X1 The Gateway, M5

X1 The Gateway, M5

By
X1 Developments Limited
Ranked 47th out of 61 in Manchester
2.79 (42 reviews) 2.79 (42 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

2.57
Facilities
3.10
Design
4.36
Location
2.86
Value
1.81
Management

The Gateway is a rental development by X1, located at Salford Quays within a 15 minute walk to Manchester’s MediaCityUK.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Avoid At All Costs

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

To summarise, moving to the X1 Gateway was a huge mistake. Everything you would expect from a new build apartment building within Salford Quays – Gateway is not. We were really excited to move here, for the following reasons:

The positives:

1) Location. Media city is a 10 minute walk away, the Metrolink stop directly opposite and Tesco local next door. Only a short drive in to Manchester and with Old Trafford nearby, it’s in a superb location, hence why we moved here.

2) Views. If the windows were ever cleaned, you would have views from the higher apartments across the city and beyond. Any apartments below the 12th floor there’s no view other than other apartment blocks.

But the reason moving to Gateway was (and would be) a mistake is because of:

The negatives. This list won’t be exhaustive by any means, but bear these in mind when considering whether to move here:

• The lifts don’t work. Neither of them. Both were out of order for over 2 months recently, despite all the calls, emails and complaints to the building management team, and have now broken once again.
• The car parks shutters don’t work and haven’t since moving in. We pay £135 for our space, and due to the car park being insecure, random cars and vans parked in our spot near enough everyday, and with building management not repairing the shutter they had no way to enforce this or prevent outsiders taking our spot.
• Apartment itself wasn’t even finished. During our viewing, X1 told us the issues would be fixed. Upon moving in, there were still pieces of flooring missing, light fittings hanging loose, balcony roof panels hanging down, walls unpainted. When this was pointed out, and eventually complained about, X1 management just ignored this and to this day we still have floor panels missing.
• No secure space for parcels to be delivered. Tenants will testify here that near on every other day parcels are stolen because they are just left on the front desk by the front door, which isn’t manned because X1 refuse to employ a concierge, there is only a security guard at the desk usually from 8pm until 6am.
• Exterior of the building has been left unfinished. There are cladding panels missing, the protective stickers around all of the windows have just been left on, there are windows at the front of the building smashed and left insecure and in a state of disrepair, and overall is just unsafe.
• The gym isn’t one. None of the equipment works as the machines have all broken down, free weights aren’t allowed as there are no staff inside the building, and despite complaints this is still the case for months now.
• Communal areas are constantly dirty, with empty beer cans and bottles left around on the hallways, food packages left in the lift and even bin bags left in the communal area downstairs.
• Overall lack of management of the building. All complaints seem to be ignored, damage left un-repaired, and the fact that a group of residents (over 120 at present) has been set up to try to have all the issues resolved (with no success whatsoever) says it all really

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location. Media city is a 10 minute walk away, the Metrolink stop directly opposite and Tesco local next door. Only a short drive in to Manchester and with Old Trafford nearby, it’s in a superb location, hence why we moved here.
Moving here and to this area was a mistake though, and here’s why:

• The local area is unsafe to walk around. The park next door is a hotspot for robberies, cars parked nearby are frequently broken in to, and only recently there was a machete attack right outside of the building.
• There is no on-street parking available for miles. Parking attendants are regularly outside issuing tickets if anybody tries to park near to the building.
• Despite residents from all around making complaints, the bins are left overflowing inside and outside of the building permanently, and are genuinely a health hazard.
• There are long term roadworks immediately outside the building at the time of writing this, and will be for the next year or so, so the traffic is a nightmare and constant noise from the building work is audible always even with the windows closed .

Now for the negatives. This list won’t be exhaustive to any extent, but the main points

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had spoken to current residents living here before moving in. The Gateway wasn’t listed on Homeviews when we moved here, otherwise we wouldn’t be here. I’m confident most other residents will write similar reviews to this one, and hopefully this gives you an insight in to life at Gateway

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I’m short, no. X1 have responded to other residents and only to say that the repairs will be done, but still haven’t been repaired.

1
Facilities
1
Design
3
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Look elsewhere.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The building looks nice from the outside, and the cleaners are great and keep it clean inside. However the lifts are constantly broken. Last time one was out of service for 6 weeks, which isn’t acceptable by anyone’s standards – in a block this size one functioning lift is ridiculous. I’d have extremely long waits, and the lift that did work wouldn’t function correctly – you’d often go up and down many floors before it would eventually stop at ground level. There’s no concierge, sometimes a security man in the evening – mail is just left there in piles completely exposed at the front entrance. The fact you need a fob to enter the building offers zero security as there’s always people coming and going. The apartments are also unbearably hot in the summer. It’s impossible to relax – even with a fan on 24/7 – literally. The letting agency take days to weeks to reply to emails. Friendly and polite when they do, but that doesn’t compensate for the terrible communication. And often you can call all day – with no answer.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Salford Quays itself is nice – it’s nice to be by the water. There’s a decent selection of bars, places to eat all within walking distance. There’s tram stops close to all areas, which is convenient if you use it. If you drive parking is terrible in this area. Make sure you secure a car park before moving here – most of the apartments in this building have no parking. There’s paid parking across the road which is expensive, and unreliable due to Old Trafford being so close, on a match day parking is near impossible. The bin area in this building is often overflowing and messy. Over all the building is quiet.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Go elsewhere. There’s no benefit to living in this building aside from the location and views. Avoid X1 Lettings.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Responses to any queries I’ve had have been delayed by days to weeks. Polite responses, blunt at times.

