Oxbow, M5

By
Greystar
5th
Ranked 5th out of 21 in Salford
4.23 (83 reviews) 4.23 (83 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.31
Facilities
4.52
Design
4.40
Location
4.18
Value
4.33
Management

Oxbow offers a collection of one, two and three-bedroom rental homes. It is located close to the River Irwell and only a 12-minute walk away from Salford Central train station. Additionally, it gives residents access to an impressive range of facilities, including onsite gym and a 24-hour on-site team.

Read more Read less
Oxbow, M5 Available Properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£944 pcm
1 Bed Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
549 sq ft
Greystar
More info
£1,114 pcm
2 Bed Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
657 sq ft
Greystar
More info
£1,584 pcm
3 Bed Apartment
3 Bed
2 Bath
958 sq ft
Greystar
More info
£1,209 pcm
Oxbow M5
2 Bedroom Townhome
2 Bed
2 Bath
667 sq ft
Greystar
More info
£1,664 pcm
3 Bedroom Townhome
3 Bed
2 Bath
1130 sq ft
Greystar
More info

Oxbow, M5 Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 83 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Fantastic place to live.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2022

The apartment is extremely well designed and finished to a high standard, everything and anything we could need is only an email away and is immediately dealt with. The staff are always helpful and provide really detailed monthly new letters with everything residents need to know that upcoming. We love living here it’s extremely easy living!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We have lived here for almost 3 years and absolutely love it! The staff are extremely helpful, the apartment is lovely and designed well and the facilities are wonderful. Probably our only comment for improvement is more gym equipment needed but I know this is already on the agenda of the staff!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How good the communication is from the management team!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Fabulous response time, really speedy solutions!!!

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Oxbow goes above and beyond

Review Date Nov 2022

Oxbow is an amazing development! The flats are gorgeous and the extra facilities (e.g the gym and the gardens) are kept clean and looked after! The staff are the most important part to how Oxbow is run so perfectly as they are equally as amazing! My partner and I have loved here for just a week and we are so happy with how we have been looked after.

Liam, the Facilities Manager, goes out of his way to ensure that you have everything you need. I struggled with setting up the energy bills, water bills, the council tax and Liam stayed back after hours to help me sort it all.

Kasia is also incredible, we dealt with her a lot when we had to fill out our application. She showed me around our flat and all the facilities, answered all the questions we asked and went out of her way to ensure everything was perfect for our move in.

Oxbow is definitely one of the best flat blocks I’ve been in to and I’ve never felt more at home than here ☺️

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Oxbow is a 20-30 minute walk into the city centre of time, depending on how quickly you walk! There is a huge Sainsburys near by, around a 5 minute walk, and the closest train station is Salford Central which is a 10 minute walk, it is so convenient!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I don’t have any tips, everything is shown to you if you book a viewing, you are told all the info you need and you are looked after so well

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I reported an issue with our dishwasher and within the hour, the facilities manager was in my flat helping me with it.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amazing place to live

Review Date Oct 2022

It is a very convenient location and the facilities here are incredible. I love the home gym and the roof terrace. Building management have been extremely kind and friendly and very helpful. I love the sleek design of the kitchen and the open green space outside

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We are a 2 man house and a 20 minute walk into Manchester City centre. Parking is free but busy especially after work times although I have always found a space to park. There is no antisocial behaviour and everyone who I’ve spoken to has been very friendly.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how big my room was so I could buy more furniture for it

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I have raised an issue 2 days ago and have been told it will get sorted asap

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location, comfortable building

