Simple Life at Prescot Park, L34

By
Simple Life Homes
Ranked 6th out of 31 in Merseyside
4.27 (15 reviews) 4.27 (15 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.13
Facilities
4.33
Design
4.60
Location
3.80
Value
3.80
Management

Excellent

53%

Very Good

40%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

7%

Located in Knowsley, Prescot Park is a Build to Rent Development with 140 homes.  It offers a mix of 2 and 3 bedroom houses and one and two bedroom apartments. Completed in November 2019, the site provides easy access to local schools, amenities and transport links.

In addition, Prescot and Huyton train stations are nearby which provide direct train services to Liverpool and Manchester. Also, there are regular bus services in walking distance and the M57 is just a mile away.

Prescot town centre’s amenities are less than a mile away, and provide access to a medical centre, post office, high street shops and banks – as well as Cables Retail Park which has a Next and Boots store, a Tesco’s supermarket and M&S food store. There are many schools in the area – 50 ‘Good’ or ‘Outstanding’ Ofsted rated primary and secondary schools.

Read more Read less

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 15 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Great place to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The houses themselves are so modern and built to such a high standard and on the every growing estate we have kids play parks popping up all over the place which is really good and drives home the family values that simple life promote.
We have had no issues with the management teams but am sure they would be quick to respond if required.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is great as it is situated in close proximity of commuter routes such as the motorway and train station however far enough away to not hear them. And there is no shortage of shops and takeaways all within walking distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We didn’t know about all the little events simple life run such as santa visits, ice cream vans and even free pizza!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We had the 1 issue which was dealt with in a very timely manner and turned out we were been over zellis anyway.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Poor management, anything but ‘simple’

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The location of the site is fairly good but the management offered by Simple Life is extremely poor. They are slow to resolve any issues relating to maintenance or poor build quality of the houses. They will also not accept responsibility for any poor service. We had to correspond with the property ombudsman in order to get compensation for the numerous issues occurring during our tenancy. After 3 years of the site opening, the children’s playground is still fenced off and not maintained safely. The grass is full of stones and not overly child-friendly.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Prescot has good transport links, with the train station having recently been refurbished. Prescot Parkway road, upon which you enter the site is unmanaged and dangerous however. Due to the council being unable to adopt the road, there are no proper safety measures put in place. At the top of the site, double-yellow lines should be in place outside Home Bargains. As they are not, cars coming out of the car park have poor visibility causing near crashes on a daily basis.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Avoid Simple Life. If you like the site seek to buy a property, or rent elsewhere.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Better landlords, would not recommend Simple Life.

1
Facilities
1
Design
3
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Matt,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We’re sad to see that you have experienced some issues since renting with us.

Just a few months before receiving this review we did put in place a new management team so we really hope that since then you have seen some great improvements. If you have any issues relating to your property which are outstanding, then we encourage you to report them to your dedicated Asset Manager or on FixFlo for the team to pick up and to get sorted for you ASAP.

We’re also sorry to hear your comments about the park, this isn’t under Simple Life’s management but we will make contact with the relevant parties to try and influence the management of this, in light of your review.

Happy

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Development is nice, but once something looks finished. Things look finished and then dug up again to make the place look untidy and unfinished. When we moved in we had a huge front garden only for the fence to then be moved in over 7 ft to the front of the house making it look dreadful

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Love the area, but a lot of anti social issues caused by the park put in front of property which has been there for over 1 year but never actually opened leaving youths to use as and when they please with only mess fence securing it.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The park that was put in after we moved in. Also the fact you are unable to change anything about the property to make it more homely

What is the best feature of your home:

Kitchen is a good plus, downside is the rest of the house is just standard and unable to change

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Prescot park

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Lovely designed new homes which are Quite unique compared to most new houses. There are not many new build homes to rent that I have seen. There is always someone easily reachable if you have any issues. They seem to always offer additional little touches throughout the year for tenants.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of amenities close by and within walking distance. Nice quiet area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The rent has increased steadily since we moved in. We’re never quite sure when it will rise again.

What is the best feature of your home:

Love the design of the house. The kitchen is my favourite with the skylights. So much natural sunlight!

