X1 The Gateway, M5

X1 The Gateway, M5

By
X1 Developments Limited
Ranked 47th out of 61 in Manchester
2.79 (42 reviews) 2.79 (42 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

2.57
Facilities
3.10
Design
4.36
Location
2.86
Value
1.81
Management

The Gateway is a rental development by X1, located at Salford Quays within a 15 minute walk to Manchester’s MediaCityUK.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Avoid At All Costs

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

To summarise, moving to the X1 Gateway was a huge mistake. Everything you would expect from a new build apartment building within Salford Quays – Gateway is not. We were really excited to move here, for the following reasons:

The positives:

1) Location. Media city is a 10 minute walk away, the Metrolink stop directly opposite and Tesco local next door. Only a short drive in to Manchester and with Old Trafford nearby, it’s in a superb location, hence why we moved here.

2) Views. If the windows were ever cleaned, you would have views from the higher apartments across the city and beyond. Any apartments below the 12th floor there’s no view other than other apartment blocks.

But the reason moving to Gateway was (and would be) a mistake is because of:

The negatives. This list won’t be exhaustive by any means, but bear these in mind when considering whether to move here:

• The lifts don’t work. Neither of them. Both were out of order for over 2 months recently, despite all the calls, emails and complaints to the building management team, and have now broken once again.
• The car parks shutters don’t work and haven’t since moving in. We pay £135 for our space, and due to the car park being insecure, random cars and vans parked in our spot near enough everyday, and with building management not repairing the shutter they had no way to enforce this or prevent outsiders taking our spot.
• Apartment itself wasn’t even finished. During our viewing, X1 told us the issues would be fixed. Upon moving in, there were still pieces of flooring missing, light fittings hanging loose, balcony roof panels hanging down, walls unpainted. When this was pointed out, and eventually complained about, X1 management just ignored this and to this day we still have floor panels missing.
• No secure space for parcels to be delivered. Tenants will testify here that near on every other day parcels are stolen because they are just left on the front desk by the front door, which isn’t manned because X1 refuse to employ a concierge, there is only a security guard at the desk usually from 8pm until 6am.
• Exterior of the building has been left unfinished. There are cladding panels missing, the protective stickers around all of the windows have just been left on, there are windows at the front of the building smashed and left insecure and in a state of disrepair, and overall is just unsafe.
• The gym isn’t one. None of the equipment works as the machines have all broken down, free weights aren’t allowed as there are no staff inside the building, and despite complaints this is still the case for months now.
• Communal areas are constantly dirty, with empty beer cans and bottles left around on the hallways, food packages left in the lift and even bin bags left in the communal area downstairs.
• Overall lack of management of the building. All complaints seem to be ignored, damage left un-repaired, and the fact that a group of residents (over 120 at present) has been set up to try to have all the issues resolved (with no success whatsoever) says it all really

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location. Media city is a 10 minute walk away, the Metrolink stop directly opposite and Tesco local next door. Only a short drive in to Manchester and with Old Trafford nearby, it’s in a superb location, hence why we moved here.
Moving here and to this area was a mistake though, and here’s why:

• The local area is unsafe to walk around. The park next door is a hotspot for robberies, cars parked nearby are frequently broken in to, and only recently there was a machete attack right outside of the building.
• There is no on-street parking available for miles. Parking attendants are regularly outside issuing tickets if anybody tries to park near to the building.
• Despite residents from all around making complaints, the bins are left overflowing inside and outside of the building permanently, and are genuinely a health hazard.
• There are long term roadworks immediately outside the building at the time of writing this, and will be for the next year or so, so the traffic is a nightmare and constant noise from the building work is audible always even with the windows closed .

Now for the negatives. This list won’t be exhaustive to any extent, but the main points

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had spoken to current residents living here before moving in. The Gateway wasn’t listed on Homeviews when we moved here, otherwise we wouldn’t be here. I’m confident most other residents will write similar reviews to this one, and hopefully this gives you an insight in to life at Gateway

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I’m short, no. X1 have responded to other residents and only to say that the repairs will be done, but still haven’t been repaired.

