Uncle Elephant & Castle, SE11

Uncle Elephant & Castle, SE11

By
Uncle – Realstar Living
Ranked 35th out of 144 in South East London
4.20 (based on 32 reviews) 4.20 (32 reviews)

Category Scores

4.16
Facilities
4.44
Design
4.31
Location
3.78
Value
3.79
Management

Uncle Elephant & Castle features a range of one and two-bedroom apartments in a joint venture development by Uncle and Peabody. Situated in the London Borough of Lambeth, the development has easy access to both Elephant & Castle Rail and Underground stations. Residents can access both the Bakerloo and Northern lines.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Fantastic location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

The concierge team are amazing and they will do anything they can for you. The facilities are also very nice, particularly the sky lounge and the facilities are always kept clean and tidy. The balconies are made from wooden beams which is unfortunate because when a neighbour in any of the floors above you waters their plants or washes their windows, the water does drip down to the balconies below. The management is okay but nothing special, many reports have been made about cigarettes landing on balcony furniture but it continues to happen although I appreciate it is difficult to manage when you don’t know where it is coming from. The management did handle the coronavirus very well, placing hand gel at various points in the building, putting screens up around the concierge desk and delivering parcels to peoples’ doors.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is up and coming; the old shopping centre is being replaced which will really modernise the area and there are a number of nice restaurants and cafes appearing all the time. There is the wonderful Mercato Metropolitano just a few minutes’ walk away and The Southwark Playhouse is moving to the basement of this building.

What is the best feature of your home:

The layout of the flat is great and it feels very spacious with plenty of light flooding through the windows which is the main reason I chose this flat.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

24 hour concierge which works great with security and also receiving parcels.
The reception area is kept clean and the corridors are regularly hoovered up on the floors.
The guys behind concierge are great and friendly but if you have any issues which need to be escalated then the senior team are pretty useless, especially the property manager who’s people skills are beyond shocking.
The shaft for cleaning the windows has been broke for about a year now so sadly the widows are filthy and thus this makes the view from your windows poor.
Power in the showers isn’t great so don’t expect a big power shower as your be left disappointed.
The building creeks!! and creeks LOUDLY!! Apparently there is a fault. Although we have been reassured time and time again that structurally the building is safe but it it quiet disconcerting hearing the very loud creeks and groans. Also on windy nights this really impacts sleeping so you’ll be going into work groggy!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

This is great area to live in. Everything is super accessible from here. Elephant and Castle station is two minute walk and Kennington station is five minute walk. From both of these stations you can be in the West End or the City in 15 minutes. Walworth road which is a two minute walk from the building has everything you need from a high street.
There is some great restaurants in London Bridge which is a bus ride away. Same for Waterloo which again is a very short bus journey.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The defect which makes the noise

What is the best feature of your home:

The location is amazing. So easy to get everywhere

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amazing place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

Pros:
* Amazing views essentially in all directions if you get on high enough floor
* Building management is super-helpful with all the small things. For example, if you need to attach something to the wall or even replace a bulb, but you aren’t sure how to do this yourself, they will send a handyman to you to help.
* There is a lounge on the top floor that you may use for parties.

Cons:
* Storage space is only available in 2br apartments
* Parking is limited. If there wasn’t a parking spot in the garage underground, finding anything around is next to impossible.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Transport links (including cycling infrastructure) are very good. The area is going through gentrification now, so while it’s missing some bits (there is no Waitrose in the area, and hardly any good dine-in restaurants) they’ll probably come in several years.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The dishwashing machine is a bit too small for “proper” wine glasses.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Add some storage space. Right now we have to rent third-party storage just to keep the flat decluttered.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

New build, new management, up and coming location

Review Date Apr 2020

I find that in general the uncle management team feels inexperienced in managing such a large property, but just about make most scenarios work. The building is nice, facilities are reliable and new. Design is new and modern, to a high standard. For the most part we really enjoy our flat here in UNCLE, but do get annoyed at times by the upper level management of certain scenarios.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great transport connections, up and coming. Limited access to shops and groceries.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Best shops nearby, parks nearby, and local gyms cafes and restaurants which would be really helpful.

