Battersea Power Station, SW8

Battersea Power Station, SW8

By
Battersea Power Station Development Company
Ranked 27th out of 69 in South West London
4.17 (54 reviews) 4.17 (54 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.22
Facilities
4.52
Design
4.24
Location
3.61
Value
3.23
Management

The Battersea Power Station development is a large-scale mixed-use scheme, transforming the iconic Grade II listed building and surrounding area with a mix of residential, commercial, office, hotel and cultural spaces. The riverside London development offers transport links via the Thames Clipper River Bus located next to the site and Victoria and Vauxhall Rail stations, both within a twenty-minute walking distance. A new Underground station will be located at the Battersea Power Station redevelopment in 2020.

The immediately recognisable four chimneys are the result of two identical power stations being constructed next to each other. Battersea A was completed in 1935 and decommissioned in 1975. Battersea B, to the east, was completed in 1941 and decommissioned in 1978. Early ideas for Battersea Power Station’s redevelopment included creating a theme park within the building or turning it into a large shopping mall with cultural spaces.

Phase 3 of the current Battersea Power Station redevelopment was designed by architects Frank Gehry and Foster + Partners. In 2016, Apple confirmed it would be creating a London campus within the building. The electronics and software giant will take six floors within the central Boiler House, housing 1,400 of its staff and occupying 40% of available office space at the complex.

Read more Read less

Battersea Power Station, SW8 Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

Living with an icon of London

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

We are really happy at BPS. The flats are modern and well built and amenities are plenty. The best part about this area however is the community feeling of BPS. Also, having guests over is always exiting as there is always a lot to explain and talk about the iconic pier station right at our doorstep, I think there are few developments in London with this kind of heritage. Overall great place to live.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I really enjoy the proximity to Battersea Park which is great for a run. You have to be aware that BPS still is a massive construction site which comes with noise.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

One thing I would’ve liked to know before moving in is the quite high standing charges of Vital Energy which is the only option for heating and cooling in the building.

What is the best feature of your home:

Best feature of our home are the views from our apartment. We are quite high up and can see the sunset which is a massive bonus for me 🙂

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Low value for money and extremely poorly managed, wants to be upscale and comfortable but is definitely not

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

We’ve lived here for over 2 years, price is unreasonably high for quality of life offered. Yes there is a gym/pool area but you can get that with many other new developments for much less money.
Flat is nice and new, albeit on the small side – the external winter gardens might seem large as they span full length of the flat but even though they are part of the flat don’t belong to us. There are severe restrictions in place and we are not allowed to utilize winter gardens, they have to stay empty.
Biggest issue is central heating and cooling, we have been left without hot water almost every single month this year – sometimes announced, many more times unannounced. Property management is extremely poor, and maintenance of the central heating system is a complete shambles with operators rotating in and out every few months. Cost of this ‘energy and money saving’ central heating system is also extremely high, over £150 per month on average, with extrodinary high standing charges.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great restaurants on ground floor, getting a bit crowded during summers. Transport links bad, the new tube won’t be built for another 2 years and the shuttle buss (20 seats) was discontinued so the only options are 10min walk to bus or 25min walk to Vauxhall station. Living by the river is great.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How badly the property is managed, this is the only realy painful issue to be honest. To be left without hot water almost every month for between a few hours to a whole week is just inexcusable in 2020.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very poorly, root causes of issues are never adressed, just remporaty quick fixes.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice bells and whistles but very bad nuts and bolts.

Review Date Sep 2022

The main issues with this arise with the actual concept and execution of the buildings themselves. I can only speak for the Gehry phase 3 building where i am living but there are some spectacularly stupid choices made in terms of fixtures/fittings. The most constantly annoying one is the level of tech within each unit. There are massive power boxes that take up 2 big cupboards (cupboards that could otherwise be used for storage space). The various consoles and panels to control things like bathroom tile heating and the “cooling system” are unnecessarily complex. The “cooling system” itself is an unmitigated disaster. I know AC is a fairly recent thing in the UK but this one is not fit for purpose and is very unreliable. During the recent heat wave it stopped working and it just intermittently stops actually putting out cold air and just puts out room temperature air. When it’s on max it’s only good enough to slightly take the edge off a very hot summer’s day. So this was idiotic choice number 1.

