Lyon Square, HA1

Lyon Square, HA1

By
Redrow Homes
Ranked 6th out of 10 in Harrow
3.90 (based on 13 reviews) 3.90 (13 reviews)

Category Scores

3.77
Facilities
4.23
Design
4.23
Location
3.38
Value
2.85
Management

Located in Harrow, Lyon Square is a Redrow development with one, two and three bedroom luxury apartments. It has easy access to the city through King’s Cross Station, which is 26 minutes away from the residence. It also has a variety of amenities including a courtyard.

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£485,000
Apartment 6032
2 Bed
2 Bath
879 sq ft
Redrow
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Private Tenants
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Showing 12 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Good location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

I bought my flat using Help to Buy and moved in in February 2018. Help to Buy was an easy process. I feel that I got value for money as I offered just below the asking price which was accepted and the solicitor cost was also covered – I wish I had used their free mortgage advisor as I had used one recommended by a friend.

I didn’t hear much directly from Redrow as all the communication came via my solicitor and mortgage broker. There was definitely some miscommunication as when I moved in I then found out the flat had been available sooner. The gym was delayed and I was nagging them as to when it would be completed – it is now but I haven’t actually used it! The complex is new and spacious along with brilliant transport links to get you into central London quickly.

When I moved in I ordered furniture in advance and the concierge stored this for me and helped move it into my flat which was really helpful. There have been quite a few changes to the concierge and customer service teams over the last year but it hasn’t caused any issues. There were a few minor issues with the flat – the loo seat broke and there was a leak by the side of the bath but these were quickly replaced and additional sealant added. On the balcony there was a bent bar but Redrow said that was an issue with the manufacturer – I am not too bothered and have put a plant pot in front of it. The management are really helpful and things are quickly sorted.

I own a one bed flat – there are LED lights in the kitchen and it is all very modern, the lightbulbs haven’t gone yet over a year after moving in. I kept most of the neutral décor though I painted one wall as a feature wall.

There is a communal garden which is well kept, I never use it but I can often see families using it with their children. The only negative if you have a car or deliveries is that the main gates can only be opened by concierge who are here 7am-7pm, so if you have someone coming outside of that time they can’t drive in. I don’t drive but when I have friends visiting they park on the road nearby.

However it is annoying that when bringing people over you have to go down and buzz them in every time they arrive.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The transport links in the area are very good. There are some shopping centres and restaurants nearby but overall the area is residential and family friendly and I have had no issues with my neighbours.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I didn’t know that you had to go downstairs to buzz people in and out when they arrive and the fact visitors/deliveries can’t drive in when the concierge are not here.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

New Gated development in Harrow

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

It is a very well presented, gated development, with excellent location by Harrow on the Hill station and shopping centers.
Unfortunately extremely difficult to park. Very high heating and hot water bills and very high annual service charges.
Two blocks with social housing (shared ownership) generate events that attract the police

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like: close to tube station, shopping center, well presented gated development

Dislike: price, high charges, challenges with sight management, parking

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Service Charges and challenges with shared ownership

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would like to get a parking spot
I would like to be allowed to change service contracts

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lyon Road / Harrow

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2020

Design: well done, floor to ceiling windows, flat is full of light
Well fitted kitchen and bathroom

Great Facilities: concierge, gym and the fact it s gated

Building management: slow in sorting out issues or replying. Binded to contracts that are not in residents favour

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes: concierge, gym and the fact it s gated
Dislikes: major issues with shared ownership residents

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

services contracts that cannot be changed as agreed by developer

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

management company and clear limitations from the shared ownership areas

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice looking development but costly

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

The development is nice but it is annoying that you can’t buzz people in to your front door, only through the gate. Security is very tight which can be inconvenient at times. Service charge is very high and the cost of heating and hot water from Switch2 is extortionate with the standing charge being £1 a day on top of your usage. You don’t need heating on even during the winter as flats are very well insulated but they do get very hot during summer.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close to the tube and shops

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How expensive the heating/hot water standing charge is.

