Norwich House, SW16

Norwich House, SW16

By
Columbia Group
Ranked 11th out of 98 in South West London
4.31 (based on 18 reviews) 4.31 (18 reviews)

Category Scores

4.17
Facilities
4.11
Design
4.33
Location
3.83
Value
4.11
Management

Excellent

50%

Very Good

44%

Average

6%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Norwich House is a Columbia Group development located in Streatham Hill. Residents can enjoy local amenities, such as being across the road from a local Tesco and just a 4-minute walk from Streatham Hill station, which has direct trains to London Victoria and London Bridge every couple of minutes.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Norwich house

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

The flats in Norwich house are modern. The communal areas are well maintained, with cleaners coming to clean hallways etc around once a month.

There have been numerous issues with the front door to the building which has caused security concerns on occasion, however, these issues have usually been rectified within a day or two.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is a good variety of independent shops, fitness studios/gyms and eateries along streatham high road. There are a number of small grocery shops nearby (Tesco express, co-op, Sainsbury’s) which is convenient but it would be good to have a larger supermarket within walking distance as the smaller stores can be quite limited in their variety.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Good- the building feels very secure.
Bad- I was told that there were gas charges for the building a couple of years after moving in after initially being told that bills would be for water and electricity only.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I had previously raised issues with regards to gas bill payments about which building management were reluctant to share information on.

4
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Easy access to stores and coffee shop

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

I like the security with the door and I like that we have a concierge. I dislike the security regarding the lifts – I wish that we could have a security system to enter the lifts. If someone access’ the building they can use the lift.

Another thing I dislike is the rubbish from the supermarket next doors. The smell does not bother me, but I have seen foxes eating the food waste.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

i like the options of restaurants there and it helps that there is a gym next door. Green around.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There was issues with the gas the first year when I moved here that we had an issue with.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

The transport links are great here. Many shops around and things to do. Close to Brixton. I dislike about this area that few shops are being shut for a very long time. The noise levels are ideal for me. I am happy with the design and size of the room

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like about this area that it has a lot of places to eat

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is nothing that I wish I knew before moving in

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of my home is the perfect location

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

I dislike about the area that it has a alot of traffic and is extremely noisy here. The crime in this area is not much an issue or noticeable, occasional vandalism. In terms of the room size it is perfect. The design of the building is nice and modern although no balcony.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like about this area that it has a alot of ammenities and cafes

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew that the building becomes really hot in the summer

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building manage,ent has responded terribly, many compaints

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

The building is very well designed and maintained to a very good standard, the amenities and services provided are also very good, as far as living in London is concerned this place does provide good value for money

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like transport links, near good areas, it is maintained well.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is nothing that i would have liked to have known

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of my home is the location as there are great transport links

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good

Review Date Sep 2019

The building very well designed, it is new and looks that way, it is very clean and maintained properly, it is different from normal British houses which i like as it is unique, I have a carpet in my room

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like get whatever i need without going far away, everything is close
I dislike nothing, best place ive lived in London

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is nothing I would have liked to have known

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of my home is the view it is very beautiful

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

I ended up moving to Norwich House, because of the great transport links available within the vicinity of the development. Brixton is also close by, which is great for me. All was ok when I moved in, the lifts were working so it was easy to transport my things to my flat. The only difficulty was parking outside the development because it is on a main road.

I haven’t had much contact with the building’s management team as I haven’t had many issues as the building is well maintained and very clean. I have all their contact information if I need to contact them, however. We do have a reception area, which seems to only be open in the evenings between 4pm – 7pm during the week. It’s great as they collect your parcels and the staff are very willing to help with any issues. When I’ve needed to get a meter reading in my flat, they will open the door for me if I’m out. Also, when I first moved in, there wasn’t any CCTV in the building but now the security of the building has greatly improved, and I have CCTV in my hallway and understand this is the same for all floors.

When I first moved in I did have a few parcels stolen from outside my door and I do know of a couple of residents who have also reported particular incidents as well as issues with people trying to get into their flat as Norwich House is on a main road. There have also been issues with people being tailgated into the building. However, because of the added CCTV, these incidents are now less frequent.