1
Facilities
1
Design
3
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Look elsewhere.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The building looks nice from the outside, and the cleaners are great and keep it clean inside. However the lifts are constantly broken. Last time one was out of service for 6 weeks, which isn’t acceptable by anyone’s standards – in a block this size one functioning lift is ridiculous. I’d have extremely long waits, and the lift that did work wouldn’t function correctly – you’d often go up and down many floors before it would eventually stop at ground level. There’s no concierge, sometimes a security man in the evening – mail is just left there in piles completely exposed at the front entrance. The fact you need a fob to enter the building offers zero security as there’s always people coming and going. The apartments are also unbearably hot in the summer. It’s impossible to relax – even with a fan on 24/7 – literally. The letting agency take days to weeks to reply to emails. Friendly and polite when they do, but that doesn’t compensate for the terrible communication. And often you can call all day – with no answer.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Salford Quays itself is nice – it’s nice to be by the water. There’s a decent selection of bars, places to eat all within walking distance. There’s tram stops close to all areas, which is convenient if you use it. If you drive parking is terrible in this area. Make sure you secure a car park before moving here – most of the apartments in this building have no parking. There’s paid parking across the road which is expensive, and unreliable due to Old Trafford being so close, on a match day parking is near impossible. The bin area in this building is often overflowing and messy. Over all the building is quiet.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Go elsewhere. There’s no benefit to living in this building aside from the location and views. Avoid X1 Lettings.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Responses to any queries I’ve had have been delayed by days to weeks. Polite responses, blunt at times.

1
Facilities
1
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Aesthetically pleasing but not a good building to live in

Review Date Sep 2021

The development is aesthetically pleasing and kept very clean and the cleaning staff are lovely, that’s about it for the positives. The lack of concierge means parcels get stolen daily, we have reported several issues with our flat and 9 months later they still haven’t been resolved – one of the rooms does not have a window and the ventilation doesn’t work so it’s uncomfortably warm. We have been here over 9 months and the windows haven’t been cleaned once – the bin storage overflows daily which leads to fly infestations in the building, and the lifts are always broken & there is no alternative disabled access which is disappointing if someone needed access! Also the intercom in main door to the building is always broken, and very easy to get into the building without a fob – this building feels very unsafe.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Salford quays is a 10 minute walk away which is lovely but the area surround the flats has is loud and there has been stabbings/ robbery’s directly below the building.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how bad this building has been designed/ managed

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have never responded, we were promised a fully furnished flat and they ignored us when we asked about this, not good management

1
Facilities
1
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
User submitted image of  X1 The Gateway, M5
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Poorly organised

Review Date Sep 2021

Building management is not good at all, very hard to get a response and when multiple concerns from several people have been raised minimal response. The design is good but not well thought out and rushed, it’s evident it was done quickly as things are not satisfactory and leaves things breaking frequently then not being fixed for extended periods of time. Facilities are adequate however with them not working it knocks off the positive features. Postal service and security is not good, parcels being stolen, no security in the day meaning parcels left on the open desk. Window smashed in downstairs to office which has not been fixed posing a security risk as well as garages and bike storage often breaking leaving it not secure.
Reporting issues and trying to contact x1 proves very difficult at the best of times leaving many tenants unhappy with the quality of living and not willing to renew tenancies

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location wise it’s convenient. Tesco express just outside as well as petrol station, GP nearby and not far from public transport links. The main road is having a lot of building work done leaving it noisy from 8am each morning, hard to drive down and creating issues with traffic.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That building management are badly organised, fail to communicate and respond and that many are unhappy.
That properties are registered with eon as business properties despite being residential and that changing them proves a massive issue and is proving impossible increasing electricity rates
That the building feels unfinished and is often like living on a building site due to noise and overall disruption
The views of other residents which are far from positive.
That parking is unavailable despite requesting this multiple times and you have to live in at least a 2 bed to be able to access this leading to stress, issues and having to source alternatives so I could get to work

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

When issues are raised they are rarely responded to with staff frequently being on annual leave or just not replying to emails. When they do get responded to they are met in a very blasé not really an issue way suggesting they do not care about tenant satisfaction or safety. I am really unhappy with the management of this building as are many others

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Wasted potential

Review Date Oct 2021

The building itself look amazing from afar and it stands out amongst the surrounding area, however up close the cracks are more visible, such as gaps at the bottoms of the columns where litter gathers and an unfinished retail unit that has had its windows smashed and is seemingly never going to be filled. Management have given some poor excuses as to the reasons for the building being unkept, however it just seems like a lack interest to sort these problems out for the sake of the tenants who are paying so much.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good transport links and close to shops, convenient location to get into town & the Trafford centre either for work or shopping. It’s for the management, they either struggle or just cannot be bothered to help tenants with their issues, for example our hob still doesn’t work after reporting it the correct way about 6 times.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How rushed the building was and how lazy management are to fix the issues that persist because of that

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They haven’t, it’s that simple. A group email was sent from all tenants and not one of the responses was a positive and proactive one, dozens of tenants just have to live with constant issues that the management cannot be bothered to fix

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good for money and area.

