B5 Central, B5

B5 Central, B5

By
Barratt Homes
4.37 (19 reviews) 4.37 (19 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.37
Facilities
4.37
Design
4.79
Location
4.37
Value
4.11
Management

Excellent

58%

Very Good

32%

Average

11%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

B5 Central is a development of homes and luxury apartments by Barratt Homes, situated right in the heart of Birmingham city centre.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Overall the design and property is pretty good.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Overall the design and property is pretty good. I’d have preferred to not pay for extra things such as shaver points and a shower in one bathroom. The managers have always been very polite and helpful to us. The kitchen is a little small once fully fitted but the top bedroom is brilliant for space

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There isn’t much around the local area but you can walk to a local small supermarket. There’s coffee shops not too far away too. Litter is a problem in the area and I think we have too many weeds in the paving. Bin collection get missed on the odd occasion and it took us a while to get bins initially but generally the area is a decent one

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Our drawings didn’t match the size, this took away from initial excitement

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes. We still have a slight worry in the fence, I wouldn’t say this was fixed brilliantly but they have always been helpful when we have needed them

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The only thing that this property lacks is storage.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The only thing that this property lacks is storage. The rooms and building are aesthetically pleasing but there is a severe lack of storage space.

The development as a whole is lovely. The buildings, the attention to detail, the interior is superb.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very close to the city centre so a lot of things nearby. Plenty of bars restaurants and open spaces such as parks.
The road can sometimes have a lot of rubbish from other households further down however my apartment building remains of a fairly neat and tidy appearance. Anti social behaviour is not a concern.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The lack of storage. The cost of council tax. A estimate on annual service charges.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

In a timely manner and I was always made to feel as though my concern Is a priority.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very Good Location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The property is good in terms of the number of rooms, but the area of ​​​​the rooms is a little small, especially the rooms on the upper floor. As for the garden, the wooden walls need to be strengthened, and for the stairs there must be some protection in the steps from falling, and the bathrooms do not have windows

As for the management, it is good

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is very special, everything is close to me, the distinguished schools and nurseries are very close, in addition to the supermarket and some restaurants. There is some inconvenience from cars, but it is acceptable

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is no clothes dryer. I was hoping for a bit more spacious rooms. There is a cavity in the front public gardens and it contains thorny weeds. I wish the contractor to cut the grass to cut it because it harms children .There is a lot of inconvenience from the property opposite me on the front side of the street. The owner of this property rents it every weekend to a group of people who party and cause a lot of inconvenience throughout the night for the residents. I will Complain about this

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The agent is special and his service is good. I loved their service

5
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The development is good.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The development is good.
Barratt Homes have been very helpful in fixing the old bits here and there.
The design is pleasing to look at and it works for what it is.
They use Ground Solutions to maintain the landscape surrounding the area and I have seen them quite often.
Overall, Barratt Homes provided a very good service throughout the purchasing phase as well as customer care.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is just about 15/20 minutes away from the grand central train station in Birmingham and bus routes are easily accessible. It’s just a short walk away from china town so it’s very convenient.
Parking requires a permit so if you have more than one car then it isn’t ideal as only one space is available per household. This development site is near a busy main road and with a hospital nearby then you will hear the emergency services passing by atleast once a day. The area itself is nearby a deprived area so there have been incidences of anti-social behavior. However, there have been some CCTV installed outside some apartment buildings as a deterrent.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I was completely enamored with their show home so I was a little disappointed when I found that my home lacked the same finesse. However, that is to be expected. I would just say to inspect the property through for paint chipping, missing silicon, just the little things. The after care is superb so getting little things done afterwards is easy and straightforward.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Their after care team is very good. Their response times have been suerb despite being in a pandemic.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location. Perfect for young working couple or small family!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The design of the apartment is perfect, airy, carefully planned and the decor was spot on to my taste. I love the bathroom so much! Corner apartment meant I have more windows than anticipated which is amazing! It can get very warm in here and the Fan Boost feature doesn’t really work or maybe I haven’t figured out how to use it correctly. The lifts / hallways are always tidy and I regularly see the maintenance and cleaner guys.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Brilliant clean location, walking distance from the city centre and my place of work. Lovely and quiet most evenings. Parking unavailable which is inconvenient as that was very important to me. Bins tidy. Residents lovely. Traffic can get a bit much and I can see accidents regularly from my living room window as there’s a huge roundabout. I only drive in the area on quiet mornings or late evenings as it’s quite off putting.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew there was no parking, I was sold the property with knowledge that I was allowed to park in any of the public bays at the back of the building but was issued with a parking ticket around 2 months after moving in. When I queried it turns out I need a permit, but I wasn’t allowed one because my landlord didn’t give permission. I was happy to pay for a permit for the year but could not accommodate despite the bays being empty most of the time

