Development image of The Waterfront, BN43

The Waterfront, BN43

17th

Ranked 17th out of 23 in West Sussex

By The Hyde Group

3.71

(8 reviews)

An exclusive development of 120 riverside homes, comprising 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments, 3 bedroom townhouses and 4 bedroom waterfront homes.

  • The Hyde Group

Developments you may also like

Latest Reviews

3.71

8 total reviews

Stats

Overall

3.75

Facilities

3.63

Design

4.25

Location

4.63

Value

4.00

Management

2.38

Viewing 1-5 out of 8
Good location

Sian W (Tenant)

Verified Resident

Jun 2023

Our apartment is a good location and being a new build is great for energy efficiency. It’s a good design and nicely decorated. Unfortunately we have had our door entry system break numerous times which is constantly being repaired but then shortly breaks. We had a leak/damp issue which is now resolved however took 6 months to be sorted. A parking scheme is due to come into place but I am disappointed to read that this will be limited number of visitors per quarter as will be a scratch card system.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

Shoreham is a lovely town to live in. Had great public transport options to access Brighton, Worthing and even london. The 700 bus is a 2 min walk and the station is a 10 min walk. There is due to be a parking scheme soon on the development so unable to comment on that as yet.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

As above. Repairs take a long time and have had repeat visits for the same issue.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The high council tax is definitely a negative to living here as is the fact parking restrictions are coming into place. The location is great.

2

Facilities

4

Design

4

Location

3

Value

1

Management


Nice property

Sw (Tenant)

Verified Resident

Jan 2022

The property is nice, there are a few areas which could of been better. There was an issue with incorrect service charges which appeared to have taken a while to look into. I have been assured this is now being resolved. The council tax banding is extremely high for a social housing block!

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

It’s in a good area to visit the town, river and nearby shores. The train station and bus stops are a very short distance. Parking could be better with allocated parking.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The extremely high council tax banding for a social housing block!

3

Facilities

3

Design

4

Location

3

Value

1

Management


Generally very happy with our home!

Jordan (Shared Owner)

Verified Resident

Jan 2022

We instantly fell in love with our property when we viewed it. It feels very spacious and open with all the natural lighting created by the full length windows. We could’ve done with a little more storage space but there is a reasonable amount. We don’t understand why our kitchen tops are white and made of a material that ‘can’t be cleaned by chemicals’. It is very difficult to maintain and keep clean and it does seem kind of illogical despite being aesthetically pleasing. We’ve only been in contact with any management during the defect period in which they were helpful.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

The good aspects of our development and area include the public transport. The buses run frequently and through the night, the trains are brilliant and a 5/10 min walk. Plenty of good shops in the area including some great independent businesses and one of the nicest large coop stores we have been to. Parking is good as we have our own space underground. Considering we are next to a main road, being tucked in the corner means we hear very little traffic noise. They are barely any negatives for the area. We like Shoreham and have done before we moved here.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have not had any reason to contact the building management

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We generally haven’t have any surprises with this property so far. The kitchen tops being near impossible to keep clean due to being white and not being able to using cleaning chemicals on them is bit of a pain. The council tax band is reasonably high and that was a bit of a shock.

5

Facilities

4

Design

5

Location

4

Value

4

Management


A* development

James Cunningham (Owner)

Verified Resident

Jan 2022

We love this development, it is very different to your usual newbuild estate. The house quality is good the surroundings and landscape has been developed nicely and looks very contemporary. It has a London feel to the area and this is one of the reasons why we love it so much.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

Shoreham is a vibrant area with lots of restaurants, pubs and alternative places to visit as families, couples and individuals.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes we had a small issue where some water was coming in around the head of one of the windows and they attended to it within a couple of days and everything was sorted within two weeks.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we had known prior to moving in, how long it would be before the main steps onto the river we're going to be open.

5

Facilities

5

Design

5

Location

5

Value

5

Management


Disappointed!

Julian (Owner)

Verified Resident

Jan 2022

The architecture is generally good with a strong "Shoreditch" vibe in its design. However, the devil is in the detail which is very evident throughout the development, there is an abundance of poor considered architecture. Over crowding of cars exasperated by no consideration to waste bin storage significantly spoils the development. Management of the development is non existent, caretaking is excellent which is wholly down to the staff not Hyde. This development urgently needs access management which could be simply addressed through a vehicle barrier system. Additionally street lighting needs urgently addressing before there is an incident prevention is better than cure in this regard for obvious reasons. Hyde are clearly a housing association not a property developer. Hyde have no idea how to specify and build prestigious residential property poorly considered detailing throughout.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

Location is good. However, total lack of thought regarding management of parking, site security and virtually none existence of street lighting. These are very concerning issues as anti social behaviour has already started, we are targets due to the density of high net worth families. Hyde are not engaging in these issues which is extremely concerning. Hyde/PMC still have not completed this project which was handed over 12 months ago!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Lip service only. Hyde are hopeless in this regard, we still have significant issues which remain outstanding after 13 months! Not what we where promised nor should we experience this inept level of service given the appreciable cost of our properties.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I was aware of Hyde's inept service levels but hoped and was promised they had moved on, inaccurate on all levels! Total lack of security and safety is of great concern. On a positive note the position is excellent, great views, local wildlife and river walks. Shoreham is delightful and I hope inward investment continues so the local area becomes a excellent place to live.

3

Facilities

4

Design

4

Location

3

Value

2

Management

Review image for review ad8bc858-daff-461d-b434-2fa1a7a6e703

Page 1 of 2

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

The Waterfront, BN43

17th

Ranked 17th out of 23 in West Sussex

More developments in West Sussex