Review Date Oct 2021

The building management is okay, not great. We have had a few problems getting hold of people for repairs and management- the building itself has a gym and security from 7am-7pm which is great and parcels are always delivered securely. The building complex is nice, although there is a mix of students and working professions.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Super close to media city and the tram is right outside the door, very central to city centre and Trafford. Loads of bars and local supermarkets, Tesco extra is right on the corner. The neighbourhood is relatively safe- no real complaints with the area!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the floor we are on is predominantly made up of students which is difficult as we are working professionals.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quite slowly and at times not very well- we have had a few problems contacting the letting agent over the last 6 weeks.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very disappointing

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

This is the most disappointing element as the building is very nice and fairly well designed with reasonably sized apartments, however X1 don’t communicate with tenants, lifts are frequently broken and not fixed for days, the gym is just the same. Neither is communicated so it’s always a gamble whether either will be working when you need them. Damaged walls, broken windows outside the gym have not been fixed despite X1 knowing about them and public areas often look shabby. Windows are only cleaned annually so look very dirty and the bin store is disgusting. Parcels have been stolen and nothing is done to help residents.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Tesco opposite, very close to the Lowry theatre and a Vue cinema. The Quays are a few minutes walk and a nice place to wander on a sunny day, Media city is a short walk away. Transport is great, there’s a tram stop 5 minutes away which gets you into the city centre in 20 minutes. However, the bin collection isn’t great and there is anti social behaviour in the area and parking is very difficult.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That X1 wouldn’t keep their promises or be a responsible landlord.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They haven’t responded just asked for an email detailing the issues but then not responded or taken any action.

1
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Appaling- X1 and Haymarket management

Review Date Oct 2021

Property management is extremely poor! I am not sure why they simply cannot get things done at Haymarket management. It is impossible to get in touch with them – in regards to a complaint, reporting faults, or simply requesting the meter readings as it takes about 3 weeks to receive a response from them. Management needs to be completely replaced as we’ve had too many inconveniences and problems due to their incompetence. X1 Lettings also has poor communication and late replies to queries and issues due to their severe short staffed problems , which the estate agent lady did this mention during our viewing- I do wonder how they are managing and looking after so many X1 buildings if they only have less than 10 staff.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Transport: The building in located opposite a tram stop however the tram line is very unreliable, it is often closed or has no trams running due to a fault/ delays etc. I often end up ordering an Uber to work a few times a week due to that.
Shop: Tesco express is opposite so that is great.
Parking: Very upsetting that this building does not offer parking spaces to one bedroom apartments. My partner has to park somewhere else.
Bin collection: There are huge bins outside which are not fully shut, therefore causing rubbish to fly everywhere when the wind blows, causing that area to look like a rubbish site!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The only two positives are:
It is a brand new building. Meaning we get new appliances and furniture. However, The washer dryer is already not working properly despite moving in 3 months ago. Small fridge freezer, also a heads up, some of the flats that we viewed are extremely small compared to others.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

As mentioned, every query and issues takes a very long time to be solved. They are not very productive due to being so short staffed.

