Park Gate, B26

By
Alliance City Living
Ranked 49th out of 81 in West Midlands
3.97 (22 reviews) 3.97 (22 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.50
Facilities
3.73
Design
4.00
Location
3.45
Value
3.82
Management

Park Gate features a mix of studios and one and two-bedroom apartments. These bring together suburban comfort and urban convenience, minutes from Birmingham. Also, the development has excellent transport links to Birmingham city centre. As well as this, and is in a prime position to benefit from the Sheldon Park on it’s doorstep.

In addition, each home at Park Gate features bespoke designs. Large windows fill them with light and create airy living spaces which residents can make their own. Likewise, open-plan designs make each apartment customisable. Similarly, residents can enjoy  communal facilities including a gym, a rooftop work out area and a shared terrace with views over the surrounding area.

Read more Read less

Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 22 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Perfect to call a Home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

Building management staffs are very friendly and helpful. Cleanliness and maintenance is appreciable especially the common areas. Only thing which annoys me would be frequent maintenance shutdown of elevators. I’m really feeling lot of positive about this place.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

All the shops needed for basic living is very near right from the local shops and public transport connectivity.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Having Sheldon park right next to the building is really an awesome add on to the place.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Except for initial issue in setting my broadband through 4th Utility did not had any issue till now.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Park Gate, B26
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Park Gate. Peter and the team will be thrilled.

As for the lift issues you have mentioned. We have unfortunately been hampered with delays in receiving parts for our lifts. As a management team we have felt your frustrations and listened to your feedback and decided to change our preferred supplier to service our lifts. We hope this will ensure we have a much better/quick service should we have any outages in the future.

Thank you.

Great building superb location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

The facilities is great the location of the building is amazing as well close to train station and not far from the city center. Onsite gym is handy for day to day workout and the greenery sheldon country club is great as well. The roof terrance is something needs improvement and i dont think a lot of people use it. Building is always clean

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

If you live by the horse shoe lane there are occasionally noises from the street on if you keep the window open you can hear the data center machines running

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the building would not have guest parking

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They were great through the process of buying, i had a issue in the flat at the beginning and they fixed it still waiting for my freezer door to be fixed since a year ago

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hey Helya, thanks so much for such a lovely review. We are really pleased you are enjoying living here, especially the location (we also love the county club it’s perfect for lunch) and the facilities! Thanks for letting us know about the roof terrance, we think it’s a fantastic space and it would be such a shame to waste it, we will make sure we find ways of getting the community up there again. Thanks again for taking the time to leave us a review, we will also pass on your comments about the high level cleaning to our team who will be really happy to hear there hard work is appreciated by our residents. Many thanks, Bex

Design of the building is very modern.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

Design of the building is very modern. The gym is small but comfortable. Parking spaces are accessible to property owners or tenants only, so could have potential issues with having visitors round. Lifts need fixing correctly as they broke several times however we understand this is out of park gates control. Lovely staff and they are always happy to help

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lovely staff, always clean, friendly, kind,

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We wish we moved in earlier so we could have bought a car parking spot

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Never had any issues with the landlord so we never had to talk.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hey Beth & Kyle, thank you so much for review. We are glad you are enjoying the modern design of the building we think it’s great new addition to the are and glad to hear you are enjoying the facilities. We will pass on your kind comments to Peter and the team who will be so happy to see them, they really take pride in making sure the residents are happy here at Park Gate. We are just waiting on the latest update on the lifts so we can get this round to everyone on email asap as will pick up your parking recommendations. Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review. If you ever need anything we are here at the front desk or you can always get in touch with us through the ACL app. Many thanks, Bex

Got everything you need including a nice gym.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

Got everything you need including a nice gym . The flat itself is extremely nice and modern with everything you need. Wifi Is instant and works very well for just £25 a month too. All the people in the building seeem nice and the people that work on the desk are helpful whenever needed.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Parking is great and there are a range of supermarkets to go to including Tesco aldi Morrison’s so great bariety

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known how much the electricity costs would be but that is down to me not checking before.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I haven’t had many issues to raise with them but they’re really helpful whenever I have had anything.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for such a lovely review Eddie. I will pass on your kind words to our front of house team, we are really happy you are enjoying the facilities, apartment as well as the community here at Park Gate. As always if you have any questions you can come and speak to us at the reception or live chat with us on the app.

