Union Wharf, SE8

By
Essential Living
1st
Ranked 1st out of 3 in Deptford
4.49 (86 reviews) 4.49 (86 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.58
Facilities
4.66
Design
4.44
Location
4.15
Value
4.51
Management

Union Wharf is a development from London property developer Essential Living. It features 249 rental-only apartments on the banks of Deptford Creek near Greenwich’s town centre.  It houses a collection of one, two and three-bedroom apartments. In addition, Union Wharf is close to the Cutty Sark DLR station for fast and frequent connections to Canary Wharf.

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
From £1,730 pcm
1 Bed Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
552 sq ft
Essential Living
More info
From £2,110 pcm
2 Bed Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
774 sq ft
Essential Living
More info
From £2,500 pcm
3 Bed Apartment
3 Bed
2 Bath
sq ft
Essential Living
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 86 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

I can’t recommend Union Wharf, Essential Living and Greenwich enough. The flats are superb but the staff and location really make it something special.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

The concierge are incredible! Always so friendly and helpful and yet non-intrusive so it doesn’t feel like you’re in a hotel. We’ve had a few minor issues with out flat (just with the dishwasher and bathroom) but both were sorted almost instantly.

The roof terrace will sell the building to you! Incredible views of London’s skyline, two outdoor bbq areas, comfortable seating and an indoor communal space complete with pool table and board games / books. You can also hire out a private dining room which we did last Christmas to host 20 of our friends and it was great, it made the occasion really special.

We have amazing views from our flat, never hear noise from the neighbours either side of us and having opted for furnished, were really impressed with the quality of the furniture. The only issue we have had is with a faulty dishwasher and quality of our toilet seat, but as mentioned before – both were fixed immediately.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Greenwich is a great area – turn left down creek road and you’ll find yourself in Deptford surrounded by lots of nice brunch spots & bars – turn right and you‘ll reach Cutty Sark & Greenwich Park. (Greenwich Park has to be the highlight for me – the gardens at the top are like a mini Kew Gardens without the queue or fee and the views from up there are amazing). Walk a little further and you’re on Blackheath & again surrounded by lots of nice bars and brunch spots.

Up the creek (local comedy club) is just a 5 minute walk from Union wharf and such good value for money. We’ve had some of our best nights there.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Just that we would be going into lockdown and that we’d have to work from home in a one bed flat for 5 months – other than that I can’t fault it

What is the best feature of your home:

The communal facilities & view from the roof terrace

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of  Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of  Union Wharf, SE8
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for the 5 Stars, and the pictures are fab!

Looks can be Deceiving

Review Date Sep 2021

Facilities are top notch, the apartment itself is finished to a high standard and the location is ideal for travel into the city or to Canary Wharf. Concierge is fantastic and very helpful, gym and roof terrace are great too. Very noisy main road, you can clearly hear footsteps above and bass from music on other floors most evenings, WiFi is also very patchy and all options are metered. The cladding is also falling off, hence the permanent scaffolding around the base of the building, the electrical sockets also frequently spark and lights will flicker when electronics are plugged in.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is very pleasant, well connected and easy to get into both central London and the Docklands. Greenwich is a beautiful area and Deptford has some great bars/shops, it isn’t as bad as people would have you believe, though I wouldn’t go there after dark.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It’s unbelievably noisy, I’ve lived in central London in similar developments for 5+ years and this is hands down the noisiest one.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Concierge has done the best they can though the management themselves hasn’t been involved with any of our issues whatsoever.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Union Wharf.

We understand your frustrations with the noise from Creek Road – as with much of Central London, we do experience metropolitan levels of noise day and night. The scaffolding fan around the building is in place to ensure that when the engineers make repairs to the brick slips can work safely at height without having an impact on those walking at ground level. Since March 2020 with the movement to work from home, we have removed all data caps from all internet packages, so they are no longer metered.

Please get in touch with us at reception to investigate the issues you may be experiencing with your electrical items.

Should you wish to discuss any of these issues further, please do not hesitate to contact us at residentrelations@essentialliving.co.uk

Amazing place to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Union Wharf has been the best place I’ve lived in London. The overall design of the building, facilities and flats are beautiful and at a great quality. The rooftop lounge and terrace are a great place to hangout and the gym is really nice to have in the building. It feels great to live here and the concierge staff are just amazing. There have been so many times that I’ve either left my keys in my flat or had a concern about something and they have been super friendly, helpful and always happy to help. They make everyone feel very welcome and at home 🙂

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Union Wharf is located in such a great location. It’s right next to the Waitrose, a few minutes walk away from the Cutty Sark, shops and Greenwich Park. In general, the area is pretty safe and the building is very secure with 24 hour security and concierge.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

One thing I didn’t know that the building did before I moved in was that Union Wharf sometimes does events which is really nice. One thing that I also find really nice about Union Wharf is that it’s a very social development – a lot of people know each other and it makes it a really nice community to live in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Overall, when I have raised problems or issues, building management have been very responsive.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for writing such a great review Alex. It’s great to hear that you enjoy the events that we host (more to come soon!) and like the community feel at Union Wharf.

