The Lane, N17

By
Fairview New Homes
Ranked 10th out of 12 in Borough of Haringey
3.91 (23 reviews) 3.91 (23 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.30
Facilities
3.87
Design
3.87
Location
3.87
Value
2.96
Management

The Lane offers a selection of one, two and three-bedroom apartments situated in the heart of Tottenham. White Hart Lane station is only a 6-minute cycle ride away, with links to London Liverpool Street. Additionally, the development is a part of the Tottenham regeneration. This will bring improved transport links, a library, a learning and enterprise centre as well as various open spaces lined with restaurants and shops.

Read more Read less

The Lane, N17 Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 23 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Please read my concerns !

Review Date Sep 2022

The development is ok but the value of built in stuffs are to cheap cheap quail it’s laminate carpets are not great literally colour wear off . Wall painting have been wearing off leaving marks . The indoor doors paint has turn yellow from white not good quality stuffs have been used. Estate cleaning wise has gone down the lifts are so dirty to go in the development is so dirty. The development does not look tidy and clean like it use to before.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Im not happy with car parking, I didn’t buy space when I brought my property and now I’m unable to buy space I have no where to park my car even though I’m home owner council is impossible to give me space. I have noticed that there is no security in my flat parcels are getting missing a lot of theft.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would have checked the quality of stuffs that was built in property which is not that good. Including laminate floor laminate carpet!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any problems that has raise nothing has been done about it!

2
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
1
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Interior space and layout is really great for a London property

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

Overall architecture, landscaping and design of internal units is great. Interior space and layout is really great for a London property. There have been some issues with the management company and the upkeep of the grounds. There have also been some issues with the heating.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is a great corner shop located on the development, and the bus stop is very convenient. However, parking is a real nightmare.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there would be no onsite visitor parking at all.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The management company, Crabtree, provides slow and inadequate responses.

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
5
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A great development, in a great location, with some design issues.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

However, after I moved in the development (I bought in July and moved in August) decided to place a street light right outside my bedroom window (in September/October), this wasn’t something included in the plans and would have seriously made me reconsider living here had I been previously informed. As a result I have reduced privacy in my bedroom, as the social development block can see straight into my bedroom. The light outside my window is also the only light that shines into a bedroom and is the only light which is so so closely position to a property.

When I alerted the property management to this, they said they were unable to change the location of the light.

Overall I’d score the property 6.5 out of 10 on design.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The public transport links are great, and it’s much easier to get into central London than anywhere I’d lived in East or South.

Traffic noise is low, and generally loving here is great.

The locals are also great and so I can see myself and my family living in the local area for years to come.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known a light was going to be installed outside my bedroom before I’d agreed to buy the property. Knowing where lights will be should be included in plans and should be possible to be moved if once up they negatively impact owners.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They’ve been good, when they have responded. But slow to sometimes pick up queries.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Happy with the development but not with our current property management.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

Happy with the design and facilities, as expected. Only downside is visitors parking, none at all and no option to buy parking vouchers for visitors. Not happy with property management unfortunately, constant issues with them and paying high fees for a lack of service.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent transport link. No traffic noise. Wonderful views from balcony. Bin collections on time. Happy overall.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

About parking facilities for visitors

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The current building management has been very poor. Very disappointed unfortunately.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Average

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

The flat is average, had a few minor issues with things like doors and they were resolved quickly. Property management can be better and also our gate is broken every other week, the gate is not good quality.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Parking availability not great, bin collections is average, we have some anti social behaviour but not much traffic noise. Good transport links though and local shopping available.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The gate quality is terrible

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quickly resolved any queries raised, they have been good at fixinv

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great building but too much rubbish

Review Date Sep 2022

My home is beautiful. We were able to move in quickly and we have had no major issues with the build. All the white goods work well.
We have had a few issues with rubbish disposal and the property management has sometimes failed to keep on top of cleaning and gardening.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We live above a Nisa which is very convenient for food.
There is a bus that goes right outside the flat to the tube station.
There is a lot of traffic and the flat is close to a difficult junction which creates queues and collisions.
There are nice parks close by.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The neighbours are nice! There is a lot of rubbish though

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes but they have been short term fixes. They have tried to tackle the rubbish situation but it there are still issues.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A great-looking development, but with caveats

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

The design of the buildings and surrounding green space is fantastic. I really like the layout of my flat – especially the large number of windows. Insulation is also exceptional.

