1st
Ranked 1st out of 7 in Newcastle
4.63 (based on 44 reviews) 4.63 (44 reviews)

Category Scores

4.80
Facilities
4.55
Design
4.73
Location
4.36
Value
4.66
Management

The Forge is a HomeViews award-winning More. ‘Superenting’ scheme by Moorfield situated at the heart of Stephenson Quarter next to Newcastle station. It comprises of 283 pet-friendly, one, two and three-bedroom apartments. Residents have access to range of facilities and amenities. These include a 24-hour on-property concierge service, a private gym, as well as a landscaped courtyard garden. In addition, apartments are available in furnished and unfurnished options and come in modern designs, with premium furniture packages.

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£1,030 pcm
Apartment 103 North
2 Bed
2 Bath
656 sq ft
The Forge
More info
£1,040 pcm
the forge
Apartment 105 North
2 Bed
2 Bath
667 sq ft
The Forge
More info
£1,090 pcm
Apartment 211 North
2 Bed
2 Bath
678 sq ft
The Forge
More info
£1,280 pcm
Apartment 010 West
3 Bed
2 Bath
840 sq ft
The Forge
More info
£1,355 pcm
Apartment 113 West
3 Bed
2 Bath
840 sq ft
The Forge
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 44 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Highly Recommend The Forge!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

We have lived at The Forge for a little over 7 months and can’t speak highly enough about living here. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The entire team have handled COVID well, as we felt extremely safe given the number of residents living here. Extremely grateful to how seriously they’ve taken COVID protocols and following government guidelines. They organized lockdown challenges to help residents feel connected and energized during lockdown – which I think is above and beyond what one would expect for any apartment block of its size.

We had the chance to use the common areas (lounge and gym) prior to lockdown and both are spot on. Gym is definitely well equipped for an apartment block gym.

Minor points (but it would not prevent me from recommending The Forge):
– As this building is electric only, the electricity bill can be high in the colder months if not careful.
– Most appliances and furnishings are nice, suitable and functional for the spaces. The washer/dryer all-in-one unit is convenient to have, but the cycles are not efficient (too long) and the dryer seems like a hazard, so we seldom use it.
– Parking options are somewhat limited and can be expensive depending on proximity to the building, but this was known. For safety purposes, we chose to park nearby at the structure across the street, which is expensive (£120/mo) – independent of The Forge. A lower rate would always be great!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Conveniently located close to the Quayside and train station. It’s also very accessible to main motorways. The nearest grocery stores are at the train station, but there are multiple options for grocery and food delivery because of the location.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Electricity costs, especially in the winter, as mentioned above would have been beneficial to be aware of prior to moving.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any time we’ve raised a maintenance concern, the management team has been quick to respond.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

We greatly appreciate your feedback.

The welfare of our Forge Family members is paramount and we are glad the steps we have taken have made you feel safe. We are pleased the range of adapted events and challenges have also kept you feel connected and energised during these times.

Thank you again from the team and myself.

General Manager
Daniel Armory

Excellent place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Good facilities (safe bike storage, gym) and nice staff on site. Ideal location to live. Activities are organised for residents, e.g. exercise classes and challenges. Design is very nice, good quality furniture and tasteful design. Management is friendly.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Quiet location near river Tyne. Very close (5-10 min walk) to train and metro station. Shops and restaurants nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The good service and helpful staff.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The response is helpful and a tailored solution was always found.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Perfect location and fantastic staff

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The building is beautifully designed. The lounge area is gorgeous and probably my favourite area in the building. The rooms are set out lovely with furnishings that are so easy to personalise and match any colour scheme! The staff are fantastic and make the building feel like a community and making you feel right at home from the moment you walk in. Couldn’t fault them!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s so close to the shops, bars, restaurants, the quayside, the metro radio arena and the train station but nice and quiet on a night time.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Pets are loved by the forge, I was un aware of this at first! There’s a play pen and they’re allowed in the lounge, what more could you want.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Fantastic, always respond straight away to any issues!

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks so much for your positive review! It’s lovely to hear you view our team as fantastic. We love having you as a part of the Forge Family.

Thanks again from myself and the Forge team.

General Manager
Daniel Armory

The Forge Newcastle – Brilliant City Centre Living

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The Forge is very well run by the team with constant residentially access to 24 hour security. The staff have a great relationship with the residents and this helps to build a personal touch for those living there. The flats are finished to a high standard with clean fixtures and fittings. The Forge also has great facilities including a lounge and gym.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The city is fantastic and the Forge could not be more conveniently located. It also has the benefit of being five minutes from the train station.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known about Sachins Indian restaurant opposite the Forge with all its tasty Indian delights

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes many times with quick responses and auctioning of issues

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for the great review. Building relationships with our residents is at the heart of what we strive to do as a team.

Look out on The Forge app for offers on some of the other delights in the city.

Thanks again from The Forge team.

General Manager
Daniel Armory

Resident review.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The building captures elements of modernism and helps to maximise basic needs (daylight etc).
The building is ran superbly well and is always spotless.
As previously mentioned, more green areas would be hugely beneficial to the site from a sustainability side of things and for the nature of the residents. There’s a distinct lack of outdoor space to relax/socialise in.
On the whole though, a superb place to live and I’m never leaving.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Love the proximity to the quayside and the town centre.
Parking is often an issue.
More garden space/greenery on site would’ve been a bonus with living in the town centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Storage can be difficult but the amount of amenities on site can help with the situation (bike storage, etc). When viewing the property you don’t realise how much the staff can provide for you.

What is the best feature of your home:

The building is constantly staffed.

Whether it be parcels or repairs, there is always the appropriate personnel to deal with the situation. It ensures comfortable living and reduces stress surrounding little inconveniences.

