Wilburn Basin, M5

Wilburn Basin, M5

By
Renaker
3rd
Ranked 3rd out of 36 in Manchester
4.72 (based on 44 reviews) 4.72 (44 reviews)

Category Scores

4.70
Facilities
4.73
Design
4.77
Location
4.48
Value
4.39
Management

Excellent

77%

Very Good

23%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Located only a 5-minute stroll from Castlefield district of Manchester City Centre, Wilburn Basin features a variety of apartments across four district blocks. Residents have access to a wide range of facilities and amenities, including a gym, cinema, residents’ lounge and meeting rooms as well as a 24 hour concierge service.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Amazing Property with Stunning Views

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The design of the building is perfect. It almost feels like you’re on holiday once you step into the development. The actual apartment is modern and minimal, with stunning views across the city with relatively large balconies. The kitchen includes a fridge/freezer with dishwasher and lots of storage space. The bathrooms are great, with high power showers and large mirrors. The facilities looked great and appealing before we moved in, however due to covid we haven’t yet been able to access the gym which is a shame as it is one of the things that attracted us to the development originally. Property management are great in most cases, but there has been occasions where lifts have broken or doors, and it’s taken a while for this to be resolved. However the team are all great at sorting your parcels, any any enquiries you have about meter readings etc.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The property is in walking distance of the city centre, spinningfields and castlefield. Whatever you need, you can get to by foot. There’s a large retail park with a Sainsbury’s opposite, some fast food chains over the road and you’re just down the road from the motorway making it easy for travel or commute.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would definitley inform new neighbours about the buildings community facebook group. Really helpful for sharing information and asking questions regarding parking etc. Also that you can park for a discount in the campanile hotel car park as a wilburn resident.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of our home would have to be the living area/balcony. Our views on the 19th floor are stunning.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Perfect for young professionals

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The design of the building is very modern and it literally defines ‘luxury city centre living’. The prices are a little bit higher than the average for the area, but roughly equal as it comes to similar newer developments. On the positive side there’s a 24-hour concierge, a gym and a cinema that can be pre-booked to enjoy with friends. However, during the coronavirus most of these amenities are closed down. Balconies are a great perk in the building, but only a limited number of flats have one. There’s still a nice communal garden for anyone who prefers to sit outside.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s really close to the city centre (only about 20 min walk). There is a retail park with a Sainsbury’s, other stores and a gas station right next door to us. The area is pretty quiet and in close proximity to Castlefield where you can enjoy a nice walk or maybe have a drink at one of the few local bars. The building is perfect for young professionals as the average age of most residents is around mid-twenties. There are some of the most popular clubs and restaurants just around the corner on Deansgate. There are good transport links – buses, trams and trains from Deansgate-Castlefield station which is approx. 12 min walk from the building.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wherever possible choose a flat with a balcony, it really pays off long-term to have your own space as in the summer you can just sit outside and enjoy the nice weather. Some of the apartments don’t have an intercom. Make sure you register with reception/concierge for an online profile as soon as you move in – they notify you via sms when you receive a parcel, instead of you having to check multiple times whether your items have arrived. If you decide to book the cinema, make sure you do it at least a couple of weeks in advance as it gets booked very quickly. You need to fill-in a health survey at concierge to be able to use the gym.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I haven’t personally had any issues with the building or the flat itself, but concierge downstairs and the property agency that represents the landlord seem friendly and helpful.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Clean, modern and worth the price

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Really good maintenance when problems arrive they get sorted within 24 hours
Always kept clean, see the cleaner everyday
Modern facilities within the flat that work
Good postage service at the concierge

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like all the shops on opposite road
Gym is great on site

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Train line quite far away prefer a closer train station

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Perfect place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Love the gym and how it is next to the river, amazing view and surroundings
Great facilities overall they are all mostly new with the cinema aswell
However they have increased the rent over the past year

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close to the university as im doing my phd and also the city centre

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I don’t see anything wrong with this property

