigid in how they can help. I understand it’s just work for them, but they’re homes to us.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Properly management is to be strongly recommended

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Properly management is to be strongly recommended. Highly responsive, professional, carry out all maintenance quickly will excellent communication. The flats are a variety of sizes and vary in layout. My flat is a 2 bedroom with en suite and main bathroom big enough for 2 double wardrobes, king bed and bedside tables + chest of drawers. Living room has large windows with balcony – bright and light.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Waterside is ideally located for quick access to everything leeds city centre has to offer. It has private access gates down to the leeds-liverpool canal walk and to the main streets around. The train station is around a 15-20 minute walk and is quite safe on main roads. Bus routes go right past the development. The main motor way is very easy to access – obviously this has a degree of noise but is acceptable. Bins are easy to access and private within the car park. On parking is very limited, only suitable for guests for a short period but is free evening and weekend. Parking spaces are limited, expensive (£100 monthly per space on top of rent) and some are very narrow flanked by concrete pillars. Residents are generally very friendly.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

In general, these flats are well appointed and a fair rent for the location in Leeds city centre. After seeing well over 10 other flats in the area, this development seemed the best fit for easy city centre access and motor way access. Tenants are generally young professionals – I’ve had no issues with other people in the building. There is an “app” to communicate issues with the management directly and there is efforts at being more social underfoot j the building. Kirk stall and various private gyms are very close. There are small Sainsbury’s / Co-Op nearby in walking distance. There are a couple of good pubs nearby – Editors Draught is only 5 minutes!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I have asked for various “small jobs” in the flat to be sorted – paint work touch up, fridge seal, cupboard hinges etc. All carried out quickly and professionally.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

it’s a lovely place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The building itself is lovely the layout of the flats is very prestigious for students there are some flats available with balconies with a nice view of Leeds you can also see the river there is a lift And a designated area to throw trash out it’s a lovely place to live

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are a lot of local restaurants and there is supermarkets within walking distance the train station is a 10 minute walk from the apartments which is really handy it is in close walking distance to both units as well around 25 minutes.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wished that when I moved in I knew about the parking outside as when I have family and friends visit they can only park there for an hour which isn’t ideal. There are however parking places available to purchase within the apartment complex if you drive.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

With any issues that we’ve had we have had emails within 48 hours about the issues

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great value, great location, great building

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Incredible place to live, with a great on site Managment team and ideal location. It provides great value for money. The design of the building is aesthetically high spec but a few of the features are becoming a tad well used, however the on site team are friendly and quick to fix any issues you may have.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Relatively quiet location, 10-15 minute walk in to town.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Everyone in the building is super friendly and there are a lot of young professionals living here.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They always respond promptly and are very communicative.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

11/10

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Cannot say a bad word about the property management and building management! They have bene incredibly hands on with any issues we have had and gotten them fixed in record time – no issue is an inconvienece for them! The building itself is brilliant, living in a young professionals development we expected noise 24/7 but we only ever hear their front doors closing!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

So close to the hustle and bustle of the city, everything is on your doorstep! Co-op, Sainsburys are a 5 minute walk away, with restaurants and bars nearby too! With the massive open courtyard on the development theres a great opportunity to socialise and speak with the neighbours!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We wish we had known it existed before we rented somewhere else!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Been up the same day, sometimes within the hour to fix an issues and constantly keeping us updated on progress for any issues we have (e.g. fixing a mark on the wall and needing paint in stock before doing it)

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

In general I prefer to live here and I think I would not think of moving to another place

Review Date Sep 2021

I think the worker at Waterside are very responsive and they work very hard.
I like the idea of ​​having an app on the phone to order what I need from them, so I don’t need to call or send an email.
I do not like that it is not possible to put the smart meter reading for electricity here because there is not enough water

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the to live in Watersaid because I can find what i need near to me Supermarket, Coffee shop, Restaurant.
And it not far from the city center.

As student I think the University a little far from here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I don’t think about any.
I were aware about everything.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have an application on phone we use it to report and they didn’t take long time to respond

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Waterside Apartments, LS12
User submitted image of Waterside Apartments, LS12
User submitted image of Waterside Apartments, LS12
User submitted image of Waterside Apartments, LS12
User submitted image of Waterside Apartments, LS12
Image of Waterside Apartments, LS12

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Parking

Parking

Location

Number of developments 14

4.29

Average rating based on 297 reviews

View company