Vida House, SE8

By
Way of Life
Ranked 7th out of 11 in Deptford
4.09 (60 reviews) 4.09 (60 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.62
Facilities
3.78
Design
4.15
Location
3.67
Value
4.14
Management

Vida House, managed by Way of Life, is a residential development just a stone’s throw from central London. The development is only a short walk away from Surrey Quays Overground station as well as Canada Water Underground station. Each of the 138 one and two-bedroom apartments on site have an open plan layout. These come with a fully fitted kitchen with integrated dishwasher, washer/dryer and a fridge-freezer. In addition, the apartments have large bathrooms, bright and airy receptions as well as spacious double bedrooms with a walk-in cupboard for additional storage space. Residents also have access to a secure car park and ample underground bike storage area. Similarly, there is a dedicated management team on site with 24 hour CCTV security.

Read more Read less

Vida House, SE8 Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 60 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

The building’s upkeep is fantastic

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

I’ve been living here now for almost 1.5y and I feel this is a very comfortable place to stay. The building’s upkeep is fantastic, the flats in a good, renovated state, mostly well equipped, though I believe some better than others. You can hang pictures on walls 🙂 Building management are fantastic, extremely helpful, responsive and proactive, and the people living here are friendly and quiet and a spare items exchange is sometimes happening in the corridor. I feel safe here, the entrance is locked, all areas are well lit and clean, CCTV is in operation, I am happy to have neighbors accept my parcels. There is a little garden behind the building which is quiet and looks nice. The area nearby has everything I need and it’s not far from the city centre. There is car parking, but you have to pay extra. There is bike storage. There is no dedicated concierge. You have no meters in your flat so readings are obtained from building management. Overall recommended!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s a quiet, nice area in the immediate proximity to the building. A well stocked Lidl grocery shop is no further than a 5 minute walk, other services are on the main street ca. 10 mins away. Bus to/from the Underground station has a stop right outside the building and is perfectly conveniet. There is a good selection of food places nearby, including delivery options. The overall location is good with ca. 30 min to the city centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Everything is taken care of here, very well managed. Trains are a bit loud. Doors are a bit thin so you can sometimes hear what happens in the corridor. It gets hot in summer since the building is well insulated and the windows open only partially, so no drafts. Parcels can be delivered to your door.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very responsive, friendly and helpful, fantastic people, can’t imagine anything better really.

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi,

Thank you for your kind words. We are really happy that you are enjoying your time within Vida House and are happy with our service.

As always, if you need anything answering please get in touch with us and we will be happy to help.

Regards

James

For a person like me who loves simplicity this is just perfect

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Minimal design is what defines this building and for a person like me who loves simplicity this is just perfect, love the fact that the building has it’s own room for delivery and does not invades our privacy, management is always present to deal with our request and recently they refurbish the main areas and entrances and that shows that they are willing to see their business grow and for me that says a lot !

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

So happy to find this gem of a house, after researching the market for few months I’ve found this property that is just perfect for my needs, few minutes away is the overground station so I’m well connected with 20 minutes to central London and happy to say that my grocery shops are just few hundred feet away.
Lot’s of bars and restaurants are around and a nice walk by the Thames is just minutes away, the building is very clean and high standards and the fact that they allowed pets it’s a big plus for me!
I live on top floor and the views are just incredible and I have all the privacy I need so overall I recomend this place to everyone.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That I would spend so much money on plants :d

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes very quick and thy replaced the faulty item the next day.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Vida House, SE8
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Radu,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are delighted you are enjoying your stay at Vida House.

Best Wishes,
Vida House Team

Well I would like to thanks Rebecca for her professionalism

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Well I would like to thanks Rebecca for her professionalism on how she handles the process of renewing my contract with Vida House. She was Very polite, humble and professional in following up all the emails.
I have asked her to contact me and she did that exactly on the fixed date. Thanks for your service Rebecca. Stefano

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I can’t complain personally. I had 4 Amazing years in this building. There were just few aspects about the flowing of the water. Issues with the water pump which they have been sorted. Now is all good.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Quiet frankly I have nothing in mind at the moment to share.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Most of the time was pretty on point. Sometimes was just difficult the communication.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Morning Stefano,

Thank you for your kind words. We are really happy that you are enjoying your time within Vida House and are happy with our service. As always, if you need anything answering please get in touch with us and we will be happy to help.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca

Very clean and safety building

Review Date Oct 2022

Very clean and safety building.

Very good view from living room

Kitchen good but sink too small

Bad room big enough and good

Garage enough space and very safety

Bedroom have sunshine and big enough

Smoke area very good

Heating old model but still work

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very clean and safety building.

Staff very friendly and helpful, they so quick to help if flar have something repair.

Good place for collect to central, park very close!