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great to live in at but facilities need ALOT of work!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

I absolutely love the design of the building. The facilities looked amazing but they do fail a lot of the time and we haven’t been able to access the gym a lot. We have also had many incidents of parcels getting stolen and would like to request a member of staff to be present in the day time to ensure peoples parcels are looked after. Some items hold sentimental value and we deserve a right of privacy with our post. The lifts break down a lot which I feel is unfair for those who are going to work or are in a rush to get out.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is outstanding and the quality of the rooms is immaculate. I can’t fault that at all, even the view is amazing and shops are so conveniently located. Things are pretty easy to set up in terms of bills and things around the flat. I would consider this area a very safe area to live in with lots of lovely bars next door and food places.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew the gym didn’t work as much and that our parcels and post would be in danger of being stolen.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Staff haven’t been great at responding to queries. They have said it would cost £40,000 per anum to have a concierge service. I feel the excuses provided could be fixed so easily and would create less complaints. I have so many ideas that could make this building much better to live in and it would maintain such positive feedback. I feel the design and cleanliness of the building alone won’t be enough to convince people to reside here if these problems continue. I know personally I moved here because because of the gym access as I’m agoraphobic and have severe anxiety which leaves me unable to leave the house a lot of the time. The staff were great at understanding my situation and accommodating me but since I’ve moved in I have heard nothing but problems which desperately need sorting. This is my home and I want to make sure it’s like that for everybody else too.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Refreshing apartment

Review Date Sep 2021

Love the design of the building, outside looks fantastic and the inside too. The view from the apartment is great as well and it seems that a lot of people love it too. I was worried about receiving deliveries but so far I have had no issue. There seems to be cleaners here regularly which makes me think it’s quite fresh and nice here. The agency are average, don’t really respond and say they’ll call you back when they don’t, but just keep calling and you’ll get an answer. The gym is really good, but currently off for some reason and no one knows why.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Such a lovely place around; the shopping places near by, no one is too loud or rowdy. Really colourful and alive. Traffic is awful due to the roadworks though, but I don’t hear it. Transport links are amazing and really happy. Uber won’t work that well due to the roadworks but I guess it works fine for occasional trips. The neighbourhood seems safe and there’s a tesco nearby, which is really convenient. Bins are a little messy but that’s expected. Parking is a pain on the property, you won’t be able to have visitors unless they get to you by walking or parking far away.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

– It’s quite cool inside each room
– Doors are a bit noisy when closing
– Locks could be better, consider that
– Neighbours seem nice and quiet and respectable

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Not as of yet; I brought up some issues after moving in last week and nothing

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Not worth it for the views

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Unfortunately the building isn’t great. There’s lovely views which attracted us here but that’s pretty much we’re the good things end.

Lifts break down way too often, parcels are often stolen, repairs inside and outside of the apartment’s are rarely undertaken, and for some reason the building was designed with hollow aluminium bars running throughout the building, top to bottom. This means we often hear upper and lower neighbours TVs, music, bad singing etc.

On the lifts, I’ve personally been trapped in one here twice. The other lift likes to keep you on your toes by rebooting somewhere near 10th floor before continuing to 0 with no internal screen. We weren’t sure if we were free falling the first time this happened. But hey, the building management company have a contract with OTIS who say everything is fine with the lifts…

Another pet hate is that the roller shutter on one of the garages was stuck open for months. Non-residents started parking in the garage and it took ages for the repair.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is pretty good, we’ve lived in Salford Quays for a number of years. There’s plenty of small shops for basics and it’s a small walk to big Tesco in Trafford. Anti-social behaviour does become a problem in the summer with teens travelling to The Quays for a swim.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How long X1 take to repair things & that Haymarket (building management) are ineffective to say the least.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

In a word, badly. I still have an outstanding issue from moving in back in April.

2
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The building is is very modern and looks good from the out side

Review Date Sep 2021

The building is is very modern and looks good from the out side, however is has lots of problems; the lifts in the building break down regularly, the equipment in the gym keeps not working, parts of the building are badly put together, the bike shed door lock doesn’t work and instead of fixing it management has just put a sticker saying bikes are left at own risk, there is people having there parcels stolen as there is no security during the day also if you try getting in contact with the building management they either don’t answer or say there working in it

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The building is very close to the tram stop and to the Lowry where you can shop, eat out and do other activities, also I have an amazing view of Salford Quays, however there is some bad things such as there isn’t enough parking spaces for all the tenants and there no where to park close to the building with out paying and as the building is close to the Manchester United stadium on match days it nearly impossible find a parking spot, there are a few idiot that drive past every now and then raving their engine. There’s also road works that are going on and sometimes start drilling at 7:30 in the morning.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How bad it is to get in contact with building management

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They haven’t really they just don’t answer or say there working in it

3
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Unfinished building with a poor standard of completion. Filthy windows, tatty cladding and broken panes in the gym

Review Date Sep 2021

The building is simply unfinished and has been built to a poor standard. For example, there are a number of broken windows in the gym, the equipment provided is poor, communal doors do not shut properly, there’s cladding that hasn’t been completed and the windows have not been cleaned and are filthy.