What is the best feature of your home:

Without a doubt the balcony is the best part of our flat.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Well connected area and good facilities

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Comfortable flat. The building management could be improved. It takes between 3 to 5 days to responds to flat -related enquieries. The complaints have never got answered. There is a gym and a bike rack, the concierge receives the packages for you. The flat has got it all, I love the balcony and the views.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Well connected area, with good selection of shops and restaurants. Sainsbury’s is the nearest supermarket, located by the tube station. There must be a bigger grocery store nearby, we had a Tesco in Kensington but it has been shut.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The sky lounge is not open 24/7.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The area isn’t as good as the development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The building itself is great, no complaints really. The design is beautiful and really worth my money in my opinion. The concierge is really helpful when we need them too. The only negative is that we can’t smoke on the balcony which I think is a little absurd since it’s my own balcony and I should be able to use it how I like.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is really nice, and there’s a lot facilities close! I like that pret is close and the park outside is lovely too however it can attract a few hooligans at times.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The area can get a little busy and noisey at times.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Up and coming area with great transport links.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

The building looks fantastic and although space is limited it seems very spacious because there is lots of light.
The nature of the residents in a nearby building (council tenants and temporary housing), means there are occasionally antisocial behaviour issues in the vicinity, but these have all been fixed quite quickly and the council + police take it very seriously.
Options for parking are quite limited and this can make getting large deliveries hard.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is very mixed, but is up and coming.
The transport links are fantastic although the local shops are quite limited.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Awesome building aesthetics!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The facilities include a sky lounge, on the 45th floor, a gym and a concession off the council club’s membership located just opposite the building. The building management is super helpful, they have the right mindset when tackling residents’ complaints. The aesthetics of the building are amazing too.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Well connected area. Elephant & Castle tube statiom is 2 minutes walking from here. The area is generally known for being a bit shady but I haven’t ever felt unsafe.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

You can only move on the 1st day of the month.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good but could be better

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

The building is well designed both inside and out. It feels secure and the concierge team are very friendly and helpful. The gym and Sky Lounge facilities are great.

The lifts could be more reliable and, when they break down it can take a while for them to be fixed. The building management team are hard to contact and issues raised by residents don’t seem to be given high enough priority.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is extremely vibrant and multicultural. There are loads of places to eat and drink and there’s easy access to central London. It can be noisy at times but that’s just part of the hustle and bustle of living centrally. The Southwark Playhouse is moving to the ground floor this year.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known that Peabody residents wouldn’t have access to the Sky Lounge and gym.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The communication between the landlords and building management company needs to be a lot better. UNKLe and Peabody residents are segregated which makes socialising within the building difficult.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location, modern development, not perfect

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

The building is modern, the communal area at the top spacious, the facilities new. However, there are certain aspects which does not make it as practical if you spend a long time indoors. For example, the high chairs in the kitchen are too high for the area where you are supposed to have breakfast, and it is loud when there is wind (most often, than not, present at the upper floors), there is no dining table.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The development is located close to the centre, in an area with a vast range of shops (both supermarket and smaller ones), as well as takeaways and restaurants. It is close to the tube station. It is part of redevelopment of the area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing that I can think of – it was quite clearly presented on website and in person before.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The indoor living could be made more practical – e.g. dining table, walls with paint good enough to not easily have marks.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The area is open and not too busy for central

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The building overall is really cool, however! When it’s windy it easy creaky and can keep me up at night. The building management already know about this but it’s an ongoing problem. Also the window are badly designed. They’re floor to ceiling windows and I have to choose between light or air because of the blinds too.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love my area, it’s lovely and the most accessible.
No high street so if I want something new to wear theres no shopping spots.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

You can’t smoke on your own balcony

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Ver good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The building is amazing the staff and management are very cooperative and helpful the neighbours are nice never seen anything bad from them the apartments are great to live in too the features are greats

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is a nice area close to everything and my university but I some inccidents are not safe have taken place

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing so far

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Close to central!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Development itself is really secure and the building is lovely, including the concierge who are really helpful. The only thing I could say is that the area is slightly dodgy, like the area seems unsafe at times but I love it overall.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close to central but dodgy area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

About the area itself and how it can be unsafe at times.