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They were very helpful with an issue I had regarding keys.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  B5 Central, B5
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely new build houses and apartments in central Birmingham.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Lovely new build houses and apartments in central Birmingham. Clean and new when we moved in. Lovely space for a couple, with a spare bedroom and 3 bathrooms (1 en suit). Big living area with lovely doors which look out to the garden. Reasonable kitchen space with fridge, cooker and washing machine included.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local shops about a 5 minute walk, Co-op and cost cutter about a 10 minute walk. Close to town, 15 minute walk, lots of restaurants and bars. Close to bus stops, 3 minute walk, trains 15 minute walk. Parking space with permit outside house, lovely area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are 3 bathrooms in the house as it was advertised as 2. Also to put that white goods are included in the house advertisement as we had to ask.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We are in contact with Martin and co through email and they generally respond and help when needed.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Would recommend to a friend!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Great design very modern, nice big windows which make each room feel light and airy. Kitchen, dinning and living room feel very spacious. Grass, shrubs, hallway and bin store well maintained and kept neat. Property management send letters and keep updated, easy to get a hold of.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very conveniently located! All amenities in close proximity. 5 minute drive or 15-20 minute walk to Birmingham New Street station and city centre which is full of shops restaurants and bars. 5 minute walk to McDonald’s, greggs and co-op, gp practice and dentist. Car park and visitor spaces available. Park on development but also near moonlight and sunset park. Can’t hear much traffic noise from inside even though on a busy road.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would advise a new neighbour to consider, when inside property it is almost soundproof from traffic noise, if south facing property you will likely have the windows open which can be noisy.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management are easy to contact and fix any problems promptly.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Design of the inside of the property is generally good and built well.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Design of the inside of the property is generally good and built well. Parking is a big issue though, with only 1 resident parking space per house (4 bedroom house), which is not enough for a 4 bedroom house.
Visitor parking spaces are also limited and are managed poorly by the property management team (ground solutions).
Paying for a property management team who do not take into account the opinions of the residents when it comes to parking regulations/ concerns.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent location. Walking distance to Birmingham City Centre. Parking availability is not great and limited.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The full regulations of the parking before moving in/ buying the property.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Poor response from property management- ground solutions team. Tend to give a lot of excuses and not deal with the underlying issues/ concerns from residents.

Barrett’s team have been helpful.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Highly recommend, great place to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The buildings are only 3 stories so not too high rise, the blocks are well spaced out and the apartments are really bright. The layout of the apartment makes it feel like a house rather than a 1 bed apartment. Any issues we have had in the building have been sorted promptly by the management company and any time I have a query I have received a quick response by phone or email

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Really good location – 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk from the city centre, very close to a number of large supermarkets, good availability street parking for visitors (and on site parking for residents), fairly quiet road and minimal disturbances late at night

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I can’t think of anything I wish I had known before

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I had no issues when I moved in with any of the building work or fittings but any questions I have had they have answered promptly

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location

Review Date Sep 2021

Quiet, clean and modern.
One bedroom apartment but spacious. Quiet neighborhood. Gated parking through sometimes you do get people parking in your space which can often be inconvenient. Locked bin shed and bike shed to tucked away nicely. Building management are located at the end of the road.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location – 10 min walk to city centre give or take. Limited shops within the immediate vicinity but you have a post office and a co-op for all essential needs.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The building is often hard for people to find as the building name is not very big so you have to direct people when delivering food etc

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, they have been great. Helped with any technical issues when settling I.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I love living in my flat. And will be here for years to come hopefully

Review Date Sep 2021

I’ve been at my flat since December. As soon as i seen the video for the virtual guide i knew it was the perfect place for me. And the management are so helpful whenever I have phoned them for a problem I needed sorted. As for the flat its perfect location to walk into town to.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Plenty of parking perfect flats with on_suits and peaceful neighbours. I’ve been living here 11 months and its perfect

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I have not had any issues with neighbours since I have been here

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes whenever I’ve had a problem or issue they have helped straightaway

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of B5 Central, B5

Location

Number of developments 43

3.97

Average rating based on 555 reviews

View company