Elephant Central, SE1

By
Get Living
1st
Ranked 1st out of 27 in Southwark
4.50 (102 reviews) 4.50 (102 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.37
Facilities
4.50
Design
4.72
Location
4.16
Value
4.49
Management

Elephant Central by Get Living is located in the heart of London’s Elephant & Castle. In zone 1, it has great connections to the City, and walking distance to London Bridge, and the South Bank. There’s a mix of, one to three bedroom apartments, duplexes and penthouses available fully-furnished. All with superfast WiFi included and pet friendly. Also, residents have access to a Club Lounge and Kitchen as well as a Sky Courtyard.

Read more Read less
Elephant Central, SE1 Available Properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£3,800 pcm
1502 Mawes House
3 Bed
2 Bath
1044 sq ft
More info
£2,650 pcm
606 Mawes House
2 Bed
1 Bath
667 sq ft
More info

Elephant Central, SE1 Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 102 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Great experience

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2022

The development is relatively new and well maintained. Everyone in the Elephant Central team is very helpful.

In terms of facilities and design, everything looks modern and tends to be on the higher end of things. My personal favorite is the kitchen furniture.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area around Elephant Central is really lively, there are quite a few places to go out to. My personal favorite are the local Colombian shops and restaurants.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The team has been very transparent about everything.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

My partner and I had some issues with a leak in our flat and the team took amazing care of us.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice but noisy

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

I’ve been a resident in Elephant Central for years and I’ve always appreciated the hard work the Get Living team does to make all residents looked after and happy.

The flats are nicely furnished, common spaces are kept clean, anything broken is fixed quickly. All great on that front.

However I must admit that I am no longer happy with the quality of life in this development considering the premium rent price one has to pay to live here. The main problem is constant noise coming from the dog area in the courtyard which Get Living introduced some time ago. It’s very difficult to enjoy a nice peaceful summer evening in the flat with the sound of ~10 dogs barking echoing between Get Living towers. Some residents tend to play with their furry friends in the courtyard even as late as 11pm or as early as 7am and locking windows to reduce the sound is only viable during winter as flats get hot during summers.

In short, if you decide to live here, prepare your sleep pattern to be adjusted.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There’s a lot of restaurants in the area and a big Sainsbury’s in the building. Great for public transport with bus stops next to the building, 2 tube lines 5min walk away and a train station with trains to Gatwick and Luton airports across the street.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Level of noise generated by dog courtyard and constructions in the area

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, we had few things break in the flat over the years however all issues were resolved very quickly.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am happy to see that you are happy with the service the team is providing!

We do enforce no loud noises after 11pm in the courtyard area, if you do find you are experiencing loud noises after this time then please ring security who will investigate it.

Brilliant location. Central. Good public transport options. Safer than ever before. Great food and drinks around. Nice clean park. Not so much traffic.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

The development is new and modern. The maintained and security is brilliant. If you’ve a problem with in your apartment or even in the communal areas, the staff members are on point with service. It’s a shame the 2 bedrooms are going for an extremely high price because I would DEFINITELY Look into a 2 bedroom apartment but not at this price.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are so many shops and cafes/restaurants opened up in Elephant and Castle in the last two years. The place feels much safer and more there’s more activities to do. Not so much parking on the street though so hiring a car is difficult if you don’t have private parking. I haven’t noticed any anti-social behaviour here at Elephant Central and I could’ve sworn I would see many but I haven’t. Traffic and siren noise is minimal but there are “boy racer” drivers and have noisy exhausts but that’s allowed everywhere in England which is a shame.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the dogs in my apartment would be given a priority of the garden and grass before residents. I love dogs but the dogs have a green area and not people.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Absolutely. Once we make an enquiry, we get a response back very shortly afterwards. Otherwise you can call them.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you Karen for your feedback, I am happy to read your pleased with the service you are receiving from the team! I will pass on the feedback to the team.

In regards to our prices we ensure we are priced competitively for the area and do regularly check our local competitors.

