Manhattan, M1

By
Alliance City Living
Ranked 28th out of 44 in Manchester
4.17 (16 reviews) 4.17 (16 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.69
Facilities
4.00
Design
4.88
Location
4.19
Value
3.69
Management

Manhattan is located in the heart of Manchester. It is only a 10-minute walk from Manchester Piccadilly station. Apartments feature a range of distinct features, including floor-to-ceiling windows. In addition, rear-facing apartments benefit from balconies. Likewise, residents benefit from onsite maintenance and a concierge team available.

Read more Read less

Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 16 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Excellent place to live in

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

The design of the building is modern with good security to access your flat. I have not had any problems with the property management. When I needed something to be fixed or had any questions they would get it fixed really fast and they follow up with the work that has been done.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I have been living in this property for almost two years now. The location of Manhattan Building is excellent and is near to many things like grocery stores, picadilly gardens, and china town. There are also several gyms that are a short walking distance from the building.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The only thing I would recommend for the building is to have security in the building after the concierge work hours are done. Security after concierge hours and on the weekends would be great as sometimes we might face problems that if security was there would be great. It would also give residents some ease of mind during the night and weekends.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The concierge in the building is extremely helpful, delightful, and gives positive energy to start your day in the morning. If I was facing any problems with my flat the concierge Karolina has always been a great help.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello,

Thank you for your thorough and thoughtful feedback. Its really nice to hear that you enjoy living within Manhattan and like the service you receive from Karolina on site.

I will make sure she receives this feedback.

Kind Regards

Brilliant experience living here.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

The property itself was absolutely perfect, location was a key determinant in us choosing the apartment and the value for cost of rent was very good. Property management was brilliant, no issue left unresolved and it was noteworthy in retrospect how much comfort that gave. No anti-social issues, neighbours all very friendly which was nice as we moved from abroad. Modern build and a joy to return to daily!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is incredibly well serviced and central, lending to low transport costs. Albeit central, the street itself is quiet without too much late night noise which I appreciated.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We had done pretty extensive research into the area and moved from nearby so there was no major surprises. The modern build meant quite low heating bills and the large windows was pleasant for light during the day.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Incredibly well. Karolina specifically resolved every single issue we had instantly, minor or major she handled every query and issue that arose during our tenancy. Things that I’ve experienced in other renting situations that would be wildly frustrating and take days to resolve were dealt with immediately. It was a genuine comfort having such professional building management.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Tom,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this detailed review. I am so pleased to hear that you have nothing but good things to say about Manhattan! It’s also amazing to see that you are having a great experience renting with us, so thank you for sharing!

Modern Building, Great Location & Friendly Staff

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

The building management is excellent! The staff is very kind and helpful, especially Ms. Karolina, who is the friendliest receptionist I have ever met! Whenever I had mail that I was unable to pick up, she was always there to receive it for me.
The design inside the apartments is spacey and homey, with big living rooms and fully furnished kitchens. The only complaint I would have is a minor one – the fixed shower heads are hard to get used to, but obviously not impossible to use.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Everything important in the city center is within walking distance, be it museums, restaurants or university buildings. Bus and tram stations are very close, and so are supermarkets and malls. A very quiet area with not many cars passing by on the street.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known there are no storage spaces in the building, not even small spaces for storing cardboard boxes.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are always quick to listen and help out. They always take note of noise complaints.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Flavia,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review! It is so wonderful to hear that you have had a positive experience at Manhattan, this is great feedback, so thank you!

A cozy apartment with a great location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

It’s a very modern design and I appreciative that there is a balcony with a nice view. The apartment is very spacious yet cozy. The building has quite an organized system and Karolina, the concierge is very helpful. She provides a safe and welcoming atmosphere to the building. She give her all to the building, making sure that it is within the highest quality.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The building is in a great location. Everything is within waking distance and it’s very close to the shopping center and grocery stores. Although it is a safe neighborhood with a trustworthy concierge, I would appreciate if there was security at night and during the weekends.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known about the ongoing construction as it is quite noisy and distracting in the morning.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

There has not been any issues yet. Although the building has an application that helps address any problems.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Aiah,

This is a great review, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on Manhattan. I am so pleased to read these positive comments, they are greatly appreciated!

Amazing building, lack of security at night/ in weekends.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

The development is sleek and modern. The elevator is tight but very safe. However, security in the building after concierge hours would be really important. Having some security after concierge hours and on the weekends would make many residents as myself feel safe.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The building is very close to everything around the city center. The building is a short walk away from market street shops, grocery stores, and many nice place to dine in.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The construction in the back of the building; really noisy on the weekends.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

the maintenance team is reqlly slow and not responding quickly to the problems reported to them. Such as the noise from the axa vent machine and the fridge.

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback all of which is very welcomed.

The construction at the rear of the building is frustrating and in City Centre Manchester right now a real feedback theme across the board with what is happening in the city. Our Community Manager Neil is in dialogue with the site to ensure disruption is kept to a minimum and regulations are adhered too.

