Queen Mary’s Place, SW15

Queen Mary’s Place, SW15

By
St James
4.00 (33 reviews) 4.00 (33 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.30
Facilities
4.21
Design
3.79
Location
3.76
Value
3.66
Management

Queen Mary’s Place is in a countryside setting, surrounded by the greenery of Richmond Park and Putney Heath, and close to Putney and East Putney stations. A collection of apartments and houses, the complex is neighboured by another well-known residential development – the Grade I-listed Roehampton House.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Queen Mary’s Place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

I bought my flat 3 years ago and I am the third owner of the property. There has always been a great turnover of flats with lots of people moving in and there is always a very friendly atmosphere on the site. I had no issues when purchasing via an estate agent, there was just a period of registering with the management company and to register with the various facilities on site like the gym.

I chose Queen Mary’s Place as I have always lived in West London so I know the area well. I liked the fact that the flat was modern and very little work needed to be done to the flat. The apartment itself was already well insulated and the features were all working properly. For communal areas we have the gym, gardens and the underground garage, which I would say are all relatively well maintained. The site is also very safe with CCTV cameras and security. I was originally nervous about the proximity to the University, but they are always in contact with tenants about the events they put on like Fresher’s Week and their Summer Ball, and I have had no issues with any noise problems.

What I love most about my flat are the views. I fell in love with the view over to Roehampton house, which was the original basis of the development. Not every flat has this view however but all the properties on the site are quite spacious and very individual. Mine is definitely very modern and nice. It is always really warm inside, what makes it great for winter as I barely need the heating on. For the summer even if it gets a bit hot inside, the ventilation system is very good. I live by myself and I am fortunate to have a full en-suite bathroom.

For the interior design of the flat, I decided to pick up on the earthy tones of the nearby Richmond park by pairing wooden furniture with wooden flooring, alongside a couple of featured walls with grey wallpaper, which are a nice offset to the white walls. I have also chosen specific artwork to compliment the earthy tones of the flat. I haven’t done any additional work to the flat so I don’t know how the process works.

I know one or two of my neighbours on the site and we do have an informal Facebook group for residents. There was previously more of a sense of community when I first moved in as there was a mini bus service that would take you to the nearby station for work, but this service was cancelled as the bus was coming to the end of its life. This caused a lot of protest from residents as it did bring more of a sense of community within the development, as it meant it was an easy way to say hello and chat to your neighbours who were on a similar commute. There have been sporadic attempts to put on a summer picnic by the building management but this year it was cancelled.

I am never too sure to rely on the estate management and the estate manager as there have been a lot of turnovers in the past and they are not always helpful. As a management company, there are sometimes challenging to deal with. For example, we have a Key fob that allows entry into the development and mine ran out of battery. I wanted to get it replaced so I rang up the management company and they quoted me £50, which seemed quite expensive. I asked residents on our Facebook group and they said I would get better deal at Timpson’s which I eventually went for instead. It seems as if the management company are not there to get you the best deals and I have had similar issues previously with having to pay extra for parking permits when we already pay a service charge.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It feels like Roehampton and Queen’s Mary Place exist in a bubble without the convenience of the transport and amenities in Central London. For every journey you always have to end taking a bus. There is a pub down the round and a couple of convenience stores nearby. Richmond Park is lovely and is also quite close, and is great for running and exercising.
Supermarkets are a bus ride away and Putney is also accessible, with more shops and things to do.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The service charge is expensive. There are as well too many rules as for example you need a special request for having pets, no boxes for flowers are allowed in balconies, you cannot barbecue in certain areas, etc. Some people might find it quite restrictive, but personally it doesn’t bother me.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely modern development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

The development is now well-established and community spirit is growing, especially under the current circumstances of coronavirus. The design remains fresh and modern, the facilities include gardened areas, parking and a gym for residents. The building management is good, with handymen on site and plumbing or other issues often fixed rapidly. I would like to see property management become less directive and more inclusive, providing ways for residents to support each other instead of focusing on what can be placed on a balcony (or not)!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Roehampton is fantastically located for green spaces, including Putney Heath, Richmond Park and Wimbledon Common. The local amenities are centred in a quadrant and are quite basic – a coop, a pharmacist, a Greggs. There is a nice Youngs pub which is often busy. Transport links are bus-dependent and have gotten worse with the closure of the Hammersmith Bridge to traffic last year.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That they were planning to stop the daily residents bus service to Putney!

