Ledsham Garden Village, CH66

Ledsham Garden Village, CH66

By
Redrow
Ranked 12th out of 16 in Cheshire
3.74 (16 reviews) 3.74 (16 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

2.88
Facilities
3.94
Design
4.38
Location
3.50
Value
3.38
Management

Ledsham Garden Village by Redrow sits in the village of Little Sutton. The development comprises of Redrow Heritage Collection of three, four and five bedroom family homes. A quarter of the development is designated as affordable
homes. In addition Redrow have created a community atmosphere with dedicated open spaces and sports pitches, a community centre at the heart of the village. As well as open spaces, residents benefit from road and rail links, with Liverpool and Chester both close by.

Read more Read less

Ledsham Garden Village, CH66 Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Verified
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 15 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Be aware when buying a Redrow home.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Been in our property now for nearly two years this November, and I have to say Redrow homes is just a big name. We have had continuous snags and have had to have a lot of patience. Have to complain all the time with redrow customer service on our issues. Told what you want to hear then don’t hear back for weeks maybe months. For example rear garden ever since we moved in back in 2019 has been poorly laid, not level holes everywhere, grass joints don’t join together. Reported numerous times, workers have come to look at it and two years later we are still waiting. Redrow also charge £1000 to have grass installed in your rear garden and this is the result SHOCKING! Also the rear gate has collapsed and doesn’t close properly again been waiting for this to be repaired for nearly a year and still waiting. Our front railings weren’t installed in the ground properly, workers came to complete cementing them in the ground to be secure. Resulting in my front looking a mess clumps of soil lost all the bark that was there with trees, reported to redrow back in May said it would be sorted with fresh bark. Still waiting to this day! My biggest concern is council apartments have been built behind our property, our front lawn has been attached to the front greenery of the council apartments. We have not been secured off privately as in plans when purchased as you can see in images. Paying 300,000 for a home to only have you attached to apartments is utterly disgusting. Again reported this back in April/May, still waiting to this day. Back in February of this year my partner and I had amazing news that we was expecting our first baby, I informed redrow customer service of our situation, voiced my concerns that I want all remaining snags completed before the baby is here as I do not want to deal with workers at our home whilst we have a new born. Totally agreed and promised things would be done, my partner is due in November and we are still waiting for the work to be even started it’s laughable. All last minute, disorganised, lack of communication and poor time scaling. Do me and my partner regret buying a redrow home, indeed we do!!!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Can’t fault the location of our property.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Sold the perfect first dream home, until you receive the keys. Been living it in for nearly 2 years and your reported snags just take longer and longer!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very slowly, in fact some issues have taken two years!!

1
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice estate

Review Date Feb 2021

Houses all look very nice, once you’ve moved in they couldn’t care less about you. The design and build quality is quite good, the roads haven’t been finished properly 3 years on from moving in. More concerned with building more than finishing off the ones they’ve already built and sold. O

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There’s a shop that is a 20 minute walk away. Not too far from the train station and bus stop. Local pub 15 minute walk.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Get a professional snagger in and make sure you document and record they have sorted things.

What is the best feature of your home:

The large kitchen dining living room on the back of the house. This is where we spend all of our time. Also, the really high ceilings, really make the house look special.

1
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely area, nice looking homes, cheap quality windows

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Though the development looks nice from the outside, as you move in it looks cramped and busy, with too many different styles of house in a row. There are no pavements in some roads which cause issues with parking and walking on a road. The windows are terrible quality and you can hear everthing outside, this is incredibly disappointing given the houses are so much more expensive, though these windows are cheap and low quality. We were given “Free Turf” as an incentive, though it is awful, bumpy and has weeds groing through, no top soil was added when laying and the ground wasn’t flattened before turf was layed, as well as being lumpy and bumpy, the garden slopes terribly.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is situated close to the M53, has hreat access to the wirral and north Wales. There is public transport in the way of bus routes and the neatest train station is a 15 minute walk. There are conviniece stores and supermarkets nearby and a great pub nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we could hear the sound proofing of the windows beforehand, or lack there of. This is something that would definitely have had a bearing on our decision to buy.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have raised our snag lists which have been resolved very quickly, I have no complaints with any repairs, though our complaints regarding the garden were ignored.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
2
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Balanced Review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The design at the front of the development is lovely especially the posts either side of the road. I think it’s extremely aesthetically pleasing.
The actual design of house plots isn’t the best. I’ve noticed from walking around there is no ‘perfect plot – which to me would be at the end of a cul de sac , nice and quiet. However it seems you are either really near an access path or park. Additionally the windows are extremely poor quality so if someone is talking walking walking it sounds as if they are right outside your house! Some cul de sacs do not have paths and you can’t park on the road without either being over a drive or opposite a drive which can make it difficult to exit the drive.
Overall I do enjoy living on this development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

This are is 20 minutes from Chester, Liverpool and North Wales. It is extremely convenient because the development is 2 minute drive from the Welsh road and 7 minute to the motorway. Little Sutton as a town has typical local shops and pubs. Pretty much anything you need you could get here.
Although little Sutton train Station is a 3 min drive there is no parking so have to go to Ellesmere Port Station but that is only a 10 min drive.
The development and housing estates next to it are really nice and you feel comfortable walking around.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Not to accept turf as an incentive to buy. Our turf was so uneven, had hole in and has caused us no ends of problems trying to sort and cost us a lot more to fix then just turfing it ourselves. We raised to redrow a number of times and got nowhere!

