Woodberry Down, N4

Woodberry Down, N4

By
Berkeley Homes
Ranked 31st out of 208 in East London
4.24 (based on 188 reviews) 4.24 (188 reviews)

Category Scores

4.29
Facilities
4.26
Design
4.29
Location
3.83
Value
3.84
Management

Located 20 minutes from the City in Zone 2, Woodberry Down by Berkeley Homes features a range of one, two and three-bedroom apartments in North London. The development is located directly next to the Woodlands Wetlands nature reserve and is only a 7-minute walk from Manor House station with links to the Piccadilly line.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Beautiful buildings but poor estate management.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

Beautiful landscape. Wonderful natural habitat with two reservoirs. Glass predominant apartment buildings reflect the sunlight in a pleasing manner in the summer. Decent facilities although I would appreciate a bit more such as yoga studios, gyms and martial arts clubs. Our household is rather sporty and I am sure many locals would appreciate. Another point that our family agree on is that there needs to be more zebra crossings in the area.

Management team as I have mentioned are not good. Parcels are constantly being lost – especially during lockdown. I guess these are the difficulties of living in a flat rather than a house. The service maintenance fees of living here are extortionate for a service that is basically non-existent. The green space should be gated and residents only, because lots of outsiders come and use it and litter everywhere and yet the residents pay maintenance.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the look of the overall area. My entire family who are currently writing these reviews here agree that this is the strongest point. The ease of access in to central London as well as ethnic pockets of London like Stamford hill, Haringey and Islington make this a very diverse area.

I dislike the management team. My father and I had to wrestle with them for 3 years straight to sort out some issues with leaks in the buildings and flats we own. They are awfully inefficient and I feel that the developer made a poor choice in picking the estate management team.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how bad the management team would be.

What is the best feature of your home:

Architecture that is interspersed with a vibrant natural environment. I love the wetlands and the birds

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Unique, green area for london with reservoir at your doorstep

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

I think the proximity to the reservoir and green spaces make this unique in London. The development is great in terms of accessibility to grassy areas. Being a new build it is very modern and fresh. Th e rivulet apartments in particular are well designed in terms of proportions and storage . In some other buildings the kitchen area is oddly shaped with respect to the terrace and less ergonomic.

I dislike the lack of restaurants nearby and there is nowhere I would go out to eat here. The quality isn’t too good in comparison to the price and so I go to green lane to eat out . On the development one pub is relatively good but more variety of restaurants would be good. It is clear barclays is trying to attract local restaurants but it isn’t working too much as most have been too expensive (for example 14.50 for a burger and 5.50 for a pint) . There are some constraints by regulations in terms of some planning. The investments made in lanscaping is very good with high diversity and large variety of plant species. However the area has not been great at encouraging business. I mostly get my groceries from Sainsburys which is close by and convenient which is useful .

There are some landlord issues as some people are renting from people who are based abroad and the proportion of unoccupied flats is high. You don’t get many people buying here. However there is a relatively good community feel and weekly communal drinks.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I really like the location, the reservoir, the childrens park and the interior of my apartment building in particular.

I dislike thst some flats are unoccupied and the lack of good restaurants available on the development itself (there are good restaurants close by though).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would have liked to have known this is a very good compromise in terms of cheap transport but still green space and still accessible for inner city commute. I recommend living here.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
2
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Worth a look, excellent choice for young professionals and young families

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2020

Well thought through designs with modern facilities – the more modern blocks have wet rooms and FTTP broadband. We hear very little noise from our neighbours as the flats are well insulated. The flats never get cold in the winter and are cheap to heat, they can get hot in the summer but this is a good time to make use of the balconies and nearby parks.

Woodberry Wetlands is a nice place to pop by for a walk to clear the cobwebs and Clissold Park is not far either.

Good supermarket options onsite – there’s a Sainsbury’s Local, Goldstar and a Co-op opening soon. At least 4 Cafes in the immediate area (Zer Cafe, Woodberry Wetlands, West Reservoir, Finsbury Park Cafe).

For meeting friends, the Naturalist is always relaxed and serves a great Sunday Roast. Easy to get to central and south London (via Thameslink). When you want to have nights out elsewhere in London there are infinite easy options for getting home – Piccadilly/Victoria line night tube, night buses, well inside inner London so no taxi troubles.

Getting out of London via car is not so convenient. I would estimate it takes 45 minutes to get from here to the M25. Parking is a challenge too unless you have a dedicated parking space. The development seems to be designed around not using a car on a daily basis (which generally works for us) – just rent a zipcar when you have an Ikea trip, an airport run or a family visit to make.