A lot of potential but falls short of expectations

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

This development has a lot of potential but falls short of expectations.

It has clearly been stated by Alliance Management, in a Zoom call in 2020, that several amenities that were initally offered to us will not be available because they had to take “financially responsible decisions to keep the investors happy”.

The biggest drawback for me is that there is no promised security at any time of the day. Personally, the initially promised 24-hour security was the main reason I chose to live in Park Gate as opposed to other apartments. I was willing to pay a little extra for this particular service, thus the lack of any security on the building premises is a major concern for me in regards to safety. The lack of a security service has made me change my routine, meaning I have to take extra steps to ensure that I do not put myself in danger such as having to opt to travel by Uber, having my groceries delivered to avoid travel, avoiding travel to get groceries at night and ordering food instead. Like mentioned in other comments, there have been several robberies, antisocial behaviour, etc.

Another major concern for me while living here was the unattributed costs that came with the apartment. The lack of options for an internet provider means I have to pay around 36£ for such an essential service (it’s not even good – for someone that works from home, the speed is very slow for the amount that I’m paying).

Additionally, the electricity costs have been sky high. I have to pay around 100£ for electric and gas, something that should not cost me more than 50/60£ on average in a new built apartment. I understand that these costs are for me to bare, yet I hope you understand that these costs were not budgeted for when I moved in.

There are small positives, such as the well equipped gym and the concierge services. Peter at the reception has always been very polite and helpful! My parcels are always kept safe and the Reception staff have always responded to any queries that I had. Another positive for me is that I love the layout of my apartment. The rooms are also quite spacious.

To summarise, this apartment complex has a lot of potential but Alliance City Living has not been willing to provide us the “luxury” experience that we residents are paying for. I’ve lived in a different luxury apartment complex in the city centre and the difference is very stark! While you are paying for “luxury”, you are unfortunately only receiving the bare minimum.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Starting with the positives, the location is absolutely amazing – there are several shops which are all walking distance. There’s also a Tesco right in front which is open until 12 am.

In terms of transport, there’s bus stops right in front of the flats. The buses are not as frequent as I would like but they go directly to the City Centre! The closest train stations are Birmingham International and Solihull, and there’s buses running to each of those train stations.

Bins are located outside in the car park so there’s no stink inside the building. There are also letter boxes in the lobby.

The roads are very busy and due to the location of my apartment, I’m able to hear the traffic inside the apartment. It’s but very bad but you definitely can’t ignore the noise.

Like mentioned, there’s been some antisocial behaviour because a landlord had been renting out their flat as an AirBnB. This has been stopped now but every now and then, you can hear some ruckus in the hallways.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The sky high electricity bill and how bad the Internet provider “4th Utility” is.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I’ve contacted Peter and he’s been helpful but there’s only so much he can do.

1
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello Sana,

Thank you for your detailed review.

I believe you have recently renewed your tenancy with us at Park Gate so this is very good news and gives us confidence that we are doing the right things by you so you can continue to enjoy your stay with us at Park Gate.

Having spoken to Peter on site I know he has been speaking with you on may occasions regarding several matters, including electricity costs (we do not have gas) and WIFI. Peter would be prepared to arrange for testing to be completed to access your outputs should you wish to have this done for piece of mind.

Please do let Peter know if this is required and we will support this wholeheartedly.

Kind Regards

I love the design of the flat, it is modern and appliances are easy to use.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

I love the design of the flat, it is modern and appliances are easy to use. The sink design is frustrating as the panel/draw is made from wood however when water splashes from the sink it soaks it and the wood expands.

