Knight’s Park, CB3

Knight’s Park, CB3

By
Hill
Ranked 6th out of 14 in Cambridgeshire
4.09 (11 reviews) 4.09 (11 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.00
Facilities
4.18
Design
4.64
Location
4.00
Value
4.09
Management

Excellent

45%

Very Good

36%

Average

18%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Knights Park is an award-winning new development of beautifully-designed, modern homes in Eddington. From light and airy apartments to luxury large villas, Knights Park is designed for all stages of life and offers a balanced, healthy lifestyle to everyone.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Location and a House that’s Truly a Home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The development is quiet, safe, and home to numerous plants, trees, birds and butterflies. We have been told that the management avoids pesticides and herbicides with a healthy environment in mind. There are several walks to choose from, and a lake called Brook Leys that offers lovely walks and world-class architectural sculptures. On our street, we have found that the wonderful underground bin system eliminates smells and pests. Sometimes a thoughtless neighbour will fail to push bags down the chute, which blocks the bin, but I can’t think of any other ongoing complaint. We also have an amazing bakery, Dulcedo, in the square here. It’s the perfect place to meet friends spontaneously or for a get-together over delicious coffee. For moving in, I would recommend that those who show new residents around their homes be familiar with common questions about how the houses work, for example, how best to use the wonderful air exchanger system. The “summer bypass” switch wasn’t known to us until today, when a neighbour explained what he’d discovered! We’ve been living here for a year and a half and are still learning about the house and how it works.The building quality and the architecture is excellent. We find many thoughtful touches throughout in keeping with architect Alison Brook’s motto, “generosity”.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Our street in Eddington is a happy mix of all ages. We know our neighbours and have enjoyed socializing with them from the beginning. We have been exploring the area, and there is so much to do here. Even without going into town, Madingley Rise along Storey’s way features heritage trees, flower gardens, fascinating paths and buildings, interesting history, and natural beauty any season. Cycling takes us into downtown Cambridge in 10 minutes. There’s the Museum of Cambridge right down Huntingdon Road near the bridge over the River Cam, and Kettle’s Yard with fabulous art collections too. The Universal bus is a joy to ride and is conveniently located across from the Sainsbury’s in Eddington. We also have an amazing bakery, Dulcedo, in the square here. It’s the perfect place to meet friends spontaneously or for a planned chat over delicious coffee. We love this location.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Either have curtains measured and made in time for moving in, or have screens available. I was also disappointed to find out on the day we took ownership that the cooking stove requires induction pots and pans. I did not have those.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The master bedroom is not large enough for a medium sized bed and furniture. If the top terrace were a bit smaller, then the master could be made a bit larger to accommodate furnishings.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good development in general, would be nice to have more shops and living facilities

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Design is generally okay. The outside appearance is nice, but wiggled shaped apartment can be a problem to fit furniture in. Also, some minor designs (eg wall skirting height) seems to be not aligned with the standard, resulting in some slight problems of mine to literally sew the cupboard.
In terms of facilities, a reception would be very helpful. And as mentioned above, more local shops and restaurants are good.
I very much appreciate the building and property management, as the team responded fairly quick even in the COVID situation. Things in the room or in the common area typically get repaired in a timely manner.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I personally enjoy living in a quiet area. However, I sometimes feel there is a lack of essential facilities around like post office, GP etc. Otherwise pretty good.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Deliveroo/Uber eats didn’t reach here until recently. Considering the lack of restaurants around, it was pretty annoying.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yeah, generally the next day. Kept in touch about things that happened during COVID. Appreciated.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
2
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

We are pleased we bought the apartment but there ismuch room for improvement

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Inadequate secure bike storage. Unwelcoming entrance to the building, it already looks tired and carpets very stained. Paint peeling in several places and not being dealt with. Given the high service charges we pay it just feels forgotten. Portal and Encore often deny any issues are theirs and refer you to the other and then you get referred back to the original organisation approached which is very frustrating.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Limited facilities currently available. Apartment fine but the management of gardens poor, a hedge trimmer would appear to be the only garden tool ever used. Rubbish bins regularly overflow which is unpleasant and unsightly. Property management slow to respond to queries and can be very patronising. Makes me hesitant to get in touch with issues as I am made to feel like a nuisance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the hype given about after-sales care isn’t as effective as they would lead you to believe.