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern building in an excellent location.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Modernly designed flats. Excellent facilities. Amazing management team.
Communal areas are cleaned and maintained regularly.
The 24-hours concierge team are always available and happy to help.
I particularly like the building’s online portal where you can communicate with the management team and send your requests from your mobile or computer.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very good location. A walking distance to the city centre. Plenty of shops at a walking distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is a facebook group for the building where you can find used furniture and appliances for a good price.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Seeing that a lot of tenants are struggling to find a car parking space, I would say probably more parking spaces.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

SUPER!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Includes car park, bike storage, gym, private cinema and meeting rooms. Shared garden is big enough and everyone respects each other’s space. No judgment when you’re doing workouts either! Very pretty landscaping too!
Balconies are awesome. Facilities are super friendly and helpful- always on call for help. 😁

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location for all amenities. 10-15 min walk to city centre, great walk to all major train stations and tram stops. Sainsbury’s right opposite along a small retail park which includes a Gym. Another CrossFit gym is less than a 5 min walk away. New Seven Brothers opened just around the corner! + Deliveroo is fast! Across the road is also a casino, McDonalds and KFC!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The bike storage is really helpful!

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

To allow pets, but also to expand the gym and include a lifting platform!… maybe a swimming pool!!

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Review from new tenants

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Lovely building with great facilities, property management are quick to respond to any problems! There is a gym and media rooms on site which are well equipped, the design of the building is fantastic and you can tell the building has state of the art fire prevention instalments! Flats are very private and have sound proofing so it feels like you’re in your own building

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Near to main road
Concierge never there

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Check that all of the ventilation fans are working in each room

What is the best feature of your home:

Best feature of our home is how spacious and light it is but it is also very private even though it’s a block of flats

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great riverside location, a stones throw from inner city life!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The complex looks very smart, with a nice layout in such a lovely setting by the riverside. A cool, welcoming concierge has an excellent finish to it and staff appear nice and helpful. A good facebook group keeps everyone connected and all residents I have met seem lovely. Flat layouts are good, with nice Juliette balconies for those warm evenings. Good facilities on site however unable to make full use to due current pandemic. Great location next to retail park but it does lack the option of local parking!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Really close to a retail park with a good selection of store. Gym is also very close too! Within a 15min walk to bus services to the main hospital on oxford road and is around a 20-25min walk into town. Close to fast food restaurants if feeling peckish after a night out. Generally a really good location!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

n/a

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would install an intercom system into the property so visitor can enter without having to go downstairs

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I like it here

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Secure entrance, lovely concierge team. Modern design and specious space in the living room..
It has nice garden and beautiful view.
Also we enjoyed the facilities here such as Cinema room and meeting rooms.
I have been here for 3 years and I really enjoy it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is perfect walking distance to shops Such as home bargains and sainsbrys. Also walking to City center or to bus station. With school near by if you have kids.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Not all the apartments had balconies and microwave

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They responded quickly and efficiently to all of the problems we report

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good value for money, perfect location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The design is really practical for flats and good value for money. Walls can be a bit thin but that’s usually standard. Building management are great in terms of fixing things promptly including lifts or gates. The small gym is great as it’s open 24 hours and has the basic things you need for a workout. Concierge is great to have to accept and sign for all your parcels.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s the perfect location to get literally anywhere in Manchester. Only a 10/15 minute into the city, tram stops and train stations are really close and there’s a retail centre across the road including a s gym and supermarket. Lots of pubs/bars/restaurants at a short walk away on deansgate/Spinningfields. Only thing to dislike is that it is on the main road so traffic can get bad sometimes.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The area is filled with young professionals or are newly graduated so the life style is still a bit like university. Would not recommend for families

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature is the location. Literally can get anywhere in greater Manchester due to trams nearby. Has all the local amenities, handful of shops of all variety within walking distance and a gym.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great Development with limited parking

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Great look and feel to the building and the flat is furnished well. Everything is very secure and what I perceived to be of high quality. A couple negatives are that there isn’t enough parking for everyone so we couldn’t park our car in the complex which is a bit of a pain and the concierge isn’t always available (appreciate they have a lot of people to look after). Over very happy with the complex and hoping the gym opens soon!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very close to a superstore in Sainsbury’s and Jd gym is right accords the road.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That parking is really hard to get hold of. We were told it was a matter of getting it off someone else in the Facebook group but it’s been tough to try and get hold of one