The apartment itself has a poor standard of completion, with grouting coming away in chunks, a useless extractor that draws smoke and grease into a cupboard and paint splattering on the floor where the developers failed to cover installed flooring before touching up paint.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are a number of high-quality restaurants not far from the development. The building is a short stroll from the Salford Quays Metrolink. The bin collection has been infrequently recently, and with the ongoing work on Trafford road, construction noise is unavoidable.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known how poor the building management company were at managing the building

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No response from X1 lettings with regards to the filthy windows

3
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Disappointed

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Bar the amazing view I have from my apartment I have been very disappointed with the up keep and response to issues raised over the building.

I’ve never experienced somewhere where the lifts break weekly.

I chose this building due to the gym element I’ve been here 6 months and only been able to use the gym 6times because the fuse keeps going which is a health and safety issue.

Security have to leave the doors open because they don’t have fobs to navigate through the building.

Parcels are left unsecured at the front desk and have been stolen on multiple occasions.

Glass smashed which could result in squatters.

The windows are mucky and still has sealing tape on them, then balcony slabs aren’t detached together properly

My slab smashed randomly the other week and someone was supposed to attend straight away due to health and safety and I’ve been waiting 5 days.

Bin area have rats running in because of the gapped design I assume to let air out as it’s not covered at the bottom I’ve seen rats in the building.

Possible bees nest in the cladding that hasn’t been completed.

Nails in the balcony area which hasn’t been cleaned and has been stuffed under the slabs.

The frame work on the door is coming apart as the doors are so heavy when they close.

To be honest I actually fail to understand how the business has passed inspection.

We’ve actually had to create a WhatsApp group for the building where we aide each other and raise issues. We all consider a rent strike one month sent an email and within minutes issues were resolved.

It shouldn’t get to this point and at the moment I wouldn’t recommend an x1 letting to anyone I’m sorry to say.

Sorry if this comes off aggressive or anything along those lines it’s just pure frustration as theirs simple things that can be done and there’s a lot of failings.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great view from my balcony, building works are terrible, no parking facilities for friends and family for the building had mirror smashed due to public anti social behaviour which has yet to be fixed. Traffic noise not so bad but constant policy and ambulance sirens

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The up keep of the building

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Slow, pass the book, repairs aren’t done properly or in timely manner

1
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The flat itself is well-designed and furnished in a minimalist style.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The flat itself is well-designed and furnished in a minimalist style. The layout of the bedrooms and common areas is good as well. The property management team is not the most responsive and as a result we still hadn’t had some issues resolved. Also the lifts in the building are constantly broken and there’s a high chance of getting stuck in there. Normally it takes quite some time to get out, which is rather inconvenient. The bin rooms are decent but they are always messy and smell bad.

Overall, the amazing location and design of the flat make this place a great place to live.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Really convenient location, near the shops, park and great public transport links. The road works on Trafford road are somewhat inconvenient and the resulting constant noise rather unpleasant.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

You might develop a fear of lifts but the views and location are worth it.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They responded to the most urgent requests but ignored the non-urgent ones

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location but maintenance issues…

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

My one bedroom apartment is a great size, furnishings are simple but work well. The fridge has limited space but not a major issue. I have a great view over Salford quays. The building itself is full of snags that were never fixed. Lose sockets, paint flecks all over the wooden floor, cracks in tiles. The gym equipment never works and there are no weights. The lifts have been broken 85% of the time I’ve lived here and it always takes weeks to fix.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is fantastic, close to the metro station so has excellent transport links. Close to media city, bars and restaurants.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I may have considered which floor I moved into. 200 steps up with shopping when the lift is broken is not ideal!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I had a leaking sink, I requested for it to be fixed via X1 and the portal. 2 months later I had it fixed myself because I only ever got automated responses.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Unmanaged

Review Date Oct 2021

The building layout is ok, the gym facilities don’t work in a morning.
The management is only on at night time for a few hours which is not ideal.
If there is a problem it doesn’t get resolved for weeks by the management.
It is a poor outcome to be honest

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The current road works and having to go all the way around, the parking availability is very limited

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew how hard work it was going to be to get hold of the letting agents

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have been delayed and they aren’t on call to help

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Unfinished.