In relation to slow maintenance service we have recently had a change within our team but this has now been rectified and we are confident reported issues will be addressed in a speedy and timely manner.

If you have any issues you wish to raise please do use the app and flag them to Karolina on site.

Kind Regards

Nice place.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

All is good and perfect.
And karolina help us very much.
Thanks for everything.
And all the give me any help if I need something. If I want some help at the same time they do it and they are good And that they like to help others at any time and thank them

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Is very good

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Very very good

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Good and if I need any help maket .
And that they like to help others at any time and thank them

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello Mohammad,

Thank you for the lovely review. We I be sure to pass this on to Karolina so she receives the feedback. I am sure she will be thrilled.

Kind Regards

I love mcr

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

The building is nicely decorated. I love how clean and tidy it is daily. The layout of my apartment is just the right size. The second bedroom is just a weird shape room but neither the less it’s still a good home to live in.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love city life, I love how this apartment building is right in the middle of the city Centre area

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew about the two story apartments but the one I’m in now is still amazing.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They responded very quickly and come to the need quick

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello,

Thank you for your lovely review of Manhattan. I will be sure to pass this onto the team.

We hope you have a lovely Christmas and New Year.

Kind Regards

Worth living in

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

There should be additional facilities such as local sitting areas or working booths to work from along with a private gym perhaps.

The design of the one bedroom apartments isn’t the best as it crams the bedroom, kitchen and living room together.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location of the development is pretty incredible as it’s close to most of the restaurants and shopping places in town. It’s near to all touristy places as well. The only issue is the parking as there are only 6 parking spaces in the building.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Can’t think of anything specific

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes the building management have been responsive to any issues that have occurred.

2
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you are enjoying the Manhattan property. I will pass this feedback onto the on site team.

Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year.

Kind Regards

Great design and location

Review Date Dec 2021

Love the design, and the concierge is very helpful. The windows are not sound proof nor insulating enough which can be a bit annoying at night, specially when there are people walking on the street at night making a lot of noise. Maintenance is nice, but they tend to be fairly busy.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good – very convenient location, close to so many supermarkets, restaurants and shops. Traffic does not tend to be too bad – just the tram can be a bit noisy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That parcels are not stored somewhere safe and there is no 24/7 concierge/security (this is something I would have highly preferred)

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Tend to be quick but sometimes maintenance can be overloaded so issues can take a while to be fixed

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi,

We would like to thank you for your 4* score of Manhattan and we will make sure to pass your comments on to the concierge team who I’m sure will appreciate it.

You mentioned in your review that it can sometimes take a bit of time for issues to be fixed due to how busy the maintenance team are. We would like to know if any of these issues are still ongoing and if they are then to ask that you contact us to discuss further so we can look at resolving these for you.

Again, thank you for your review. It makes all the difference.

Kind Regards

good building, lack of security

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

i would highly recommend security at night especially overnight security as there have been incidents regarding worries of our safety and well-being. there is no contact to alliance/concierge after hours which can be concerning especially in times of need

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

the area is good and convenient especially for a student. however the atmosphere is a bit unsettling at night due to the lack of security

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

security
garbage chute
backup fobs/keys and the issue with not having a solution if one forgets/loses their keys after concierge hours
rooms w/o balconies are larger and have wider hallways and better furniture layout.
balconies face the wall of another building/no view.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

the bed i requested for my second bedroom took 3 months to finally be installed, there is a delay regarding fulfilling tenants’ requests

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hey there, thank you so much for leaving a review for Manhattan. We are glad you are enjoying the central location. We will speak with the team for all of your recommendations, the double fob and then key system as well as the 24 hour CCTV is there to make you feel safe but we will certainly pick up why our out of hours team were unable to help you as this shouldn’t be the case, we will also review the process of losing a fob out of hours. Thank you for your helpful comments, we will review these and get back to you asap. We hope you continue to enjoy Manhattan and the fantastic city centre location. If you ever need anything in the meantime you can come and see Karolina at the front desk or alternatively you can message us on the ACL app. Many thanks, Bex

Great location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

The design is small. The rooms are shaped weird. The porch is great but it’s no outside windows that can open for fresh air and no screens on the doors.
The management needs to get more organized. It’s too many mistakes and then they put stuff on you as if it’s your fault but it’s just poor management.
It just the location for me!! The appliances in the house is great! The furniture is nice as well!!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very close to everything it’s a great location

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would never move into a new build with unorganized management I should have took the first hints that I received

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are not the greatest but I guess they work with what they have.

2
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello

Thanks you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you have some concerns regarding the build design. Unfortunately, there is not much we can do about this now. But in regard to future customer service issues that you raise with the team on site if you do not feel satisfied then please do feel free to escalate to myself and I will pick this up directly with the on-site team.

My email is ian@alliancecityliving.com

Kind Regards

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Facilities

Central

Central

Concierge

Concierge

Onsite Maintenance

Onsite Maintenance

Resident Events

Resident Events

Location

Alliance City Living
Number of developments 3

4.13

Average rating based on 59 reviews

View company