Simple Life at Empyrean, M7

By
Simple Life Homes
Ranked 47th out of 80 in Greater Manchester
4.21 (39 reviews) 4.21 (39 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.85
Facilities
4.33
Design
4.23
Location
4.36
Value
3.82
Management

Empyrean offers 298 apartments spread across six blocks. Located either side of the newly renovated Church of Ascension, it is directly opposite Green Grosvenor Park. As well as this, it’s a stone’s throw away from the river Irwell. These homes are rental-only by Simple Life.

Read more Read less

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 39 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Good location, nice design, so homely

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

I love the design of the building, I can’t fault it at all. It’s such a nice place to live, and the local area is lovely. Right next to Green Grosvenor Park and River Irwell/Peel Park. It’s nice to be close to city centre but also around lots of green and nature. The building/prop management have been amazing too, if there are any issues I can email anyone and expect a response on the same day.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is a good range of shops including a corner shop only a few minutes walk away, then you have an aldi, tesco, asda and sainsburys only a 5 minute drive away. It’s also really close to town, which only takes 15 mins walking. There is no noise disturbance and the parking is good, I know my car is safe.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had been told that my apartment is on the ground floor, as I would have really liked a balcony. But I can always try and get one once my current lease ends.

What is the best feature of your home:

I love the layout of the flat, and also the fittings and furniture. It’s so modern and clean looking, you feel a sense of calm when you walk in.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely apartment for a great price

Review Date Aug 2021

The design of the apartments themselves is really good. Super minimal & simple, and feels quite spacious. Storage is a little bit of an issue. Also minor issues with how the apartments been put together (skirting boards not been put on properly, marks on the floors, paint on the floors and light scratches on the walls). Felt a little bit like the builders were quite messy and in a rush with getting it finished. In terms of facilities, bin and car park areas are fine. Would be nice to have some sort of Conceirge for parcels and security! It’s apparent a lot of people have been having their parcels stolen, as the lockers need a token??? This is probably the most disappointing part of living here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Not many local shops & restaurants around, have to walk 25 mins into town. Bus stop right outside which is good. Street is generally clean, and quiet. Kids at the school opposite can be loud, but apartments are fairly sound proof.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I think I was hoping for a better system with the parcels / a Conceirge team.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We’ve not had to raise any issues as yet with our apartment.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Meg,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re delighted to hear that you have been enjoying your time living at Empyrean and enjoy the design of the apartments. In regards to any concern you have regarding the parcels, please feel free to contact your property manager so we can look into this issue right away. At Empyrean, we do have a building manager who takes care of all of the parcels that cannot fit into the parcel lockers in the lobby but feel free to get in touch so we can look into this matter in more detail.

Thanks again for providing us with this feedback!

Grat Life in Empyrean Blocks

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Very well designed with a modern style. Simple and fast system for reporting any problems. Good connection with property manager. Property is always kept clean. Very well organised and always adapting to current Covid-19 situation providing hand sanitizer available for people entering the block.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Empyrean Blocks are well based in quiet part of Salford. Streets are quiet and at the same time there is very good connection with city center using Buses. Big plus for us is Green Grosvenor Park just in front of the building. Bin collection point is always kept clean.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Flat was described as 2 metres above the ground but there was no mentioned that car parking is also raised above the ground level. In this case car parking is on the same level as apartments located with the view on car parking site.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes. We had problems with Keys and balcony widows. It was fixed very fast.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Matt,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with some feedback.

We are thrilled to hear that you have been enjoying living at Empyrean and found everything to be accommodating to your needs. It is also great to hear that if you’ve had any issues that they have been dealt with promptly.

Thanks again!

Spacious, well designed apartment in good location.

