The Kell, ME4

By
Way of Life
3rd
Ranked 3rd out of 17 in Kent
4.58 (38 reviews) 4.58 (38 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.68
Facilities
4.63
Design
4.53
Location
4.47
Value
4.66
Management

Located in Gillingham, The Kell is a Build to Rent development managed by Way of Life. It offers 192 new apartments with a mix of one, two and three bedroom apartments.  As well as this, development is pet-friendly and residents have access to an onsite team with 24/7 CCTV security. Furthermore residents can benefit from secure bike storage and private balconies with views over the Chatham Docks.

Read more Read less

The Kell, ME4 Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 38 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Modern, stylish, spotlessly clean, great security, superb views and an excellent management team!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

Brand new building with a modern stylish design. Everything you could possibly need: bike racks, secure parcel room, secure mailbox, super-fast broadband, great building security, a great on-site team. The buildings are cleaned regularly so they’re always spotlessly clean. A lovely roof-top garden where you can sit and enjoy the views of the water (and weather!) as well as a communal sitting room (again with great views of the water ) if you fancy getting away from things for an hour or two. Over all, I’m really impressed with and more than happy to be living at The Kell.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Walking distance to a local supermarket (Asda), pub and a stones throw away from a large shopping centre with various restaurants, etc. (Dockside). Great transport links into London either by train or car.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I was informed of everything from the moment I viewed the property and was kept up-to-date throughout the application process.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Susan, Patricia and the rest of building management team are excellent. Always willing to help, friendly and super-fast to respond to any queries or issues I’ve had. If the powers that be read these reviews: keep hold of them; they’re golden and in my opinion, a massive credit to your organisation!

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Andy,

Many thanks for your fantastic feedback and we do hope you’re settling in well.

Your comments on the overall design, appliances and quality of the management team are really enjoyable to read.

As always, you know where we are if you ever need anything.

Best Wishes,

The Kell Team

Roger’s review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Good facilities. Some tenants create the down side with dogs urinate in lift and they do not clean it up. Also tenants overfill the rubbish bins near the door when there are several empty bins available.
Lifts a bit slow in general overall very good

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close to supermarkets and main roads. Very convenient for me.
Parking is limited and balcony very exposed

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Car park space quite tight and limited with no space for visitors

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I have had no problem s but always approachable and pleasant

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

If you’re looking for an apartment for a small size family in Gillingham then you’d love the Kell

Review Date Oct 2022

The design at the Kell is superb and up to date. The apartment is spacious open plan living with ensuite master bedroom and fully furnished to taste.
The managers of the building are very warm and excellent at what they do. They attend promptly to any concerns you raise.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We are well surrounded by local shops within walkable distance eg Lidl, ASDA and Tesco. The transport network is great as there are a number of bus stops within the neighborhood and the train station is a short away.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That would be the fact that parking isn’t available for all tenants

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are very responsive with issues of maintenance. The only time I raised a concern it was fixed within 48hours.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amazing Way of Life!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

The building management and property management people are excellent, There was a small leak in my apartment but it was fixed the next day. The guys on reception are very helpful with any inquiries you have about anything including parking. The design of the building including the lifts Are excellent. I have found it to be quite a warm building and I haven’t actually turned on my heating at all, I am now into my 2nd year there And I am very happy to stay.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Fantastic building I have just renewed my lease. The security aspect of the building is out of this world, There really is nothing like it in Gillingham. There is some noise from the Commercial units nearby Which can be a little annoying At night.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Security is priority for me, even down to the carpark. You will not find better around here..

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes and always responded promptly and professionally.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I give the Kell a 100% trust me when I say I’m impressed!

Review Date Oct 2022

I really appreciate the designs and facilities and the building management and property management. I give them an excellent one, especially those at the reception. Furkan and Colleague, they are very welcoming and patient putting on a smile always and very professional. I really got attracted to this place because of them. Their communication skills is 100% and I really love it

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A good proximity to variety of shops.
Very close to major bus stops
Don’t like the parking availability, we don’t need to pay for parking space with separately.
Bin collection is excellent and everything else is very good.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I viewed the apartment and was happy about all I saw except the residence parking which I didn’t totally understand or like the idea of paying a separate fee apart from the rent

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have been excellent, and times when they need more time before acting they do well to communicate properly

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

10/10, very grateful for the massive work and help, keep the good work!!