Building/Property Management – I have found them responsive and whenever i’ve needed them they’ve got things sorted for me. Recently changed building management company in some blocks (in Feb 2020) and so we’ll see how that goes.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Modern, comfortable and convenient area to live with plenty of outdoor space. Everything you need on your doorstop – supermarkets, cafes, bars, pubs, wildlife, sports facilities, dry cleaners, doctors, tube and overground.

Generally peaceful and with easy access to the rest of London.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wireless Festival in Finsbury Park can be noisy for the 1 weekend in the summer if you are on a higher floor with the windows open.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The doors in the corridors are built with safety first and can make quite a noise if neighbours aren’t careful. I would change the mechanism so they don’t slam (Premier Inn has really nice safe non-slammy doors as an example)

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Love the grounds and location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The development has very nice design and common spaces, the only thing that is not very good is that there is too much a difference between the private and council accomodation (you can easily tell which building is private or council because the quality is not the same)
Management is generally is very good but we pay a lot for the fees, sometimes I wonder what they do with all that money.
The grounds are very nice, we have shops and cafes in the development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I really love all the green spaces and the views we have.
Good shops and restaurants walking distance.
No problems with services nearby, secure area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I don’t know when is all going to be finished (the construction), we would like to have more information for that.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Casual feeling

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

I really like how the reservoir looks really attractive in such a busy area, making your kids and I feel a sense of comfort and relaxation.

It’s a great location very close to central London, making it easy for us to travel to further destination quickly.

The local town hall has various fun and entertaining activities for my kids to attend, which makes them keep an active and busy schedule and is a great way for us to meet new children and parents.

There is a local market which is very handy for all of the local residents, providing necessary foods, home supplies and entertainment.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like how this local development presidents new opportunities and new beautiful views for the local residents.

Some of the new developments burnt down, which is happening on a regular basis, making me now like the area fully.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It has been 23 years living in this area so there was nothing I had expected beforehand.

5
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very good property investment, but ongoing constructions.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

Area is in the process of gentrification. It really brings out the contrast between the incoming affluent crowd and the out-going ones who live in the council homes. This is the ugly side of London in general. The property in this area is likely to continue rising in prices until 2030, maybe 2040 because the developer has a large area which they are slowly building up and improving. That is a positive aspect of owning a home here however the continuous exposure to construction works is the flipside negative point about this area. I think that the local sainsbury’s was a very poor choice and the developer should have opted for waitrose instead. Waitrose is more appropriate to the crowd here and it is also more fitting with the design and colour scheme of the architecture.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is very nice. Stoke Newington is near and a very lovely area. Lots of green space. Many local businesses. The buildings look new but only time will tell whether they stay new.

The security is a particular concern. Drug dealers near the tube station, bike thefts, and you hear police / ambulance sirens every day as there are always incidents in this area. A good few stabbings. I think as a resident I still feel safe as severe crime is usually gang related but there is still a good amount of petty crime which affects our community.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known there was so much construction going on. The continuous dust particles that I am exposed to on my way walking around this area gives me some airway issues. The air is otherwise very clean if you are not standing by the construction sites

What is the best feature of your home:

floor heating comes in very useful in the winter. Bike storage facilities are a close second.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice place to live but expensive

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The global environment is quite clean, the area is cleaned very often. There is a community center which organise different activities in the neighbourhood. We are clothe to central London, there is the Piccadilly line and different buses which bring us easily in Hackney or central London.
The view is nice, the nature and the reservoir create a good atmosphere.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Clean environment, good facilities, nice view.

Nothing to not like

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No parking free zone wished. Would have known before.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
1
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Woodberry Down: Stunning views of Woodberry Wetlands and London skyline – but still in Zone 2/3.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

We can only speak for the Nature Apartments (which form part of Woodberry Down) which are less than 2 years old. The apartments have been well designed and built by Berkeley Homes who have an excellent after-care service. Facilities are good with 24/7 concierge, and use of a gym and pool in another part of the estate. Managing Agent is new so still settling in. There is a small garden on-site for relaxation (but no parties). BBQs are completely forbidden. The Nature Apartments are right next to (and overlook) Woodberry Wetlands with great views of the Wetlands and the London skyline.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good:
1. Woodberry Down is right next to Woodberry Wetlands, Stoke Newington Reservoirs and the New River. Also close to Finsbury Park and Clissold Park Two, and about 20 – 30 minute walk to Walthamstow Wetlands and Marshes and other green spaces. And still in Zone 2/3!
2. Good transport links (Tube + Buses + Overground) which are all relatively nearby.
3. Good for supermarkets, and for varied restaurants + shops along Green Lanes and Stoke Newington Church Street.