I also will pass on your positive comments to the front desk team! Thank you!

Great building, staff and location.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Great building and design.
Gym access, location and equipment is very poor.
Reception staff – Ines, Astrid, Mukthar and Angie are great and always very supportive.
More events for tenants could be organised especially after the shutdown of access areas during covid.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great transport links
Good range of shops, restaurants, bar & pubs at walking distance.
Noise pollution is quite high especially at night and limited parking facilities for tenants and visitors.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

nothing comes to mind at present but will keep in mind for future reviews

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Reception staff are always very helpful and quick to help solve any issues.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for your review Amina. Like so many, we were restricted in what we were able to do in terms of resident events since March 2020 but keep an eye out for future events coming soon (future restrictions allowing!)

We’re keen to improve the gym at Union Wharf and would love to hear what kind of equipment and facilities you’d be keen to see. We’d really appreciate you taking the time to email us at residentrelations@essentialliving.co.uk or get in touch with us in the usual fashion with your suggestions.

Love it!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Fabulous residents team! They really are amazing. Always professional, polite, friendly and have a great sense of humour. Always willing to help with anything when needed, very efficient and always lovely to have a little chat with each of them 🙂 They really do make staying here very special to be honest. The building cleaners are also wonderful, they always say hello. The handyman is also great. A wonderful community here 🙂
The design of my apartment is great and I’m really very happy here.

Would be great to have some in-person events organised now things have opened up again with at least a couple of weeks notice.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location! Right by the river and Greenwich Park so it’s perfect. 5mins walk to the town centre where you have everything you need. Moved here in November whilst in lockdown so still discovering!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No real issues apart from a recent heating/underfloor cooling system fault. Now fixed though was a little frustrating as kept being told different things from different people. Those involved were some of the resident’s team, the handyman, three engineers on one visit and then another engineer on another visit and the latest was someone in Accounts. Quite a lot of people were involved so the communication around the issue wasn’t great. Not quite resolved as yet.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review Tania! We’ll pass on your kind words to the front desk team and look forward to seeing you at future resident events too, there will be more of them coming soon!

From our records, the fault on your underfloor heating/cooling was resolved, but if not, please get in touch in the usual fashion.

Legendary staff

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Visually stunning, though the design of the flats means noise/ impact on floors is clearly heard above/below. Facilities are great though the closing of them is wrong I think. We paid to use these facilities, the gym closes at 10 and roof at 12. STAFF ARE GREAT!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Transport links are great, nearby corner shops and close enough to get to larger supermarkets. Noise can be an issue being based next to a working wharf and outdoor pub space.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the roof/ gym all closes at midnight.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Handled well. Response times are quick and had desired outcome.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Nick! Thanks for calling the team legendary – we’ll certainly pass that on!

Regarding the roof closures overnight – these are in place for the comfort of the residents who live on the 10th and 21st floors, but also relate to some planning restrictions so unfortunately, we’re unable to keep them open any longer than they currently are. If you’d like to discuss this further with us, please do get in touch with at residentrelations@essentialliving.co.uk

Also, if you notice that the working wharf on the other side of Deptford Creek is noisier than usual, please do get in touch with us as we do regularly monitor noise pollution in this area.

Great location and Support Staff make this an ideal place to live and commute from

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The care taken (cleaning etc) during the COVID lockdown and which continues has been top noch. As well as the amenties such as the BBQ pits / Lounge area / Gym and Pool table – all of which help to create a psuedo community within the building.

And lastly but not fogotten are the Residents Team who are quick to resolve our queries / concerns etc – keep up the good work 🙂

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Easy access to Canary Wharf/ Greenwich Market and London Bridge via Publick Transport (DLR / Trains) as well the variety of local shops (some boutique)

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How friendly all of the Residents Team / local residents are and of course if you love dogs there is no shortage 🙂

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The Residents have been very good in resolving the queries I have raised

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Union Wharf, SE8
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Jon. It’s good to hear the recognition of the cleaning team throughout the pandemic and we’ll certainly pass on your kind words to them and to the front desk team too.