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Haven’t had any as of yet. I’ve only dealt with them to collect parcels and they’ve been great.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great value, perfectly located property.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The design of the building is aesthetically spectacular. It looks incredible as you approach from the river side. Facilities are also very good, having made use of both the cinema room & gym, however it would be ideal if more car parking was available. The area is well kept, including the recycling, by the property management team ,and the building management are always very friendly & willing to help at any opportunity.
My biggest pet peave would be the regular breakdown of the lifts, which often take quite some time to get repaired.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local shops are ideally placed – a retail park with a big Sainsbury’s just 5 min walking. All of the ammenities of the city centre are very quickly accessible. All walking areas are well lit so you feel safe even coming back late. Dislike would be the noise of the dual carriageway below.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is a lack of intercom to allow guests to access the building.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of my flat (Block A) would be the far reaching views of the city. Despite only being small the apartment manages to offer separation whether you are in the bedroom, living room or bathroom, and space is utilised well, although the bathroom could have better storage.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Love all the brand new facilities especially the gym
Right in the city centre no need for transport links
Cleaner comes in every day great service.
24 hour concierge really friendly people no issues

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Moved here because of the shops and close tof city centre

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Can’t really fault the place, everything you need in a great location

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent apartment complex

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The buildings have a great design, and the flats are spacious and open plan with great views. The facilities including the 24 hour concierge desk is excellent and makes me feel safe. However, the one thing that could be improved is the speed at which issues such as broken lifts are fixed, which causes delays at peak times when only 1 is working in a 20 story building.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is in a great location, with walking distance into the city centre, and lots of shops nearby. One thing I dislike is the dual carriage way in very close vicinity.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I would have known that top floor flats get very stuffy at warm.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes. We have contacted them in regards to a couple of issues involving the balcony flooring etc and have all been rectified.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  Wilburn Basin, M5
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Money’s worth

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

I love this area because affordable and welcoming to all types people. The development is well maintained by staff. Close to shops and transport links. Walking distance to the main city. Easy access for everyone. Very welcoming

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Clean and tidy environment and well maintained surrounding. Friendly neighbours and staff.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Everything was quite straight forward but I guess just how friendly the neighbourhood is.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Some of the furniture but that’s personal preference not quality

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Break in.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

It’s nice as far as I’m concerned. There was a big break in issue around 6am on block D where the breakers were claiming to be the owners and got in to steal stuff. Pretty Terrible if you ask me. The security should be notified and CCTV should be installed.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s alright, the security is a bit dead though

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Hmm, not sure, I wish k knew that the gym wouldn’t be open.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very quick actually, the contractor came in the next day to fix the bathroom lights.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Wilburn

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Design of properties is very strong with an aesthetically pleasing finish with the majority of apartments having a balcony or French doors. The complex has been constructed around the canal which is a big selling point adding to the attractiveness of living here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The apartments are very secure with 24/7 concierge and electronic gate entry

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew where to park before I moved in as there is limited parking on the property.

What is the best feature of your home:

Our balcony and large windows in the property giving a nice amount of natural light

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern apartments in a great location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

We love living in Wilburn Basin. We enjoy being on the river and close enough to the city centre. The apartments are modern are lovely and modern. We enjoy the gym facility and the new pubs and restaurants that are always opening nearby. The staff are friendly and always willing to help.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is great as it’s at enough out of town not to be too busy but close enough to walk in. The retail park next to us has been great for us as we don’t drive.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Peel park is close by which is a nice place to run or chill out.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We haven’t had any issues in the two years we have been here.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Wouldn’t want to live anywhere else!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Due to COVID I haven’t been able to visit the gym or cinema room but I love that there will be an option when it finally opens. The staff that work here are lovely and helpful. The flat still looks and feel brand new and my view is stunning!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s right next to Sainsbury’s so it’s super easy to do a big shop and all the shops, bars and restaurants close by. I don’t drive and don’t enjoy public transport so it’s ideal for those who love to be in the centre of things without the hassle of getting to places

