The Silk District, E1

By
Mount Anvil
3rd
Ranked 3rd out of 132 in Tower Hamlets
4.77 (16 reviews) 4.77 (16 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.75
Facilities
4.69
Design
4.50
Location
4.31
Value
4.80
Management

Excellent

88%

Very Good

13%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Managed by L&Q, The Silk District offers one, two and three-bedroom apartments, plus studios. Additionally, it is close to Whitechapel’s London Underground and London Overground stations. As well as this, it is within walking distance of Shoreditch and Brick Lane.

Read more Read less

Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Verified
Showing 16 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

I would thoroughly recommend The Silk District to anyone i know.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

I would thoroughly recommend The Silk District to anyone i know. The development far exceeds any other development in the surrounding area and is truly a one of a kind. The facilities are incredible and everyone who works on the development goes out of their way to be friendly and answer any questions you might have.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Whitechapel is a vibrant area that is full on interesting people, events and amenities. The Silk District, although very different to the surrounding area, fits in perfectly.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The amenities available far exceed what i expected, in both availability and quality.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

have yet to require any help from the building management

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Comfortable Home

Review Date Sep 2021

Design is very good, can fit in with the nearby buildings. The house is big and definitely worth the price . Many space for storage and for placing furniture. Cater to home owners needs. More over the building management team is very supportive, they response to your email and follow up on all our building issues, even if it’s very minor. There is also good communication between occupiers and property management, via email and post.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Convenient, many shops nearby. People are generally nice. Good bin collection system. Haven’t seen any antisocial behaviour or traffic noise.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

for the floorplans, more detailed dimension can be given so one can easily find suitable furniture for their home.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes and all of them are solved in an effective and timely manner.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The brilliant place place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

I think the parking is a bit annoyed which can be more organized. Besides I am looking forward to more social activities nearby or within the neighborhood. I have few friends here and want to know more about people in the same building but I am a bit shy. The food and delivery service can be more organized as well since there are too many doors for delivery guys to open

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The building is magnificent and the service is brilliant. It is quite convenient for shopping. The largest sainsbury in London city is just 5 minutes walk away. Neighbors are friendly as well. Most importantly, the gym is great for me to have one hour work out everyday and it is just on the ground floor for free! I do enjoy living here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The air flow and heating system. I bought a big desk before moving in but the problem is I can just set it below the air tunnel so it is quite cold in winter

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quite quickly and efficiently. I used to switched off my fridge when I went to travel for weeks. The management team just response to my inquiry quickly and solve it.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Highly recommend Silk District E1 to any young professionals

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The development is great and has excellent facilities. Our concierge team are always super helpful and friendly. We have a large balcony that overlooks the central jardín plus a Juliet balcony on our main bedroom which we love. The flat also has loads of space and there’s a communal bike room in the block for all the residents.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Love the area, mostly families and young professionals. Some great pubs about and only a 20 min walk to shoreditch. Also a short cycle to Victoria Park – the best park in London!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The royal London hospital is behind the development and they have an air ambulance that takes off from the roof quite frequently and is pretty loud. But the noise doesn’t last long and the flat is fairly soundproof with the doors shut.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes we haven’t had many issues but whenever we have it has been quick and easy to get in touch with building management and they resolved the issue swiftly.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Fantastic development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Fanstastic development – brand new, modern and clean. Cinema and gym facilities make all the difference. Concierge are super lovely and really helpful. The building noise can be problematic, especially as it takes place on Saturday too. However triple glazing makes it easier to block out.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great accesible area to surrounding places eg shoreditch. Free parking available outside working hours which is very useful for visitors.
Immediate local area is very busy and vibrant but doesn’t have the best selection of restaurants/bars

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish we’d have known about the extent of the building work

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We haven’t had any issues aside from keys from the postbox and they dealt with it very quickly.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Silk District!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Great building with lots of great facilities and friendly helpful staff. It’s very convenient having a gym in the building and I’ve enjoyed using the cinema and garden spaces with friends. Very happy here and would definitely recommend it to others looking to move.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location, with lots of amenities on the door step. It’s also located very close to the tube station and near to two cycle super highways which makes it very easy to get around.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How long the rest of the building work is going to take..

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We haven’t had any issues but in general they have been very helpful.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  The Silk District, E1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

I love the design on the building. It’s modern, with the latest technology which makes it so much easier for us tech savvy (or not even tech savvy) to live our busy london life. The concierge available is always on hand to handle our queries and very polite. Can’t fault them at all.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Whitechapel is a very diverse area, with access to so many local shops ranging from everything you need, to things you might not even know you needed. It’s a short walk to into the centre, with Algate and Tower Hill not too far. There is no parking on site. The noise level could be quieter but with construction still going on and the hospital helicopter pad close by.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Not being from London, I feel i’ve found an absolute amazing place. It would have been nice to know there is a helicopter pad that is loud when it arrives.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Slowly, would advise the management to be more aware of the appliances in the apartment to help with queries.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern Apartment with Gym and Cinema facilities at a reasonable price.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The apartments are brand new and modern. All Kitchen appliances are of latest technology. Furnitures look classy and stylish. The one bedroom apartment is very spacious for a couple. Apartment also has heating system and Intercom with video and audio function. Would definitely recommend to have a look!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The property is located in Zone 2 close to Whitechapel tube station. The apartment has gym, cinema and a bike storage. The concierge team is very friendly and helpful. There’s on going construction next to the property, however with windows shut no sound can be heard inside. Further there are many restaurants nearby, Royal Hospital, Tesco Metro and a Huge Sainsbury. Everything is available here in this area that a family would need.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Difficulty in getting deliveries to the right location as it is a new property and on going construction.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have always been helpful and friendly. You can rely on them to resolve any issues you have.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Almost perfect

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Design is very good and facilities are very well kept. The inclusion of concierge makes it very convenient for deliveries. Staff is very nice and polite and always willing to help. However, we have had issues with being able to put our washing on the balcony. Many tenants did it, so we assume no one has a problem with it except for the building management. Also it is a bit disturbing that we cannot put our washing out, but people can sunbathe in the common areas.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The place has excellent connection for public transport. However, there is always construction going on.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We wish we had known how warm the flats can get as it can get unbearable on hot days.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very well, except to the policy regarding what can be put on the balcony.

4
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Georgette apartments

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Facilities are great, they would need bigger gym for 5stars. Design is modern. Balcony is a great size. Would be great to have access to the rooftop but I am aware this is probably unreasonable. Looking forward to having the workspace and garden fully open.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location, great amenities near by. Can cater for almost everything whether you want old fashioned London or modern development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We moved in without viewing it but it’s disappointing we will lose our view.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes they have fixed one or two very minor issues we encountered

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The Silk District, Awsome!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The design of the building is amazing. The flats are well insulated and spacious. When all of the windows are closed the flats are silent to the noise outside. The management of the building is excellent is great, the concierge is super helpful with receiving parcels.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The Silk District is a great development in a great area with amazing facilities. The location is questionable however, it is within walking distance to Whitchapple and Bethnal Green station.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known that the gym is only open to tenants of the building and not to guests.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The Building management has been super helpful with any problems I have had.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of The Silk District, E1

Facilities

24 Hours

24 Hours

Balcony

Balcony

On Site Cafe

On Site Cafe

Cinema

Cinema

Coworking

Coworking

Concierge

Concierge

Gym

Gym

Parking

Parking

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Also by this company

Explore other developments by Mount Anvil

Location

Mount Anvil
Number of developments 16

4.31

Average rating based on 215 reviews

View company