Review Date Jul 2021

Flat design excellent, good layout and spacious. White goods well located and of good quality. Bedroom and bathrooms well designed, bathroom particularly spacious. Some of the entry doors found not to always close properly, potential security risk. Property managed well, friendly management team.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good location, traffic noise not disturbing. Parking good, transport available and reasonably convenient. Restaurants and bars etc not particularly available, open spaces not bad, parks nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Good to look at compass direction and outlook for deciding the type of view you would like.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Responded well to a car parking issue, response is always fairly swift and helpful

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Generally good place to live

Review Date Jul 2021

Building not made well – Walls and doors super thin! Can hear every time a neighbor moves around. There are also cracks appearing in communal areas already
Aesthetic aspects nicely designed – white walls, floor/carpet colour all good choices that allow you to blend with own decor and flats generally look nice with the exception of the grated balcony floors which are hideous and unfuctional as they make furniture wobbly

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good:
5 minute walk to local shop
25 minute walk into city centre which has great range of shopping outlets, restaurants, bars, pubs etc.

Bad:
End of block 6 is next to busy round, can’t have the window open without high noise pollution.
Surrounding area not nice; aged buildings and graffiti
Surrounding neighbors not nice; lots of noise pollution from drunks and crack heads roaming the streets

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Block 6 (which i live in) seems to have the best luck with quiet neighbors, Block 1 seems to have the worst.
Try to get a park facing flat, that view does make a difference.
Dont get a flat by the road unless you enjoy either melting to death in summer or not sleeping from noise pollution from the road when windows are open

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, I had issues upon move in with the hob not being properly connected to the switchboard, toilet leaking and missing sealant on balcony doors letting in a lot of draft.
On all occasions Ashley’s responsiveness to urgent matters was great and he was helpful in escalating for a solution. Not a fan of FixFlo, the UI is unfriendly and you don’t get regular updates on the issue – the suggested lead times to fix things are also mental.

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

It is nice to live at Empyrean

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The interior designs and the choose of furnitures are on spot and with style. However if you got loads of clothes you may need to buy another chest of drawer. There are plenty of room so dont need to worry about the placement. It is also easy to contact property management team and they respond quickly.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are some take aways and local stores in this area. But there are only few buses and the schedule of them are quite sparse. Despite some party animals and loud talkers, most neighbors are nice and friendly.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Unfortunately we have bad experince with one of the agent. I will definitely speak with other agents.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They responded quickly and with very good service.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi SW,

Thank you for your review. We’re really pleased to see that you’re happy living at Empyrean and the service provided.

We’re concerned to read that you did have a bad experience with one member of our lettings team. Please could you email your property manager with some more detail so we can look in to this for you? We’re sorry for any inconvenience caused by this experience.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback.

Lovely properties, but wish they were checked more

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The development itself is nice in design and has good features in the property. The only let downs really are that management can sometimes be a pain to get hold of, there are an unreal amount of flies in the main lobby but it doesn’t seem that the buildings are just occasionally checked over so nothing is done in terms of removal or prevention of them as my window is right above the door and I can’t open it because of them. I also mentioned to them that a package of mine may have been stolen and they didn’t really go out of their way to help, just told me that there is no CCTV inside the locker area and that was that. It is a nice place to live but I wish the buildings were checked more often and that I had confidence that issues will be looked at carefully.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is good for my gym and town location and doesn’t take me that long to get into work. The bad aspects come only really in some of the local community, we had kids breaking into the car park and shouting obscenities to people in the development and also have people on motorbikes doing wheelies down the main road which is dangerous and the sound is annoying!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there were hundreds (possibly thousands) of flies around here that are just left in the building with no cleaning or removal of them. It’s really inconvenient that I can’t open my window at night because they just move from the main door into my bedroom

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

As I mentioned, I emailed saying a parcel of mine had gone missing and if there was cctv in the building. Pretty much was told there is no cctv apart from outside and no further questions were asked. I would have hoped that a bit more interest was there from them considering it’s potential theft from someone in their development

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern flats in great area of Salford

Review Date Jul 2021

The flat has a great modern design, some finishing touches were slightly poor including the quality of doors and paint cracking. The property would benefit from some communal areas, the building management is good, however sometimes difficult to get in touch with the manager. Parcel lockers are great when properly maintained with the post tokens.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Only a 15/20 min walk from the city centre, however not many shops in the close vicinity. Lots of grassy areas and parks which is a nice change from the city.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

N/a we were happy with the moving in process and would recommend to others.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The standard of the finishing touches, and the door quality inside the flat. Also the floors and ceilings are very thin, meaning neighbours can hear you walking around very easily.