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known that the communal rooms wouldn’t be open. My letting agency lied and told me it would be, he also told me I had a parking space which I later found out I didn’t. I have had many problems with the agency but this is nothing to do with the building or management.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would wish the walls weren’t as thin as the neighbours play music all day and night long.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Sorrounding

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Modern design with a classic style. Nice cinema room and a private gym. Everything nice and easy to get to. Everything is accessible and you don’t need to have a vehicle to get to the town because its also close by.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very clean and quiet area. Friendly people around.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How nice everyone is.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I wouldn’t change anything because I am happy with how things are.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great modern place to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Design is very modern and attractive. Facilities include gym and cinema room currently closed due to the pandemic but great to have when available. Property management very good. Consierge always at hand to help residents. One of the lifts is sometimes broken but other than that the property is flawless.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Loads of local shops available, transport moderate walk away

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

n/a

What is the best feature of your home:

My favourite feature about this home is definitely the modern and sleek design throughout.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Wilburn Basin review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The design is nice feels very secure and we like the concierge. Staff are friendly and easy to get along with. Facilities are good we have everything we need with an integrated kitchen including fridge freezer and dishwasher. Having a 2 in 1 washing machine tumble drier is useful too. Very happy at Wilburn Basin.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like the area close to central and good value for money

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the gym and cinema room are out of bounds for now

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

It would be nice if we had a real balcony as opposed to a Juliet balcony.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern apartment in a great location, only a short walk to the city centre.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Wilburn Basin is a very modern building and is up kept very well. The concierge are very helpful and always around to help out. The only downside so far has been reoccurring problems with one of the lifts in block A.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The building is located very close to a retail park, which includes a gym, a sainsburys and other handy stores. It’s only a 10/15 minute walk into town and not too far from the metro.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Having a bedroom facing the main road can be loud

What is the best feature of your home:

The main bedroom is a great size with a modern bathroom.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  Wilburn Basin, M5
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A positive experience in Wilburn Basin

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The design is very modern and everything in the apartments is modern too. There is a gym on site that is free and is a good size for a free gym. There are also cinema rooms which can be booked which are of a high quality. The only negative I have is that the elevators in my block are often out of use. However there are 2 elevators so this is not always an issue.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is good for shops. There is a local Coop and Sainsbury’s, as well as Boots, McDonald’s and Home Bargins etc. The only downside is it is not near a tram stop, it’s about a 15 min walk to the closest.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

One thing I wish I knew was that there are a limited number of visitor parking spaces. However, I would have probably found this out had I asked.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

One thing that I would change is the sofa. It seems that a lot of the flats come with sofas provided when flats were first built. They are a bit uncomfortable.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The communal area in the flats are kept very clean. The design of the inside of the flats is modern with dishwasher and tumble dryer included. The bedrooms in the flat are a decent size for city centre living. Overall my rating is 10/10 for Wilburn Basin.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We’ve got a private gym and a cinema room on site which is amazing, across the road there is a retail park with everything you need from sainburys, Argos, costa and home bargains. We’re extremely lucky that there is a grass area in the flat area to sit in the summer which is brilliant as usually this is not the case for flat living. One thing I dislike is the parking facilities in the building, my flat didn’t come with a space and it’s impossible to get one.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature is the communal grass area to sit when it’s warm.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amazing place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Love the design and organisation of the front desk, concierge really helpful plus lots of security
Building design is amazing right next to the river plenty of open space and two balconies in our flat

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Loads of road noise that never stops
Constant road works lots of cars beeping

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish I knew about the constant roadworks surrounding property

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Quite expensive but good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Really like the property because of the nice design lots of shops on the opposite road concierge is great for deliveries
Property is clean overall
Elevator isn’t working at the moment have to take stairs to the 12th floor

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Shops across the road are great
Good transport links to city centre

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Long term rentime is a problem we would like the option of shorter rent time you can find apartments with the same facilities for half the price

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Wilburn basin review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The development is very new and has a modern design. Staff are always very friendly and happy to help. Only issue would be the price of the council tax in the area and the flats could always be a little closer to the city centre. Sometimes you can hear traffic at night from the main road nearby.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area can sometimes be loud. Quite close to town but no free parking for guests.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The council tax is very high considering the area.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have not had any problems as of yet so I am unable to give an answer based on experience.