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

We love Simple Life & Prescot Park

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Our house on Prescot Park is our home. We love where it is but more importantly we love the house. It’s extremely spacious with a fair amount of storage. The fixtures and fittings are of a really good standard. When we’ve needed support we have been able to access this.
I contacted recently about a park/walk through area still not being open and within two days all the fencing was removed and the place was open.
I would definitely recommend Simple Life properties, it has enabled us to have a home.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Prescot Park is the perfect place to live. It’s close to all amenities, shops, transport links, a large variety of restaurants and soon we are even to get a theatre. The street itself is really friendly and mostly quiet apart from a couple of annoying barking dogs.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we had known about the houses sooner.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management has been responded to immediately. Fortunately we haven’t really needed them.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The property management was okay. The only part of the management we was not happy with was the agents used to come into our home without notice to do inspections.
The park which is by Tenlands drive was built before we arrived 18 months ago and it is still not open, we found this quite disappointing as everything else is conveniently close apart from the park.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is very convenient, everything that you need is within walking distsnce (schools, shops, doctors etc).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

None

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The steps in the garden. Me and my wife think it would be more child friendly without the steps and the rocks/hesco on the outskirts.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Prescot park weaver

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The house is modern and stylish, with a spacious main bedroom. The kitchen is the show stopper of the house which is where i spend most of my time. The garden could be improved as it seems whoever did it just turffed over all the rubbish so lawn is full of rocks and is really uneven. Any maintenance issues have been addressed straight away. Its sometimes hard to get hold of management but i put that down to a change of management at the time.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The house is stylish and modern, located within walking distance of all local shops and train station. The street is noisey as its on the main road so traffic is noisey and people walking through. Bins are often an issue.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish i would of known how noisey it was going to be on the main road. Traffic and flow of people i always an issue but not down to simple life just location.

What is the best feature of your home:

The kitchen is the show stopper. I love spending all my time in there.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall a comfortable living experience

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The property in itself was brand new on moving in. However, soon after the minor faults started showing, though none too big to manage: floor boards started creaking, seal on French doors opened to allow insects in and a gap on the outside led to a stain on the inside (very slight) following heavy rain.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like most developments they become over run when they’re any good, and this is no exception. The hallmark, is that the neighbours know each other and it has become a community.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the sun will hit the living room in the afternoon, causing a good amount of glare for using tv, computers in the same room:-)

What is the best feature of your home:

All of it is good but the kitchen and diner is combined to allow for a kitchen island and a big table

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent housing

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

I love the design of my house, good storage, top quality appliances in the kitchen.
The patio windows are massive with side opening windows make it possible to keep fresh air flowing in in any weather.
Everything has been considered I was surprised there was an outside tap and small shed.
Only drawer back is the poor drainage in the back garden in the winter.
All the fencing and back gate are good quality.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Walking distance to cables retail park, Prescot town centre and Prescot railway station. It’s a great location.
I have not had any anti-social behaviour problems it’s very quiet where I live.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I felt fully informed of the area, property and management company

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Drainage in the garden. My garden slopes towards the house and it gets very wet and soggy

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A very nice development in an amazing location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The development is very modern and well planned out. The roads are spacious and parking is not an issue as the majority of houses, if not all houses, have driveways.

One disappointing aspect is that there is a small children’s park that is due to be opened. We have lived in our rental property for over 2 years and it is still to be completed.

The design of the house is good although the garden design has been a problem for us since day 1. The previous tenants also had the same problem in that the garden has terrible drainage problems due to it not being flat. We consequently have rain water that builds up close to the French doors and it causes flooding, especially during the winter months. It’s an almost impossible task to keep on top of the lawn because of that.

In terms of the property and maintenance we haven’t had any problems and the inspections have been fine and not intrusive. The administration of the development by Simple Life has been good although I am confused as to why we had to pay £30 a month for a pet dog for over a year for it to then be cancelled without being refunded.

The development is a pleasant place to live and we have been happy living here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The development is ideally located next to Prescot train station. There are direct trains to the centre of Liverpool which is so convenient. Cables retail park is also a 5 minute walk and so there are many shops and supermarkets nearby.

We live in a corner house that is crossed by 2 streets, although our property feels a tad exposed in terms of privacy, we haven’t had any issues with neighbours and the development is reasonably quiet and traffic is not an issue.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wasn’t aware of the poor quality and design of the garden before we moved in. I also wasn’t aware of how exposed our house is in terms of privacy.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Regarding the lawn, not very well. It still has terrible drainage problems and is impossible to keep on top of. In terms of a couple of maintenance issues that we had in the house, very good.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall pleased with the development

Review Date Jul 2021

Property and building management has improved dramatically with the new reporting system. We had had excellent communication from our management team. We do wonder when the park on our road will be opened up, as it seems to now be finished but not accessible?

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Range of local ammenities is excellent as are the transport links. Blue bin collection is problematic but other collections are good.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Noise levels can be high.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

More patio space, and better levelling of the garden.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Simple Life Homes
Number of developments 36

4.28

Average rating based on 439 reviews

View company