The McEwan, EH3

By
Moda Living
1st
Ranked 1st out of 9 in City of Edinburgh
4.82 (31 reviews) 4.82 (31 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.87
Facilities
4.90
Design
4.77
Location
4.65
Value
4.81
Management

Excellent

84%

Very Good

16%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

The McEwan is located in the heart of Fountainbridge, just a few minute walk away from Haymarket Train Station. There are 476 brand new, state of the art rental homes. Residents have access to a wide range of amenity spaces including a gym, studio, cinema room, a co-working space, shared lounges and public spaces. On site, there are also two private dining rooms with panoramic views over the City and Edinburgh Castle. In addition, The McEwan has 24 concierge and maintenance services and the development is also pet-friendly.

Read more Read less

The McEwan, EH3 Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 31 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Finally a much needed concept has come to Edinburgh ticking every box in terms of quality, suitability and security for all ages

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

First impressions – this is a superb set up. Finally a much needed concept has come to Edinburgh ticking every box in terms of quality, suitability and security for all ages. It provides a flexible arrangement for tenant commitments. A manned reception desk for deliveries & assistance. Communal facilities excellent – on-site parking, bike store with a bike cleaning maintenance area, gym, meeting spaces for work & relaxation, cinema, library, outdoor seating at various levels.
The flats vary in size, furnished to a high standard & are meticulously clean on handover.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location is excellent & all amenities within 5-15 mins walking including railway station, food stores, theatre, cinema, & concert venues. Very good range of eateries & shops. Like all city centres parking is restricted. Street cleaning & bin collection always in need of improvement. City traffic noise inevitable especially during the week.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

One slight negative which I was made aware of before moving in – showers are an over the bath arrangement (excluding accessible apartments). Possibly future developments could accommodate a personal choice – stand alone shower or bath.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No issues raised to date but judging by the attention to detail I am confident it would be dealt with quickly.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review. I will be sure to share it with the team.
We agree this has been a great introduction to Edinburgh living, and thanks to you, we will continue to improve the Moda experience.
We hope to see you at our resident events soon.

Kind Regards
Amanda

The management are very welcoming and promptly responsive to any occurring issues

Review Date Nov 2022

It is a very nice accommodation. New and clean. The management are very welcoming and promptly responsive to any occurring issues. There are a variety of apt layout options within acceptable price range given the facilities provided like the gym, cinema room, multiple working lounges and a number of recreational seating areas.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The accommodations is very close to the city center and Haymarket station. Very convenient for everyday commute and easy access to a lot of nearby cafes and dining options.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is a large number of pets in the accommodation, more than I am comfortable being around closely to as it triggers my allergies.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Have not had any issues yet but the staff overall are very polite and engaging with their tenants. It provided a nice communal atmosphere.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The development and the staff are fantastic.

Review Date Nov 2022

The development is excellent. Well designed, well maintained. Tenants have access to a 24 hour gym, a library, dining room with a rooftop view. The flat is furnished and include high quality appliances. The property is managed by friendly and excellent staff. I love it here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is quiet, and clean. Parking is available for cars and bicycles. Grocery stores and coffee shops are nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I should have brought a blanket and a pillow, no complaints though the flat is lovely.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Request are processed and resolved in a time manner.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amazing building!

Review Date Oct 2022

Everything is perfect. We have everything that we need and more! All our queries are usually answered immediately and there are a lot of events happening that tenants can attend. Love the shared rooms as they are really practical when you want to switch place and don’t want to exit your home.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Everything is in the walking distance. Love how close I am to the city center. Also, there are a lot of restaurants and bars near the building!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Everything was clearly communicated, so there is nothing that I wished I knew before moving in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Haven’t had any problems until now, so cannot really give an adequate answer.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for your review,

We have built our neighbourhoods around the needs of the residents who live in them and this review tells us we have got it right for you. Thank you! I will be sure to share this with the team. We are always looking for ways to improve the experience and I hope you enjoy seeing changes as we develop.

Kind Regards
Amanda

The problem of package and furniture

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Everything is good. To be honest,I don‘t like the red sofa,I really like my neighbor‘s green sofa.I know the color of sofa is random. So I think the system of Moda can add a function which tenant can choose the furniture’s style. And also, Two of my package were lost in Moda‘s reception, it might be taken by another tenant. I believe Moda need to solve this problem to avoid our package miss.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Everything is good. Especially the fancy interior design and cozy vibe. But there still have some problem,like using google map can’t search postcode of Moda and the courier is hard to pick up package at home.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Easy to check is there has available room. Now is very difficult to check it.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Sometimes the neighbor is very noisy at night. I hope Moda can remind them to be quiet immediately.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review and for your suggestion around interior styling options. We are always looking for opportunities to develop the service add ons. Maybe this could be an option in the future. We have the BringMe boxes in the parcel room for residents to recieve parcels directly. This is the best way to ensure you are the only one to receive your parcel. Please ask concierge to add you to this app.

Kind Regards
Amanda

Student living at Moda! :)

Review Date Oct 2022

It is very exciting and fresh, love it

I love it here! I only have one “complaint” and that is that it is extremely expensive to book the amenities… 50£ an hour is very steep. Everywhere I’ve lived it has been free to “rent” these spaces. Great facilities though

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is a great location, just outside of Edinburgh central, only the construction is ruining it. But I don’t really mind

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That EVERY event cost money to participate in, at the previous place I lived in in London (which is extremely similar to this company) every event was free for people living in the buildings

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Again, not really used this. But I would assume it is at a decent standard

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review,

Our amenity areas are free for residents to use everyday and we only ask for a fee when you wish to book a space exclusively and block usage from anyone else in the building. We hope you get to use these spaces often. Also, we pride ourselves on the calibre of events we host. We always have a number of free events for residents alongside ticketed events each month. Musicians and food and drink events usually have a small fee. We hope you see the value in these balanced events. Your comments help us to manage our amenity offering. Thank you.