Not so good:
1. Woodberry Down has become a victim of its own success, so gets quite a few visitors = bad litter problem. Fortunately, BBQs are completely forbidden throughout the estate.
2. Woodberry Down is still being developed; so quite a bit of construction work ongoing.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We thought more of the residents would be resident owners and more mature in age (40+). However, there is quite a lot of buy-to-let which means many more young renters than expected = a bit noisier than we would have liked.

What is the best feature of your home:

The views from our apartment of Woodberry Wetlands and the London skyline are simply stunning.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A retreat in busy London

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

Detail is prized in this development. The care taken to have under floor heating with functional designs that are both practical and very stylish which lifts up the quality of the place. The gardens feel meticulously cared for and the concierge really care about maintaining a high standard and quality of service. The concierge area itself is very similar to the reception of a beautiful hotel and most cannot say that. Window cleaners also do a very good job with the side windows and balcony. The only downside is the terrible signal within the development. There is a serious issue with where we are placed that makes the signal virtually non-existent. Otherwise it’s a great development and feels like a retreat from busy London.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Not as many shops as by Finsbury Park station but it makes up for it by being a lovely quiet green area with Finsbury Park nearby and essential shops walking distance. Nice restaurants like Dobar and having Manor House tube walking distance is a luxury.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how bad the signal would be in the property. Phone calls and sending texts are near impossible (extremely fuzzy connection in the best known spots in the flat and disconnections in others. Texts are always never delivered) so we have a full reliance on WiFi.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Concierge have been incredibly helpful with any queries we have – such as issue with parking around the area or how to manage Covid response and issues with deliveries.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Love living here for the nature, but value for money is not that high

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

The development is very nice, as in it’s a new build so things are nice, good appliances in the flats, and nice amenities like the gym & spa available. It’s a bit too bureaucratic at times, the management are very restrictive with what you can put on the balconies (so no drying laundry on the balcony in the summer, or putting bikes there or whatever). They changed the locks in the entire building at some point to really flimsy cheap locks that have broken now FIVE times in the span of 3 months, so we’ve had to keep changing our locks. When we moved in they had installed a faulty stovetop (from Bosch), and the repairman said that they keep switching around the faulty ones to empty apartments rather than fixing them (so something to be aware of if you rent/buy a flat here and find that the appliances aren’t working). All in all, it’s a very nice development, but considering Berkley’s reputation, you would think the finishing would be to a higher standard given the high prices as well.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s very close to central London, with lots of commuting options. The area is wonderful with many green spaces and the reservoir close by (though now closed due to coronavirus). There are some shops and good restaurants and pubs around if you like to stay in the area, and lots of walking routes available.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing really, overall it’s a nice development and we like living here.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management will usually respond within a day. They are a bit better than the previous property managers. Our agency are also responsive, but they charge way too much. The landlord tried to raise the rent above what he was legally allowed to after one year of our contract and in coronavirus times, so not very keen on him at the moment. The development have raised the service charge as well, so that may have played into it.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely place but poorly managed

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

I decided to buy here because I really like the area and the views we have, but the management is the worst thing, have a group complaining about that, and there’s a lot of people angry with that.
One of the things is that there is a communal water problem (we don’t have hot water at all) and we have to pay an extra service charge around €300 pounds a month for the service.
The people living in the social housing is not well behaved, I can smell weed all day long, and that’s not nice for children living here. I would be totally fine if they followed rules and respect the neighbours.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is brilliant, is very nice to have green area and the river.
One bad things is the drug dealers around the development, we have a lot of green space and they take advantage of that.
I really like the proximity to city centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The management issues, we have had a lot of problems anduring that’s a shame because the place is very nice. We were one of the first buildings here, at first was better.

1
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A place to commune with nature and only 20 mins from central London

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

I love my flat, it’s almost all windows so its so bright and open. Many people comment that it is so nice it is like living in a hotel! The design is perfect for me with a door that opens right up onto a lovely little balcony that overlooks a park, with a side on view of the reservoir. The building is well insulated and keeps very warm in winter. Our concierge and management company are slick and professional, always very friendly and the grounds are very well looked after with wonderful planting all around.

The only downside has been that the building works directly opposite (new development called Harringtons) have continued a year longer than planned so have been quite disruptive for me whilst working from home. It should have opened at the end of 2019, which also means we are having to wait a year later for our gym. When I originally bought the property I was promised use of the gym in the basement of skyline, but this was then revoked as the residents there complained there were too many people. Berkeley are not charging us as part of the service charge and until Covid we had free use of the public gym opposite, but it has meant we will have gone around 3 years without access to a private gym when Hartingtons opens, so this is my only complaint really.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s a wonderful area, a little oasis from the chaos of London yet still within zone 2 and three minutes walk from a tube. I love being so close to nature and having so much wildlife on my doorstep.