5
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Couldn’t recommend more

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Personally I find the design to my taste. The brick and layout of the exterior around the basin is lovely. We’re moving shortly to a higher flat which faces sunset and has a great view of the canal. This development in particular has a really nice landscape and communal area which is very handy

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love the entire development. With the gym and cinema room now being available at the minute it is abit of a shame however completely understand why that’s the case. The concierge team here are amazing and so helpful. We plan on staying in this complex for a while
Yet.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I was made aware of everything prior to moving, there’s quite honestly nothing disappointing about this development

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Whenever we’ve had any issues they’ve been addressed and sorted straight away

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern high rise living

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Modern design and safe. Fixtures and fittings of good quality and from reputable brands. 2 bedroom apartments not equally spaced so one bedroom is always much bigger than the other. Windows are floor to ceiling except not always the case. Quite nosey as being high rise can hear lots of sirens and cars

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Large supermarket and shops at walking distance. Close to city centre. Not great transport links, far to walk to train stations and no local tram stop or bus stops

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How easy it is to find another flat in the same block once you live here instead of going through an agency

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Generally they are quick to respond however some staff are not as friendly as others

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A fantastic development!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The design of the complex is great. The only downsides are the weird steps you have to walk down and up in order to get to block A on foot and the apparent lack of available parking. I don’t drive, but the Facebook group for the property is filled with people hunting for spaces.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location of this property is ideal. You’re close enough to Manchester city centre that it’s easily walkable, but within Salford so you avoid some of the city centre prices. There’s a shopping complex across the road and a few fast food places just up the road.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had paid more attention to the amount of noise which comes from the road and railway nearby. I think this only affects apartments facing Manchester, but can’t be sure.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I haven’t raised any issues for my flat as that is dealt with by a separate lettings agency, however any communal issues such as mess in the lifts or broken things in public areas have all been dealt with swiftly.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A great place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

I love living here, the location is great, just outside of town but still only a few minutes to walk into the centre. With a retail park across the road and a park a 5 minute walk away it’s the perfect hybrid between a neighbourhood and the city. The facilities are Great with a gym and cinema room and the flat is really modern.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Sainsbury’s across the road, on the retail park, cornbrook met stop 10 minute walk away and Salford Quays 20 minute walk.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew how close it was to all different places of the city.

What is the best feature of your home:

The way it’s designed with the bright colours and the balcony overlooking the city.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Wilburn Basin – slick, clean, professional

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The concierge team are fantastic and always on hand to assist. The design of Wilburn Basin and interior decor ate slick and contemporary – ideal for young professionals. The communal area of the properties are always clean and welcoming and it is nice to be around like minded people/professionals within such easy walking distance to the city centre.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very close to Spinningfields and transport links eg city. Very slick design and excellent shared facilities eg gym, media room. Across from a retail park with a variety of shops to suit all needs. Access to both the city centre and media city within walking distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No pets & no Leighway on this
Sometimes students are accepted for apartments and can at times be noisy, have big gatherings, parties etc.
Parking is very difficult and expensive to come across

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

To be able to have pets! It’s a part of the overall lease not to be able to have any which makes a bIG difference and is currently influencing our decision to move out. We also find it difficult at times to get tasks completed in a timely manner due to the property management team at Complete Ltd

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location and views

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The complex is maintained to a high standard. There is an on-site gym and also a cinema room and meeting rooms that can booked for use by the residents.
Due to the location of the complex the view of the city centre and greater manchester from the flats on the upper floors are incredible.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very good transport links and a short walk from the city centre