Next stupid choice is the smaller windows that do not stay open and will shut if a gust of wind hits them. There is a key you can get to open the windows fully and lock them open but you have to hassle the after care people for that.

The closets are incompetently designed – we recently had one completely buckle under the weight of a normal amount of winter coats and some shoes (in boxes) placed on top. Rather that the hanging rack being supported by a vertical beam it just has a small triangular wedge underneath like you would a book shelf. This is comically stupid.

Honestly i could go on and on about all the annoying, niggling issues with that flat. But ultimately it’s just poorly conceived/designed and in parts poorly executed. You’re paying luxury building NYC prices but not getting that level of finish.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The wider development is lovely. It really does have a very nice village feel. The local grocery store and coffee shop and the various restaurants are great. And all the people working as part of the community from the concierges to the porters to the security etc are awesome.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

all of the issues outlined above. Had i known i wouldn’t have moved in. As is even thought i hate moving i am thinking of terminating our lease early.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

honestly hard to say. It’s not like in the US where you have a building superintendent who is on site the whole time and immediately deals with issues. These flats are like the starship enterprise and the more complex something is the more prone it is to things going wrong. So there’s constantly some issue. But it takes a long time to get each issue resolved.

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Best place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

It’s perfect design and the community feel is great. The facilities are great and the people who live here are very friendly. Anyone would be lucky to be a resident here. The best part is restaurants and bars at our doorstep

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like everything

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

None

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They always been fixed on time once I called the property manager

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Battersea Power Station

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Beautiful development and well equipped flats. Great amenities, bars, restaurants, shops etc. However the complementary shuttle bus which is required because of poor connectivity in this area doesn’t run. The Conceirge still don’t take in post despite no government guidance saying they can’t whilst Conceirge at other developments have been taking in post throughout the pandemic. Our managing agent is very efficient however and resolves any issue within 24 hours.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Vibrant area, up and coming. Large variety of restaurants and bars on the development site. General store is very convenient. Unfortunately it’s a long way from the closest tube station and the complementary bus service no longer runs because of coronavirus despite all other public transport in London running with social distancing.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The fact that the complementary shuttle bus wasn’t running. BPSE estate agents are still advertising it as a feature despite it having not run since the pandemic began.

What is the best feature of your home:

The air conditioning system is excellent and makes the flat comfortable in winter and summer.

3
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I would not like to own this place as everything breaks

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Water system often fail and a engineer have to get here to fix the hot water.
The development is controlled by Battersea power station estate management and savills and and they do a horrible job.

Heating and cooling is expensive and you pay a service fee that I believe also cover the owners part of the maintenance. +/- 100£ / month

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great to be near the city and Battersea park. Not over filled with people yet.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

High heating bills and water based paint on the walls

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Malfunction toilet, konstant breaking elevators, not to use water based paint on walls.

5
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
User submitted image of  Battersea Power Station, SW8
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Well built, but massively let down by management and maintenance issues all around the site

