Lochrin Quay, EH3

Lochrin Quay, EH3

By
JLL
Ranked 20th out of 115 in Lochrin Quay, EH3
4.15 (8 reviews) 4.15 (8 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.00
Facilities
4.13
Design
4.63
Location
4.13
Value
4.00
Management

Excellent

13%

Very Good

88%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Lochrin Quay, managed by JLL, sits next to the Union Canal. The development comprises of 113 contemporary apartments, a mixture of 1, 2 & 4-bed apartments to rent. In addition to this, residents benefit from, bike storage, communal lounge, superfast wifi.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

My Experience living at Lochrin Quay

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

Very pleased with the development. The concierge is always on hand to answer questions and help with any issues we have with our flat. The bringmebox system we have for parcel delivery is amazing especially as the building is hard for delivery services to access without a key. There have also been coffee mornings, zoom cook-alongs and workout sessions which are great for meeting neighbours. Underfloor parking is perfect and there is also a rooftop garden and bike store.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great amenities, very close to the centre of town but not too near that it is busy and noisy. It’s also very close to Edinburgh university and has great transport links as it is close to bus stops and next to Haymarket station.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The bike storage isn’t very secure, some bikes have stolen in the past.

What is the best feature of your home:

The building is modern and flats are well furnished.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Canal walk

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The development itself is very modern, more modern than most other properties in Edinburgh. The apartments are furnished to a very high standard within.

From the 4th floor up, the view South West is open out to Bruntsfield which is beautiful.

Apartments are all very energy efficient, very low monthly bills. Internet included which is very fast (typically 90Mbps)

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Canal walk is a great place to live, close to many cafes and restaurants. Also very convenient for exercise being on the Canal, easy access to running paths.

Transportation on nearby bus links has always worked well, never more than a 10minute walk away.

City centre is only a short 15-20min walk.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

All questions were effectively covered at time of viewing.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Property management have been hugely effective and responsive with any issues or questions raised. Also very proactive with notifying residents of any routine maintenance or sanitary cleaning in common areas.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Really happy with my flat

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The design of the building and apartment sin general is good. Access to underground parking is made complicated by single access door fobs.

Storage is great in the apartment, and space in living room is great.

Facilities are excellent, I can’t think of anything that is needed. Having Karolina in the concierge office is amazing, love the Bringme box and video entry system. Wifi is also really reliable.

Over all really happy with accommodation.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We like the proximity to city centre and also access to lots of coffee shops, bars and restaurants in immediate area. Nice green space close by and walking paths.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The bills are more expensive than I expected. I was told by the agent that these would be a lot cheaper than they are working out at.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Really easy and quick communication when needed. Karolina has been excellent, really quick to get things fixed and prompt email response. Also really flexible.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Decent place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

Modern design and amenities, roof terrace (when not under renovation which seems like forever), useful delivery boxes, many little faulty things that take a while to get fixed however (leaks, faulty intercom). Heating doesn’t work as it should but decent insulation means not too big of a problem. Building and property management decent, but sometimes drag their feet.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good location with the canal, quiet, lots of shops etc on Lothian road. Transport links excellent, 10 minute walk to Princes st.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is plenty that is great about the property, especially having en suites. I would have been quicker to decorate as the furnishing is functional but very boring.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would like the heating to work and for little things to be fixed more promptly. I would also like both roof terraces to be open.

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent property

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The property is managed excellently. Help is always available when needed. Repairs are done quickly and without drama. It is overall great and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a flat. In addition, optional activities are provided to create a community between the tenants.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Everything you need is walking distance: barbers, shops, supermarkets, cafes, cinema, bowling place.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Trucks emptying bins make a lot of noise which is not ideal.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would like better bin systems with more recycling.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

As I already said, it’s good, despite weird planning and some bits that always break in our flat, it’s good value for money. The location worth it. Pet friendly. It’s hard to hit 250 characters as I think I already said everything. Modern as well. Quite spacious

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Overall it’s a very good development, as it was hard to find something good for us and our dog and the building itself is pet friendly. Location is awesome – love to walk alongside the canal. However, there are some weird things – bring me box: never enough spaces for everyone. Door to access the corridor is located in the bedroom so everyone can see you in your bedroom. Parking is expensive. And other. But overall – it’s great. Would recommend

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The view is quite restricted…

What is the best feature of your home:

Location is the best really, I love the canal, shop is nearby

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A gem away from the city center

Review Date Jan 2021

The design of the building is very modern. Include a parking. Reception is always very helpful. Bringme box is a life saver and very helpful during lockdowns. Roof garden is beautiful and a great addition. House is spacious and cheap. Management is always eager to assit

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great area, with a tesco 2 minutes away and a sainbury’s and coop at a 10 minute walk. Great restaurants in close proximity, and nice little cozy cafes. Slightly away from city centre, if moving on foot

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Fire alarns are too easy to trigger. Even toasting bread is enough.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Even though response was not immediate due to covid, everything was properly fixed

4
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A nice place to live.

Review Date Jan 2021

There are many webhes inside the building. I love that I have a lot of tickets and outings. There should be a garbage slide on high floors. There should be many plants on the balconies. The security door to the bring me lockers doesn’t work. They broke the lockers and steal packages. That’s poorly careful. It should be less visible, less direct to the street.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s a very quiet and beautiful place. It’s dangerous when there’s ice. The floor is very slippery. Not all neighbours pick up their dogs’ poops.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The floor gets dirty very easy. Buy a vacuum cleaner.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Our intercom has not worked for weeks, but due to a pandemic they haven’t been able to fix it, since it’s an external provider. In general, they fix everything quickly.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 7

4.21

Average rating based on 167 reviews

View company