What is the best feature of your home:

The apartment is light and airy and well equipped.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice development, still improving

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Everything is pretty great. Spacious and nicely designed flats, although parts of the bathroom and kitchen could have been done better. The heating system could be better. Recycling system is good and building cleaning is decent. No serious complaints.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Brand new Sainsbury’s a couple of minutes away. Currently just a single bakery and occasional food vans. A bus station getting you to the city centre in around 25 minutes.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Poor soundproofing around the front door, everything from the hall is very audible.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quick to respond by email, though it is already more than a month I am waiting for something to get fixed.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great building – let down by communal facilities and poor management.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

We are really pleased with the design and build quality of our flat, and have received great service from hill. However, The service charges are unnecessarily high, as are the communal heating bills (specifically the standing charge, so we loose any benefit from a well insulated building.) As remedial works take place planting and grassed areas have been damaged and not put right.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The main square is still full of vacant shops (not sure if this is COVID related?) it would be good to know what the plans are. Guest parking is a problem, I resent having to pay for my weekly cleaner to park. We should be allowed a certain amount of free hours a year. There are a few things we feel were overlooked in terms of practicalities, there is no communal outside space directly outside out apartment buildings, for residents to gather and children to play (other building s have a shared garden for example) and there is no compost/organic waste disposal or allotments for residents. There is also lots of water pooling in the planted beds.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

N/a

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Encore are our building managers – we have experience of them before and expectations are very low!

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Beautiful modern design and buildings

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Building management is very sufficient. The design is very modern. Quiet neighbourhood with supermarket in just 5 minute walking distance. Building is well maintained both in case of garden and the communal areas. Parking lot always have plenty of spaces.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Beautiful newly built area with modern and sustainable infrastructure.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Great community.

What is the best feature of your home:

Good communication and friendly with reasonable price.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A visionary home and area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Outstanding management with carefully designed procedures to support residence and maintain the area. Rapid response when issues are identified with polite, responsive, staff. The area is kept clean. Gardeners keep the area spotless although they lack knowledge about plants.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Outstanding properties, well designed for comfort and luxury. Peaceful and calm designs with laid out gardens/plants.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

None to report. Customer service and information were clear.

What is the best feature of your home:

Spacious with plenty of modern outside space to relax

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Five star flat

Review Date Jul 2021

The flats are very sturdy and well built. I don’t like the finishing wall is plsterboard (with various material behind it) as it’s quite hard to find the right plug. The triple glazing windows are grat to block the noise outside.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The community is great with a outstanding school and the community centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The plasterboard….

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I’d like the flat more rectangular or sqaure shape

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Knight’s Park, CB3
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Not meeting expectation

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Development team responding to service is ok. Property service company response to service request is very good. Dealing with Hill sales team need to be careful as they will puch for closing the sale and will hide something you reported to fix before the completion.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very casual area to live, good for kids and lots of green areas. Hope more stores to open in Eddington.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Some of the windows are not reachable by window washing company

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Timely response and quick service response. In general very good.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice design and location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Nice location, good amenities, the development is very modern and the surrounding area has a good mix of green spaces and open areas. The property management are very proactive and attentive and come across in a professional manner. The overall design aesthetic is very pleasing and contemporary.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice location, good amenities, the development is very modern and the surrounding area has a good mix of green spaces and open areas.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would highly recommend walking around the area to look at the amenities and resources in the area.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have responded well to any issues I have reported.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Elegance and Convenience in the Heart of Cambridge

Review Date Jul 2021

The neighbourhood is beautiful and tranquil. The homes are beautifully designed and well built. The energy efficient features are a big plus. The appliances are state-of-the-art. It really provides a comfortable and well-connected living space. It really is a wonderful community.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are lots of green spaces, including sports fields, walking trails, and a little lake with picnic tables. The access to the city centre is very convenient, either by bike (12 min) or by bus (10 min). There is a well sized supermarket in the central plaza, as well as a coffee shop. Food carts come to the plaza every Wednesday and Saturday. There is a children’s playground, and a community centre with a good number of interesting activities year-round.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Because it is a newly built home, you are not allowed to add wall-paper for at least one year while the home settles (or if you do, any cracks on the wall will not be covered by the guarantee).

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have been very responsive to all issues and concerns raised. Very timely and professional.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Knight’s Park, CB3

Location

Number of developments 11

4.06

Average rating based on 101 reviews

View company