The windows are massive and beautiful and I love the high ceilings, plenty of storage space above the wardrobes and in the closet considering it is a 1 bed flat. Managed to fit in a bedroom, split into a office area with 2 desks as the bedroom is really spacious

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very convenient location, with links to Birmingham centre, airport and solihull.
Flats are lovely and modern, great design and the facilities such as gym and roof garden are great.
The downfall is lack of availability to buy parking spaces and no guest parking, also the lifts seem to be broken every week.
Reception staff are friendly and helpful, the lobby and shared areas are always tidy. Considering it is next to coventry road there is not much noise. Great little pub next door too.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I would have knew that visitor parking was going to not be allowed as it stopped being allowed around a month after i moved in

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes they have been helpful every time when I have needed assistance

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hey Charlie, thank you for leaving us a review we are so glad you are enjoying your time here at Park Gate. We love the windows as well and think it’s a great feature to have such a light space especially if you are working from home. Glad you are utilising all the facilities as well roof terrace was so great to have in summer and we love that people are using it to exercise as well as chill out. We will pick the lift and parking comments up with the property management team and see if there are any updates we can pass onto you. If you have any other questions in the mean time you can come and speak with us at the front desk or we are available on the app. Many thanks, Bex

Design is very sleek and modern although kitchen space could be utilised more as there is a lack of cupboard space due to amount of built in appliances.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

Design is very sleek and modern although kitchen space could be utilised more as there is a lack of cupboard space due to amount of built in appliances. There are areas which could potentially fit more cupboards. Overall building maintenance is good, clean and well maintained. Only problem area would be the lifts which are extremely unreliable and unsafe. They break multiple times weekly at least and recently a neighbour was stuck in one and there was absolutely no number to contact to help, the service bell in the lift was not putting the man through to anybody. Another member of the building (tenant) ended up having to call the fire brigade to solve this issue as there is no emergency contact numbers to building maintenance or management out of hours. (Alliance out of hours were called but did not help).

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is a wide range of shops nearby from small convenience shops to large supermarkets within walking distance. Possibly a lack of restaurants, only a couple I know of on the street that you can sit and eat at, although transport links to city centre are good where there is much more choice! Parking availability is good and usually not a problem, bins are regularly collected and well organised (I’ve never seen an overflow or dirtiness around bin area).
The main issue with this area is the traffic noise which is constant all day and night, as well as construction noises on several places on the main road all in front of the building which never seem to end. Additionally the building is now neighbour to a construction site of a new apartment complex which has begun very close by. This can make it hard to work from home or enjoy much peace and quiet.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Get to know the area first! I didn’t relate just how noisy it would be with so much traffic nearby, I mainly focused on the convenience of the location with having local shops and close proximity to work.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management has responded well to my concerns including helping me to set up my utility bills which was confusing at the time as the energetic supplier was being changed for the building which made it more difficult. But a lot of questions were answers and I was well supported.

5
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hey Leo, thank you so much for your positive review, we are really glad you are enjoying all the things that Park Gate has to offer. We will pass on your kind words to the building team as well! For the lifts we will pick this up with the property management team and we hope this issue has now be resolved will will get back to you asap with more information. In the meantime if you ever need to get in touch with us we are here at the front desk as well as being available on the ACL app.

The gym is good but could be bigger!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

The gym is good but could be bigger! The car park is not good enough doesn’t cater for all residents. The building management is good staff are great. I internet connection only being able to use utility is not good and I wish I would have known that before moving in

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of traffic noise, neighbours are loud, smell of cannabis

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Noise from road, car park spaces

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

That are very professional and get stuff sorted very quickly.

3
Facilities
3
Design
1
Location
2
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello,

Thank you for your review. All feedback is welcome and acted upon where we can.

Whilst there is not a great deal we can do about being on a busy road we can impact on any anti social behavior so please do make sure you flag this up to Peter and the team on site as he will take this very seriously and has done previously.

In relation to the car park and gym unfortunately these are the spaces we have to work within. Some apartments will have spaces and other will not. The gym as I am sure you appreciate is where we have made the most of an unused space to accommodate a gym that was very much in demand.

Kind Regards

I’m pretty happy here.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

The building itself is relatively modern and stylish, the entrance area is nice and clean. You can use the lifts (I wouldn’t as they like to brake and trap people in them) or the stairs.

The hallways are hotel like and cut into small sections witch is nice but the doors are heavy so you can hear when people pass through them as they kind of thud when they close.

I don’t really use the gym but it’s there… you have to go outside and down a metal staircase that has no anti slip tread so good luck when it’s wet or icy.

