The Kettleworks, B1

The Kettleworks, B1

SevenCapital
Ranked 7th out of 16 in Birmingham

Rating Details

4.10 (based on 34 reviews) 4.10 (34 reviews)

Excellent

21%

Very Good

62%

Average

15%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

3%

Category Scores

4.21
Facilities
4.18
Design
4.38
Location
3.68
Value
3.62
Management

Located in Birmingham’s Jewellery Quarter, The Kettleworks comprises of 292 new homes. Completed in 2018, it is a part of Birmingham’s largest residential development – St George’s Urban Village. The development is a 9-minute walk away from the Jewellery Quarter rail station, which has links to Chiltern Railway and West Midlands Train services.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Location is perfect!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

Location is perfect! Penthouse is small for what you pay. Also I have had some issues that have not been resolved. My sliding doors don’t hold out the rain. The neighbours let out their apartments to
Airbnb so constantly have loud drunk people staying next door which is not ideal. Moving to a different apartment block soon but in the same area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the area there’s lots of bars close by. The walk to work is only 20 mins so location is perfect.
I live in one of the pent houses and the neighbours are renting to Airbnb which results in parties all the time.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had of know some apartments are rented through Airbnb

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

People renting to Airbnb. I would have none of that.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice area and nice flat.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

The Kettleworks is nice; with concierge, gym, nearby parking and bike parking.
What I personally don’t like is the low friendship about neighbours.
Also, we are currently having a lot of problems with the washing machine, leaking ceiling, leaking boiler.
Since the beginning march 2018 we tried to know who was our energy supplier and NO one helped us to sort the problem. I personally solved last month (march 2020). Wrong meter communicated to the national database, etc….

I will personally not buy a property here because are basic houses, and now the prices are overrated.
But, nice flat to rent.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is centrally located, just few minutes walking to the central library, or Birmingham arena.
Tesco maxi is located 1 minute walking, and Lidl is 1,5km. There is a Tesco metro nearby. Many pubs and local breweries.

What I personally don’t like is the rubbish! in pope street or Camden street are both dirty. No public cleaning is offered.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

in order to get a parking you have to spend a lot of money and there is already a long queue.

What is the best feature of your home:

The location, the kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. Gym.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Issues

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

Finishes to apartment are poor. Service under warranty is very poor also! The apartment is nice and design is good. I just have a lot of issues which have not been up to standard or sorted. Washing machine was not connected and flooded when it was being connected. Also some issues that have been resolved are not done good enough.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Their is high car crime in the area I myself had to call the police 4 times. Other than that the rest is good.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I took more time to look into things about the apartment. I was in a rush to move in so never checked everything over

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would like the quality of finish to be up to standard.

5
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Minimalistic

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

It’s a great place to live and I would highly recommend. Building is confusing with floor numbers and apartment numbers but it’s a fun maze.
Hard for Uber eats to find as postcode is not registered and is changing.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I dislike how people set rubbish on fire in the streets and also have seen some cars broken into. Some people have rented out their apartments and the people are partying and messing up the place. Other than that the building is a lovely place to live.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The apartment floors and numbers. The 4th floor is in another building also the lift says 2+ which is confusing

What is the best feature of your home:

Everything is new and we have a concierge. The building clean and taken care of regularly

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The Kettleworks Birmingham

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

The development is very modern and all apartments benefit from intercom system which connects to all entrances.

All external doors are fob entry only which is good for security but doors are often left open unless closed properly which building management have flagged numerous times to residents.