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

The apartment block is everything you’d expect from a new build: it’s stylish, it looks good, and the facilities are great. Some of the workmanship in the flat isn’t quite up to the standard you’d expect — the doorhandles are sticky and the paint is already peeling here and there — but I do know that if I asked, maitinence would come and sort things out. There a lots of nice little touches: there’s a coffee machine in the foyer, loungers that anyone can use out in the garden, and a well-equipped gym. There are occasional problems with areas such as the bin room, but these have all been sorted out and you feel that someone is actively working on any issues.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The block is in a great location: not too far from Salford and Media City, and not too far from Manchester city center. There are green spaces close by, enough shops and cafes. The only drawback is the narrow streets immediately around the development, which can get quite badly clogged with parked cars and traffic.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The street downstairs can be a bit of a nightmare and it affects you even if you don’t have a car— if you want anything delivered like groceries, you’ll have to meet them outside. The heaters are also quite small, even if the overall insulation is good.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management has been helpful in providing paperwork and documents, while the maintience team is always quick, professional, and do a good job.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Bad management

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Avoid Oxbow, some of the team members are great, but the managers are AWFUL, they ignore you and won’t answer your messages for weeks.

I won’t mention all the issues that have happened in my short stay because there’s just too many, but here are some of them:

The parcel room is a mess, after months living here, I still haven’t been given access (like many other neighbours), so when a parcel is delivered, I need to ask reception to unlock the door for me. Often there’s no one at reception, so your parcel is locked inside the room.
If you manage to enter, good luck finding your parcel among piles of other parcels tossed and mixed together from all the neighbours, takes a good 10 minutes every time.

Waste room is another mess, not enough bins for the amount of residents, a few times there’s been fly infestations (check photos) and becomes quite unpleasant and unsanitary.

Front door to the building doesn’t work anymore, hasn’t been able to lock for months. Literally anyone can enters the building without key.
I definitely wouldn’t consider Oxbow a safe place for my family!

At the beginning of my tenancy I couldn’t even open the windows in the middle of a heat wave in summer, they took 2 weeks to solve it, turns out I was given a completely different key for the windows. Who knows what that other key was for, keys are tossed around here without much regard, they once entered my house to do a surprise inspection! Confronted the manager about it, he ignored it.

Kids aren’t allowed on the courtyard without adult supervision, so much for a “friendly” community
The dishwasher barely cleans anything, the washing machine rattles
One of the windows doesn’t seal properly when closed
They didn’t provide inventory until a week after the tenancy started
One of the elevators has been out of service for weeks
An alarm rang in the lobby for a whole weekend, manager never explained anything about that either

Many neighbours have communicated these issues repeatedly and respectfully, but the manager ignores them.

We ended up desperate enough to just leave the flat, but the manager is making things difficult, he is very slow to communicate.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of noise coming from nearby construction site but good connection to the city centre and good places to eat around. Roads surrounding the building are really bad and there’s been complains about vehicles stolen so you have to be reasonably careful.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How bad the management would be. Some of the other team members are good, but the whole thing is pretty much ruined by the management.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Mostly ignores them. Elevator has been broken for weeks, main entrance door broken for months (won’t close, anyone can enter without key).

1
Facilities
2
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
User submitted image of  Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of  Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of  Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of  Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of  Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of  Oxbow, M5
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Development and flats are well designed

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Development and flats are well designed. Make great use of the space. Good amounts of storage in the flats and the furniture and kitchen items provided are of a good quality. Great facilities including outdoor area with BBQ, gym and a place to rent certain items. Building is well managed and the team put on events regularly.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good location close to shops and Manchester city centre. Parking availability poor and lots of cars parked on the pavement obstructing it. Construction site across the road starts work at 8 including on weekends.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Good: number of events put on
Bad: development across the road being built which will obstruct view and light

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

System for reporting maintenance concerns in place. Have responded quickly to urgent maintenance concerns.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Alright but some solvable issues

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

– Kids are loud and notices to stop them being loud are in the lifts but the kids and their families don’t use the lift because they live in the ground floor houses
– Plumbing issues in the flat since we started renting with leaks through to the office (bedroom 2) and the bedroom wardrobes
– Maintenance team are good
– The front door has been broken a while and there is very often no security
– With all the issues, management still tried to put the price up some 15% after one year which is crazy considering the new construction site alone among other things
– The flats are very well insulated which is great in the winter but unbearable in the summer, had to buy a portable air con
– The bin room has been terrible since moving in but there has been serious improvements recently which is nice
– The parcel room is never locked anymore and combined with the front door open and no security its a serious concern
– Oxbow events and resident engagement is great and a good frequency
– Decent value for the price, some issues have crept in as the number of residents has increased but they are solvable

