Marleigh, CB5

By
Hill Group
1st
Ranked 1st out of 17 in Cambridgeshire
4.52 (15 reviews) 4.52 (15 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.40
Facilities
4.20
Design
4.47
Location
4.53
Value
4.27
Management

Excellent

53%

Very Good

40%

Average

7%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

In joint venture with Hill and Marshall, Marleigh is located 3 miles east of Cambridge city centre. Marleigh offers a brand new community of 3 and 4 bedroom homes, surrounded by green space. As well as a community of new homes is a co-op supermarket, a nursery, on-site facilities, community centre, cafe and office space. Marleigh will also introduce a primary school, sports pitches and allotments, while the meadows and water features of Gregory Park run through it, with Kingsley Woods at its edge.

Read more Read less
Marleigh, CB5 Available Properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£549,950
Two Bed House
2 Bed
1 Bath
898 sq ft
Hill Group
More info
£709,905
Three Bed House
3 Bed
3 Bath
1456 sq ft
Hill Group
More info

Marleigh, CB5 Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Verified
Showing 15 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Improving day by day

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

The development is getting nicer as it grows. The design is quite open and streets don’t feel crowded by houses but access to the development is limited to just one road (the other potential one has not yet been approved). Facilities are scarse, though there is a school, community centre and the (hopefully) opening soon supermarket and cafe will really improve quality life. Houses are of very high quality, very ecological and I am very happy with the post sale support.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good: great community, nice a quiet area, fab public transport to the city centre, green areas within the development and bike paths that easily lead to the Meadows.
Bad:
1/Because the amenities (supermarket, coffee not yet open) have not yet opened, social activity is quite low and the central square has no live.
2/Parking is hampering easy transit. Many are not using their garages and the parked cars are not allowing bidirectional traffic.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I thought access to the development would be better; it seems that our house faces the only road that will be used by the development to go in and out for many years to come. The other potential road is in phase three, not yet approved and to be built many years in the future. The noise, the traffic, having constant bottlenecks in front of your house will just get worst and worst unless a solution is found.

What is the best feature of your home:

The ecological features, the EPC rating, the solar panels, the EV charger. Additionally, I like very much the high standard of the kitchen and bathrooms.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Loving the cycle paths

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

We were the first in our street and it’s still a building site. Will be happy to see the back of the 6am alarms from reversing vehicles – suspect it will be really peaceful eventually, it’s just an awfully long time coming. The snagging people /site manager have been absolutely fantastic so far with all our issues both major and minor. Never had a new build before – steep learning curve for us, but we have a waterproof, cosy home for the first time ever !

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Cambridge just a short cycle away – mostly off road. Love that it’s so flat ! Near a park and ride, but also a short walk away from regular busses. Nearby pubs in Fen Ditton , short walk to a chippy. Love having the trees and woodland walks nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Love the fact that our garden is South facing. The orientation of the house ( and the roof for solar) is so very important to us.

What is the best feature of your home:

I know it’s a silly, but little things like the back door which can be locked into any position are just a fabulous after living in older houses all our lives!

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Marleigh, CB5
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

unbelievable service, fantastic location and a great quality place for living

Review Date Aug 2022

the facilities on site are very good for young families with pocket parks scattered around the development which aids the new primary school opening in September. having a Italian restaurant/coffee shop opening as well will be fantastic. the design of the place is amazing both development and our home. great space and lots of light.

the grounds are well kept and there is always someone tending to something somewhere!

we couldn’t be happier with our move which was made even more special when dealing with competent, lovely and an extremely professional sales team. Charlotte and Ashlea were the two sales managers we had the pleasure of dealing with regularly could not have represented Hill any better. thanks both!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

the scheme is fantastic and well connected. shops within a 5 minute walk and a new coop opening on site at the market square will only make it easier to get what we need. the cycle route to both central and north Cambridge stations are signposted really well and take approximately 15-20 minutes in either direction.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

it was all as expected. Charlotte and Ash made us aware of everything and it didn’t disappoint.

What is the best feature of your home:

light, light, light! the amount of light and space is fantastic even in a 3 bed 1200sqft home

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

OVERALL EXCELLENT!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

We feel the overall design of the Marleigh Development is excellent, providing green open spaces with many trees and plants to encourage wildlife and play areas for children. Communal gardens will be maintained by the Land Trust. Our three bedroomed, semi detached house is spacious and well designed overall with a high standard of fittings and workmanship. We have a private garden overlooking the school playing field. There is a car port and two private parking spaces and the only criticism my husband has is that our car port is not attached to the house and therefore the rain enters. I notice, however, the design has been altered for future Phases of the development. We have lived here for over a year and were in the middle of the building work at first. We found management of the site excellent, with roads cleaned regularly and sympathetic to householders needs. Customer service for any small “snagging” issues we had in the first few weeks were dealt with promptly and efficiently.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We downsized from a 4 bedroom Victorian house having lived in the City for over 30 years and from our point of view, having reached our 80s, this is the Perfect Home for us! It is a new development and will not be completed for a few years, but a new Primary School, Nursery, Community Centre, planned local shops, sports facilities and allotments should I think suit all in time. There are many open spaces and walks. A few minutes walk away is a frequent Park and Ride service, which takes 15 minutes to the City, stopping at the local Retail Park and a shopping centre. Living on our street is very quiet and we have two private parking spaces and no traffic noise as such. Building is still taking place nearby so there is plenty of dust!!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Overall it is a young Multi Nationality community and ideal for families. I think we are probably the oldest residents and while this isn’t a disadvantage from our point of view, as we have family living nearby who we are closely involved with, it might be a consideration for other older residents.