The development is large and there are a lot of resident using the communal services including concierge and gym meaning they are sometimes crowded.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that the development is located within walking distance of central Birmingham (approx 15 mins) and is close to all of the local restaurants, bars and cafes in the Jewellery Quarter, most of which are independents and very high quality.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

A development since I moved in is that the concierge and gym facilities now serve multiple buildings, not just The Kettleworks which means the service is less robust and sometimes inconsistent.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Water does not work in the whole building from time to time and is always resolved reasonably quickly.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern, nicely decorated

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

I love that it’s a new area and is very safe. Especially with having a concierge. The apartments are nicely decorated. However they do not have enough ventilation. There is a lot of building work all the time so is very noisy.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that it is modern and nicely decorated.
I don’t like how small the apartment is and how the windows don’t open far meaning not enough ventilation.
Also the building work is constant so never have a lie in.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Window not opening far so not enough ventilation through house or bathroom.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The ventilation definitely. Also the construction work that goes on everyday

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I love it

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

I think the place is absolutely fine. I am happy with my accommodation and I have not experienced any major issues. The issues I have had have been minor and the management team has been quick to sort them out.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I think the area is great. The proximity is great and there are great bars and restaurants around. However there are regular car break ins.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is nothing I wish I had known. I am happy with the place overall.

What is the best feature of your home:

My accommodation was brand new so that was the best feature for me.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Kettleworks

Lovely apartment with loads of light. Big spaces compared with many new builds.
Noise from the A road can be a bit annoying and the energy efficiency and heating isn’t amazing.
Concierge is always lovely and Seven Capital reporting systems work okay.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Area is quite quiet as surrounding developments have not been finished yet but super close to the nearest doctor and a 15 min walk from nice pubs and bars in Jewellery Quarter.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The type of oven used in the development is a bit odd so not the best if you’re big into cooking.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

We would highly recommend these properties to anyone. They are great value and are very nice and modern. We are happy with everything overall but would like if there was a shop close by or a coffee shop.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We like how modern the place is also the location is fantastic. There is 24 hour concierge.
We don’t have many dislikes only the construction outside but it is nearly finished

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We were informed of everything we needed to know before moving in.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The area needs a shop or a coffee shop as there is only a Tesco.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Better than others – happy with it

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

I think the place is great. I am particularly happy about the dishwasher in my accommodation. The kitchen size is good however, the windows do not open fully so it can get a little too warm sometimes, especially over the summer.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area could use a bit more parking space. Also there is some level of crime sometimes.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing. Everything is as expected.

What is the best feature of your home:

I like the bathroom a lot. There is a lot of light.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern and pleasant

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

It is a great place to live and I enjoy living here. The concierge is so helpful. The building has mostly young professionals with a few students. The gym is a great touch but could be more equipment.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is convenient and close to everything. I dislike that there has been a lot of car break ins.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we had of checked everything was working properly as our light bulbs keep exploding.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I am happy with my property and wouldn’t change a thing

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Quite modern

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

The apartment is very modern and I like the style. The train station is very close which is very helpful. There is. A lot of amenities close by. I have just moved in so still getting used to the area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The apartment is quite vibrant and modern.
I have just moved in so have no dislikes yet.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had of asked or learned more about the area

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I have just moved in so no problems have arisen yet.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern Accommodation

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

I am generally happy with my accommodation. It has been a really good experience so far. The building has Gym access so that’s great. Only issue might be that the water isn’t hot and tends to be lukewarm. Also it can get really hot in there especially over the summer and not well ventilated.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I am quite happy with the place however the ongoing building works can be quite inconvenient. There are loads of smashed windows so I don’t park my car around. However, there’s good parking and nice shops around.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I was told that I would have access to all six major tv boardbands but it’s very limited in choices. However that may be due to the new buildings coming up

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would change the windows for better ventilation as it tends to get really warm

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

I am generally satisfied with the building and its facilities. The management team is good and the services are satisfactory. However it can get a little too warm as the windows don’t allow for adequate ventilation.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is fine. I have lived here quite a long time and I’m happy with it

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing so far. I am happy with my living space.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I think I t would be great if the accommodation space was a little bigger than it is now

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

About SevenCapital

Established in 2009, SevenCapital is a UK Property Investment Company, operating across the residential, commercial and hospitality sectors with an…
Number of developments 6

3.98

Average rating based on 99 reviews

View company