Building management has been slightly lacking. I have received very little help with the numerous package thefts that I have reported over the past 2 years. The building management company installed a fake camera in the mailroom, but this has done nothing to deter the thieves. Additionally, there are constant issues with the rubbish disposal room overflowing. Rather than dealing with the problem at the source, the management company attempt to deal with this problem by sending out letters blaming the residents (where else are we supposed to put our rubbish?)

Building management have recently hired a new grounds maintenance service, which I think is a positive step.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good aspects: quiet, excellent views of a leafy London and Alexandra Palace (assuming you’re on the second floor or above). An excellent convenience store nearby. Transport links aren’t bad (15 min walk from Wood Green or White Hart Lane stations, with a bus stop right outside the development also)

Bad: limited shops, restaurants and bars. Items from the mailroom are often stolen.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

For DIY purposes, it would have been useful to know where the wiring and joists were behind the walls/ceiling!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They installed a fake camera in the mailroom following my complaint of package thefts. After informing them that this has not been an effective deterrent, they replied that there is nothing else they can do.

2
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Open your eyes with their dealings

Review Date Oct 2021

They plan of the building is nice in terms of design.
The property management are good as they are seen doing their work as required.
We have not had any issues with facilities except that the balconies should have been such that no water nor unwanted waste or dirt was able to fall from neighbours above.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very dubious and dishonest with what that say they will do when you are buying from them.
Buyers must make sure that all communications are backed by emails as to what they say they will give or do.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That all required details regarding what they promised are secured before exchange.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They back their cohort at the expense of buyers. Therefore buyers should be careful before they exchange

1
Facilities
1
Design
2
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Mis-sold regarding readiness of flat to move in – fibre optic was not ready

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2021

The planting is nice.

Fire exit doors on the block have not been correctly designed so are left unsecured.
The decision to give all flats on the estate the access code to the vehicle fate means that illegal parking and incessant mopeds / delivery vehicles are a problem. It makes a mockery if having a secure gated estate when the access code may have been given out to 1,000s of non residents.

I am hopeful the security / parking issues will be dealt with by the managing agent.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The main problem was that I was mis-sold flat on the basis that it was ready to move into and that the ultrafast broadband was cabled up ready to switch on. This was a lie. It meant that I moved in bit was completely unable to work from home and my son unable able to study (locked down from school) for 8 weeks. My business has never recovered . When I complained and asked for compensation it wad dismissed . Fairview refused to take responsibility for their error / lie. I gather other residents have waited months to get connected too. Internet access is a necessity now. To have no quality assurance around their fibre optic cabling being fitted on time is appalling.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the fibre optic cabling was not in place when I moved in.

And Fairview refused to take responsibility for compensating me. I have sustained serious financial loss because of this and therefore am still unable to afford to fully furnish my flat.

It has also had a disastrous effect on my son’s education.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would get compensation for the 8 weeks under Covid restrictions where I could not work / pay my mortgage/ had to rent alternative venues and travel to try to continue any work.

3
Facilities
4
Design
2
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Feels safe and contained

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2021

The buildings themselves are lovely, nice brick and general layout. I think the terraces look a bit industrial with the metal gates but that’s generally okay. Property management could be improved specifically with controlling parking in inappropriate places. I think CCTV would be beneficial to up security generally though no explicit problems yet.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A great amount of natural spaces in the area. Traffic noise is minimal for my block as it’s not by the main road. ASDA in petrol station is very useful and larger supermarkets only a short bus ride away.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If I could have got one for a decent price, I should have hired someone to come and do a professional snag test within the first week I moved in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I generally get a response fairly quickly but issues have not always been resolved in a timely manner (e.g. window replacement that were scratched since I moved in, flooring issues). I generally have to keep on top of them to get things done, though it does eventually get done.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of The Lane, N17
User submitted image of The Lane, N17
User submitted image of The Lane, N17
User submitted image of The Lane, N17
User submitted image of The Lane, N17
User submitted image of The Lane, N17
User submitted image of The Lane, N17
User submitted image of The Lane, N17
User submitted image of The Lane, N17
User submitted image of The Lane, N17
User submitted image of The Lane, N17
User submitted image of The Lane, N17

Facilities

Garden

Garden

Also by this company

Explore other developments by Fairview New Homes

Location

Fairview New Homes
Number of developments 32

3.95

Average rating based on 412 reviews

View company