Ledsham Garden Village, CH66

Ledsham Garden Village, CH66

By
Redrow Homes
3rd
Ranked 3rd out of 10 in Cheshire
3.79 (16 reviews) 3.79 (16 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

2.88
Facilities
3.94
Design
4.38
Location
3.50
Value
3.38
Management

Ledsham Garden Village by Redrow sits in the village of Little Sutton. The development comprises of Redrow Heritage Collection of three, four and five bedroom family homes. A quarter of the development is designated as affordable
homes. In addition Redrow have created a community atmosphere with dedicated open spaces and sports pitches, a community centre at the heart of the village. As well as open spaces, residents benefit from road and rail links, with Liverpool and Chester both close by.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Be aware when buying a Redrow home.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Been in our property now for nearly two years this November, and I have to say Redrow homes is just a big name. We have had continuous snags and have had to have a lot of patience. Have to complain all the time with redrow customer service on our issues. Told what you want to hear then don’t hear back for weeks maybe months. For example rear garden ever since we moved in back in 2019 has been poorly laid, not level holes everywhere, grass joints don’t join together. Reported numerous times, workers have come to look at it and two years later we are still waiting. Redrow also charge £1000 to have grass installed in your rear garden and this is the result SHOCKING! Also the rear gate has collapsed and doesn’t close properly again been waiting for this to be repaired for nearly a year and still waiting. Our front railings weren’t installed in the ground properly, workers came to complete cementing them in the ground to be secure. Resulting in my front looking a mess clumps of soil lost all the bark that was there with trees, reported to redrow back in May said it would be sorted with fresh bark. Still waiting to this day! My biggest concern is council apartments have been built behind our property, our front lawn has been attached to the front greenery of the council apartments. We have not been secured off privately as in plans when purchased as you can see in images. Paying 300,000 for a home to only have you attached to apartments is utterly disgusting. Again reported this back in April/May, still waiting to this day. Back in February of this year my partner and I had amazing news that we was expecting our first baby, I informed redrow customer service of our situation, voiced my concerns that I want all remaining snags completed before the baby is here as I do not want to deal with workers at our home whilst we have a new born. Totally agreed and promised things would be done, my partner is due in November and we are still waiting for the work to be even started it’s laughable. All last minute, disorganised, lack of communication and poor time scaling. Do me and my partner regret buying a redrow home, indeed we do!!!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Can’t fault the location of our property.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Sold the perfect first dream home, until you receive the keys. Been living it in for nearly 2 years and your reported snags just take longer and longer!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very slowly, in fact some issues have taken two years!!

1
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely area, nice looking homes, cheap quality windows

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Though the development looks nice from the outside, as you move in it looks cramped and busy, with too many different styles of house in a row. There are no pavements in some roads which cause issues with parking and walking on a road. The windows are terrible quality and you can hear everthing outside, this is incredibly disappointing given the houses are so much more expensive, though these windows are cheap and low quality. We were given “Free Turf” as an incentive, though it is awful, bumpy and has weeds groing through, no top soil was added when laying and the ground wasn’t flattened before turf was layed, as well as being lumpy and bumpy, the garden slopes terribly.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is situated close to the M53, has hreat access to the wirral and north Wales. There is public transport in the way of bus routes and the neatest train station is a 15 minute walk. There are conviniece stores and supermarkets nearby and a great pub nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we could hear the sound proofing of the windows beforehand, or lack there of. This is something that would definitely have had a bearing on our decision to buy.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have raised our snag lists which have been resolved very quickly, I have no complaints with any repairs, though our complaints regarding the garden were ignored.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
2
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Balanced Review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The design at the front of the development is lovely especially the posts either side of the road. I think it’s extremely aesthetically pleasing.
The actual design of house plots isn’t the best. I’ve noticed from walking around there is no ‘perfect plot – which to me would be at the end of a cul de sac , nice and quiet. However it seems you are either really near an access path or park. Additionally the windows are extremely poor quality so if someone is talking walking walking it sounds as if they are right outside your house! Some cul de sacs do not have paths and you can’t park on the road without either being over a drive or opposite a drive which can make it difficult to exit the drive.
Overall I do enjoy living on this development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

This are is 20 minutes from Chester, Liverpool and North Wales. It is extremely convenient because the development is 2 minute drive from the Welsh road and 7 minute to the motorway. Little Sutton as a town has typical local shops and pubs. Pretty much anything you need you could get here.
Although little Sutton train Station is a 3 min drive there is no parking so have to go to Ellesmere Port Station but that is only a 10 min drive.
The development and housing estates next to it are really nice and you feel comfortable walking around.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Not to accept turf as an incentive to buy. Our turf was so uneven, had hole in and has caused us no ends of problems trying to sort and cost us a lot more to fix then just turfing it ourselves. We raised to redrow a number of times and got nowhere!

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Window quality. If people are having a conversation in the street you can hear so unless you have tv/music on it can be really noisy.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Resident of Ledsham Garden Village

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The development is well spaced out. It’s very pleasant to walk around the development and also the surrounding area. When completed there will be lots of green space and the huge green is a nice feature.

