Award winner 2024
Facilities
Parking
Pet friendly
Wifi included
Parking
Pet friendly
Wifi included
Awards
Excellence Award: 2024
Location Award: 2024
Facilities
Parking
Pet friendly
Wifi included
Parking
Pet friendly
Wifi included
Awards
Excellence Award: 2024
Location Award: 2024
See how residents rate this development
22 total reviews
Viewing 1-5 out of 22
Curby (Tenant)
Verified Resident
Leaf Living at Chesterwell, CO4
Jul 2025
Reviewer was offered an incentive for an honest review, regardless of rating
Bad experience with LeafLiving Property Management
Curby (Tenant)
Verified Resident
Leaf Living at Chesterwell, CO4
Jul 2025
Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:
Good: Walkable to shops, park and schools. Bad: No playground for kids on site yet, parking impossible in allocated parking spaces outside of house as blocked by other neighbours (Leafliving informed of this issue and were unhelpful), neighbours unfortunately doing drugs, dealing drugs and physically abusing each other loudly - unsafe for children around here.
How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:
Issues we had were rectified, just really slowly. We went without kitchen cupboards for about 3 months. Might seem trivial but the rent isn't cheap and I expected better honestly. Some issues were never rectified and we just lived with it until we left. Not ideal.
Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:
Take your own photos when checking in and checking out of property - standard advice anyway for a rental but LeafLiving really took the p**s claiming money from our deposit for things that we had actually sorted. (Charging us £300 for example to mow the lawn. We had an invoice from our gardener who had mowed the lawn on our check out day! Outrageous on their behalf - the things they tried to charge us for were laughable - indents in carpet, dust etc. Double check with landlord about parking - we were informed we had space for 3 cars at the viewing and then were later informed no, only 2 car spaces once we'd moved in and were repeatedly "told off" (via email) for parking a second car on our drive (when we were actually able to that was - most of the time our spaces were blocked by neighbours cars but this wasn't a priority for LeafLiving) Really stressful experience.
Reviewer was offered an incentive for an honest review, regardless of rating
A & C (Tenant)
Verified Resident
Leaf Living at Chesterwell, CO4
Feb 2025
Reviewer was offered an incentive for an honest review, regardless of rating
Amazing experience with Leaf Living
A & C (Tenant)
Verified Resident
Leaf Living at Chesterwell, CO4
Feb 2025
Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:
Overall, I am very satisfied with the location. It offers excellent proximity to shops and transportation options. Additionally, there is ample street parking availability, and the area is well-lit for safety.
How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:
Indeed, their process for reporting any maintenance issues is highly efficient and straightforward.
Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:
Our parking spaces - as we viewed a different property due to ours not being ready, we were not told what spaces were ours
Reviewer was offered an incentive for an honest review, regardless of rating
Martin H (Tenant)
Verified Resident
Leaf Living at Chesterwell, CO4
Feb 2025
Reviewer was offered an incentive for an honest review, regardless of rating
A promising development to live in
Martin H (Tenant)
Verified Resident
Leaf Living at Chesterwell, CO4
Feb 2025
Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:
Having lived here for a couple of weeks, I haven't explored much yet. However, I have seen there is an area with a small shop, gym and coffee shop. I have access to a carport, so parking isn't an issue. I have noticed there are laybys along the roads and I feel that is a thoughtful addition, especially when it comes to visitor parking.
How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:
The responses to issues have been slow. I haven't had the issues resolved yet, so I cannot comment on how that will go.
Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:
Location for the water meter would be beneficial to know. I have recently spoken with a neighbour and they haven't found it either.
Reviewer was offered an incentive for an honest review, regardless of rating
Ethan G (Tenant)
Verified Resident
Leaf Living at Chesterwell, CO4
Feb 2025
Reviewer was offered an incentive for an honest review, regardless of rating
Positive
Ethan G (Tenant)
Verified Resident
Leaf Living at Chesterwell, CO4
Feb 2025
Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:
Very convenient and easy access into town and the a12. Surrounded by shops for anything needed. Only downside is the maintenance on the main road
How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:
I have a toilet downstairs that isn’t flushing probably and they have logged my problem and sending someone round
Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:
How to set the hive heating up. That was the most challenging
Reviewer was offered an incentive for an honest review, regardless of rating
KM (Tenant)
Verified Resident
Leaf Living at Chesterwell, CO4
Jan 2025
Lovely, but only if you go detached
KM (Tenant)
Verified Resident
Leaf Living at Chesterwell, CO4
Jan 2025
Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:
The local area is lovely- it's a nice part of Colchester and very close to countryside and the town. Road closures and blocks remain an issue, but the team are quick to allow access without complaint which I appreciate. Roads are still very dark and lighting could be improved.
How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:
We have had most issues when related to leaf living, but anything to do with developers has just been ignored.
Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:
Be mindful that the new turf in the garden is water logged- we have a few boggy areas and the grass has died completely.
Page 1 of 5
These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews user and not of HomeViews
Leaf Living at Chesterwell, CO4
Ranked 1st out of 20 in Essex
More developments by Leaf Living
Loading