The lay out to the flats, mine being a 1 bed is pretty good, all areas are nice and light apart from the bathroom as they don’t have windows. Fit and finish is to a good standard, we have had minor issues that have been sorted by building management for example, water leaking from the toilet area, this was mis diagnosed but rectified quickly when I found the issue myself.

24 hour security is advertised on the website, this is 24hour cctv not real security. There is however 24 hour security on site for the office on the ground floor of the building who make it very clear that if you have an issue they aren’t bothered.

Crime is relatively low levels. Apart from the 1 motor bike theft, 1 attempt at stealing another motorbike just last night, 2 cars being vandalised and a few pushbikes being stolen.

The carpark is constantly lit to try and deter the chancers but light does bleed into the flats so it’s never totally dark at night time. Also parking is allocated, not all flats have one and there’s no parking for visitors.

But the balcony I have is nice and spacious it looks out to the views of the park I don’t have for much longer as they’re building another apartment block there. The roof terrace is nice to use in the summer when other residents don’t leave all their beer cans up there.

Overall it’s a nice place to live and everyone I’ve come across sofar have been lovely, the community Facebook page is helpful aswell. There could be improvements but I’m pretty happy with my flat.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Relatively quiet area with good transport links into City and Airport, good small selection of shops, cafes and supermarkets on the doorstep. The building backs onto a large country park that doesn’t see much ASB.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No pets is a big one. Nowhere in the add does it say no pets and I was also told that providing they don’t cause any trouble pets are ok. Then when I double checked as me and my partner wanted to start a family and get a dog (we can’t have kids) I was told that pets aren’t allowed in the building because the people who own the development said so. This is frustrating as we have insurance for the flat that would cover any damage and even offered a deep clean once we leave the building.

The doors are loud so you hear them thud when they close and the lifts break down often with people inside them.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I’ve never dealt with my landlord, everything is done via building staff.

I have had issues when we first moved in that were rectified relatively quickly.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Fletcher, thank you so much for leaving us a review. We are really glad you are enjoying living at Park Gate and we hope our team have been there to help you if you had any issues. Let me pick up the lift query with our property management team and get back to you. If you ever have are questions you can always come and see us at the front desk or we are always available to talk on our ACL app!

Nice polite staff at parkgate.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

The lifts keep breaking down which could be a possible issue for anyone who is disabled or anyone who has children.Nice polite staff at parkgate. Design at the front of the building could be better as people break the metal bars which looks a mess.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Plenty of food & shopping outlets.
Great transport links some antisocial behaviour security could be better

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Parking for guests & delivery’s drivers is a issue

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Mixed review as still awaiting repairs to be carried out

1
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hey there, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of Park Gate. We will pass on your comments to Peter and the team who will be so happy that they have been helpful. We will pick up the lift issue with the Property Manager and get an update emailed to all of our residents asap. All recommendations are so helpful from our residents so if you have any more please let us know at the front desk or you can always get in touch with us on our app. Many thanks, Bex

Take this space

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

One of the only issues can be noise from other apartments, don’t ake a 2 year tenancy incase you want to leave early less chance of landlord allowing you to do so always go for 1 year option and extend if required. Building is designed great and looks fabulous when you move in. There has been some care and effort when thinking about building this premises. Car parking flexible included within contract or £50 additional extra per month

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location the reception staff are incredibly helpful and the handyman on site is always their to help discuss any issues

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The only issue can be traffic on Coventry Road

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Great location the reception staff are incredibly helpful and the handyman on site is always their to help discuss any issues.

No flexibility with landlord on wanting to leave contract early

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Park Gate, B26
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello Alex,

Thank you for the lovely review of Park Gate. We are thrilled to hear you are enjoying your home and being a resident at Park Gate.

I will ensure that Peter and the team get to see your review.

Kind Regards

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Park Gate, B26
User submitted image of Park Gate, B26

Facilities

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

Gym

Gym

Onsite Maintenance

Onsite Maintenance

Parcel Lockers

Parcel Lockers

Parking

Parking

Resident Events

Resident Events

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Location

Alliance City Living
Number of developments 3

4.13

Average rating based on 59 reviews

View company