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2018

BPS is an exciting development, so much happening and some iconic building works going on. The apartments are new and nicely fitted inside, with many facilities provided such as pool, gym, garden, parking, concierge, residents lounges. All look great on an estate agents viewing and when you first move in, but very quickly things turn sour by the excessive building work noise meaning you have to keep all windows closed. More annoying is the mismanagement of many things such as the pool area has no shower or even towel hooks/ clothes hooks to get changed. so you put your towel and clothes wherever you can. Jacuzzi is frequently out of order, gym room is tiny and always mad busy. The gym reception and lounge is twice the size of the gym itself!
management have take away all the cycle racks from outside BPS and put them hidden away underground which is very inconvenient and no spaces for visitors to use.
Lifts are frequently out of order and for some reason have been misprogrammed to always close doors and leave just as you arrive to the lift (using a door access card from outside)
Residents lounge is too cold to sit and work as they keep the cold air blowing all the time, so no one uses the space.
cinema is constantly booked out and cannot be used by more than 1 person at a time. They dont have any communal sessions when people can share the cinema at peak times for some reason.
COmmunal gardens are full of dog mess and so are hazardous to small children. Management do nothing to tell dog owners where is an appropriate place for their pets to toilet.
Onsite supermarket is extremely expensive
Onsite restaurants are good and very popular with residents and visitors from outside BPS.
residents APP is the only way to actually speak to estate management, they dont reply to emails or have a phone number or office you can report issues to. They hide behind a slow and cumbersome app which has no direct way to reach someone and get a response. There is also no way to message other residents, or get things done by asking the opinion of anyone else.
Management do arrange events to attract outside visitors, such as putting big video screens during wimbledon, but then they refused to show the world cup football games and mostly the screens were not used.
Overall, i would say BPS has great potential but management should focus more on actually making the facilities work for residents, rather than simply providing something that looks great but fails to meet our needs.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nine elms and BPS is a great location, near to battersea park which is lovely. Alos convenient for central london or chelsea shopping,
It is a building site and there are a lot of construction traffic on the roads and noisy works going on every day.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That BPS would be badly managed and so letting down my enjoyment of living here. I would have chosen another development to live and warn people before coming to bear all these things in mind, rather than be wowed by the space and facilities which appear to be great.

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
User submitted image of  Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of  Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of  Battersea Power Station, SW8
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I should’ve bought this place offplan!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The concierge team is amazing. They’re responsive, and very helpful.
The pool and gym are small though, considering the size of the development, but the service staff is again great, and responsive.
Design is top notch.
Traffic management into the development is a bit of a trial and error at the moment, but I expect it to be cleared up once the development matures.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location. WIth the Battersea Power Station Pier right here, and the new underground about to be built. With the restaurants, cinema, and park next door, a fun weekend is never far away!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Not every home comes with parking or a storage cage. If you need storage in the basement (rare to come with an apartment you’re renting), definitely ask first. You also may be able to rent it from someone who does have it and doesn’t need it but again, extremely rare.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Swiftly! Issues with security, lift buttons, in-flat issues have all been tended to quickly, if not, at least communicated in a timely manner.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Fantastic area to live…..but a shame things aren’t always fixed quickly

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2018

It’s a fantastic place to live with a great community. Stand out points for me are the beautiful social spaces; each with their own unique style and atmosphere, as well as an app uniting residents. Through the app residents can communicate on groups, access information and updates for the residence, gain updates on surrounding road closures and the like, as well as sign up to events hosted by the estate.
A massive stand out downside however is that there is a lengthy snagging list, much of which is addressed and to this I give a huge congratulations for the team, but there is also an unacceptable amount that is not dealt with, especially considering our maintenance fees are so high. Namely the windows on the 11th floor social spaces still do not open automatically at 24 degrees like they should, thus rendering the space an uncomfortable waste, and the communal coffee machine which I have been informed has been broken for at least a year now, and the parking system.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modernised Living

Review Date Feb 2021

i think this has the full package – for someone to have a great experience, this building compliments very well with the location as it is very modern and clean – which is a MUST in 2021. Also, the service from the building management is good considering the situation we are in. Not only that the view is stunning – which is also huge factor to moving here. it includes all the facilities you would ‘expect’ for this – pool, rooftop. words cannot describe how it looks.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

one thing i like about battersea power station is that the whole area is modern and very clean so the environment is the perfect one for you to live in – also very aesthetically pleasing.
another plus to this area is the shopping centre so you literally have everything within walking distance to you – including transport; train station right nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

before moving here i should have realised i wouldnt need a car, as transport is all local to me and is better for the environment – saves me from london traffic + charges.

What is the best feature of your home:

i love how modern it is and also the facilities within my home.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8

Location

Battersea Power Station Development Company
Number of developments 1

4.17

Average rating based on 54 reviews

View company