Brilliant location. Central. Good public transport options. Safer than ever before. Great food and drinks around. Nice clean park. Not so much traffic.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

The development is new and modern. The maintained and security is brilliant. If you’ve a problem with in your apartment or even in the communal areas, the staff members are on point with service. It’s a shame the 2 bedrooms are going for an extremely high price because I would DEFINITELY Look into a 2 bedroom apartment but not at this price.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are so many shops and cafes/restaurants opened up in Elephant and Castle in the last two years. The place feels much safer and more there’s more activities to do. Not so much parking on the street though so hiring a car is difficult if you don’t have private parking. I haven’t noticed any anti-social behaviour here at Elephant Central and I could’ve sworn I would see many but I haven’t. Traffic and siren noise is minimal but there are “boy racer” drivers and have noisy exhausts but that’s allowed everywhere in England which is a shame.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the dogs in my apartment would be given a priority of the garden and grass before residents. I love dogs but the dogs have a green area and not people.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Absolutely. Once we make an enquiry, we get a response back very shortly afterwards. Otherwise you can call them.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review, I am thrilled that you are enjoying your stay at Elephant Central. I am happy to see you are happy to see you’re happy with staff and I will pass you kind comments to the team.

I love living here.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

The nicest apartment I’ve ever lived in. It’s stylish, neat and spacious and with all the amenities you need. Communal areas such as lobby and lifts are kept clean daily and with security on site it feels very safe. Any issues within the apartment are fixed quickly and without any hassle. It is a shame there is no gym onsite like there are in other blocks in this area but gymbox and the castle centre are just a short walk away.
Overall a great place to live.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lovely area to live in. Plenty of local shops, supermarkets, bars and restaurants to suit any taste. Brilliant transport links, busses, tubes and trains! Some noise from building works near by and some hustle and bustle at night sometimes but that’s to be expected in an area like elephant and castle.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The apartment gets very hot in the summer (so make sure to have a fan!) but we never had to turn the heating on in the winter so saved some money!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any issues have been dealt with quickly and without hassle.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for the review, its great to read the team is responsive to emails and you are happy with the service!

Solid choice for EC

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

The development is outstanding almost every aspect.
Appliances are new and get replaced (or fixed) within 48 hours of any issues being reported. The property is always clean and well maintained. The staff is willing to assist with any issues I’ve raised over the past 5 years I’ve spent in the property.
One down side is the recent rent hike which has made the development less competitive when compared to the new builds popping up the area that go for less PCM

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

EC has undergone a massive change as of recent. The place is booming with new business, local coffee shops, gyms and sports studios, restourants and small business.
One massive downside to the area is the EC shopping center contrustrion that causes a lot of noise polution and a lot of dust to rise up to the flats, rendering the balconies facing the construction site virtually useless.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew how long, loud and dirty the construction of the new EC shopping center would be. As previously mentioned the noise polution and actual dirt that rises from the contrusction site has forced me to keep the windows shut at all times when there is active work being performend.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Over the past 5 years I’ve spent with Get Living the management has resolved most issues raised within a couple of days. Ther was two month long ordeal with internet speeds and connectivity issues however that got sorted out in April of 2022

5
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Pricey but good

Review Date Jul 2022

I enjoy the sky lounge, the setup was very inviting and was a good place to have friends over fore pre-drinks or to make a meal/watch a movie together. The view is also impeccable. My shower however NEVER ran hot, only lukewarm, and this somehow could not be fixed. The management was very kind on 3rd floor reception.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of local shops/bars nearby, and it’s very close to a popular club for students (Ministry of Sound). Sainsbury’s is directly below the building so great for groceries. The traffic is very loud however, and the property is set against a shady road where I have been cat-called & harassed by older men quite a few times at random times of the day, so beware when walking alone.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known about how thin the walls are. It’s very very easy to hear your neighbours, as well as the traffic (which is quite constant).

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They had repairmen come in to fix elevators, toilets, and heaters.