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how close it was to the city centre as I would have moved in sooner.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The deal with any issues very quickly and efficiently.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great value for good flats

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The city is in walking distance and once The Factory is open at the start of 2021, the walk into town will be even easier. Well designed flats, affordable in comparison to other developments nearby and a great vibe. Picking up parcels can be a pain and property management don’t tell you when they will/won’t be at reception to wait, but it is 24 hours and nearly 400 flats so can’t complain too much.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like the shops at the retail park opposite and JD Gym is literally two mins away. Not many dislikes – trains can be loud if your flat faces that side.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There’s a side entrance by Block A which cuts the time to walk into the city centre by about 5 mins.

What is the best feature of your home:

Flat layouts are well designed and balconies are spacious enough.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Really nice place to live!!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

I love how close it is to the city centre, I love the location, I like the design of the building, the apartment is a good size for the reasonable price and the facilities that included like a home cinema and gym for the development are very nice and very happy moving here!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The gym the cinema the study rooms are all very convenient and very clean. Staff at concierge very nice and always happy to help you, there isn’t really anything that i dislike.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing that i can think of.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes I had a few minor problems but it was quickly sorted.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely Place To Live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Living here a month now and I just love the place, don’t have any complaints yet and still feels like I’m on holiday, amazing views from my balcony would recommend kitchen is a lovely modern design and the bathrooms are amazing quality too, found nothing wrong so far

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lived in the area for a while now this apartment is perfect. 5 min walk to work and then another 5 into town

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How hot it can get up here sometimes

What is the best feature of your home:

Deffo the balcony I have such good views to see all across manchester

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Perfect accommodation

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Design of the building is nice and modern. Facilities great, free gym and bike storage. Building management is strong. Concierge are very friendly and are always on hand if I ever need anything. Complex is very secure

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Wilburn Basin is in a perfect location. Close to the city centre but far enough away to avoid the busy centre atmosphere

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Free gym!!

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Kitchen needs more tiles as splatter hits the painted walls

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Tenant

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Great building and management team
Excellent building in great location! Restaurants are close by and also a Sainsbury supermarket which is very convenient.
Great facilities including gym, meeting rooms and cinema
Conceirge team is friendly and welcoming

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great area to live in

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I do not think there is anything I would change about my apartment and building

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Positive review of Wilburn Basin

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The design is very modern and sleek. As well as the property is cleaned on a daily basis, this includes the main reception and hallways. The management and concierge are very helpful and are 24/7 and always there to help you out with any situation. I have had no problems living here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is the perfect location as it is just the walk away from the city Centre, as well as lots of local shops near by !

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Storage space, I have a lot of clothes and limited to clothing space, so bought a rail!

What is the best feature of your home:

The interior provided is very Morden this includes the sofa and tv stand. The place was very clean with little to no scratches

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Wilburn basin

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The management are fantastic, friendly and always there to help. The outside area is quite pretty and the place is always clean and tidy. The design is great as you have access from the ring road as well as the concierge. There’s an onsite gym, cinema room and shard meeting rooms that you can book.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s next to a retail park with a large sainburys tkmaxx, JD sports, JD gym etc. It’s stones throw away from the bars and pubs in Castlefield or Deansgate. It’s not far from the Deansgate Metrolink. There’s a cheap car park across the road. It’s on the ring road.

What is the best feature of your home:

The view is great, the design is pretty. The flat is a really high standard flat.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

I’ve lived here for two years and I’m really pleased with the development. The apartments are well designed and not too noisy. They can be a bit warm in summer but on the flip side not too cold in winter and my electricity bills are very reasonable. Concierge provide an excellent service collecting parcels etc

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location is great, close to town and local shops.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known how hot the apartments get in summer. You need the patio doors open all day to cool down

What is the best feature of your home:

The living space of the apartment is excellent and well thought out

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Wilburn Basin, M5
User submitted image of Wilburn Basin, M5

Location

About Renaker

Renaker is a leading property developer in the North West with a track record in design, build and delivery. It…
Number of developments 4

4.55

Average rating based on 126 reviews

View company