1
Facilities
1
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Aesthetically pleasing but not a good building to live in

Review Date Sep 2021

The development is aesthetically pleasing and kept very clean and the cleaning staff are lovely, that’s about it for the positives. The lack of concierge means parcels get stolen daily, we have reported several issues with our flat and 9 months later they still haven’t been resolved – one of the rooms does not have a window and the ventilation doesn’t work so it’s uncomfortably warm. We have been here over 9 months and the windows haven’t been cleaned once – the bin storage overflows daily which leads to fly infestations in the building, and the lifts are always broken & there is no alternative disabled access which is disappointing if someone needed access! Also the intercom in main door to the building is always broken, and very easy to get into the building without a fob – this building feels very unsafe.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Salford quays is a 10 minute walk away which is lovely but the area surround the flats has is loud and there has been stabbings/ robbery’s directly below the building.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how bad this building has been designed/ managed

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have never responded, we were promised a fully furnished flat and they ignored us when we asked about this, not good management

1
Facilities
1
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
User submitted image of  X1 The Gateway, M5
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Poorly organised

Review Date Sep 2021

Building management is not good at all, very hard to get a response and when multiple concerns from several people have been raised minimal response. The design is good but not well thought out and rushed, it’s evident it was done quickly as things are not satisfactory and leaves things breaking frequently then not being fixed for extended periods of time. Facilities are adequate however with them not working it knocks off the positive features. Postal service and security is not good, parcels being stolen, no security in the day meaning parcels left on the open desk. Window smashed in downstairs to office which has not been fixed posing a security risk as well as garages and bike storage often breaking leaving it not secure.
Reporting issues and trying to contact x1 proves very difficult at the best of times leaving many tenants unhappy with the quality of living and not willing to renew tenancies

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location wise it’s convenient. Tesco express just outside as well as petrol station, GP nearby and not far from public transport links. The main road is having a lot of building work done leaving it noisy from 8am each morning, hard to drive down and creating issues with traffic.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That building management are badly organised, fail to communicate and respond and that many are unhappy.
That properties are registered with eon as business properties despite being residential and that changing them proves a massive issue and is proving impossible increasing electricity rates
That the building feels unfinished and is often like living on a building site due to noise and overall disruption
The views of other residents which are far from positive.
That parking is unavailable despite requesting this multiple times and you have to live in at least a 2 bed to be able to access this leading to stress, issues and having to source alternatives so I could get to work

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

When issues are raised they are rarely responded to with staff frequently being on annual leave or just not replying to emails. When they do get responded to they are met in a very blasé not really an issue way suggesting they do not care about tenant satisfaction or safety. I am really unhappy with the management of this building as are many others

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Wasted potential

Review Date Oct 2021

The building itself look amazing from afar and it stands out amongst the surrounding area, however up close the cracks are more visible, such as gaps at the bottoms of the columns where litter gathers and an unfinished retail unit that has had its windows smashed and is seemingly never going to be filled. Management have given some poor excuses as to the reasons for the building being unkept, however it just seems like a lack interest to sort these problems out for the sake of the tenants who are paying so much.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good transport links and close to shops, convenient location to get into town & the Trafford centre either for work or shopping. It’s for the management, they either struggle or just cannot be bothered to help tenants with their issues, for example our hob still doesn’t work after reporting it the correct way about 6 times.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How rushed the building was and how lazy management are to fix the issues that persist because of that

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They haven’t, it’s that simple. A group email was sent from all tenants and not one of the responses was a positive and proactive one, dozens of tenants just have to live with constant issues that the management cannot be bothered to fix

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good for money and area.

Review Date Oct 2021

The building management is okay, not great. We have had a few problems getting hold of people for repairs and management- the building itself has a gym and security from 7am-7pm which is great and parcels are always delivered securely. The building complex is nice, although there is a mix of students and working professions.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Super close to media city and the tram is right outside the door, very central to city centre and Trafford. Loads of bars and local supermarkets, Tesco extra is right on the corner. The neighbourhood is relatively safe- no real complaints with the area!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the floor we are on is predominantly made up of students which is difficult as we are working professionals.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quite slowly and at times not very well- we have had a few problems contacting the letting agent over the last 6 weeks.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very disappointing