Review Date Oct 2022

I have just arrived in UK and as a newcomer, I find the experience excellent. Every single staff member tries the best possible to work for my and my family’s comfort. the building is extremely secure, and the apartment modern and new. the furniture is of excellent quality. I hope all keep on the same standards
thanx for everything WOL

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

the area is calm and relaxing. with spaces to enjoy a walk, close to ASDA supermarket and a restaurant

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

the parking situation. looks like a long waiting list

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

the management of the building is of a very high standard. keeps the building in good shape. always available for help

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

So far so good 👍

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

I feel the design is modern and the building is secure. I like the secure parking albeit that some individuals ignore allocated parking rules. I think building management is good and I like the current property management team. I feel the building has experienced a range of residents that were disrespectful of others in how they treat the property, but with the new property management team this is being rectified. I find the team very responsive and attentive and very much appreciate their efforts and support 👏

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Transport links are close although I rarely use public transport. A good pub is very close and some decent shops also quite close within a mile. Bluewater and lakeside are also a short drive. Traffic noise is minimal. Bin collections are regular.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Don’t be afraid to raise concerns as from my experience the property management team want to improve residents Iiving experiences.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes. When incidents have happened the management team have understood and been responsive. I particularly liked the considerate response to a pigeon problem.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

My husband and myself enjoy living here

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

The design I find is Ok, the facilities are fine and the team in reception are really great, any problems just report it and it is actioned, the problem that seems to be re-ocurring at the moment is that the lifts is the North Block keep breaking down.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I moved here in May, if you drive you have a lot more open to you for supermarkets, the Mast & Rigging is always open for pub grab. The parking is difficult as there are no visitors’ bays and residents also have to pay for parking.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Paying for parking for residents and any visitors.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any problems raised they are normally sorted the same day or the following day

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great service from Furkan and all other staff

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Very good and practical with good location and access to main roads and location to station is great. All shopping is available and within walking distance. The management team is on site and available and always very helpful. They resolve issues regarding complaints very effectively and quick

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I have had excellent service from the staff at The Kell from the day I applied to rent to a few months after aI have moved out when they provided details I required to resolve a dispute with Leap the water supplier. Furkan has been an absolute star and have responded to all my queries efficiently and in a very short time.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

More details about the availability and cost of the parking

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Great team and Furkan is a gem! She provided excellent service and replied to all my email very quick and provided all the information I needed.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice but disappointing

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

Fairly new, modern development. Major construction site and noise next door. Nice communal spaces. But workmanship and finishes aren’t great. Feels a bit like a hotel, so not terribly welcoming. The area is industrial, so long walk/short drive to local shops and stain apart from Asda, which is at least within walking distance.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice enough apartment block with decent facilities and WiFi included. But construction noise that started a week after in I moved is awful. Starting at 7am and often overrunning beyond 6pm, Mondays to Fridays. The construction will obscure lovely view of The Medway from one of the buildings. There’s also no on-site parking spaces available with a long waiting list. The nearby public car park is expensive and dusty because of construction. Thin ceilings means you can hear people walking up and down in flat above. Also no 6-month break clause to tenancy and no smoking on balconies even though occupants of development next door are allowed to. Big Asda next door is good. But awful smell in lifts and alarm going off constantly in lobby. Air circulation filters were filthy with cement dust from construction and LED bulbs failed within a month of moving in, yet Management expect you to for the bill for replacements.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Major construction site next door.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Friendly maintenance, but only on site once a week.

4
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Maz,

We thank you for your feedback.

Please could you contact us at thekell@wayoflife.com to discuss your review further and to rectify your concerns.

Best Wishes,

It is a lovely place to live in.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2022

It’s a new building and it’s quite normal that there are some minor issues. The most important things is that the team is always ready to help. Whenever I had any issues the team took care of it very quickly. Design in sitting room area and in the flats is amazing. Very well taken care of.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I have been a resident in The Kell for the last 6 months. I have been very happy with the management team. They are extremely kind and helpful. The environment is quite nice. It takes 18 minutes from the residence to Gillingham train station by foot and the train to London Victoria takes 45 minutes. The biggest shopping center Asda is in 2 minutes walking distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I have been very well informed about simply everything about the building and the area.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Their response was extremely quick. Team is very friendly and kind. They made me feel secure, comfortable and I think I could simply compare my experience to a 5 star hotel.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Abdullah,

Many thanks for your fantastic feedback and we do hope you’re continuing enjoying living at the Kell.

Your comments on the overall design, location and quality of the management team are really enjoyable to read.

As always, you know where we are if you ever need anything.

Best Wishes,

The Kell Team

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Facilities

Balcony

Balcony

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

Coworking

Coworking

Communal Gardens

Communal Gardens

Lounge

Lounge

Parcel Lockers

Parcel Lockers

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Secure Storage

Secure Storage

Security

Security

WiFi Included

WiFi Included

Location

Way of Life
Number of developments 5

4.63

Average rating based on 429 reviews

View company