What is the best feature of your home:

A++ Energy Rating, spacious design and quality of finish and fittings

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very happy

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2022

We very much enjoy living in the Marleigh Development. The houses are very nicely designed and nice to look at and there is plenty of open and green space. There are lots of walks for our dog and good cycle routes into town and along the Newmarket road.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is improving all of the time as new phases and features are built. It has been well thought out.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I can’t think of anything. Apologies.

What is the best feature of your home:

A large amount of appliances and design features came preinstalled and these look and work great.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello Rebecca,

Thank you for your excellent review. We are so glad to hear you’re enjoying the open green space at Marleigh and that local amenities are adding to your lifestyle.

Many thanks,
Hill Customer Services

Good place to grow my children

Review Date Jun 2022

designs and facilities are very good. we are very happy about Marleigh developments. There is room for improvement for the after-sale service. We had just minor issues but each time there were quite long waiting time before solving the problems

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is very good. it is easy to go to the city centre, motorway and other destinations

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

More precise time frame of the development of the facilities

What is the best feature of your home:

The the house is very well built with a good level of isolation

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello Paolo,

Thank you for your review.
We are glad to hear that you are very happy with your Marleigh property.

Many thanks,
Hill Customer Services

Safe and comfortable Family home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2022

Responsive management and thoughtful design good open spaces
School is being built on schedule and looks great, good participation between the community and school, events organised to get to know was how other , stirring community spirit , available children parks and beautiful ponds being bike

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good available parking no traffic noise

Bad – bin collection often missed ,

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Water sewerage discount, garden and lawn care, council tax band ,

What is the best feature of your home:

Good sunny lighting and open spces, the backyard is great for children to play
The garage is large enough for storage and car and bicycles

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello Irfan,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you are loving your Marleigh home and you and your family are feeling safe and a part of the community.

Many thanks,
Hill Customer Services

Fantastic property – let down by lack of care with snagging list

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2022

Design of the property is great but the big downside is that the living room shakes when the neighbours below close their backdoor to enter the garage.

– Snags take a while to get fixed in most cases – a lot of the times I feel they forget and always having to constantly remind the customer care team to get back in touch with the contractor.

– OFNL is awful, constant WiFi disconnects, had to purchase 3 routers for stable WiFi.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

+ 12 mins cycle to town
– Pretty far away from the nearest pub

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Limited to a select few internet providers

What is the best feature of your home:

The balcony is spacious and covered to allow use throughout the year

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Marleigh, CB5
User submitted image of  Marleigh, CB5
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place to live, nice properties.

Review Date Jun 2022

The finish of the Hill properties at Marleigh have been very good. I think the design of the properties are very good (including my own) good user of space and a good finish. Property management has been good too around the local area. Good facilities on site with bike storage, parking and electric car charging.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Marleigh is very quiet in terms of any noise or disturbances. Good transport links into the city centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

To check around parking.

What is the best feature of your home:

Very energy efficient. Retains heat well. Good design and layout. Lots of light.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello Matt,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that everything in your Marleigh property is excellent and that you feel well located with great transport links into the city centre.

Many thanks,
Hill Customer Services

Average standard housing not in premium level

Review Date Jun 2022

Design
– should have utilities room in a house
– instal window of each toilet
– use concrete as main wall segregation
Facilities
– use open fire for cooking instead of electricity use
building management
– excellent in pawn management
Property mgt
– not applicable

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It takes at least 30 mins by walk to from the nearest local shops restaurant, bar and open spaces. Their quality is on average standard.
The bus stop is quite close but not close enough for the older.
The traffic noise is sometimes quite noisy because of high performance car running at night.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

– Latest Rent and purchase of the current and next phase
– the details of the population like age group, family size, the education background, career and nationality of the neighbourhood

What is the best feature of your home:

Ideal location of my home in the whole development

3
Facilities
2
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Marleigh, CB5
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Marleigh, CB5
User submitted image of Marleigh, CB5
User submitted image of Marleigh, CB5
User submitted image of Marleigh, CB5

Facilities

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

On Site Cafe

On Site Cafe

Garden

Garden

Communal Gardens

Communal Gardens

Nursery

Nursery

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Resident Events

Resident Events

Also by this company

Explore other developments by Hill Group

Location

Available properties

From £549,950

Hill Group
Number of developments 18

4.07

Average rating based on 185 reviews

View company