Review Date Oct 2021

Unfinished. Things promised, for example: 24/7 concierge? Never met them. Gym equipment always turned off. Lifts always broke. Stairwell feels like a horror movie. Friendly/helpfull people at the other end of emails. Feels like they want to help but cant do much.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Amazing location for trams and bars and places to eat. Very inconvenient and loud road works.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there was going to be constant road works and construction on the opposite building.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They respond fast but its seems theres not much they can do

1
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Sweet Home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Development is good as I see no flaws in my flat, I have a great view of the city from 9th floor, specially while raining I enjoy my view from balcony.
Its quite spacious as I live in 1 bhk flat.
The development comes with all the furniture included with reasonable rental price.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s in great location which is nearer to all the amenities like bar, restuarant, mall, city centre, sports stadium etc.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

High rise building and the letting agents are very popular, development looks quite attractive to rent a flat in the gateway.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes they have responded well and I’m happy with the service

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The property layout is moderately okay but needs effective management

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The property layout is moderately okay but needs effective management; however, On-site facilities include a gym that needs better functional equipment, a workable double lifts, a reception, mail room, underground parking lot, refuse stores, and so on. The development lack more spaces; being situated along Trafford road, noise pollution will be permanent.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

My local area is surrounded with fantastic local amenities such as Tesco Express shop which is a minute walk, Shahi Masala eatery, Matchstick man takeaway, Subway, Aadams restaurant, along Trafford road. Also, there are hotels such as AC hotels, Ibis Budget. Parks such as Media Village Quayside for sight seeing, a 5min walk to Ordsall Park – a nice place for relaxation, a good place for exercises like jogging, walking; football training ground for both children & adults, are within the vicinity. Availability of tram stations situated at Salford Quays – about 8min walk & Exchange Quay- about 10min walk away from my building. At this time of review, there is a lot of traffic noise owing to the ongoing construction works along Trafford road. There is a quite compatible parking space within the area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The viewing i got was okay but a good communal lounge would be quite soothing; I expected to see room doors operated with security cards not locks and keys.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes I had a door issue which was resolved quickly.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  X1 The Gateway, M5
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great building that needs finishing off

Review Date Oct 2021

The developers and the construction company are poor. They have not finished the building completely and there are many things to finish and improve. The building itself and the flats are impressive, especially the big windows in the spacious apartments.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area/location is quite nice with access to amenities and travel routes. The supermarket is close which is good.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew how slow the finishing off would be and still how much improvements are needed.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Not very responsive and late replies. Would have expected faster and more direct responses

2
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I’m loving it

Review Date Oct 2021

Absolutely perfect locations, apartments in the middle of everything.
Very close to Tesco and restaurants.
Unfortunately no parking available, but across the road is 24h parking, quite cheap for this area. Bins always full but it’s new development so I’m sure someone will sort this out.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Absolutely perfect locations, apartments in the middle of everything.
Very close to Tesco and restaurants.
Unfortunately no parking available, but across the road is 24h parking, quite cheap for this area. Bins always full but it’s new development so I’m sure someone will sort this out.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Its a bit hard to get in touch with anyone but let’s blame Corona

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The design is great, but we are very disappointed with the property management.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The design is great, but we are very disappointed with the property management. We haven’t had heating or hot water for a week now, and still haven’t heard back from them. Aside from that, the facilities are satisfactory. The only complaint would be the refuse area smelling horrible.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is very convenient for tram travel.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We hadn’t been aware of how bad the refuse area in the building smells

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We raised a couple issues which were responded to, but maintenance still hasn’t come by

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Design is excellent and modern.