Life on the wharf

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Stylish modern decor, fantastic facilities on 22nd floor communal lounge with games available to use, gym, barbecues, dining room you can hire and excellent views. It’s cleverly furnished and arranged to segment areas so you still have some privacy if it’s busy. All the building staff are super nice and helpful. We’ve been here for nearly two years – it’s really easy and convenient

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent selection of restaurants, bars etc. in nearby Deptford and Greenwich, and lots of great food stalls in Greenwich market. Greenwich park

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing particular, I really like living here, it suits us perfectly

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We haven’t had any particular issues, but leaking dishwasher dealt with promptly

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you both for your review. We’ll pass on your kind words to the team!

Very positive!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

All in all I would massively recommend anyone to move to this building! Really friendly and helpful staff, 24 hour concierge, really nicely decorated flats and communal space, great location for transport/shops/river/park/pubs and overall great place to live.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good – Managed amazingly by the staff, well decorated, good location to amenities.
Bad – Quite noisy on the side opposite the building works.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The noise of the building work opposite.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Really well! Always happy to help and super quick to respond.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We’ll pass on your kinds words to the team on the desk.

If you notice that the working wharf on the other side of Deptford Creek is noisier than usual, please do get in touch with us as we do regularly monitor noise pollution in this area.

Great place to live

Review Date Aug 2021

Building has excellent facilities, including communal social areas, BBQs and a gym. The rooftop area is a great place to socialise when the weather is nice, with great views across London.

The on site team are very friendly and helpful and work hard to deal with all issues in your flat quickly.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location, close to Greenwich and Cutty Sark stations, meaning you can easily get to Bank or London Bridge direct. There is also a clipper stop and good bus links.

Good selection of local bars and restaurants within walking distance, and across the road from a Waitrose. Very nice area to live, with Greenwich Park and Greenwich Market nearby.

The development is beside a main road but sound proofing in the flat works well and you don’t notice traffic noise. There is a working wharf near the development which can be noisy, with irregular working hours.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

On site parking is available at an extra cost. There is limited street parking near the development but not enough for all the vehicles in the area. If you need a car, factor the cost of parking into your total costs.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The on site team deal with issues in your flat quickly.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for your review Matt.

If you notice that the working wharf on the other side of Deptford Creek is noisier than usual, please do get in touch with us as we do regularly monitor noise pollution in this area.

Great to live @ Collier Point, Union Wharf!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

We love that the building is fairly new and modern. The common areas and the gym were definitely a selling point for us. It’d be amazing if we could have more variety and amount of gym equipment (treadmill, another bike) but I understand there’s a space restriction. I also wish residents would be a bit more considerate about the outdoor furniture when smoking up in the terrace but doubt management could do much about it!

SO happy UW is pet friendly, otherwise it would’ve simply not been a choice for us.

Both property and building management have been very accommodating to our needs. The Residents team are absolute rockstars! Shout out to Ines, Mukthar, and Astrid who have been there since we moved in! 🙂

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Union Wharf has plenty of restaurants and pubs nearby, some more for families and large groups and others for the younger crowd. The location is great in terms of proximity to transport with both train, DLR, and bus lines just minutes away; plus a recently built bike path just across our building! If living on a lower floor, some sides of the building can get busier/noisier at times but overall, the windows do a good job reducing street and creek traffic noise if kept closed. The building is also a few streets from Greenwich Market, Cutty Sark and the Naval College and Greenwich Park which for us is a huge plus! Waitrose right across the street and Deptford market nearby are also handy for quick groceries!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We would’ve liked knowing that the creek is quite active with activity from the factory nearby and it’s dependent on the tide, so not tied to a schedule, so that we could taken it into consideration when choosing which apartment we’d move forward with. We’ve moved since then within the same building and are very happy in our new unit.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building Management responded to our initial issues with the heating system and got it fixed! There was a neighbourhood internet outage once and they sent timely communications updating on progress.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review Natalia. We’ll pass on your kind words to the rockstars on the front desk!

We’re keen to improve the gym at Union Wharf and would love to hear what kind of equipment and facilities you’d be keen to see. We’d really appreciate you taking the time to email us at residentrelations@essentialliving.co.uk or get in touch with us in the usual fashion with your suggestions.

If you notice that the working wharf on the other side of Deptford Creek is noisier than usual, please do get in touch with us as we do regularly monitor noise pollution in this area.

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8
User submitted image of Union Wharf, SE8

Location

Essential Living
Number of developments 4

4.58

Average rating based on 312 reviews

View company