What is the best feature of your home:

Spacious with led lighting in the kitchen and bathroom. The shower is good too.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Well-located, safe. family-friendly place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The apartment is really nice – it’s well-designed, spacious and good quality. I would say this is a relatively good value place to live (as living in London is generally expensive). The other residents are mostly very friendly and it’s a very safe and family-friendly place to live. It’s generally quiet and peaceful. There is a good gym onsite, a lovely park in the middle of the development and the concierge is generally pretty good (although often not there). We have had issues with the water (2 or 3 times within a year and a half) but the building management company has been very quick at fixing the problem – it’s usually resolved within a day or two.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the accessibility – the tube is really close and there are always lots of buses. There are also lots of shops nearby which is very convenient. However, I don’t like that it doesn’t always feel safe in this area at night.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That problems with the water would be so frequent!

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A high-quality gated development in a convenient location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

I really like that Lyon Square is a gated community – it is unique within the area. It is a very nice place to live – peaceful, quiet, safe and a friendly community. The quality of the apartment and building in general is very high – we looked at several developments in the area and this was by far the best in terms of quality. The apartment is very well-designed – it is spacious and attractive. There is a pretty park in the middle of the development with a great play area for children. On the downside, the company who manage the building are not great at resolving issues swiftly – our interphone is broken and has still not been fixed and initially the heating did not work which was very inconvenient. Another issue is the fact that there is a shared ownership scheme in part of the development so there are a number of housing association tenants – they can sometimes cause a bit of trouble and noise and there have been disputes over the sharing of the bins.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is great for transport links – the tube and bus stations are really nearby. It is also generally very safe. However, one shortfall is that the grocery shops are not as close (Morrison’s is the only one very close-by).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the building management company was slow to respond to issues

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Area and apartment are great – would definitely recommend

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The apartment itself is great – it’s spacious, good quality, everything works well and we have a great view from the seventh floor. It’s also so great having a balcony! Another advantage of being on the seventh floor is that it is always nice and warm. The building is managed well and they are really quick to fix things – for example our balcony door broke and they repaired it pretty much immediately. You are allowed pets but I would not recommend the residence as a good place for pets (we had a cat but sadly had to re-home it). There is a gym included for those who are private tenants and owners (not for the housing association tenants). The bins are pretty far away but they are collected often which is great. The park within the residence is really nice.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that it is close to the high street and places like McDonalds – it’s really easy to get food. There is also a really cool bar nearby. I like that the area is generally pretty safe and that there are always people around. However, I don’t like that on the weekends it gets pretty noisy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the area would get so noisy at the weekends and that although pets are allowed, it’s not really a pet-friendly environment.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Not a bad place but could be better

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The development has a good design and although the apartments are a bit small, they have good light so that kind of makes up for it. Plus if you have a license, the apartments are Pet friendly. There is also Gym on site but sadly there are not many machines that I would use.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are decent department stores nearby and although I just moved here the parks appear clean and spacious. The public transport is also super close especially with the metropolitan line that takes me straight into the city.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

None come to mind.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Decent place to live in

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The design is good, the building is nice. The apartment is spacious. The neighboRs are okay. I have to pay for parking. Community based. Cosy and laid back. The issues in the area are being dealthe with efficiently.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Quite quiet, pretty convenient. The town centre is a bit boring.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Very community focused.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice Community

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The area feels like a community and is very welcoming. The complex itself I find is very family orientated and so it would be very appropriate for them. Transport links are good and the shopping options are plentiful.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Slightly far from the city however the city centre is a walkablend distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The area itself feels a little more suburban than I had anticipated

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Decent place to live in.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The neighbors have been alright, there are a few noisy neighboRd. The concierge is not that good. The parking space costs a lot. There are a lot of restaurants and grocery shops. The apartment is spacious, illuminated. There is a storage shed available.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Well connected, transport avaluable, there are a lot of restaurants, the design of the building is good and the quality is good.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The noise from the other tenants, the poor customer service.

2
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Also by this company

Explore other developments by Redrow Homes

Location

Redrow Homes

About Redrow Homes

Redrow Homes Limited is one of the largest residential developers in the UK. It has a network of 15 divisions…
Number of developments 15

3.97

Average rating based on 144 reviews

View company