It can get a bit noisy when there are festivals on for successive weekends in the summer in Finsbury Park but I’m secretly crossing my fingers that post-coronavirus there will now be less of these going on.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That Hartingtons would run a year behind schedule.
How loud my window sill is when it rains!
I would still choose to live here though, all things considered.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, in general they are very responsive and have tried to resolve all issues as best they can.
In full transparency, it can be very noisy when it rains in my flat and the rain falls off the roof onto the sill of a particular window. They have not been able to resolve this though so I have a complaint pending with Berkeley homes regarding this now (2.5 years after I moved in). So it would be great if they could resolve this really.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice area but comes with faults

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

There are many faults, some of which have improved and some not. The building was not energy efficient with lights in the communal areas being on 24/7. Only recently has this been changed after meetings and complaints. Not very sustainable. We did have flooding 3 or 4 times. It was quickly resolved in communal areas but no compensation for time or insurance was given when affecting the property itself. Once, the door was broken which meant anyone could enter and personal details were taken.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like the area and is a nice place to live in. Lots of greenery. Dislike the service charges, they are very expensive.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How the heating system worked! It was very complicated to understand and is costly.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A charming place to live but a bit heavy on the service charge.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

The design and spec of the flats is very good although mobile phone reception very disappointing. Lovely gardens – some public, some private. Outside of covid times there’s a gym available to some of the buildings and a swimming pool, sauna, steam room (check which buildings have access before you buy!). Building management has largely been excellent although we are going through a difficult time with a recently appointed property management group – hard to say if it’s because of covid or because of them. The service fees are high and have risen quite a bit over the last couple of years – a 3 bed privately owned flat currently attracts a charge of just under £6,000 p.a.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

In normal times, outside of Covid the transport links are excellent, around a six minute walk to Manor House on the Piccadilly Line. Many green areas – fronting Woodberry Wetlands (bird sanctuary/boating lake), Clissold Park (10 minute walk), Finsbury Park (10 minute walk). Very close to the shops, bars and restaurants of Stoke Newington (15 minute walk). Can be a bit gritty as not too far from South Tottenham.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The quality of the mobile phone reception. The increases in service charge (but no one can predict the future!).

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Better mobile phone reception, it simply isn’t acceptable to have only a 3G signal and should be addressed by the developer.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great living in Woodberry down

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2019

My general opinion of living at Woodberry down is very positive. It is close to parks, nature, beautiful views. It is also very quiet, away from the busy streets and cars. Concierge service is also very handy. One of the negative aspects is that the gym is only available to certain flats. One more positive thing is public transport, which is very convenient. The development is very close to Manor House tube station, which is on the piccadilly line and finsbury park and victoria line is just one stop away.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Many local grocery shops in the area, and many kebab shops, but besides those, not really much to do in the area

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing comes to mind

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great Views and Local Walks, Flats are a little small…

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2020

The development at Woodberry Down is well designed and maintained to a high standard, although flats are compact and 2 bed flats are not necessarily suited for households of more than 2 people. Generally Rivulet apartments is one of the better designed buildings as future stages of development have experimented with unusual floor-plans and layouts that don’t make efficient use of space.

Facilities are very good with Pool, Sauna and Gym included in the service fees and a 24hr concierge to collect parcels. Shared facilities are kept clean and maintained well generally.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Beautiful views and walks around the local reservoirs, close to local gyms, climbing wall and smaller shops. Close to Clissold and Finsbury Parks. Not too many sit down restaurants nearby, would be nice to have a local restaurant that served good food.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The 3 bedroom flats in the development are significantly more livable space-wise than the two bed flats.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management have been very effective at resolving issues and have handled the COVID-19 situation very well.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good development to live in but probably too much money for the value you get

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

Building management has been an absolute fiasco as they outsource it to an external company. Design is very impressive and practical but it could have been slightly more considerate of the surroundings. Given it’s by natural Reservoirs, there’s a vital lack of insect nests or just the possibility of being able to integrate ones own to the balcony doors even! The option to choose the color scheme of the apartment from a sufficient list was great. I’ve looked around some other new developments that did not have Any choice for the color schemes so it definitely made a difference

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area has good transportation links both to the under and the over ground as well as bus services. There is a lack of shops in the area and the local amenities are minimal.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The community around the neighbourhood is not fast changing. It’s a regeneration area but the change is happening incredibly slowly.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Include more tenant feedback in the design of the apartments. Everyone complains about the insects in the summer in their house and all year round in their balconies. Also the all glass exterior is definitely not winter friendly.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice surroundings … lacking spirit