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

– Good amount of local bars, cafes, shops, restaurants
– Convenient nearby transport (bus stops, train)
– Not easy for delivery drivers to find. Have had deliveries go missing because they delivered to the wrong building
– Traffic noise isn’t so bad but construction noise from very early even on weekends is

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish the person showing us around had truthfully answered my explicit question of what was being done on the plot across from us given the planning permission was obtained years earlier and they definitely knew. Now we have to deal with construction noise and the future prospect of no light into the flat and removal of the nice view

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Responded well, see above (need to fill character limit)

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Too many screaming kids but lovely staff

Review Date Oct 2022

Lovely gym and communal garden with a really nice big BBQ space plenty of seating options outside too. they have a lovely management team and are always smiling even the night staff, very friendly bunch. the building has a very safe and clean feel also.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

10 minute walk to Sainsbury’s and about 20minutes from the city centre, parking available and there seems to be a lot of local transport, with lime bikes and the bee network near by. There is unfortunately a lot of construction going on and constant noise Monday – Saturday 8am-6pm. There also is a lot of kids always making noise sometimes as late as 11pm during the week as there is a communal garden they seem to act as if they own it constantly shouting and running into people. if I had of known about all of the kids I wouldn’t of moved into the property.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

the amount of kids and the construction how noisy the traffic can be

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

same day or next day repairs very easy to get in contact with

3
Facilities
3
Design
2
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The truth about Oxbow

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Visual design is nice and modern however there are many parts of the apartments that often get broken easily. Gym is far too small! Additionally one of the property management makes me feel uncomfortable and anxious when walking around Oxbow due to poor communication and management received from him previously. All in all the management is very poor at Oxbow.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good is the distance to the city centre. Negatives is the area of the development looks very run down/ not clean/ dirty!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Pipes flooding your apartment! Door handles break. Balcony doors break!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Repairs have been fixed quickly. The repairs team are nice.

2
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Happy Home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

The staff are super friendly and helpful, but there is a maintenance app for logging issues which doesn’t seem to get used at all. When we log issues via this we don’t get a response, but it’s very easy to email or speak in person to who you need. The design and layout of building is lovely. Coffee machine in the foyer is a great touch.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is great for access to the city centre without feeling like you live somewhere really loud and busy. There is a bit of noise on a Friday and Saturday night from the younger residents but nothing out of the ordinary or unmanageable. Parking is okay as they have recently removed restrictions on the roads around the development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is building work going on right in front of the lovely garden, building huge new flat blocks, it’s looking like they’re going to block out a fair bit of the lovely view 🙁 aside from that everything is lovely

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have been very friendly and prompt once contacted by email, and very accommodating to rescheduling for more convenient times

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely apartment to live for young families

Review Date Oct 2022

The design is modern, facilities are convenience to residents. The room is big enough for my little one to play slide, swing, climbing, ride the tricycle. As a mom, the windows with safety gap lock, it is really good. Also the veneration is very good, can keep the indoor humidity dry. Besides that, I enjoyed the free coffee in the lobby.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Many bus lanes downstairs, it is very convenient to anywhere, especially to the Salford shopping centre and the Manchester City centre! I like the environment around University of Salford, my family enjoy the day out at Peel park. My little one study at a private nursery school in University of Salford!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is a 24 hours parcel room to collect your parcel by the security one time code to your email every time. But for the online shopping of supermarket, the delivery can reach to your door, it is very convenience!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are very responsive and helpful, the team are very kind to my little one, they have good communications with my little one. My little one love to chat and share her favourite things to the team too!

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  Oxbow, M5
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5
User submitted image of Oxbow, M5

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Gym

Gym

Parking

Parking

Location

Greystar
Number of developments 24

4.32

Average rating based on 2144 reviews

View company