Equinox, E14

Equinox, E14

By
Bellway Homes
Ranked 51st out of 222 in East London
4.13 (12 reviews) 4.13 (12 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.67
Facilities
4.00
Design
4.50
Location
4.25
Value
3.55
Management

Excellent

33%

Very Good

42%

Average

25%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Equinox is a residential development by Bellway Homes in Poplar, situated just moments from Langdon Park DLR station. It’s made up of  273 one, two and three-bedroom apartments, which are split across four buildings – Eclipse, Pisces, Jupiter and Kepler. The development’s tallest structure, a 13-storey tower, looks out over leafy Langdon Park.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

A lot better than properties in the area

Review Date Aug 2019

The house is pretty good, and it’s better than most of the properties in the area. No issues have arisen as such. The master bedroom is a big size and has an ensuite. Its a lot better than we expected and it was quite clean when we moved in. The area has a nice family vibe.
We used openrent as we don’t like working with agents so we worked with the landlord directly. Their platform allowed us to sort everything out online and we were able to amend the contract which was a great advantage moving in.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There aren’t many nice cafes and restaurants in the area. I do like that the transportation links are very close.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We were told we could apply for resident parking from the council but after we moved in we weren’t able to get that as the parking pays are now in a no car zone.
Initially we had some issues trying to work out who we were meant to get in contact with in regards to issues such as extra fobs and the electric meter and when we did get in contact, they were aggressive over the phone.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Bug windows lots of light

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The design of the house feels big and spacious and the bedrooms at the front have floor to ceiling windows. Also the top floor has a whole wall that is a window which allows a lot of light into the house which i love.
The house isn’t built very strong and all the walls are plaster. All the door handles get broken.
The taps are not secured and the fuses regularly blow in the lights.
The electric stove isn’t very strong so we have issues cooking.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the location and there is chemist and doctors very close by.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There isnt a big supermarket in the area so its quite hard to get shopping.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They do fix every issue we have had, however big or small

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great market close by and transportation links.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The house feels very weak and doesn’t feels strong as the door handles often fall off and walls aren’t strong as we cant hang anything on it,
Sink and bathroom are also really badly made as it is always causing us issues.
The building management were always prompt at fixing any issues we had.
Bathroom lights are so quickly to burst and we are constantly fixing it ourselves.
The design is nice however there are no storerooms in the house.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like because it is nice to the market and the transportation links is really convinient.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I liked close by to the property before so knew a lot of the area.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They were very prompt at responding and they were always polite and nice.

5
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice apartment but terrible experience with building management

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The apartment initially felt really well built however the longer we stayed the more issues we faced.
A few of the pipes started leaking and the parts used weren’t the usual ones so when we tried to fix it, it was hard to find the parts.
The design of the apartment is nice for a 2 and a half bedrooms and 2 bathrooms but as a small family it would have been better to use the bathroom as a bedroom.
We have two balconies as we are on the corner apartment which has a great view and a nice Open plan kitchen with a large living room.
Roof garden is really lovely for extra place for the kids to play.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The neighbourhood is really nice and feels very central as
DLR and buses are convenient and the market is close by where we can get a lot of different products there.
There is a lack of cleanliness in the area can be dirty as there is regularly dog mess on the roads.
The roads are quite busy so its hard to cycle safely.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Bike store wasn’t safe and we actually had a few of our bikes stolen once.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Its not been great, as they are pretty slow to do anything. Even when we wanted replacement keys, they take a lomg time to respond.
We had a leak come through from the pipes above the bathroom which wasn’t fixed for 2 years and when we got pivate quotes, they became invalid because it took so long.
Some of the fobs didn’t work and also took time to replacd.
Because we werent told which management we were under we werent told of any new information and we werent able to attend owners meeting initially and when we were invited we werent able to vote.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location for transportation

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

No one cleans the inside of the apartment in the communal area and the bins are kept badly and smells badly. From time to time the front door is broken. Because we live on the first floor so it can get loud. It is also quite hot regardless of summer of winter.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the connection with the DLR. The gym and market and parks are really nice.
There is a lot of quick food options especially the perfect fried chicken when i’m drunk!
I dislike the fact that there are street racers down the main road pretty much every night.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Streetlight right in front of the building looks straight into our bedroom which is annoying at night.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The cleaners and the lack of building management within the property.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

No big complaints. Good place.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

Pretty quiet, feels pretty safe at night, never had issues.

A few issues with the building, main doors kept breaking, which they always fixed quickly to be fair, and now they’ve installed a better quality door.

The bin room is not always treated with respect. Generally just minor dislikes.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Connections are really good, stn closeby, 5 mins to canary wharf one way and Stratford for the Westfield etc.

Quite close to Victoria Park, 10 mins walk.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

None.

What is the best feature of your home:

Really like the layout of the flat, feels really homely.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Perfect quiet, respectful place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

Pretty quiet, residents are respectful, no bad experiences.

Co-op and tesco express are close, big tesco 20 mins walk.

Good walking distance to Canary Wharf, 20 mins, so very good for people that work there.

Only dislike is the loud planes coming and going at city airport. That only seems to have been since June so not sure if it’s a seasonal thing.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best thing is that it’s really quiet, I like my privacy.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Spacious and large bedrooms.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The house lacks a lot of storage and there is only 1 shower for a 5 bedroom house which is not the best.
We have had issues with the leaking from the bathroom above the kitchen.
Also after a long time of not using the boiler it sometimes breaks down.
The design of the house is nice and the large kitchen is great for our large family. Also the garden is really big.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The shops are close by and the neighbours are really nice.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How hot the house gets during the summer.
Master bedroom doesn’t have a window, there is only a large door which is too big to open usually.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Its sometimes difficult to get hold of the but when we get in contact they do come.
The bin men always change the bins around.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2018

Great concierge, clean and Fantastic location by the river and dlr station. Minutes to Greenwich. 25 mins walk to Canary Wharf. However, this is next to a noisy football field and the pedestrian path is always full of cyclists going through the FOOT tunnel. I would prefer if the development were gated so as to enhance the safety.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The noise from football field and the awful cyclists on the pedestrian path

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The football field is open till 10pm at night

5
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern but with social issues

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

Modern build, good things is very warm, bad things is no choice for utility suppliers.

Generally the area is kept clean and tidy.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Area is newly built and local to transport and shopping.

Antisocial behaviour is very high, especialky drug activities, to the point is all very hard to live with, especially to bring up children around.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

About the level of antisocial behaviour.

Why did you choose this development:

We were on housing waiting list, and this came up first.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 43

4.01

Average rating based on 563 reviews

View company