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

The development has many high points, but is not tenure blind as a recent award suggests. Unfortunately some materials lack enough quality that really could blend the tenures better and enhance the landscaping wonders further.
While the courtyards are lovely during the day, low lighting levels appear to assist crime, I’ve witnessed a few people now being robbed/assaulted as they’re about to enter the Common entrance to their block.
The Lordship Lane side of the development seems to be lacking with only a handful of cafes and restaurants, but perhaps tenant take up will increase in the months and years ahead.
In terms of the block we live in, the lift/s regularly break down, although they do get fixed quite quickly. The balconies should really have a tray Or something to stop debris falling on top of people. The common entrance doors and cycle store doors have had numerous problems also. There is also a lack of community in the block which perhaps derives from the numerous rentals. These issues most likely happen in most new developments across London.
Overall, living In WD so close to the haven of the reservoirs is enjoyable, relaxing and so close to public transport that it’s wonderful.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The landscaping amongst the backdrop of the reservoirs is second to none. There is a nice cafe and Restaurant/takeaway pizza place just round the corner and Stoke Newington is just a stones throw away. Public transport links are fantastic with a 5min walk to Manor House tube station, Haringay Green Lanes And Finsbury Park Station no more than a 10-15min walk away for the overground, bus links are also great. The Flat prices around here are quite expensive, due to the fantastic transport links and areas of green open spaces along the reservoir and it’s proximity to the nearby Finsbury Park and Clissold Park. Although the development seems nice and inviting during the day, by nightfall the development as well as the area around Manor House station still seems dangerous and you feel vulnerable when exiting the station to get home sometimes due to the presence of ASB.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I feel most things were covered on our viewing of the property however I feel the materials for a rental market could be more robust for better longevity. Moving from a old london house where leaning or brushing against the wall won’t cause any harm and coming to this where it causes harm and then some isn’t great.

What is the best feature of your home:

The balcony with the view is the best feature by far, we sit out there morning noon and night!

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Chilled in Woodberry

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Having the access to local shops within this beautiful area, ranging from our favourite, which is Sainsbury’s supermarket, is a very convenient investment to us as we can shop for our local produce a great and affordable prices.

The local gym is also a valuable necessity to my family and I as it helps us get fit and ready to look good for the summer.

Transport links are very easy to get to as they are very closeby and have access to many destinations which are within further reach.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The relaxed nature is a stand out feature to the area, helping add to the ambient and joyful aesthetic, with the likes of the calm natured local residents and chilled vibes. This is a quality that I love about Woodberry’s neighbourhood.

There is nothing that I would interject, as I feel that the area is a perfect match for me as it makes me feel at home and can live a happy life.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I expected all above as mentioned before, in terms of the great qualities to the area, which left room for no imagination.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Quiet

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

My accommodation is very spacious as well as Modern. The area in which it is situated is incredibly Safe and we are made to feel like a big community.
I have access to Good electricity and Free Strong WiFi.
Unfortunately there are No cooling vents so can get very hot very easily.
We also have Balcony which provides us with grand views.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

-Likes
Quiet
Modern
Many restaurants
Easy commute (local tube)
Friendly area
-Dislikes
More shops needed not really a variety in shops (cheaper)
More takeaway shops

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Value for money, it’s very expensive. Wasn’t aware of all the expenses for water and gas bills.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Beautiful place to live but expensive

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

The development is modern in design and provides beautiful views of the West Reservoir and Woodberry Wetlands. Residents are friendly and feel lucky to be amongst so much nature and greenery whilst at the same time being relatively close to central London. The main negative point is that service charge fees are very high and there is a visible difference in buildings between social housing and privately owned.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes:
– The development is very close to Manor House tube station and there are several bus stops around. Getting to central London, or anywhere is easy.
– Lots of green spaces. Located by the West Reservoir and Woodberry Wetlands. There is plenty of wildlife and different varieties of plants. Finsbury Park is also 5 minutes away.
– The apartments are very modern and designed to a high standard.
– Concierge team are very friendly and from my experience have handled all requests and queries within 24hrs.
– The flats and entrances feel secure and safe. Neighbours are friendly.
– There is a gym, swimming pool, sauna and steam room. Although, not all buildings have access to this.