Review Date Oct 2021

Design is excellent and modern. The facilities likewise. However, the property management, from what we have seen, has not been brilliant and there has been a notable delay with getting maintenance issues resolved. The windows could also do with an external clean – though we are not certain if this will be carried out.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Area is fantastic with excellent transport links into the city. It is quite a walk to get to a large supermarket though.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The bin storage is not ideal, I’m not sure how often is it removed but it does smell in the refuse room.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

So far we’ve reported 2 problems and were told that a maintenance person would come and look at them, however they never showed up so we are currently waiting on whether this will be rescheduled/why they did not attend.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Disappointing

Review Date Oct 2021

The building itself is in a prime location and is in short reach from shopping and other areas however the management and quality of hygiene is bad. People have floods from the floor and the bins are left outside which causes bugs to enter the flats. Someone reported this and X1 made excuses

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The surrounding area is perfect and it’s not far from the tram stop however the bins are left outside to the area is horrible

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That x1 wouldn’t reply and that the bins are left outside

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No not really but they have responded to other issues so that’s ok

2
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

X1 The Gateway : My Truth

Review Date Oct 2021

The property management definitely needs work. There is a huge lack of communication between X1, landlords and tenants. This leaves room for a huge amount of confusion and if it wasn’t for tenants coming together as a whole to help one another out I’d be very stuck!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I think the location is great in terms of public transport, views, local restaurants and shops. The roadworks outside have let it down a bit but that’s nothing to do with X1 themselves

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d have known about the lack of security in regards to parcels and deliveries

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They’ve responded quite quickly however I have had some instances where they’ve taken a good while to respond to me

2
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Bins, Security and Maintenance

Review Date Oct 2021

To be honest there is a lot of room for there to be a bin chute instead of the bins being in a random room we have to go into ourselves. The security is a bit bad as they have to leave the door open downstairs because they have no key card. Maintenance is very slow, we were without hot water in our kitchen tap for a month and a half after chasing it up numerous times.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good range of restaurants on our doorstep especially being so close to media city, nice for an evening stroll

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish they were honest with how maintenance tend to problems within the flat.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They haven’t, i’ve been chasing up maintenance problems in our flat for a while and heard nothing back.

2
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice view of the quays, but management requires improvement

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

-Concierge/24hr security
-Effective, quick responding management team, caring for the tenant
-Better management of recycling bins (none in the rubbish room)
-Public transport optimised – feedback to go northwest: nearest in use stop 14minuts away.
-Rooftop/ common area

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good: Really nice views from some apartments -I can’t stop looking at the canals, floor to ceiling windows, wooden-effect laminated floor, 2 bathroom/2bed flats and new development. 24hr gym room with some equipment available on site.
Bad: Management of relevant issues has been very slow acting and extremely inefficient, not respecting tenant’s time and experience sometimes. This is the main reason I would be thinking of moving to a different property.
Some cheap materials/ incomplete fitting e.g. in the balcony. However, I am not extremely bothered, as far as is safe, as I am renting and not buying one of the properties.
After experiencing the current situation for some time, I would really appreciate a concierge service (OR 24hr security).
Transport has been particularly challenging: metrolink not punctual and sometimes infrequent, but the main issue has been the bus route which has changed several times and even though there was supposed to be a stop next to the building’s entrance, the nearest active bus stop in use as per the company is 14 minutes away, which is unacceptable for an area that does depend heavily on one bus service and professionals that need to commute to work. Roadworks have been challenging, including some strange pedestrian pathways and transport changes.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Public transport & management team insufficiency.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Disappointing, slow in resolving any issues, unprofessional in some occasions.

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The sweetest dream became a nightmare.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Apart from the nice view from my apartment, everything else it’s been a nightmare.
It’s been 6 months that a have had a water leak in my apartment, The only response I get every time I report this is “he’ll have a look at it”, they only came to see it twice and never fix it.
The gym is not a real gym because they only have cardio machines that stop working at least every two months.
The lift’s break all the time, once we had no lift for at least 4 days.
The apartments look nice but it’s only the look, they are breaking apart.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good public transportation and commerce around.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

N/A

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They hold us and never fix my apartment water leaks.

2
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Facilities and improvement

Review Date Sep 2021

The facilities could be improved, and design can be updated.
The management is overall good but is hard to reach when needed.
Lobby design is average and small, having a small working area would be cool to meet friends and study.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Currently the building is surrounded by construction work, which is very loud during the morning. The best part is having a 24 hrs tesco across the street, and walking to the media center.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The adjacency of places to visit, recommend routes and a clear tour and explanation of services and facilities

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes they did, and helped me figure out documents and bills I need to sort and fill, which was very helpful.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Go elsewhere!

Review Date Sep 2021

Extremely poor quality finish, communal areas already ruined and the building only launch in 2022.