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

This is the most disappointing element as the building is very nice and fairly well designed with reasonably sized apartments, however X1 don’t communicate with tenants, lifts are frequently broken and not fixed for days, the gym is just the same. Neither is communicated so it’s always a gamble whether either will be working when you need them. Damaged walls, broken windows outside the gym have not been fixed despite X1 knowing about them and public areas often look shabby. Windows are only cleaned annually so look very dirty and the bin store is disgusting. Parcels have been stolen and nothing is done to help residents.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Tesco opposite, very close to the Lowry theatre and a Vue cinema. The Quays are a few minutes walk and a nice place to wander on a sunny day, Media city is a short walk away. Transport is great, there’s a tram stop 5 minutes away which gets you into the city centre in 20 minutes. However, the bin collection isn’t great and there is anti social behaviour in the area and parking is very difficult.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That X1 wouldn’t keep their promises or be a responsible landlord.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They haven’t responded just asked for an email detailing the issues but then not responded or taken any action.

1
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Appaling- X1 and Haymarket management

Review Date Oct 2021

Property management is extremely poor! I am not sure why they simply cannot get things done at Haymarket management. It is impossible to get in touch with them – in regards to a complaint, reporting faults, or simply requesting the meter readings as it takes about 3 weeks to receive a response from them. Management needs to be completely replaced as we’ve had too many inconveniences and problems due to their incompetence. X1 Lettings also has poor communication and late replies to queries and issues due to their severe short staffed problems , which the estate agent lady did this mention during our viewing- I do wonder how they are managing and looking after so many X1 buildings if they only have less than 10 staff.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Transport: The building in located opposite a tram stop however the tram line is very unreliable, it is often closed or has no trams running due to a fault/ delays etc. I often end up ordering an Uber to work a few times a week due to that.
Shop: Tesco express is opposite so that is great.
Parking: Very upsetting that this building does not offer parking spaces to one bedroom apartments. My partner has to park somewhere else.
Bin collection: There are huge bins outside which are not fully shut, therefore causing rubbish to fly everywhere when the wind blows, causing that area to look like a rubbish site!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The only two positives are:
It is a brand new building. Meaning we get new appliances and furniture. However, The washer dryer is already not working properly despite moving in 3 months ago. Small fridge freezer, also a heads up, some of the flats that we viewed are extremely small compared to others.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

As mentioned, every query and issues takes a very long time to be solved. They are not very productive due to being so short staffed.

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great to live in at but facilities need ALOT of work!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

I absolutely love the design of the building. The facilities looked amazing but they do fail a lot of the time and we haven’t been able to access the gym a lot. We have also had many incidents of parcels getting stolen and would like to request a member of staff to be present in the day time to ensure peoples parcels are looked after. Some items hold sentimental value and we deserve a right of privacy with our post. The lifts break down a lot which I feel is unfair for those who are going to work or are in a rush to get out.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is outstanding and the quality of the rooms is immaculate. I can’t fault that at all, even the view is amazing and shops are so conveniently located. Things are pretty easy to set up in terms of bills and things around the flat. I would consider this area a very safe area to live in with lots of lovely bars next door and food places.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew the gym didn’t work as much and that our parcels and post would be in danger of being stolen.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Staff haven’t been great at responding to queries. They have said it would cost £40,000 per anum to have a concierge service. I feel the excuses provided could be fixed so easily and would create less complaints. I have so many ideas that could make this building much better to live in and it would maintain such positive feedback. I feel the design and cleanliness of the building alone won’t be enough to convince people to reside here if these problems continue. I know personally I moved here because because of the gym access as I’m agoraphobic and have severe anxiety which leaves me unable to leave the house a lot of the time. The staff were great at understanding my situation and accommodating me but since I’ve moved in I have heard nothing but problems which desperately need sorting. This is my home and I want to make sure it’s like that for everybody else too.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Refreshing apartment

Review Date Sep 2021

Love the design of the building, outside looks fantastic and the inside too. The view from the apartment is great as well and it seems that a lot of people love it too. I was worried about receiving deliveries but so far I have had no issue. There seems to be cleaners here regularly which makes me think it’s quite fresh and nice here. The agency are average, don’t really respond and say they’ll call you back when they don’t, but just keep calling and you’ll get an answer. The gym is really good, but currently off for some reason and no one knows why.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Such a lovely place around; the shopping places near by, no one is too loud or rowdy. Really colourful and alive. Traffic is awful due to the roadworks though, but I don’t hear it. Transport links are amazing and really happy. Uber won’t work that well due to the roadworks but I guess it works fine for occasional trips. The neighbourhood seems safe and there’s a tesco nearby, which is really convenient. Bins are a little messy but that’s expected. Parking is a pain on the property, you won’t be able to have visitors unless they get to you by walking or parking far away.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

– It’s quite cool inside each room
– Doors are a bit noisy when closing
– Locks could be better, consider that
– Neighbours seem nice and quiet and respectable

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Not as of yet; I brought up some issues after moving in last week and nothing

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of X1 The Gateway, M5
User submitted image of X1 The Gateway, M5

Location

Number of developments 4

3.59

Average rating based on 171 reviews

View company