Dislikes:
– Rents are extremely expensive for the area.
– Hot water can only be provided by a top-up meter which is strange for a luxury new build.
– There is a noticeable difference between private housing and council accommodation / affordable housing. The quality of the buildings is not the same and they look very different from each other.
– The estate team send regular emails reminding all residents not to hang laundry, keep barbecues, store bicycles, childrens prams or scooters on balconies so as to maintain the developments image. It is extremely tiring to constantly hear, about how much they wish to protect the developments image.
– Within the development itself, there is very little choice in restaurants or things to do. Until recently, a very large retail unit was left unoccupied for around 1 year. It would be good to include more businesses that are representative of the local community.
– Very poor mobile phone reception in many parts of the development. Some areas outside e.g. near / inside Sainsburys, outside the Post Office there is no reception at all due to so many buildings being in such close proximity.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How the heating system worked. There is a top-up meter system that is expensive and you have to register yourself as a new tenant and set up an account. Also, would have liked to know about the lack of mobile phone reception.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management have always been helpful and friendly. They always respond to emails quickly and it;s good to receive updates about what is happening in the development via their newsletters.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
1
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice on one side, noisy on the other.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

This is a great place to live. I have lived in various properties on the development. The views are stunning especially if you are lucky enough to look onto the gardens. It is 30 minutes to the city via public transport or very easy to cycle. There are not a lot of shops or restaurants close by and parts of the area are still under development. It can get noisy at times on one side of the estate

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the views of gardens and wetlands and the facilities this development has to offer but the neighbouring areas create a lot of noise.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

It has changed a lot

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The area is looking really nice in terms of it being more modernised adding more swag to it.

I use the gym regularly which helps me keep fit, helping to enhance my health.

And there are good opportunities in this area, giving us and the younger generation hope in terms of job prospects.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area has changed a lot before it was renovated and has become more restricted. For example, we were able to have barbeques before but now it is not permitted.

They should up security for the safety of all local residents as the crime rates are increasing unfortunately.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are none.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
1
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Spacious 1 bedroom apartment with nice private block garden

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

I like my flat , it is big for a one bedroom and very spacious with high ceilings. The design is functional and there is a nice terrace. There is also a private garden for the block that is lovely to relax in.

I am on the ground floor but my bedroom does not have windows I can open at night as there is only one door leading outside acting as a window.

I would also like to see more restaurants and cafes.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I really like that this area is well kept and clean. The bushes and plants always look great. However, I dislike how high the service charges are and I sometimes feel slightly unsafe in the evenings.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It has changed a lot and it is getting better in terms of saety and becoming more modern. I really like living here.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice but ground floor flat has some issues

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

It is pretty but sometimes the design of the building and whole layout of the apartment. My bedroom has a door but it is an apartment on the ground floor and there isn’t another window in the room so I cannot keep my door open. Yet it is close to area with bikes so lots of people close by. There is a lot of noise and it echoes especially at night.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I dont like the knife crime and stabbings but this isnt too common. I like the privacy of the closed area in aqua apartments. The reservoir water is beautiful and relaxing.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The window issue and the noise. There are a lot of snails and slugs that can enter ground floor apartments. also high service charges are high.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Everything is fine

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

This is the best community since I’m in London. People are not afraid to speak to each other, and are helpful if needed.

This is a very attractive place, its colorful with the trees and the reservoir.

It’s a modernised area.

I feel comfortable in the area and with the people.

Facilities good

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Community center working well for children good activities

Everything fine

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Didn’t expect anything else. This is exactly the type of place where I wanted to live when I moved in.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Quiet, no traffic

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

I like living here. The location by the reservoir is very nice. It is very quiet and there is not too much traffic. This means it is easy to get around, there is also public transport close by. The development offers great facillities. There occasional social disturbances from neighbouring areas but this does not usually affect us and only happens every once in a while.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like pretty much everything about the area especially how easy it is easy to travel. Sometimes thereven is a little bit of trouble and I have noticed a large police presence in surrounding areas.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice common facilities

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

In terms of facilities, there is a gym downstairs. All is well built and soundproofed, so we can not hear any noise from other apartments or from the outside. We have a concierge service receiving our parcels . The space is great, the bedroom is in rectangular shape which means that it is difficult to put furniture in the free spaces. Having been built in a square shape would have been much more practical. There is also not enough bike storage for the residents nor parking spaces for the visitors.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is a lot of nature which is good. We have got Sainsbury’s nearby and the Manor House station is just 5 minutes away

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known that sometimes it gets overheated in the corridor and you are feeling excessively heated up

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great area and good for commuting!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Facilities we exceptional – gym and the spa.
Design is good across the whole development.
Balcony a good space to space have and views are good.
Exceptional and no changes to be made if I was moving in again – all you could really ask for!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Green spaces and quiet
Close to transport which is good commuting
Violence near by which can be off putting but rate

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Brand new apartment
Only one supplier – BT, which was limiting

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Affluent crowd. Children and dogs.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

The design of the buildings interspersed with wildlife is amazing. However the facilities are lacking and we only recently had a public gym. The residents gym and pool are expensive and Frankly sub par.
Management is absolutely terrifying. Security is poor as the gates around the community are not always shut on time at night.
However, the area is lovely, the neighbors are lovely. Everything about this place is great except of how poorly it is run.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice people. Mostly sporty, healthy people and dog owners. Quite an affluent crowd in the immediate area. Neighbors are a fun crowd, and usually have dinner parties and barbeques except when social distancing came along. Good NHS clapping every Thursday.

