Battersea Power Station, SW8

Battersea Power Station, SW8

By
Battersea Power Station Development Company
Ranked 31st out of 68 in South West London
4.17 (53 reviews) 4.17 (53 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.25
Facilities
4.53
Design
4.26
Location
3.64
Value
3.25
Management

The Battersea Power Station development is a large-scale mixed-use scheme, transforming the iconic Grade II listed building and surrounding area with a mix of residential, commercial, office, hotel and cultural spaces. The riverside London development offers transport links via the Thames Clipper River Bus located next to the site and Victoria and Vauxhall Rail stations, both within a twenty-minute walking distance. A new Underground station will be located at the Battersea Power Station redevelopment in 2020.

The immediately recognisable four chimneys are the result of two identical power stations being constructed next to each other. Battersea A was completed in 1935 and decommissioned in 1975. Battersea B, to the east, was completed in 1941 and decommissioned in 1978. Early ideas for Battersea Power Station’s redevelopment included creating a theme park within the building or turning it into a large shopping mall with cultural spaces.

Phase 3 of the current Battersea Power Station redevelopment was designed by architects Frank Gehry and Foster + Partners. In 2016, Apple confirmed it would be creating a London campus within the building. The electronics and software giant will take six floors within the central Boiler House, housing 1,400 of its staff and occupying 40% of available office space at the complex.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

Living with an icon of London

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

We are really happy at BPS. The flats are modern and well built and amenities are plenty. The best part about this area however is the community feeling of BPS. Also, having guests over is always exiting as there is always a lot to explain and talk about the iconic pier station right at our doorstep, I think there are few developments in London with this kind of heritage. Overall great place to live.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I really enjoy the proximity to Battersea Park which is great for a run. You have to be aware that BPS still is a massive construction site which comes with noise.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

One thing I would’ve liked to know before moving in is the quite high standing charges of Vital Energy which is the only option for heating and cooling in the building.

What is the best feature of your home:

Best feature of our home are the views from our apartment. We are quite high up and can see the sunset which is a massive bonus for me 🙂

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Best place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

It’s perfect design and the community feel is great. The facilities are great and the people who live here are very friendly. Anyone would be lucky to be a resident here. The best part is restaurants and bars at our doorstep

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like everything

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

None

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They always been fixed on time once I called the property manager

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Low value for money and extremely poorly managed, wants to be upscale and comfortable but is definitely not

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

We’ve lived here for over 2 years, price is unreasonably high for quality of life offered. Yes there is a gym/pool area but you can get that with many other new developments for much less money.
Flat is nice and new, albeit on the small side – the external winter gardens might seem large as they span full length of the flat but even though they are part of the flat don’t belong to us. There are severe restrictions in place and we are not allowed to utilize winter gardens, they have to stay empty.
Biggest issue is central heating and cooling, we have been left without hot water almost every single month this year – sometimes announced, many more times unannounced. Property management is extremely poor, and maintenance of the central heating system is a complete shambles with operators rotating in and out every few months. Cost of this ‘energy and money saving’ central heating system is also extremely high, over £150 per month on average, with extrodinary high standing charges.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great restaurants on ground floor, getting a bit crowded during summers. Transport links bad, the new tube won’t be built for another 2 years and the shuttle buss (20 seats) was discontinued so the only options are 10min walk to bus or 25min walk to Vauxhall station. Living by the river is great.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How badly the property is managed, this is the only realy painful issue to be honest. To be left without hot water almost every month for between a few hours to a whole week is just inexcusable in 2020.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very poorly, root causes of issues are never adressed, just remporaty quick fixes.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

in short, nice place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

we are living at battersea power station for over 3 years now. sofar we are very happy here. despite there is
lack of security during night time, during day time we consider our area as safe which we value very much
for our children’s safety. the area is very convenient to reach and close to the central. after northern line
is connected, the transportation will be even easier and faster.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

local shops bit on the expensive side. parking is problematic. security absent during night time.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

we wish to live in the upper floors and we wish the energy bills wasnt so extremely high (especially the
standing charges are extreme)

What is the best feature of your home:

speed of the internet is amazing . the location is very convenient for us and the children. the community is very friendly and we love our neighbours next door.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  Battersea Power Station, SW8
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Hugely Impressive Development, let down by poor Management

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The building that currently stands is Phase 1, with impressive views of the river and the power station, which along with the other phases are currently under construction. Apartments are modern and well designed, and there are some good facilities on offer for residents, however, there have been snagging issues. This along with an Estate Management who serve the investors not the residents means that when things go wrong it is very difficult to get someone to take responsiblity to fix it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