5
Facilities
3
Design
2
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

This is comfy apartment, well designed, good decor and amenities. The community vibe is good too. I would recommend this place to other young professionals looking for good accommodation in London. 5 star

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of local shops and stuff on doorstep good transport links, easy access to central london. Area is still undergoing redevelopment

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The resident events

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Arrogance, very disappointed

Review Date Jun 2020

Uncle as one of property self-management renting companies in London is very arrogance and disrespectful, especially one of security guy ! My fiend helps me to collect my stuff showing my ID, The security guy show his ignorance and disaster manner! I will tell my friends – do not rent flat from UNCLE! No Deserved!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location is very convenient, closed to kinds of transport links.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

When you moving in, Uncle showed me the feeling – this is their field, you should obey their rules! Their staffs always arrogance and arrogance.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

It depends on their staffs. sometimes, they responded soon, but sort the problems out, it is hard to say.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent to live in, but management could be improved (especially for the price)

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

The apartments are well designed; the layout of the flats make for a great living space, as do the balconies. However, the build standard in parts could be improved as we’ve had a number of instances of water supply issues, and small repairs, though the on-site team are generally quick at making fixes.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is excellent for links to most of London, however, it doesn’t feel like the safest neighbourhood in London, certainly not at night.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish I’d have known the average annual rent increase before moving in

What is the best feature of your home:

The private balconies are great; especially south facing on higher floors.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Central location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Its a very nice apartment and its spacious. I like the design and the quality of the finish if the building is very good. The gym however isn’t as good as I had hoped and there isn’t any air conditioning either.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Quick to get to most parts of the city but there isn’t really much to do entertainment wise

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing really, just that you have to pay for parking here

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice park nearby

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The apartment was nicely furnished when I moved in and I love the design and interior. The concierge has been helpful with deliveries and the development is kept clean. The local shops are nice however it’s quite noisy especially due to many sirens

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the greenery in the area however it is noisy at times at night.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish I knew that our had to pay for parking and can’t smoke on the balconies

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Central area but can be unclean.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

It’s a really nice building, rooms are clean and the development overall is really nice, I have no complaints about it or the facilities in the building. Only thing is that there is no air con in the gym.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s a central area but it’s unclean outside the building due to being busy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Air con in the gym.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

uncle review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

the white and black design is good the indoors design nice the communal back yard nice too when things break it doesnt take to long before its fixed but there was one period where it took about a month for the doors to be fixed a another time where the back garden door was broken for the whole of 2019 summer

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

close to shopping centre, however at night time there are not enough lights in the area

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

nothing

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

they are usually very responsive with results showing most of the time

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

E&C

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Overpriced and driven by chinese and other asian students who pay a severe premium, driving prices north. Actual space is ok, views are grewt, quality leaves a lot to be desired. Expect price hike as soon as capacity is reached in the building and a renewal is due. We were asked for 12%

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Addressed to either hipsters or high end foreign students. Ok options to drink and eat, supermarkets are geared towards students

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Termination for convenient and break clause for moving early

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern flats in a fast developing area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Uncle’s building is very much about design which I love as it makes it very contemporary and young.
It also has a 24h gym and a rooftop lounge with 360 views of London, which include a bar, a kitchen, and a working area.
Flats are modern, new and clean, and feature a nice balcony.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of convienient transport links which makes it very convenient, very nearby supermarket, good restaurants around and a nice park.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

As this is my first time renting on my own, and as Uncle have their own management team (meaning they do not deal witn outside agents), the renting process was really easy however, now that I am moving it makes it more difficult for me to deal with agents.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice central location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

There is a lot of space in the apartment and it is very sleek and modern looking. The balcony is nice but rumour has it you are not allowed to smoke there. The deliveries are on time and the concierge is helpful with looking after parcels.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Easy to get to the City however it does get a bit rowdy sometimes.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the parking is very expensive

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lively area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The apartment itself is very modern looking and sleek which takes away from the ‘homely’ feel of the place. The concierge is okay and the apartment has good storage and is quite spacious. Unfortunately I’d like to have a dog but no pets are allowed.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that it’s always vibrant but there aren’t many bars nearby. I can take the scooter to work and transport links are great literally a 2 min walk.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That when it’s windy it creaks a lot.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Uncle Elephant & Castle, SE11

Location

About Uncle – Realstar Living

UNCLE is a UK residential rental company, developing properties across London and Manchester. It is currently owned and managed by…
Number of developments 5

4.29

Average rating based on 71 reviews

View company