Dislike the management team. They are tremendously inefficient, do not trynto reply emails even before covid19 and they are constantly charging high amounts of annual maintenance despite having no results to show for it.

The surrounding areas are nice such as Stoke Newington, and Haringey. Both are such unique pockets of London. Our immediate area is a very nice example of man and nature coexisting in peace

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known that the maintenance fees would be so high and the residents group would have so little of their voice heard.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Pretty poorly. Often they let burreacracy slow the process and I had a leak in my roof that took 3 years to detect and fix. They keep changing managers so work has very poor follow-up. Furthermore the past few estate managers have been horrendous and never replied any emails. (Consensus among residential group)

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

2 years resident happy but with some concerns

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

The development looks modern and luxurious with nice green areas, and offers Beautifully looking facilities like gym, spa And residence lounge.
Unfortunately These are not always accessible as, from time to time, maintenance works are required – probably due to the large amount of people having access to the facilities and the poor quality of the fixtures (recurring problems).
The property management has recently changed, but this was executed without disruptions And the new management seems to be as attentive as the one before.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The development is in a potentially very nice area, close to a nature reserve and at walking distance from more lively neighbourhood. In reality, the nature reserve might be soon closed to the public because of a lack in fundings, the crime rate is quite high and the general feeling of “safety” Disappears at night when the streets are dark and empty and dodgy individuals populate the area.
The closest tube station is Manor House, which is quite convenient as the Piccadilly line goes directly to central London and at 1 stop its possible to change at Finsbury Park station that offers more options of transportation (Victoria line, national rail, many buses).
For a quite big neighbourhood, there is only one supermarket (Sainsbury’s local) one restaurant and convenience store – it would be nice to have more options Where to shop for food nearby, especially now that with the lockdown the queues can be quite long.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the apartment gets super hot in the summer due to the floor to ceiling windows “wall” and that the council estates nearby are not a very quite neighbours

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Reduce the number of residents that have access to the same gym/spa facilities

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nature, convenience and potential

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

I like design of Rivulet Apartments, but I am not very impressed with design of Skyline tower and Residence tower, especially making them quite hot in summer.
To our apartments, we can use gym, spa pool and sauna and these are wonderful.
Management is helpful and always strives to help.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that the area is close to the subway as well as bus stops, has wonderful views, Finsbury and Clisold Park are in walking distance but it is still nice to just stroll around the lakes. While close to nature, there are food stores, post, some restaurants even dentist and hairdresser are 5 minutes walk away.
Only con is that you have to pay quite a lot for all this. Though if you can effort it, it is worth the price.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew how great is to have concierge and their service of receiving packages.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would change flooring in the shower as the water can run even outside the room when having shower.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Woodberry Down, N4
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Close to nature in Zone 2

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2020

The design of Woodberry Down incorporates many communal and private access open spaces within the site plan which are enjoyed by both those that live within the development and those visiting the reservoirs. The gardens are well looked after and the river path well maintained.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The proximity to the reservoirs give the feeling of being close to nature in a zone 2 location only minutes away from tube access to central London. Manor House station is a 5 minute walk, with Finsbury Park 15 mins on foot and overland access from Harringay Green Lanes, and Stamford Hill. Woodberry Wetlands provides a pleasant walking path around the reservoir with access to the the Coal House Cafe. On the other reservoir you can access the West Reservoir Centre for coffee or join to partake in the organised water sports.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Be sure to check out the Redmond Community Centre, they work hard to bring the new and existing community together.

What is the best feature of your home:

The balcony views from our apartment of the reservoir. We often spend the warm evenings on our balcony enjoying watching the wildlife below.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

new build with nice views and good area – stoke newington close by – I LOVE IT

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The buildings are all new and have very good architecture and views.

I like that Stoke Newington is close by which is really nice with restaurants and shops.

The safety aspect has been fine so far and my house is very functional . Given it is functional this saves a lot of energy in terms of tidying up and it is very liveable. However it lacks some storage options.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that there is a lot of nature close by with the reservoir and the facilities.

I dislike that this development is a little far from the city centre but this is not a big issue.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would have liked to have known stoke newington was so close. I really really like that area.