9.5/10

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Placefull flat.
Neighbour very good.
Very safety for living

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very friendly and helpful!
If flat have any problems, they will fix immediately

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Morning Vincent,

Thank you for leaving us this lovely review. We are really happy that you are enjoying your time within Vida House and are happy with our service. As always, if you need anything answering please get in touch with us and we will be happy to help.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca

Comfortable modern living apartments

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

A well designed block and improvements have and are being made to keep it in good condition and welcoming. I’ve no issues with the property management and Rebecca most recently has been most helpful. The post room is a good addition for parcels but annoyingly the door once again has been forced open and not secure at present.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Overall, I still enjoy living as one of the original tenants at Vida House. I find very little disturbance within my apartment with only the train noise more so in the summer months with windows open. I have noticed a huge number of dogs of late and frustrating lack of respect from some of their owners who leave their mess in the beds and a few times pee in the communal areas by the lift and door to the garden.
The rear door at the end block appears to continually be forced open from the outside, leaving entering the space open and unsecured, maybe a new locking system should be considered to keep us secure!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Increase of dogs within the apartment block and gatherings of owners at the rear late evening banter which can be annoying in summer months with windows open.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes and with efficiency most recently from Rebecca and James

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon Andrew,

Thank you for your kind words. We are really happy that you are enjoying your time within Vida House and are happy with our service. As always, if you need anything answering please get in touch with us and we will be happy to help.

Kind Regards,

Rebecca

A decent 1-bed apartment in a well managed building

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

Pros: spacious apartment, responsive building management team, wooden floor, view, recently refurbished, separate mailing room

Cons: noisy street, insufficient rubbish collection, building design very basic, small wardrobe, pet owners not being cooperative

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good transportation links, noisy streets leading to Surrey Quays, decadent high street, lots of foot traffice

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Will need enough furniture to look cosy

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Responsive building management, always timely fixed the mundayne problems I raised

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon Archie,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate your feedback. I am glad that you would recommend Vida House to other people.

We will certainly take your suggestions into consideration.

Best Wishes,
Vida House Team

Modern Apartments with good transport links

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2022

PROS – Spacious apartments, Private underground car-park, close to local shops/shopping centre as well as both underground and overground railways.

CONS – Property complex has a busy road out front and a railway line out back which can mean a lot of noise during the day with the windows open.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great spacious apartments which are pet friendly which is rare in London. The soundproofed walls are great, the only noise I’ve heard is people entering their flats and that’s from the hallway. Management have been quick to respond to emails which really helps when trying to organise solutions to any issues.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Apartments are incredibly warm, a good fan is a must need.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, management have been prompt with actioning solutions to any issues that have occurred.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Morning Mat,

Thank you so much for spending this time to write a review for Vida House. Thank you for the kind words. I am really pleased that you are enjoying your time at Vida House and find the location suitable for your requirements.

Kind Regards,

Vida House Management

Good management, but facilities and design need a facelift

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

I think the building management and property management are good. They usually reply to requests quite promptly. The design and facilities are quite outdated and could do with some revamping or further refurbishment. Some of the infrastructure is aging and effecting the performance of the facilities. For example, we have had water issues amongst tenants in the past.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The management and services at Vida House are good. I think the facilities could be improved.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known that the road parallel to Vida House would be so busy with traffic and loud vehicles during most nights. It effects my sleep quite a lot.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, the building management has responded quite promptly to my problems or issues.

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon Ming,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.
We ae delighted you are enjoying your stay at Vida House.

Best Wishes,
Vida House Team

Modern Living Close to Central London

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The building is modern with triple-glazed large windows, that allow for a lot of light to come in. My flat also comes with a rooftop terrace, my personal highlight – especially during lockdown. The views on the skyline of Canary Wharf are great, and the energy efficiency of the building seems to be fairly good. The facilities in the building are bright and modern and the flat comes with an extra small storage room as well as some additional storage space in the boiler room. After some problems with people stealing packages left in the entrance area, the building now has a dedicated room including lockers for delivered packages. The management listens to concerns and usually acts quickly while also continuing to improve the facilities on an ongoing basis.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

While the local high street is no argument in itself, everything one needs is nearby, including multiple pharmacies, a range of good food places, a Lidl, a large Tesco and multiple parks. The connection is great with the overground and Jubilee line easily reachable on foot and a bus stop right in front of the house for the rainy days. There are no huge problems in the area, the noise is low to moderate, just the bins are a bit too full at times.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Not really known, the only thing I wish I had thought about before is that my flat comes with a small fridge – which increases light in the kitchen / living room area, but also at times requires some tetris to fit everything in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The management usually responds to problems within less than 24 hours and sends someone to fix them as soon as possible. Everything I raised has been resolved quickly.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Vida House, SE8
User submitted image of  Vida House, SE8
User submitted image of  Vida House, SE8
User submitted image of  Vida House, SE8
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon Ramona,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are delighted you are enjoying your stay at Vida House.