Lifts break down weekly

Management company do not respond for weeks and give attitude when they do respond

I cannot express how strongly I urge you not to move into this development unless it’s is the absolute only option

Lifts break down weekly

Management company do not respond for weeks and give attitude when they do respond

I cannot express how strongly I urge you not to move into this development unless it’s is the absolute only option

The gym equipment doesn’t work because the electrics in their haven’t been wired with enough juice to power gym equipment

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Only good things about the development is the views if you manage to get a flat on a high floor and the location on the quays

Parking in the area is also terrible x1 like to advise that there’s on street nearby (there is but nowhere near enough to sustain the amount of people trying to park there)

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish I knew that they’d rushed to finish the building.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They’ve not responded. Have to escalate everything to senior management before you get an excuse about why they aren’t doing anyway about it

1
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The design and price are great!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The design and price are great! Lifts sometimes don’t work which is difficult when you life in a high rise building. Responses to emails and queries could be quicker and more efficient. Our apartment has a great view of the city and all the facilities we need

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very good amenities near by! Shops & nightlife are close and within walking distance to the city centre and media city

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Had to deal with changing from a bussiness to domestic meter for energy due to it being a new build

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

At first were great but afyer moving in they have not responded to some of our emails

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The building is half finished

Review Date Sep 2021

the building is half finished, windows don’t have outer frames, the stairway is ridiculously worn down for a new building and the lifts barely work. As well as this we have had issues with things in the flat, although our flat is very nice and we like it

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

we have a lot of good shops in the shopping centre and a tesco next door but the roadworks ruin everything so far

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

no windows in the property makes it ridiculously hot in the summer which is a massive design flaw

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I have raised some and still waiting for a response a week later

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Terrible Property management of a good ideal building

Review Date Sep 2021

Besides that. The property management is very poor and unresponsive to tenants queries and always leave things unattended until the last minute. Have messaged the property manager and block manager about my concerns and have been unresponsive for more than 2 weeks. Also have high safety risks such as windows not being fixed and doors being open all the time

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Only good thing about this development is that it is opposite tram stop and near shops.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the property management care and at least respond to peoples concerns

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They havnt. Messaged 2 weeks ago and unresponsive. Not attended to any safety risks. Lifts have been out of service for months. Peoples balconies and roofs and glasses been tampered and not fixed.

1
Facilities
1
Design
5
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

good development with a few minor flaws

Review Date Sep 2021

When we moved in one of the lifts was broken and upon talking to other residents they said it had been broke for sometime. The building is generally designed well but the only let down is that there is not a 24 hour reception and as such our parcels just get left on the side which means anyone could steal them

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is a Tesco next door which is very convenient. Also the tram stop is across the road which is useful for getting into the city and to media city

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we had of known that there was not a full time reception as we often worry our parcels will be stolen

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No, we have raised some issues in our inventory and we have not been contacted about these

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Fair flat in convenient area

Review Date Sep 2021

The property are lack of security measures, only security guard during night time, also management company are not respon to problem in the property quickly. Do not expect your problem can be fix in a month. At least the management company are helpful to repair once your case were on their attention.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The shop around the flat are quite lack of choice, only one Tesco express with overpriced product. Try to go to the Salford area for more.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Make sure you view the house in person before you rent.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

About half month response time in average. Quite slow in repair.

4
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Loads to be improved

Review Date Sep 2021

management has a lot to do, lift breaks down everyday, the bin is right beside our windows so you can’t even get fresh air, not to talk of the lack so hygiene. things take forever to get fixed.The gym doesn’t have any weights.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location is good and has easy access to transport but constant construction let’s it down

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew that the bins would be places outside my window so not hygienic

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No very well waited 2 months before the initial response

2
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
5
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The only good thing about this building is the view. Everything else is trash LITERALLY!!!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

We have only two lifts in this massive building and they always seem to break down all the time.

Management sucks and doesn’t answer emails, if they do they never fix your problem

No concierge, parcels are always stolen

I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT!!!!!!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love Salford quays, it is an amazing place to live. The only issue now is the road works which is annoying to deal with because of the noise and access to buses

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish i knew they have poor management

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They do not answer emails and seem to be on leave.

1
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of X1 The Gateway, M5
User submitted image of X1 The Gateway, M5

Location

Number of developments 4

3.59

Average rating based on 171 reviews

View company