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Window quality. If people are having a conversation in the street you can hear so unless you have tv/music on it can be really noisy.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Resident of Ledsham Garden Village

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The development is well spaced out. It’s very pleasant to walk around the development and also the surrounding area. When completed there will be lots of green space and the huge green is a nice feature.

There is a children’s play area but at the time of writing this it’s currently waterlogged and padlocked closed.

There is an annual charge for the upkeep of the development, However, this is fine as it keeps all the green space in nice condition.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

With walking distance of Little Sutton. No local parks or playground. Walking distance of two Primary schools with ‘good’ rating but disappointing High schools.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Don’t be worried about hearing a neighbour (if semi-detached) as the houses have great sound proofing.

What is the best feature of your home:

I’m really happy with the layout of the house it really maximises the space. The downstairs WC is a really good size.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The main Issue on this site is the access to bins. There is a massive problem with dog waste which has been reported to the council, but Redrow will not put up bins as it ruins the aesthetic. This is causing people to not pick up their dog waste, which is a problem in itself, but people don’t have anywhere to throw the waste.
Other than that the estate is lovely, well managed and maintained.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The transport links for this estate are great. You are close to liverpool, Chester, Cheshire oaks and the motorway. There is also public transport in the area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The toilet in our bathroom leaked. This was because it wasn’t connected properly due to the back to wall toilets. This caused a lot of damage and we wish we did not have one of these toilets.

What is the best feature of your home:

The additional car parking spaces are great. We have a double driveway and then 2 more spaces behind. This is great.

2
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Moving to this development has given our family everything we need from a home. Space, function, and access. The Redrow sales team were fantastic, from start to finish, and likewise the site crew have been excellent. Moving here has proven to be one of the best decisions in our life.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The design of the homes are stunning – everything a modern family needs. Aesthetically very pleasing, contemporary with a nice nod to traditional styles.

The area is kept and maintained to a good standard.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

One of the best attributes of the area is its accessibility – great links to the motorway, so Liverpool and Manchester are easy to reach, great rail links, and the surrounding area is beautiful; plenty of greenery.

The village itself offers a range of restaurants, pubs, and takeaways. Small supermarkets are within easy reach (walking distance), and likewise newsagents and a post office.

The development itself is stunning, clearly designed with living in mind. Nice open spaces, and a mix of house types that create a small village feel.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing – the sales team were so informative

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Swiftly – any and all small issues were dealt with brilliantly.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Ledsham Gardens lives up to its name

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The development has several high spec home designs and they have all been sited together with thought and attention allowing for lots of green areas and wide tree lined avenues. The newly opened central green complete with Marble centre piece pagoda will be a great place to walk and meet your neighbours and somewhere the kids will love. All in all just a great development to call home

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that you feel on the edge of the countryside but with local facilities within walking distance and road links to both the M53 and M56. I also value access to the Wirral way giving walking and cycling availability without cars. In terms of slight dislikes a walkable direct rail link to Liverpool and Chester instead of the need to change at Hooton from the Little Sutton station

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We thought we had picked a southerly facing garden and although it is we had not thought about a house due to be built behind us which actually robs us of the last hour of sunshine so always understand what the end result will be

What is the best feature of your home:

It’s bright and airy lots of windows high ceilings and looks great

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice houses, awful customer service.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The houses on the estate are well designed with high ceilings making them much lighter and appear bigger. There isn’t much in the way of facilities available on the estate which has been selling houses for nearly 5 years now. There a lot of things that need finishing off but they plow on with the new houses. Also, once they’ve done your initial snagging list it’s very difficult to get them to fix anything. The floorboards in our house are so creaky and the boiler is the loudest thing ever, but even though these issues have been ongoing since a few months after we moved in Redrow couldn’t care less.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s close to two train lines, Hooton station and the Ellesmere Port line. Unfortunately the nearest shop is a bit of a walk away and all local walks start with a walk on a busy main road. It’s also close enough to the motorway without hearing the noises.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It’s a very nice estate with a lot of friendly people. Overall I would buy again but get a professional snagger in and document everything in email for proof.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They responded initially but some issues took that long to sort were out of warranty and they do not care.

2
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall happy.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

Roads need to be layed quicker. Parks developed better and quicker. Do away with hideous open land drain flood defence facility. Looks horrendous. Bigger driveways for a £440000 Henley. Would be better if less gardens back on to each other. More spacious feel.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We need shops and a school. Better parks.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Chase snag list items harder and don’t except poor fixes.

What is the best feature of your home:

Living space across the back is excellent for family life and entertaining.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Also by this company

Explore other developments by Redrow

Location

Redrow
Number of developments 59

3.93

Average rating based on 699 reviews

View company