Upton Gardens, E13

By
Barratt London
4th
Ranked 4th out of 14 in Barking
3.89 (119 reviews) 3.89 (119 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.80
Facilities
3.97
Design
3.94
Location
3.82
Value
3.50
Management

Barratt London‘s Upton Gardens is situated in the heart of East London. There are 842 homes onsite. There is a mix of one, two and three-bedroom apartments. Additionally, the development features open green spaces, rooftop terraces, landscaped walkways and public art. Located in Zone 3, Upton Gardens is within a 6-minute walk of Upton Park tube. Residents can access both the District and Hammersmith & City lines. Moreover, the Help to Buy scheme in operation.

 

Read more Read less

Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 114 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Best development to live in

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Overall the design is pretty standard. The quality of development is great, feels very premium. The development is well maintained, including the garden, gym and terrace. The building management team seems to be very proactive and responsive. Really happy with my decision to move in here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good: Very quite and peaceful locality. Its close to Upton Park tube station.

Bad: Not really a bad thing but I wish there was a indoor gaming or something e.g. a snooker or ping pong table etc.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The only one thing I feel missing in this development is like a facility for small gatherings which could be available for free/a small fee e.g. this facility could be useful to throw a small party or get together which isn’t much possible in the flats.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very prompt and quite responsive building management.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

good consierge, previous snagging team unhelpful, current one good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

The consierge team are excellent, the sgagging team I dealt with were unhelpful, denied and were reluctant to deal with any faults until a new team were appointed in 2021 who are good, but too late for me.

The block has an EWS1 low risk B1 fire rating and the balconies have potentially combustable flooring – yet Barratt only completed it late 2018 and won’t replace their cheap materials as they say ‘the rules have changed’. Barratt should do the ethical thing and change their materials, and imrpove fire safety, and on all their other sites which have potentially combustible balcony floors.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area has not improved since purchase, I wouldn’t walk here after dark. The development is safer, off the main road, but the main road is unsafe, polluted and unappealing

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Snagging – not helpful till I involved NHBC.

Balcony flooring and other potential fire risks – The block has an EWS1 low risk B1 fire rating and in particular the balconies have potentially combustable flooring – yet Barratt only completed it late 2018 and won’t replace their cheap materials as they say ‘the rules have changed’. Barratt should do the ethical thing and change their materials, and imrpove fire safety, and on all their other sites which have potentially combustible balcony floors.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Snagging – not helpful till I involved NHBC.

Balcony flooring and other potential fire risks – The block has an EWS1 low risk B1 fire rating and in particular the balconies have potentially combustable flooring – yet Barratt only completed it late 2018 and won’t replace their cheap materials as they say ‘the rules have changed’. Barratt should do the ethical thing and change their materials, and imrpove fire safety, and on all their other sites which have potentially combustible balcony floors.

3
Facilities
4
Design
2
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great development love living here

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

The design of development is fantastic and The design of my flat is phenomenal I absolutely love it
I love that we have outdoor spaces and gardens and I absolutely love the gym on site It would be nice to have an on-site shop or café I’m not sure if this is coming into the future

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The range of little shops is great there’s not so many restaurants around but there is a nice parks it’s brilliant transport links into London the parking availability is not great and the car park on the development does not allow you to rent spaces this is what I’d ideally like to see because to buy a space was too expensive

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known that they were scrapping my roof top terrace which I was promised

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They take quite a while to get back to you if you’ve had a problem but they do come and fix it

5
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice development, area slowly improving

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

The development itself is nice. The area is slowly improving. I can’t speak for others but my flat is nice and spacious as it’s a 3 bed ground floor flat with high ceilings. My complaints would be that I have underfloor heating but the floor bobbles because Barratts didn’t take the heat into consideration when choosing the floor boards. I wish the balconies and terraces had privacy, even if it was just a hedge. I asked for a hedge many times but to no avail. I was very appreciative of the area when I first moved in (as a young female) but so far so good.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good
– near Stratford and Canary Wharf

Bad
– Crime and antisocial behaviour
– First Port are very unprofessional. (Not the people working at the concierge who are great, but the company itself)

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

– I can’t rent out my parking space
– I can’t use anything to give myself privacy
on my terrace

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

When I initially moved in they were very helpful in answering my many questions

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Any communication with the area manager is swiftly met with rejection

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

Have been horribly disappointed with first portS management of the area including the residents gym with a number of machines now out of service for over half a year. Any communication with the area manager is swiftly met with rejection and inadequate reaction / solution and is extremely frustrating given the service charge we pay to maintain the estate. The concierge team however are great.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Bin collection is an issue – have been rejected multiple times by first port who refuse to accommodate a sensible bin solution for those who use the sudlow bins but have the bins broken / disabled.

Upton is nice and improving; the transport links are great and
The area is well lit. There have however been a number of anti social incidents in the area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish I had known that the radiators were positioned so cumbersomely

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Have been horribly disappointed with first portS management of the area including the residents gym with a number of machines now out of service for over half a year. Any communication with the area manager is swiftly met with rejection and inadequate reaction / solution and is extremely frustrating given the service charge we pay to maintain the estate. The concierge team however are great.

