Development image of Hendon Waterside, NW9

Hendon Waterside, NW9

9th

Ranked 9th out of 14 in Colindale

By Barratt London

3.81

(143 reviews)

Hendon Waterside is a large regeneration scheme by Barratt London. Comprised of over 2,000 one, two and three-bedroom homes, this development is located in West Hendon. Which is also adjacent to the Welsh Harp Reservoir. As well as this, it is a 5-minute walk from Hendon station, it has direct links to Central London.

Facilities

  • Concierge

  • Parking

  • Barratt London

Developments you may also like

Latest Reviews

3.81

143 total reviews

Stats

Overall

3.82

Facilities

3.83

Design

3.99

Location

3.86

Value

3.67

Management

3.57

Viewing 1-5 out of 143
Think again…it’s all smoke and mirrors

Don’t do it (Owner)

Verified Resident

Feb 2023

The development itself has some highlights including pedestrian areas near the co-op and some kids playground facilities. The buildings are fairly well insulated but we had a load of issues (leaks, bath not making temperate etc) all resolved by Barratt fairly well but disappointing overall. The property management services are managed by FirstPort and I strongly advise potential buyers in any dev run by them to do your homework online. You have been warned.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

Know what you’re getting into. We spent hours looking at online reviews and were ultimately swayed to buy two years ago by some of the glowing reports here and in other places. The harp is stunning and the walking trails are a real highlight but that’s where anything positive I have to say ends unfortunately. FirstPort are a walking scan and do nothing…almost literally. It’s been hell trying to resolve issues with them, most notably security-based ones. The area is Afghani dominant and that is all well and good until you have to deal with the gangs, the anti-social behaviour (they use like bikes to deal drugs and steal phones), the constant littering, threats (homophobia and the like) and breaking into blocks constantly. The local councillor, Ernest, has tried for a year with these issues but between Barratt, FirstPort and the local policing team, nobody seems willing or able to fix or assist in any way. It’s a dump. Take your hard-earned money somewhere else, these properties aren’t likely to rise in value based on the inaction and general state of the area.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They haven’t. Years of emails go ignored, we are actively gaslight by them and then when they offer to meet and supply dates (at their request), the radio silence begins. People feel unsafe, unheard and bitterly disappointed and angry.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How awful FirstPort are and how many gangs operate, at will and seemingly without fear of consequence, in this badly run down area.

1

Facilities

4

Design

1

Location

2

Value

1

Management

Review image for review 2dce02f4-4b2f-43d1-ac2a-e2e1ee827ef2

No looking back

Katey (Owner)

Verified Resident

Jun 2022

Excellent design for privacy that I only became aware of during lockdown. Very well managed and nicely kept gardens. Staff are very helpful and go above and beyond despite being incredibly busy. The flat has worn well and I’m extremely glad I moved here. Very good post-sales care.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

Near to train station and there are now some new shops in the area. There is the current absence of a good restaurant.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes - all addressed very swiftly and in an understanding manner.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It may have been good to understand the electricity meter is in the basement which means I cannot currently get a smart meter due to no reception

5

Facilities

5

Design

4

Location

4

Value

5

Management


Management is awful

Hamid (Owner)

Verified Resident

Jun 2022

I’m living here for 3 years The area is not safe properly More than 50 times stollen so many thing from parking and no one care Management is awful and you can’t find anyone to complain about your issues The people who live here are I organised and most of the time lift,floor and carpets are dirty

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

The area is not safe properly Management is awful The people who live here are I unorganised

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Management is awful no one care about any issues Just I can say zero

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Bad

2

Facilities

3

Design

3

Location

3

Value

1

Management


7 years of housing bliss, love it here

Nikhil (Owner)

Verified Resident

May 2022

well sized apartments, great facilities & a nice place to live. there's plenty of greenery & the building are well spaced apart. the facilities like the gym & concierge work well & are open a good portion of the day. the security for the building is great & i feel secure

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

set back off the main road, the development is super quiet & you can't hear passing cars. the apartments well lit and receive a good amount of sunlight. as the area is still being developed - the parking spots are very limited

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

9/10 basically amazing of the course of the 7 years, bar 1 issue which i thought was really poor on their part

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

limited number of parking spots

5

Facilities

4

Design

5

Location

4

Value

4

Management


If I knew when I bought what I know now, I would have avoided buying at Hendon Waterside.

primrose (Owner)

Verified Resident

Mar 2021

Unfortunately I wouldn't rate Hendon Waterside highly. My flat is a good layout and space efficient but that is the end of the positives. From the outset Barratt lied while selling me my flat. After they had our money you could see that there was no longer any customer service, the after sales team had to be chased several times, you'd never receive an acknowledgement on your email. I have lived in the property almost two years and their are several faults, but again unless you contact and chase them five times you won't get anything done about this. There have been lots of issues with gates/ access doors to access property building which is a huge safety factor meaning sometimes the gates and doors would not close so anyone could potentially enter the building. The property management are the poorest of them all, unfortunately first port are the worst property managers I have ever come across, considering the high service charge you really do not get what you pay for; the concierge who is employed by first port even complains about them.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

There is quite a lot of anti-social behavior in the area, lots of drug dealing, theft & crime. I see or hear about a car being broken into around three times a week which is unfortunate. I've witnessed a lot of drug dealing and often people doing drug in the children's parks. There is a lot of litter on the development but that is down to the management company not being efficient.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management are below average, unfortunately for the price you pay for service charge they are useless; I have enough examples that I could sit here a write all day.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I think any questions you have about where you live ensure the sales team put it all in writing as we were verbally lied to so that they could get a quick sale. I'd also say you need lots of patience and expect to have to chase often in order to get a response from Barratt, aftersales, and the property management company first port.

2

Facilities

3

Design

2

Location

1

Value

1

Management


Page 1 of 29

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Hendon Waterside, NW9

9th

Ranked 9th out of 14 in Colindale

More developments in Colindale