Best Wishes,
Vida House Team

Property management is good, buy if you look for a tranquil place, I’m not sure if that’s the right place for you, especially if you work from home!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The building was looking absolutely disgusting until the Management had recently decided to have the walls painted and change the filthy and old carpets. Cleaning in the building is probably done roughly once a month the outside windows are cleaned very rarely also. There is a huge issue with cleaning in this building and outside of it partially due to the many dogs in the building. There are pet owners that do not pick up after their dogs and it is not rare when you see dog poo/pee either inside the building, lift or outside….
Another major issue is that pet owners gather at the back of the building,(they do not ever walk their dogs at the parks) so you get at leats 7-8 pet owners at once, talking and laughing loudly most of the time, having their dogs barking all the time and in June and July there were outside until 11 p.m, basically it lacks tranquility that we all hope to find at our places…
James and Aimee did a good job whenever we had any issue in the flat. There were some issues with the missing parcels in the past, but it is getting better lately. I know Aimee is doing her best to keep the building civil and clean, but there are too many residents in this building that are lacking common sense on so many levels….

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

PROS: The location is quite good, we have a bus stop right in front of the building, Canada Water Station is roughly a 10 min journey. We also have a Lidl 2 minute away. There are also 2 parks quite near the place, one smaller is 5 min away, and another bigger park is just 10-12 min away.
CONS: Not the safest area, a lot of young poor and unemployed people around. Parking is provided on site for a fee (around£50/m if I am not wrong) but you also have the possibility to park your car on the nearby streets for free.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

One thing that is good when it comes to being a resident at Vida House is that roughly what you see is what you get, and I am strictly referring to the flat condition. What it is outside the flat is another matter. What I could not get before I moved in was the ongoing issues with pet owners and with the lack of the tranquility, lack of the cleanliness.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management is good, but nevertheless there are still issues on site. I am sure Aimee and Phoebe try to do their best, but it is not an easy job when there are residents that are lacking common sense…I think they need to be more assertive in their approach. Just sending emails to notify residents about dog fouling, about gatherings of so many tenants with their pets at the back of the building and being very disrespectful towards the rest of us, or about residents dumping their garbage in the wrong bins, it is not enough, as I have not seen any change in residents’s behaviour. They still do whatever they do every single day…

3
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon Omer,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

Please be assured we are tackling the issues you mention regarding dog fouling and have increased our communal area cleaning.
As always, should you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to pop down to the office or pop us an email – vidahouse@wayoflife.com

Best Wishes,
Vida House Team

Lovely space

Review Date Aug 2021

The design is somewhat good, the hallways feel a bit more like an office facility than a living space. Management is 9/10 times on top of things and issues are dealt with pretty quickly. Wish that we had bigger fridges as it is barely enough to store food

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is pretty good, close enough to public transport. Bin collection is messy

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I don’t think there were any shocks before I moved in so all is good

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have had all issues resolved pretty quickly, although we have needed to give a nudge once or twice

4
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon Alyssa,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

I am really pleased that you found the landlords amazing at Vida house.

We are delighted you like Vida House.

Best Wishes,
Vida House Team

Comfortable, affordable place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The building management is nice and responsive. They have been making upgrades such as new hall carpeting, improved security and a news locker for deliveries. I like the large windows and views from the flats facing the train tracks. You get a beautiful full sunset, which is rare for central London.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Vida House is a great location especially if you work from home and/or you like cycling around. The closest tube station (Canada Water) is a c. 15-20min walk away but there’s a separated bike lane almost all the way to Tower Bridge (and beyond). There are quite a few restaurants and cafes close by, not the prettiest places but excellent to hang out but good for takeaway. The Lidl across the street is always well stocked so getting groceries is fast and affordable. It’s quiet despite the trains running relatively close to the building (low speed overground and with the windows closed they can barely be heard).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are lots of dogs in the building so if you’re a pet lover you find a community here, and / or can play with your neighbours’ pets in the back yard!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Generally very promptly, and the issues were fixed.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Morning Ioana,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we are glad you are enjoying your stay at Vida House.

Best Wishes,
Vida House Team

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Vida House, SE8
User submitted image of Vida House, SE8
User submitted image of Vida House, SE8
User submitted image of Vida House, SE8
User submitted image of Vida House, SE8
User submitted image of Vida House, SE8
User submitted image of Vida House, SE8
User submitted image of Vida House, SE8
User submitted image of Vida House, SE8
User submitted image of Vida House, SE8
User submitted image of Vida House, SE8
User submitted image of Vida House, SE8

Facilities

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Location

Explore the area

Way of Life
Number of developments 5

4.63

Average rating based on 430 reviews

View company