3
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
2
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of  Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of  Elephant Central, SE1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I keep recommending get living to my friends because I think elephant central is an amazing place to be e

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

I love get living elephant central, I like how attentive, friendly and nice the staff is. How easy it is to fix things, whatever issue we have we just raise a maintenance request and it’s all taken care of. The parking spaces are very wide which is absolutely perfect for the new drives. Communal areas are always clean.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I absolutely love elephant and castle, everything is great but Walworth road is a bit scary, it seems like going there is a bit dangerous and obviously hearing the sirens all the time when we open the windows is not great

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Get living don’t need the deposit and they provide free wi-fi which makes moving in a seamless process

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Brilliantly, they’ve been supper helpful with all concerns we had. They also respond in a very short period of time so you don’t need to worry if they got your query or not

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Best building in Elephant and Castle

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

In terms of the design of the apartments they are “ready to live”, which means you don’t necessarily need to buy any extra furnitures, etc which is a very good point. Furnitures are great design and modern. Property management is great, if you have any issue you can contact them through the app or go directly to the reception to rise up an issue.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I have been living at Get Living London (Elephant Central) since 2017. So, I have seen the local area development for the past years, and I couldn’t be more pleased with the area. I think if you are a student or a young professional this area will offer you a wide range of restaurants, pubs and activities to do. Therefore, it’s also very well communicated through busses and underground. However, sometimes is a bit noisy especially during week-ends with the diverse clubs that are near by.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would say have mire direct communication with the building management. At the beginning, I was dealing with the repairs by myself until I realised that they would do it for you.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

In those years I have been living here, I never really had any big issue, only a few maintenance work for the flat that can be deal directly within the app. I mostly had some issues with parcels in 2017 to 2019 but now everything works very well.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Get Living is a great experience, good value and will be better even more with all development going on

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

The building and facilities are very good, in good shape, modern, the building management crew is the best, so friendly and always quick if you need some help. From my view the property is managed really well. Some adjustments could be made in the waste room in the cellar, it would be amazing to have some recycling bins not only for normal waste and recycling but for organic waste.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

E&C is an upcoming area, the new developments and the park with its bars and restaurants around it make it a really nice area to live. Transportation is one of the best for the price and the location is amazing still situated in Zone 1. The area is going thru massive change, the only things I would like to be enhanced is the tidiness of the street between the train station and the castle square, there is constantly some garbage flying around. All in all the area around the trainstation and the metro stations could be enhanced by make it cleaner easily. Other than that its a great area to live.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

+ The good connection, I knew it was good but not that good
– The area needs to tidy up a bit around the train station and metro stations, its very sad that there is so much effort in making the Castle Square nice and then next to not enough cares is taken

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quick response, also thru the residence app that gives you easy access to all services, if needing a new key also the concierge is quick to help you out

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The building is well maintained apart from some tenants not following rules

Review Date Jul 2022

The design is nice , we have 1 bedroom apartment. The building has a clubroom for everyone to use but we have not use it all , we just dont need it. The building is well maintained apart from some tenants not following rules in terms of smoking( balconies) – i think it would be better to have a yearly inspection of the apartment you are living to maintain the standards. We have a very lovely Stella and Cat at the concierge very helpful always.Lastly maybe this is a suggestion if you are living in the apartment for a long time like maybe 2 or 3 years we get a paint upgrade on the apartment to freshen up a bit , if you intend to renew the tenancy. Overall, the staff in the office were always helpful when ask and very accomodating like Alexis and Cordelia.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

very close to transport, different shops around the area. i dont drive but no parking available in the area itself. Overall, very nice area and excellent transport.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Maybe area for tenants who are not dog lovers and not a smoker.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Efficiently. Once you raised a concern they will immediately call / email you to ask about it.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you Jackie, I will pass your feedback onto the persons mentioned in the above review. I am glad to read the team are responsive and accommodating.

Smoking is prohibited in the building and if you do see someone smoking then please inform security. Any smoking within the building is taken seriously and dealt with accordingly by the Relationship Management team.

We hope you continue to enjoy your time with us!

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1
User submitted image of Elephant Central, SE1

Facilities

24 Hours

24 Hours

Balcony

Balcony

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

Central

Central

Concierge

Concierge

Communal Gardens

Communal Gardens

Lounge

Lounge

Onsite Maintenance

Onsite Maintenance

Parcel Lockers

Parcel Lockers

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Resident Events

Resident Events

Retail on Site

Retail on Site

Security

Security

WiFi Included

WiFi Included

Location

Get Living
Number of developments 3

4.51

Average rating based on 741 reviews

View company