This iconic developement has 6 phases in the pipeline, 1 already complete, boasting over half a dozen restaurants, bars, theatre, cinema and other amenities. There’s already a good community spirit and residents can make use of private restaurant, gym, pool, spa, conference room, concierge service, parking, etc. Transport links are good – Victoria is 10 minutes walk away, Sloane Square 15 minutes, and this will be improved when the new underground station is built here. So there are plenty of things to enjoy, although sometimes it is noisy with the construction work and such a large community of people living here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The heating and cooling system is its own energy centre, sadly it has been unreliable and is expensive for residents

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Savills took over the Estate Managment circa a year ago and made a poor situation much worse – they are incredibly difficult to communicate with and show no accountability to the people they should be looking after. Which is a real shame as the place has massive potential. When you do raise issues they often ignore them or try to suggest its not their problem, when clearly they are building or design defects on a new hi tech property which shouldn’t occur.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Exciting development

Review Date Oct 2020

The booking system is not good enough. The same people book the cinema room, swimming pool and gym all the time and its very difficult to get in to a space which we are all contributing to.

The facilities and design are good, I would like if we had a rooftop garden or area at the top of the building – i am a dawson house resident and have not seen this yet.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The restaurants are all great however the lack of affordable supermarket shopping is awful.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known about the noise you can hear from othert apartments and the lack of light for lower floors in the inner circle

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We haven’t had any real issues so its been fine so far.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

An amazing investment, and a unique place to live.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2018

I bought an apartment in the first phase of phase 1, known as Circus West, off plan in 2013. The completion date was a year later than predicted, in 2017. Other than the delays, I am delighted with my investment and love living in this very unique, thoughtful development. The finishes of the apartments are unique and consider the industrial heritage of the site. The buildings themselves are architecturally distinctive and whilst not to everyone’s taste, work very well internally. The internal gardens are also beautiful and the development is (uniquely) dog friendly.

The best thing about Circus West, is the level of amenity, both residents’ only (3 storey club, gym, pool, terrace, concierge (who deliver to your door!)) and the restaurants and shops available to the public. There are also pop up/ start up shops at weekends and holidays. It will be amazing in a few years when Apple and hundreds of other shops and restaurants move into the main power station.

The only negatives are that the snagging issues have been extensive, mainly because Carillion were the main contractor, and the service charge is relatively expensive. Although you get what you pay for!

There is a lot of negative press written on the Power Station and the wider area, but in my experience it is completely unfounded. Its pioneering!

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of  Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of  Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of  Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of  Battersea Power Station, SW8
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location

Review Date Sep 2019

The windows always dirty because of the dust from the power station and even the train station.

The storage room of the flat is quite spacious, enough room to put my extra loads.

The space of the flat however is a bit too small

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the area because its near the town and the train station

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish i knew how close the power station is to the house

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They respond quite promptly. They maintain everything

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Anything but straight forward

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The design and facilities are high-spec but overall the space usage is poorly thought out. The gym is too small for the number of residents, there is too much dead ‘lounge’ space in areas where there’s no need for it whereas there’s not enough ‘garden’ space for the amount of people/dogs. Overall what lets the development down is the terrible comms and approach from management. Whilst the rest of the BPSE Phases are in development we’re completely in the dark as to what our fees are paying for – the heating and cooling charges in particular are akin to daylight robbery and are fixed by management. Tenants are unable to distinguish ‘maintenance’ from other charges and so end up paying for costs that landlords should be liable for. Regardless, the charges are sky high. If you’re looking at a property, disregard the space in the ‘winter garden’ – management do not permit you to use it for any meaningful purpose, it has no power supply and is either far too hot in the summer (no blinds!) or far too cold in the winter (no heat/power in there).

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The bars and restaurants are great – we are missing a decent mainstream grocery store but Waitrose is not too far if you’re able to walk and carry groceries. Transport is obviously in development with TFL still to open the Northern Line extension otherwise buses are frequent.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How useless the ‘winter garden’ space is – it’s a considerable square footage of the smaller apartments and totally useless due to management rules on no furniture (or anything but a plant, on a table) and no heating/shade in there.

What is the best feature of your home:

High-spec fittings, close access to good bars and restaurants

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Perfect for us

Review Date Feb 2018

My boyfriend and I have recently moved into Circus West Village and love the development and facilities already available – however the general store is a little expensive for your everyday shopping needs! We commute into central/ kings road and find the location works for us as although there isn’t a tube very close by we can easily get on a bus to take you to where you need and connect with other locations. We love the activities and pop ups available on our door step, the fact we can grab a coffee from the store downstairs on the way to work and as we have a dog it is easy to walk her in the park. The location and development works for us and we have the benefits of being in something brand new which is good as I am a bit of a clean freak (my boyfriends words!).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

 there are some great introductory offers and loyalty cards available with some of the shops/restaurants -worth saying you live in the development and asking upfront.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
User submitted image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
Image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
Image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
Image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
Image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
Image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
Image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
Image of Battersea Power Station, SW8
Image of Battersea Power Station, SW8

Location

Battersea Power Station Development Company
Number of developments 1

4.17

Average rating based on 53 reviews

View company