In terms of my flat, my favourite room is the open plan living area, which includes a dining room and a kitchen area. I love it because it has large windows, so a lot of natural light gets let in. I would describe the interior as very simple with white décor, which works very well for me. It looks like small inside, but it is perfect for one person although I don’t have enough storage, which means I haven’t really been able to personalise my flat that much.  I have separate large bathroom, which is white and has an adequate design.

 I don’t see a lot of my neighbours and I haven’t for a long time. I’m not sure if all of the flats have residents in, particularly around me as it feels like they are empty.  We do however have a Facebook and WhatsApp group chat, where lots of residents use to share concerns or post about any events they are hosting. There’s also a notice board in the entrance where residents can showcase their events.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location of Norwich House is perfect, and it is why I decided to move there. It is situated on a main road, which works for me for safety reasons, so I don’t have to walk through a lot of back streets to get home. My commute to work is great as Streatham Hill is only a 4-minute walk away with trains directly into Victoria station. It’s also on 40-50 minutes away on the bus with the bus stop right across the road.

We are fortunate to have most general shops in the area with a Tesco directly across the road and then an Aldi and a Lidl a little bit further on. If I wanted to go clothes shopping however, I would travel a bit more into Central London.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew before moving in here that sometimes it gets really hot in the building, whereas in the winter it gets super cold which I think is sometime to do with the flat’s heating. One thing also worth noting is that when I first started renting, I would only have to pay for the electric and water bills but a couple of years into my tenancy, there was a bit of a dispute with eon, the gas provider and now we have to pay for gas as an additional charge.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of my home are the big windows and sunlight

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good

Review Date Sep 2019

There is nothing that I dislike about this area. The property is very modern and well designed. Good value for money being here. The transport links here are also ideal to the central London and Brixton.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like about this area that it has a lot of ammenit is around

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is nothing that I wish I knew before moving in here

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of my home is that the location is great

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good

Review Date Sep 2019

In terms of dislike there really is nothing that I dislike. The area is very good and the streets are well maintained. Also it is very Quiet at night. I am very happy with the size of the rooms and the pricing is good for this property

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that it is cleanice and not noisy in the area

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew before moving in here that the flat would be smaller

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of my home is that the location is perfect

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Perfect for me

Review Date Sep 2019

The development is easy for me, there are great transport links. It is easily accessible and very spacious especially for some where in London. The crime in the area is not noticenable although you do occasionally hear ambulances

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that theres shops around, the gym is close as well as a pub.
It can get noisy sometimes with ambulances and motorbikes

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is nothing that I would have liked to have known beforehand

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of my home is that it is very spacious

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

There is a lot of things around here and easy to get to shops. The pricing around here is great. Council takes good care of the litter in the area. The crime in the area is sometimes an issue from time to time violent crime happening

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like about this area that it is easy to get to central london

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is nothing I wish I knew before moving in here

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

There is nothing that I would change about my flat

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good

Review Date Sep 2019

The overall impression is good. There is a lot of space and it is very accessible with three lifts and for the buggy. The noise is generally kept to the low except on the weekend from the street when bars are open

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is nothing that I dislike. Safe and a lot of mums around

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew before moving in here that the car park is not accessible to park here

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature of my home is the accessibility with a lot of shops around. Nice view also from the floor

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Many bars

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Build quality is good. The flat is way to small. There is a cladding that has been an issue for quite a long time which is on the building manager to solve – and financed with government money. But it has taken a long time,

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the bars and restaurants here. I miss having a tube station.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I had a good overall information and knowledge about this development.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Hot property

Review Date Jul 2019

A nice spacesious apartment in a beautiful building that’s well planed out but gets very hot in the summer time. Being on the high street makes shopping and socialising quick and easy. Great transport links into London.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The apartment gets very hot in the summer

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The lack of windows in the bathroom is annoying.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Spacesious apartment

Review Date Jul 2019

The building is beautiful and my apartment is spacious and laid out well. Based in the nice part of Streatham only a few minutes walk from Streatham hill train station. I also like the fact that our concierge provides a visible security presents.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I feel that this is the nice upmarket side of Streatham

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Noise levels of the busy high street.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
2
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

About Columbia Group

Columbia Group was established in 2000 in Jersey, England. Since then they have established themselves as the leading independent rental…
Number of developments 2

4.29

Average rating based on 20 reviews

View company