What is the best feature of your home:

Modern facilities and self-heating make it a wonderful, easy and safe place to come home to.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Slight rant

Review Date Mar 2021

We have lived here for 3 years now and the standard of the housekeeping and maintenance is getting progressively worse. We tried talking to one of the contractors who was blocking the corridor whilst carrying out some electrical works in our block and he couldn’t even speak English. How do we know he is even qualified to do these works? What is even more annoying is the money that has been spent on the Estate Managers office refurbishment when there are areas of our block and the site in general that are unsightly. I was speaking to one of the apartment owners and she told me the work was costing 45k? Surely that is not correct? I will definitely be speaking to one of the directors to clarify this. Anyway, rant over. Hopefully things will improve. Maree

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We love the area, the transport links and the local amenities.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew the resident meeting details

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Generally quite good comms from the BM but none of the contractors seem to speak English, are poorly attired and do not even carry I.D. Very poor . I can only presume they are cheap and doubt they are qualified for certain aspects of work carried out which is concerning!

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Quite good overall

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The development is quite good overall but there are some pet restrictions. You have to apply for a permit and the process took longer than I hoped. The buildings look very modern and are designed well, which makes the development nice to live in.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The traffic around the area is not good. I wish that there were tube or railway links nearby. The area overall feels quite safe.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No

4
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Renter

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Nice water feature maze and garden
Feels very safe and really good for families of all ages
A little rough outside the boundary and not close supermarkets or train stations
Well made flats with good quality materials

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Really good community feel but not well connected to central lomdon

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

All information that the letting service gave was accurate

5
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Calm environment

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Overall my personal experience is very positive in terms of the area, as it stands not too far from the high street which has has many nice shops and is very community based and we have a close knit relationship with the local Spanish community.

Gym facilities is very accessible which is good for working out especially looking good in this nice hotel weather.

Also the unique layout has made me appreciate the area and how I feel welcomed as part of the community.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A wonderful feature about the catchment areally is that it is very calm in its nature which makes it a great place to live in asome happy residents.

A thing that is not desireableasy with this area is that their is bad traffic jams during public and private events within the area, which can be stressful and inconvenienthe at times of travelling to work.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I already knew about the area so there were really no experience rations before hand.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Enjoyable to live here

Review Date Jul 2019

I was one of the first people to move in and it has been really nice to live here. Any issues that I have had have been dealt with quickly. The size is good for me but maybe not for large families with kids. The development is well maintained and is nice and quiet.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Quiet, very convenient transport for eveywhere I need to go. The area seems safe and is nice to live in.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No, the development has been a really nice place to live for the past 10 years.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Really good gardens and facilities such as an on site gym.
Security is good and they crack down on any problems with other residents quite quickly. Proprty is a good size, larger than some others that I have see.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very nice area, lots of parks, easy to get to Putney for more shops and restaurants (not many in Roehampton).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No, the area is really nice and I haven’t really had any problems so far.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Renter

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Like peaceful atmosphere in the day time
Noisy people moved in which is annoying as not so quiet anymore
Good Gym which we use a lot
Don’t use transport as it’s not frequent enough so have own bike
No shops
Good location small

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like the location in general but wish it was closer to shops

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

More green plan than expected
Close to big parks

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Looks good but poorly made

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The buildings are well designed and look nice but aren’t made well. In my property the walls are crooked an I had to redo the sockets properly as they were not put in well. The development is nice and quiet overall.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good transport links, bus stops nearby. Area is quiet and pleasant. There are shops nearby but need to go further for restaurants.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known about the build quality before I moved in.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

St James
Number of developments 19

4.20

Average rating based on 186 reviews

View company