L&Q at Greenwich Peninsula, SE10

By
L&Q
Ranked 28th out of 52 in Greenwich
3.73 (7 reviews) 3.73 (7 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.14
Facilities
4.14
Design
4.86
Location
3.57
Value
3.00
Management

L&Q own and manage a number of different apartments at the large-scale Greenwich Peninsula development, a residential development by Knight Dragon. Greenwich Peninsula is one of the largest regeneration projects in the UK.

Read more Read less

Reviews

All Reviewers
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Showing 7 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Excellent Development with a lovely atmosphere.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

Development is lovely. So faults at all. Everything is kept up to a very high standard. Cleaners around regularly. As shared ownership I’d say the facility’s are not great. No access to any of the gyms or pools. I’ve requested to up my service charge to gain access but this hasn’t got me anywhere. As we still pay a lot I do think we should have access to even the small gym in building 1

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Parking is poor, I’ve tried to purchase a parking space but with no luck. Everything else is very good.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No access to the gym

What is the best feature of your home:

The view and location is amazing. The community feel is lovely as well

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very disappointed with the whole thing

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

The building design is nice, being shared ownership means we don’t have access to anything, gym, swimming pool, cinema, concierge.. but we pay £375 service charge monthly.. where is that money going? Who knows.. service charge rises 75% in 2 years, if I knew this when I bought the property, trust me, I wouldn’t buy it.
Materials supposed to be good, but if you are cleaning the balcony floor with water, your downstairs neighbour os getting wet.. the isolation is really poor.
We complained many tomes regarding parties in the building etc, that’s every weekend. Noise is a huge problem, the O2 has these ventilators in front of the property on for like 16 hours, and the noise is constant.. humming noise all the time.. and in summer you have to open the windows, what make the noise really worst.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We moved here 2 years ago, the transport link are really good, having the jubilee line just 5 min walking. The area is lovely, but some of the people are not. We have a lot of antisocial behaviour: million parties, airbnbs rentings, people throwing cigarette over the terraces, people puking over the terraces as well, the constant smell of weed every time you teied to open a window, broken glasses on the ground.. the list is never ending. The local shops are really poor, having just a small Tesco close and a cooperative a little bit more far. If you want to do a proper shopping you have to go to Bugsby way, around 30 min walking distance. The O2 it’s not the best regarding shopping, but have good restaurant offering.
Regarding traffic, being a private area must say we have a lot of traffic. Since we don’t have barriers anymore, this became a never ending transit of cars, noisy scooters, etc.
The open spaces are lovely, can’t complain.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The humming noise coming form the O2 ventilators, non stop. When we bought the house, the property was still under constraints, so we bought on plan. We never realised about the noise until we moved in. The service charge as well. Be aware of that if you are planning to buy a shared ownership here.

What is the best feature of your home:

Everything was new, kitchen, bathroom.. we love that.

1
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location, but anti-social behaviour needs to be dealt with

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

Building management can’t seem to do anything about locating the noise or at least won’t tell us which flat its coming from which means we are not able to report it to local council. Have complaint quite a number of times with regards to smell of cannabis but it doesn’t seem like anything has been done even though it is an illegal substance.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Generally nice place to live in except for the anti-social behaviours including parcels being stolen from mail room, smell of cannabis coming in from windows likely from neighbours smoking on the balcony, and loud thumping/banging noises that we can never quite figure out where its coming from. This is likely due to design/build of flats carrying noise.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I was pretty familiar with the development so pretty much knew what I was getting into. One can never predict in terms of the level of anti-social behaviours though, which is the main thing I’m concerned about.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Response has been all over the place and it seems right hand doesn’t know what left hand is doing. It took almost a year and around 4 visits before a deep scratch on the balcony glass was fixed and mixed information was given. The seal on the front door is still defective despite 3 visits over the last 12 months.