Kind Regards
Amanda

Amazing place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

The building is amazing and well looked after. The amenities are clean and tidy all the time and the design is so cool. I love to sit and work in the library as it is so peaceful. The reception desk are always so helpful and lovely to chat to when I come to collect a parcel.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location. The amenities are superb and a great addition to the building. The area is superb and easy to access the city.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I loved the show room but I wish I could have seen a wide range of the apartments.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No problems so far but the staff are so easy to talk to and contact

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review,

I will be sure to share your comments with the team. Our amenity spaces across both buildings are one of the key features to living in a Moda neighbourhood and it is great to see the residents find their favourite spots. I hope to say Hi next time you are relaxing in the Library.

Kind Regards
Amanda

Lovely development

Review Date Oct 2022

This was the easiest application and move I have ever had and I have moved around in the UK for a few years. Super accommodating and such a lovely flat. You feel safe and the concierge staff are so cosy and nice and always up for a chat. The rest of the team are always super helpful.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close to the city, safe area and really nice facilities, easy access to shopping close by and a lovely view of the castle.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing really. Always delivered above expectations

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very well and prompt replies s/o to Polo at the concierge

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review,

We love to hear all feedback, but it is great to hear we have delivered to your expectation. I will be sure to share your comments with Polo.

Kind Regards
Amanda

Amazing place to live in the centre of Edinburgh

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Very happy with the development overall. There is a dedicated co-working area which is ideal when working from home and multiple other spaces within the development to work as well including the library. The gym is well equipped and has everything I need. Super friendly staff who are always willing to help. I feel really safe in the building with 24/7 concierge. Love the modern design of the development and my apartment. Only downside is I can often hear a lot of noise of kids screaming etc coming from down the hall on my floor when in my apartment with the door shut so the apartment doesn’t feel that sound proof.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location of The McEwan building is amazing – there are lots of bars, restaurants and coffee shops nearby in Fountainbridge, Haymarket and Bruntsfield area. There are parks and a canal nearby. It is also really close to walk into town – about 10 mins walk to Princes Street. There are two supermarkets nearby – both quite small though. 5 mins walk to Haymarket train station which is great.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Don’t need a microwave as the microwave is built into the same device as the oven

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Immediately fixed issue with washing machine and dishwasher. Still waiting for a fix of my bathroom fan.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon Natasha,

We appreciate your review and so happy to have you as a resident, we will look at the design and try rectify the soundproofing issue.

We hope to see you around the building more and more,

Best,

John

Moda living as a family

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Nicely designed facilities. However opening hours of amenities could be 24/7 especialy for families with children that get up early or for people working shifts. The coworking space and gym are lovely and the view from the amenities in the upper floors is incredible.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Really nice and central location with shops, pubs and restaurants in walking distance. However, due to living so central, we have a massive and loud big street just next to our appartment and bedrooms.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would have loved to know that not all bills are included, as stated online and on ads.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They usually answer very quickly and are really lovely people. However, dur to the high demand of maintenance within all buildings it takes them sometimes quite some time to fix things

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review,

It is important we hear about the things you love, but also the areas you would like to see improve. Amenity bookings and availability always offer many suggestions and we will look at ways to improve on the flexibility, whilst still offering the option to book. We are grateful for your patience initially as we tackle the small maintenance issues which come with any new building. These are in hand now and should free up the maintenance teams for more requests.
We look forward to hearing more from you and hope to see you at the next event.

Kind Regards
Amanda

Luxury & convenience

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Everything is done to the highest quality and premium brands both with in the apartment and shared spaces. The gym is expected to be underwhelming like with hotel gyms but this was completely not the case. Brand new matrix equipment. The co working area has amazing resources also, use it everyday.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great selection of coffee shops, bars in the local area. Go urban beside the complex is an absolute gem.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Only thing I can think of is that I wish I knew it didn’t have a microwave, but I forgot to ask!!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, helped me move in boxes to apartment. John was super helpful, top bloke.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  The McEwan, EH3
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon Gavin,

We really appreciate your review and for being one of our newer residents we are very happy we are still giving out the same service.

Best,

John

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of The McEwan, EH3
User submitted image of The McEwan, EH3
User submitted image of The McEwan, EH3
User submitted image of The McEwan, EH3
User submitted image of The McEwan, EH3
User submitted image of The McEwan, EH3
User submitted image of The McEwan, EH3
User submitted image of The McEwan, EH3

Facilities

24 Hours

24 Hours

Balcony

Balcony

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

Central

Central

Cinema

Cinema

Coworking

Coworking

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Communal Gardens

Communal Gardens

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Onsite Maintenance

Onsite Maintenance

Parcel Lockers

Parcel Lockers

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Private Dining

Private Dining

Resident Events

Resident Events

Retail on Site

Retail on Site

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Secure Storage

Secure Storage

Security

Security

Service

Service

Storage

Storage

WiFi Included

WiFi Included

Location

Moda Living
Number of developments 5

4.60

Average rating based on 262 reviews

View company