2
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great housing, hopefully will help regenerate the area & build a community

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

I love my flat and was one of the first on the development. Since first making an enquiry, all the Barratt team have been helpful, friendly and try their best to maintain the standards of the site. The flat itself is very well designed and I would recommend.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Situated at the end of the high street, close to the tube but in a fairly poor and deprived area

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Really can’t think of anything! Maybe just that the ground rent and annual service fees are high considering what every flat must be paying and what that looks like for general upkeep. Plus as one of the first on the site, refuse and bin facilities are very poor. Everyone dumps there rubbish and there is no enforcement on residents who drop rubbish bags on the street

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They’re pretty good when contacted. They would benefit from an annual meeting or an easier way to raise issues such as poor painting upkeep in communal areas. Considering the service fee I’d expect more.

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Cladding problem and Antisocial behaviour

Review Date Jan 2022

The lighting and security around the development is poor, and internally, only 3 years on the shared indoor spaces are looking shabby and run down. Availability of parking is shockingly bad, and on-site clean up of gardens and paths is ver poor. Antisocial behaviour is a real issue and design of the gates is basically allowing run to be used as ladders into secure areas. Dark corners are used as drug spots. The use of building materials known to soon become illegal post grenfell i think is borderline criminal.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local shops and amenities are plentiful but poor quality. Number and quality of Local parks is the biggest highlight.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Local parking options are abysmal.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Management does usually respond but rarely takes action.

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good investment in an up and coming area, property management could be better

Review Date Jan 2022

Most of the buildings are aesthetically pleasing. Facilities / management could be better as private gardens that we were told would be for use by private residents are now being opened up to shared ownership and affordable housing tenants, which increases the foot traffic into each of the gardens. These owners are also less bothered about aesthetics and can come to a clash with private residents on not picking up litter etc
Management did not ask the developers or the tenants of what the agreed upon conditions were before deciding to open up gardens to all

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Not a great deal of healthy grocery stores nearby, mostly small convenience stores. The area is still pretty run down at the moment with not a great deal of good sit in restaurants or bars but is pretty decent links via the tube into nearby Stratford or central

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Parking spaces are a premium- would not recommend purchasing /renting a flat without a car parking space if you have a car. Car parking rental is pretty high, and technically not even allowed by the Property management company

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Facilities refer a lot of queries to the developers, and the developers refer to Facilities. Unclear communication and responsibilities

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Thoughts

Review Date Jan 2022

The design of the development is good I feel as well as the facilities the buildings are nicely spaced out and easy to locate.In terms of property management I do see things being looked in to and sorted out so I feel they are doing a good job.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s very convenient easy access to shops and transport, schools are close by. Parking not easy to find on the street outside which can be a problem as we do not have underground parking.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known that the service charge would increase almost every year.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Had issue with my windows, which took a long time to look into and I was disappointed as it could not be resolved.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice quiet development off a busy high street

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

The development is well maintained and feels safe. Packages are delivered to a concierge who is always friendly and will help with any delivery questions.

My building is well designed, however using lifts to access the basement for bin storage is not ideal, and can sometimes cause a bad smell in the lift, which doesn’t give off an ideal first impression.

The communal areas are nice and residents will often walk their dogs or hang out to chat to their neighbours if the weather is nice.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Upton Park has many shops and restaurants, and the development is walking distance from East Ham, which has even more.

The high road around Upton Park station can be very hectic, but walking a little distance away gives access to quieter residential areas and nice parks

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The walls are very easy to mark, so I would advise keeping that in mind when buying/moving in. The lack of a backsplash behind the kitchen sink is a bad design choice.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Some damp in the hallway wall outside my flat was dealt with relatively quickly by the building management, and I’ve not had any issues since.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The design of the building is modern and simple

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

The design of the building is modern and simple. The house was not in great condition and we had to have it fixed as it was built in a rush.
The interiors are fine and it was easy to decorate however, the measurement of the flat was different from expected

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s close to the tube station and several bus stops. There are some shops nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The building was built in a rush so they had to fix most things

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Not really. They are really slow with the emails and do not answer on time

2
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Upton Gardens, E13
User submitted image of Upton Gardens, E13
User submitted image of Upton Gardens, E13
User submitted image of Upton Gardens, E13
User submitted image of Upton Gardens, E13
User submitted image of Upton Gardens, E13
User submitted image of Upton Gardens, E13
User submitted image of Upton Gardens, E13
User submitted image of Upton Gardens, E13
User submitted image of Upton Gardens, E13
User submitted image of Upton Gardens, E13
User submitted image of Upton Gardens, E13
User submitted image of Upton Gardens, E13
Image of Upton Gardens, E13
Image of Upton Gardens, E13
Image of Upton Gardens, E13
Image of Upton Gardens, E13
Image of Upton Gardens, E13
Image of Upton Gardens, E13
Image of Upton Gardens, E13
Image of Upton Gardens, E13

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Gym

Gym

Parking

Parking

Also by this company

Explore other developments by Barratt London

Location

Barratt London
Number of developments 38

4.02

Average rating based on 899 reviews

View company