2
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The community here is fab

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

The outter design of the building is tall glamourous gleaming, really a sight to behold..from the perspective of the river thames, however to north greenwich station communters, ive been told the building is slightly intimidating.
The buildings most notable features inclide the gym/swimming pool/cinema rooms. Of course these are only for private residents if you can brunt the cost of the rather in my opinion intimidating service charges. That being said, the local facilities for social housing tennants (like myself) are great. A bike room, 2 lifts, a garage we are allowed to walk through (but are unable to buy/rent a space in, even though it is very much empty) to get out the building when our seperate enterance is blocked by the private tennants getting their windows washed (not sure when L&Q will wash the social housing tennants windows).

That being said, theres a real spirit of community here. I have a whatsapp group for social and private tenants, where we can arrange meet ups (post covid), drinks and exploring the local area together.

So to sum up, if you’re well off and want somewhere that a real conversation opener, this is the perfect place for you.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

With local restaurants situated across the peninsula, greenwich is a place you will never go hungry.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Our landlord (L&Q) needs to hire a new manager for our part of the building as I’ve heard he recently quit. Our windows need a good washing and it would be nice to know that a lovely new build like this isnt being neglected so early in its life.

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Makes my life easier

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

Living here makes me feel like I’m living in a hotel, a good one, where I have all the facilities of a first-rate service, as well as the design and infrastructure that is available to residents. The gym and the pool for me are the main points that make my life easier living here, but we cannot forget the cinema and all the terraces that make the summer more special.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love living in this area, we have a lot of good restaurants, stores and a really good open space. I just miss a supermarket nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The process to move in was really easy.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good design but poor quality construction

Review Date May 2021

very good design and located in the lovely place of London. however the construction work is really poor as the building constantly has broken issues.
services from construction is not prompt and efficient
too much public noise around the building at midnight

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

the post service is really poor, many times I have to figure out where they are. service is not prompt such as post room door handle has broken for long time but not fixed yet. I have lift and front door constantly broken for unknown reasons. light in lift has broken for long time now.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

my high service charge not included in the concierge service
the loka basic service charge is high for no reason

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

average good but sometimes are slow.
my bathroom issues are still not fixed after a year

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Waterman Apartments Shared Ownership

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

I love our flat, the rooms are generous in size with high ceiling and plenty of storage which is often not the norm for new build properties.

I am shared owner with L&Q, the finishes and white goods provided with the flat are of a very cheap standard, I wish there was some storage provision in the bathroom, unable to add any without full remodelling, will have to be a project for the future .

L&Q were great when we first moved in, now we have nothing but problems, they introduced a ‘poor door’ system retrospectively after a year which prevents shared owners having access to certain amenities and through certain entrance routes and the courtyard garden which is a complete joke, a blatant attempt to make the properties more appealing through miss-selling and actually in breach of the terms of our lease agreements.

They also changed the management company who calculate the service charge per flat size which lead to substantial service charge increases for many residents. I won’t pretend to understand what the size of your flat has to do with the amount of service you use. Mind boggling.

The management company are also completely incompetent, our Property Manager has zero people skills, she also treats and speaks to residents with utter contempt and always tries to appoint blame to residents rather than taking ownership and addressing issues.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is great, the development is right next to the Thames and Tide path, great for summer walks.

Under 10 mins walk to North Greenwich tube station which does get extremley busy during peak hours and can be difficult to get on a train. They will need to improve tube services as the area further developments because it’s already operating at capacity. Plenty of bus options nearby too and North Greenwich Pier is walking distance for Thames Clipper and the cable cars.

Plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance, Icon shopping centre at the o2 and there’s a retail park in Charlton including an Ikea also just 1 tube stop away from Canary Wharf which also has lots of shops and restaurants . Restaurants at the o2 do get packed on concert nights so best to avoid on concert nights.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would never have used the shared ownership scheme if I had known I would be treated like a poor social housing tenant. Even though I own a share of £570k flat, pay rent on the portion I don’t own and service charges, we are treated worse than somebody that’s just renting privately and paying less.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Poorly, we have a list of outstanding issues, we have formed a Residents Association to press these issues further.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Also by this company

Explore other developments by L&Q

Location

L&Q
Number of developments 55

3.73

Average rating based on 741 reviews

View company