2
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The good and the bad equal each other out

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The building itself is beautiful as well as the flats, when the doors and car park gates are working it is good, building management reply pretty rarely and or slowly, issues do seem to be resolved fairly quickly when reported however.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Their are estates around the building with loud tenants, their children climb into the secure car park which we pay for, bins get very full very quickly, parking availability in the car park is great but the road is very busy, traffic noise is minimal aside from the odd dirt bike.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The postal facilities is not setup securely enough and does not give adequate spaces for people’s items to be left when they are working

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

More storage space as well as both of the bedrooms in the two bed flats being the same size, as one is smaller

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Alex,

Thank you for your useful feedback! We’re glad you like the apartment building and the inside of your flat.

We’re really pleased to share that we have instructed to get CCTV in the entrance halls where the parcels are left and we are also implementing new magnetic locks so that the entrance doors close more securely. Please note that if you are unable to be present when a parcel is being delivered please feel free to run this by the building manager and instruct for your parcel to be delivered to him directly for you.

We’re pleased to see that your community manager is looking after you well, with any requests being actioned promptly.

Lovely apartment! Nice building! Okay area! Good value for money

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Very few minor issues with the apartment. Lovely build, with modern furniture provided! Any minor maintenance issues with my apartment have been dealt with promptly, however management has been a tad stagnant with community issues such as broken parking gates, faulty building entrance, unfinished garden facilities, and parcel theft. I expect these are mostly teething issues as the build is so recent.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Large supermarket within 10 minutes drive, Salford university close by. 20 minutes walk into spinning fields, 25 to deans gate. No bars, coffee shops within 5 minutes walk which is a shame. Traffic noise is LOUD, and there is a group of young lads that live on the estate opposite on motorbikes that baz about at all hours.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Access to an attentive agent to answer questions. Gent I dealt with was scarce in communication and unattentive and I detailed with enquiries.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Personal apartment issues dealt with promptly, community issues MUCH slower.

4
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Beautiful apartments, best I’ve had

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

I live in a 2 bedroom apartment, design is very modern, and has all the facilities you need. We did have some issues when we first moved in with our dishwasher and water running. But they were very quick to come and fix them. We are on the second floor facing the carpark, and it’s actually nicer this way, we don’t hear the kids at the park or in the schools, less road noise plus beautiful views of the sunset, we even get the sun most of the afternoon. Sound insulation isn’t great, I can hear our neighbours upstairs hoovering and sometimes footsteps. Lucky hour neighbours don’t party to hard.

I see a lot of people complaining about many things, especially management. I personally have not had any issues. Andrew and Ashley have always been friendly and efficient with any of my requests. Sometimes I have waited a few days to get a meter reading, but that’s all.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Perfect location and beautiful design. One of the best apartments I’ve lived in. Local shops, post office, good driving distance to bigger super markets. Couple £££ for a taxi into the city centre or 20/30 min walk.

It’s a shame that the parking isn’t included, and we have to pay an extra £50. We’ve not had the best experience with it and would prefer not to have an added cost.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I think my main issue is paying extra for parking, noise insolation and not much transport links.

I would advise to take the building management issues with a pinch of salt. I personally think they do try there best, and I have had major issues with other landlords / agencies and as they didn’t seem to care. Simple life have been very accommodating to me and I hope that continues.

What is the best feature of your home:

Modern design, and at a good price
Not far from the city centre
local shops
Not far from the canals for beautiful walks
Balcony is perfect

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Simple Life at Empyrean, M7
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Simple Life at Empyrean, M7
User submitted image of Simple Life at Empyrean, M7
User submitted image of Simple Life at Empyrean, M7
User submitted image of Simple Life at Empyrean, M7

Location

Simple Life Homes
Number of developments 36

4.28

Average rating based on 439 reviews

View company