Development image of Lancaster Grange, AL2

Lancaster Grange, AL2

5th

Ranked 5th out of 5 in Watford

By Crest Nicholson

3.81

(8 reviews)

Lancaster Grange is a contemporary collection of 2 bedroom apartments and 3 & 4 bedroom houses in the desirable village of Bricket Wood.

  • Crest Nicholson

    Is this your business?
    Claim your profile for free

Developments you may also like

Latest Reviews

3.81

8 total reviews

Stats

Overall

4.13

Facilities

3.50

Design

4.25

Location

4.38

Value

4.38

Management

1.88

Viewing 1-5 out of 8
Not so great

TJ (Owner)

Verified Resident

Dec 2022

Design looks nice from outside but functionality of the design is poor. A lot of the design caused us spending more on repairs within a short period of buying the house . The building management are very hard to reach. You need to carefully read what is covered in your warranty

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

Easy access to the motorway but noise from motorway could be very high at night. Parking planning is also good

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Partially, they sent people but never really fixed the issue

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That looking at the design from outside doesn’t mean it will be a great property

3

Facilities

2

Design

4

Location

3

Value

1

Management


Mixed review

Bricket Wood (Owner)

Verified Resident

Jun 2021

The wooden pigs and sheep were a total waste of money. They don’t do anything. The park is so terrible - no slide/swings or traditional facilities to use and has been closed for the whole of lockdown despite councils opening up there local park. The water feature we are being charged for is nothing short of criminal. The houses are great but no storage. The gardens have been awfully designed and the skylight have been terrible across the whole development. Terrible that it’s classed as a private road we have to maintain however there is pedestrian and cyclist access to the BRE. The houses have some how attracted the lovely group of neighbours and we are so lucky to have met so many lovely people.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

Whilst Bricket wood has great links to m25 and m1 - the local amenities are very limited. Bin collection is great, parking is a bit bizarre as people have drives and spaces but choose to not park in them. The facilities management, Trinity, are con men/women. Leanne in sales was totally amazing we miss her not being around. Anti social behaviour from the social housing is becoming a problem and how fast people drove through the estate. The train is just a joke - one line that’s ran by volunteers. If you miss it going one way it’s 40/50 mins wait till it goes to the other side and back. Really should be better for people to get to Watford in a supposedly environmentally friendly way.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

To find out more about the facilities management company.

Please share one thing (or more) which you would change about your development:

Have a roof and storage. But good quality. I think the whole after process and snagging a surely a waste of time when you could get it right as building with world class quality control.

3

Facilities

4

Design

3

Location

5

Value

2

Management


Lovely houses on a peaceful development

Judy B (Owner)

Verified Resident

May 2021

The houses are fantastic. Really well designed and built with care and detail. They are fabulously energy-efficient and retain the heat very well in the winter months. They can get very warm during the summer months but this isn’t really an issue, Crest Nicholson have been excellent in every aspect. However the company appointed as Property Managers have been very poor and are not maintaining the development as they are paid to do. We are in the process of appointing a new Property Management company and feel very hopeful that past problems will be rectified

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

Bricket Wood is a lovely area, near to major roads but also miles of unspoilt countryside. There are some very good local shops and businesses and a real feel of living in a community, It is reasonably easy to get around and I understand there are regular buses into Watford and St Albans. There aren’t too many spare places to park which can occasionally cause issues. Overall it feels like a safe neighbourhood to live in and I don’t believe the crime statistics are any worse than anywhere nearby. Living on a development means there is more of a sense of community and therefore the neighbours are really good at keeping an eye out for each other. The M1 can be heard in the distance but is never an issue

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

As stated above, the Property Management company have been very disappointing and have not delivered value for money. We are in the process of appointing new agents who will hopefully meet the standard required

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

New owners are put onto Eon’s highest variable gas & electricity rate and it takes a good number of weeks to change suppliers, These high charges aren’t highlighted by the developers and for those who don’t check, they are paying way too much for their energy and may not be aware due to the energy efficiency of the houses which negates the high charges

4

Facilities

5

Design

5

Location

5

Value

1

Management

Review image for review a7477ac8-fff5-42c5-8fe8-1e60d63f8a2e

A lovely place to live

Richard Whaley (Owner)

Verified Resident

May 2021

The houses are stylishly designed and very contemporary. The windows are all floor to ceiling so there's lots of light too. The gardens are small but manageable. There are visitor parking bays, some with electric pod points. Development management is good - lawns and mowed regularly and the area is kept clean and tidy.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

Lancaster Grange is ideally located close to schools and shops. With easy access to the M1 it also means getting to other towns and cities is very convenient. The development also benefits from well tended outdoor spaces. Parking is good and bin collections regular. People are proud to live here and it shows.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have always been very quick to respond to and action any problems.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We were expecting a bike store and got a huge shed. And a water butt. Nice feature which you don't usually get in a new build.

5

Facilities

5

Design

5

Location

5

Value

3

Management


Beautiful Homes

Sandeep (Owner)

Verified Resident

May 2021

Airy spacious and bright with fully loaded accessories. Beautiful interiors and the best quality used for everything from flooring to tiles to carpet. The property has lovely play area for kids and a center courtyard.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

Just of the M1 this area is perfect. Not to far from st albans in a beautiful warm and friendly village. Feel fortunate to live here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Can't think of anything.

Please share one thing (or more) which you would change about your development:

Size of the drive way. And the garage They could have made it a bit bigger so that the car could fit in the garage or on the driveway. We have a problem doing both and own a normal sized SUV

4

Facilities

5

Design

5

Location

5

Value

3

Management


Page 1 of 2

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Lancaster Grange, AL2

5th

Ranked 5th out of 5 in Watford

More developments in Watford