There is a children’s play area but at the time of writing this it’s currently waterlogged and padlocked closed.

There is an annual charge for the upkeep of the development, However, this is fine as it keeps all the green space in nice condition.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

With walking distance of Little Sutton. No local parks or playground. Walking distance of two Primary schools with ‘good’ rating but disappointing High schools.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Don’t be worried about hearing a neighbour (if semi-detached) as the houses have great sound proofing.

What is the best feature of your home:

I’m really happy with the layout of the house it really maximises the space. The downstairs WC is a really good size.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The main Issue on this site is the access to bins. There is a massive problem with dog waste which has been reported to the council, but Redrow will not put up bins as it ruins the aesthetic. This is causing people to not pick up their dog waste, which is a problem in itself, but people don’t have anywhere to throw the waste.
Other than that the estate is lovely, well managed and maintained.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The transport links for this estate are great. You are close to liverpool, Chester, Cheshire oaks and the motorway. There is also public transport in the area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The toilet in our bathroom leaked. This was because it wasn’t connected properly due to the back to wall toilets. This caused a lot of damage and we wish we did not have one of these toilets.

What is the best feature of your home:

The additional car parking spaces are great. We have a double driveway and then 2 more spaces behind. This is great.

2
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice houses, awful customer service.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The houses on the estate are well designed with high ceilings making them much lighter and appear bigger. There isn’t much in the way of facilities available on the estate which has been selling houses for nearly 5 years now. There a lot of things that need finishing off but they plow on with the new houses. Also, once they’ve done your initial snagging list it’s very difficult to get them to fix anything. The floorboards in our house are so creaky and the boiler is the loudest thing ever, but even though these issues have been ongoing since a few months after we moved in Redrow couldn’t care less.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s close to two train lines, Hooton station and the Ellesmere Port line. Unfortunately the nearest shop is a bit of a walk away and all local walks start with a walk on a busy main road. It’s also close enough to the motorway without hearing the noises.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It’s a very nice estate with a lot of friendly people. Overall I would buy again but get a professional snagger in and document everything in email for proof.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They responded initially but some issues took that long to sort were out of warranty and they do not care.

2
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A great place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The site and properties themselves are fantastic! Not much to do at the moment within the development but I’m sure going forward with the plans they have it will be a great place to live. Having simple things like dog bins would be great as we often like to just walk around the estate and take in its beauty. I would absolutely buy another redrow house again. My only criticism is that we live in a large cul de sac and the green space in front seems to be forgotten about and is in need of some TLC

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Love how easier the transport links are for travel and work, the estate is lovely and nice to be a part of and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Only downside is that we have to travel 15 minutes to get to our nearest big supermarket, it would be great to have one closer.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I would have had a set date for the roads to be finished. We ended up waiting 2 years after moving in for the roads to be block paved which was frustrating.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any issues I did have were sorted in a timely manner and the staff were very friendly and efficient with no mess left behind

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Can’t view your own house till purchase very unfair

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

I feel the roads are very difficult as some are very narrow also some areas have pathways and some don’t ,why ? Only one way in and out of development which isn’t very practical
House is reasonably size put divided scrubs in the front of house is not a proper divide line
When you ask the developers the question they can’t answer it

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We have a village out very run down the area is okay ,put

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Leasehold was not explained to us on till we move in also view your property before buying

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Window can hear everything from the road,and hopefully they think about the garden in the front to have proper boarders

2
Facilities
2
Design
2
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Ledsham Garden Village ..

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The development continues to grow every day and the plans are now reflected on the ground. There’s open spaces and green areas appearing with some great features such as oak gateways and pavilion/ bandstand, currently the centrepiece of the overall development. The main spine road appears to be well maintained by the building management and the constriction activities appear safe and take into consideration those already on site.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We moved into the development from a nearby market town where we’d been living for almost 8 years. The sales team were fantastic, providing exactly the right information and keeping us informed every step of the way. We decided to buy and have been here for 3 years now. Watching the development progress it’s definitely now that more facilities are required however. Little Sutton provides all the main essentials with the train station providing direct links with the Wirral and onto Liverpool. There’s a number of great curry houses and take away sand a local doctors practice in nearby Great Sutton. The Cheshire Yeoman public house is within walking distance and has a great atmosphere combined with a first class restaurant (when we’re allowed).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Not strictly enforcing the parking of commercial vehicles which seem to appear regularly. Contractor parking in spaces away from site at times and the long delay in surfacing the road (3 years)

What is the best feature of your home:

The modern layout and usefulness of all the family

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice estate

Review Date Feb 2021

Houses all look very nice, once you’ve moved in they couldn’t care less about you. The design and build quality is quite good, the roads haven’t been finished properly 3 years on from moving in. More concerned with building more than finishing off the ones they’ve already built and sold. O

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There’s a shop that is a 20 minute walk away. Not too far from the train station and bus stop. Local pub 15 minute walk.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Get a professional snagger in and make sure you document and record they have sorted things.

What is the best feature of your home:

The large kitchen dining living room on the back of the house. This is where we spend all of our time. Also, the really high ceilings, really make the house look special.

1
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 47

3.93

Average rating based on 643 reviews

View company