5
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great area with amazing views

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Cool layout, goods views.
Flooding issues recently.
Security seems to be okay but issues with the bikes – looks to be resolved.
Really liked the area before moving here so when availability sprung up I was quick to show interest!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Really chill nice and natural and big space

Lack of night life and a bit of a walk to close by pubs

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing to comment!

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

New and modern development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The building is pretty good looking, there is a lake next to it. It is a new built, modern development. Something I dislike is that at night you have people walking on the street when drunk and it gets a bit noisy. The flat is modern. There were a few faults , for instance, holes from old pictures, which were previously hung on the wall, but we didn’t tell the landlord.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is nice, very residential. Well connected. The tube station could be a bit closer, now it is about 7 minutes walk away.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Everything was as I had expected. The only thing might be that once a week they pick up the big rubbish bins and this usually happens while I sleep.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

All round nice area.

Review Date Jul 2019

Decent use of space in the flat – more could be done.
Good balcony and the views are good for what you’re paying for.
Good commute into work, but also for weekends and other activities.

Again, simply the poor build of the whole building which will in turn have long term effects.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Transportation is ideal and accessible.
Silence and greenery defines the place.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How poor the build quality is – issues spring up across the whole development.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Beautiful parks

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

I love the location and the nature is beautiful and also the new apartments look great. Im happy with the living space and feel that the value for money is decent especially with the great views of the waters nearby. My apartment is the older and its okay the rent is cheap and quality

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is good and close to Manor House and Stamford Hill starion. One thing I dislike is that it could be kept a bit cleaner.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing really

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Biggest New development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

Design wise the development is well thought of. Positioning of buildings to have south facing balconies, which also over look the reservoir are a nice touch. It’s the biggest development in London so Berkeley have used the size of the project to get some good features through the flats, built in coffee machines, Sonos and underfloor heating as standard in the luxury apartments are a nice touch.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great transport links, local amenities and right by the 2 resevoirs with lots of wildlife. dislike the main road ( seven sisters ) which can often be used a drag strip in the night.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The one problem with a large development is the ensuing strain on public transport. Manor House tube station has become overcrowded and the development hasn’t even finished yet

What is the best feature of your home:

Access to basement Spa and Gym facilities are without a doubt the best feature.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very satisfied overall

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

I am really happy about my flat itself. The architecture is modern and the building quite new, I don’t have any issue with my neighbours, the flat is pretty quiet and I am not disturbed by any noise around. The only thing would be maybe about the way the flat has been build, that is maybe a little bit overpriced for the quality of the details, that might have been done better.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I am really happy in general about the area, the transports are good, the neibourhood is green, few shops around, well situated in London.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

None bad surprise, I’m really happy about the flat.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

New resident review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

The design is pretty good, the centralised underground is good aspect,

Some work needs to be done on the key And access system as some doors do not unlock when expected,

All shared facilities have been closed due to COVID since we moved in.
The location is great and we have lovely views of the city.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The building is in good spec, there
Are some oddities – and the energy charges are not a cheap as I might get from other providers

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The energy system is a little odd and needs some UX improvements for registration and top up

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

During COVID they have not been the best however given the sufuation they have been upto scratch

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

New to the area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The area is nice but it’s changing a lot. They build a lot of new buildings, and they build it fast so a lot of new people are moving in this area.
I moved here recently but it look like there is a good community between the neighbours.
There are some activities organised in the neighbourhood like outdoor cinema or activities for the children.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is very quiet, this a calm environment, and the people are generally kind.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The wall inside the buildings are thin. In some flats we can hear the neighbours.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Beautiful

Review Date Jul 2019

During the summer Gets extremely hot (hotter in my apartment due to it being on the 18th floor), and there is no in built air conditioning therefore only form of ventilation is opening the window and fans. We have a balcony so we have Great views.
We also have Inbuilt speakers.
Our home is very Modern and Large enough for my small family.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes
Quiet
Because of the wetlands you feel like your out of London but in London
Great area for kids
Many shops
Easy commute

Dislikes
There was a great riot by kids that caused huge problems that got a bit out of hand

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Poor connection due to poor fibre broadband. However I would highly recommend this area

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

Image of Woodberry Down, N4
Image of Woodberry Down, N4
Image of Woodberry Down, N4
Image of Woodberry Down, N4
Image of Woodberry Down, N4
Image of Woodberry Down, N4

Location

Berkeley Homes

About Berkeley Homes

Berkeley Homes is part of Berkeley Group – one of Britain’s best-known property developers. Operating across London, Birmingham and the…
Number of developments 20

4.25

Average rating based on 524 reviews

View company