5
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  The Forge, NE1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for the wonderful review and valuable feedback.

Sustainability is of key importance to us and we will continue to look at innovative ways to improve this.

We glad to have you as a part of The Forge Family and we are glad you do not wish to leave us anytime soon.

Thanks again from the team and myself.

General Manager
Daniel Armory

Perfect first place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

We absolutely love living in the forge, it’s suits our life style so well. We love our flat and all the facilities that come with it are such a good bonus too. Everything is designed tastefully and being doggy friendly just tops it off. Living in a city centre it is easy to feel unsafe however, I have never felt this way living here, with 24 hour reception and a good maintenance team.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Just up from the lovely quayside, great walks on our door step, not even 10 minutes from the train station meaning we can get to anywhere we like easily. Spoilt for choice with bars and restaurants in Newcastle too!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

A couple of the cupboards were smaller than we once thought, one with the boiler in and one above the sink. I wish there had been slightly more storage space, some cupboards are really deceiving.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Always easy to fix a problem however their have been minimal problems during our time living in The Forge.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

A great place to live! The development is super stylish. The bathrooms are especially nice with little luxuries such as heated mirrors. It’s got great amenities incl. a gym and little doggy park. Management & staff are great and always so friendly!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s in walking distance to pubs and restaurants along the quayside as well as a short walk to the city centre. Super close to the train station too – about a 5 minute walk!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Plan for high(ish) heating bills.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

A better internet provider and more efficient heating system.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Loving Life At The Forge

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Brilliant living at the Forge. The development is a fantastic development. Staff are second to none from the management down. It is rare to meet such fantastic people but the Forge appears to have nailed it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Almost on the quayside and very close to Central Station. Loads to do and lots of restaurants and bars very close.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wished I had done it sooner.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would like to be able to book the fantastic facilities for longer. However I know I have to share.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amazingly Modern

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The overall building is beautiful, it’s extremely modern and super homely. All furniture in the building comes beautifully designed, along with the furniture inside the flat itself. The building management team are always so incredibly helpful and welcoming, they really make you feel at home and always strive to solve any issues you may have. The downstairs gym is a great asset and provides no excuse to not work out – which is great! Beautiful building, amazing management and overall a place you wouldn’t want to leave!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is lovely and for the most part peaceful, theres a Sainsbury’s opposite the building, and we’re just a short walk away from Booths supermarket and pubs and restaurants

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The only thing I wish I was advised about is the bill providers, as we had a few issues with Ecotricity at the beginning.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of my home is the flat itself, it’s super modern and just so homely. Everything was new and clean upon arrival and is everything I expected and more!

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The place to be!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

The building has had its restrictions in place due to Covid 19 however everything has remained available with the exception of the gym! This has just reopened and is a very modern well equipped gym. The service from the concierge team is fantastic and I have felt really welcomed since moving.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I have recently moved to Newcastle and feel The Forge is in the perfect location to get around the city, and with great transportation links! Local to all amenities and with a gym and a lounge area onsite you really have everything at your fingertips.
The closest local Sainsbury’s is a 5 minute walk and a further 5 minutes you have access to leisure facilities cinema/bars/restaurants as well as an shopping mall.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The use of the resident app! I brought so much stuff but there was lots of residents selling or offering items and I could have saved on a few purchases.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Nothing can be changed I just wish Newcastle wasn’t so hilly!!!

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello Natalie,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at The Forge.

The team will be delighted to hear your positive feedback.

We are pleased you have chosen to be a part of The Forge Family and hope to help you create lasting positive memories.

Any support you need around our wonderful city then please just ask. Remember we have offers from local businesses exclusive to our residents on The Forge app to help give you a taste of Newcastle.

Best wishes and regards from The Forge team,

The place to be!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

The forge offers a range of facilities from gym to communal areas that are always clean and tidy, offering great space to socialise.

From the stylish apartments with standard appliances that create the perfect place to relax.

The staff from the GM and the RSA’s are all very welcoming and helpful.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great place to move into especially if your relocating to Newcastle.
Its ideally located to the city centre and quayside where you will find all the restaurants and bars!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Watch the heating in winter!

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

With the furnishings being modern and up to date would say a nicer more comfier sofa would be ideal
Especially when entertaining.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Welcoming & homely

Review Date Apr 2020

The building has a wide variety of facilities that help you feel welcome and at hone. This is supported by the very friendly and welcoming team who are always happy to help with any enquiry or issue you have. The design is very modern and makes you feel proud to live here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location for access to a variety of shops, restaurants, transport etc.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are frequent social events for the whole development to access that I wasn’t aware of before I moved in!

What is the best feature of your home:

The design and furniture that is provided are modern and homely.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Perfect place to have a luxurious stay in the heart of the city with smiling faces.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

It was one of the best properties i lived in and i was really happy with the place. All its decor, facilities, liveliness and proximity to city center was amazing. Specially the reception staff was amazing specially Kristina and Kelly. They both were stars according to me. They made our stay wonderful.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing more

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quick and prompt. Always ready and helpful for resolving any issue

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of The Forge, NE1
Image of The Forge, NE1
Image of The Forge, NE1
Image of The Forge, NE1

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Gym

Gym

Communal work area/lounge

Communal work area/lounge

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Location

More. ‘Superenting’

About More. ‘Superenting’

Launched by Moorfield Group, the More. “Superenting” schemes are designed for the modern ‘Superenter’.  Each More. scheme boasts stylish buildings…
Number of developments 3

4.68

Average rating based on 150 reviews

View company
Allsop Letting and Management

About Allsop Letting and Management

This independent property consultancy strives to have a people focused approach. The success of Allsop has built up over 100…
Number of developments 3

4.68

Average rating based on 150 reviews

View company