Hazelmere, CW1

Hazelmere, CW1

By
Bovis Homes
Ranked 11th out of 16 in Cheshire
3.99 (18 reviews) 3.99 (18 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.83
Facilities
3.78
Design
4.72
Location
3.89
Value
3.67
Management

Hazelmere is a new development by Bovis Homes situated on the edge of the Cheshire village of Haslington, a few miles from the busy town of Crewe.

Read more Read less

Hazelmere, CW1 Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

No major concerns: great home and friendly neighbourhood

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Our property is well designed with plenty of space for a family of 4. Large living area and decent sized bedrooms and the garden is easy to maintain.
Kitchen has plenty of cupboard space however boiler could of been boxed in for presentation. Extractor fan switches are quite high up for you to reach and can only be turned on if the light is on which at times isn’t needed, this could of been a separate switch to allow it to be on without the light being on.
Kitchen does not have space for a tumble dryer which is the only downfall.
Aftercare have always been friendly and quick to respond to queries resolving any issues in a timely manner.
Site staff are friendly however at times cannot be considerate of parking and cigarette ends thrown outside of property onto grass and pavement for myself to clean up.
Sometimes the language of the site staff is not appropriate for young children playing out or in gardens.
Park on the estate is well designed and accessible to all ages of children however the bins can become overflowing and do not seem to be emptied as often as needed.
Pavements have recently been tarmaced but for months have been uneven and dangerous in places. Driveway was not accessible for 6 months prior to moving into the property.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Living on McMillen road is great, neighbours are respectful and mainly families. We have had no issues with our bin collection.
We have a double drive with adequate parking available roadside for visitors.
Quick 5 minute walk into the village with access to local bus links.
Shops nearby with a range of regular goods needed within the family.
Plenty of open spaces surrounding the estate for lovely walks within the countryside.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

To order bins immediately as signed up.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely and peaceful

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Lloyd Jones Road is sadly very busy at the moment, since it is the main through road for the entire estate while it’s being built. Since it’s a very narrow road, we often worry about our cars when people speed past our house at much faster speeds than necessary. A 20mph speed limit would be very helpful on the estate, especially since there are so many children and a playground right where people drive the fastest. The estate is very quiet and peaceful, with plenty of green spaces and surrounded by fields. Everything is working well, but phone signal is very poor, which makes it very difficult to make phone calls without a landline. Since the estate is still being built, I can’t really comment on it as a whole, or the facilities since they have not yet been built.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Moving to Hazelmere from Northwich, it felt nice to come closer to Crewe with all its amenities. The local area in Haslington offers a very limited range of shops, restaurants etc, so within walking distance there is very little. Since we drive, we can’t say anything about public transport links but we often see buses going past the estate.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there is very poor or no phone signal – it would have helped in moving and communicating with deliveries.
That it is so quiet that neighbours hear EVERYTHING. Speak quietly if you don’t want to be overheard.
Traffic on our road (Lloyd Jones) is very heavy while the estate is being built, and since it’s narrow it struggles to handle it. It would be helpful to direct cars and vans around Leaman Road, which is broader with fewer parked cars.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We haven’t raised any issues with the building management since we moved in, but the previous owner told us that the response was prompt when she did.

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Spacious rooms, great development.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

When buying the property we had a very lovely sales team always helping along the process. There were a few snags with the property as expected which were dealt with promptly and efficiently. We were followed up with regularly if there were any other problems that needed fixing however there were not. The house itself is exactly what we were looking for. Very happy with the design as it is very spacious and other new builds we have seen, the rooms can be quite small but ours is the opposite.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

As the development hasn’t been completed yet we have a lot of vehicles driving past our house currently. Hopefully this should calm down once the development has finished and the road through the middle of the estate has been completed.
We have double parking spaces on our property however guests find it difficult to find spaces to park along the road.
No problems with transport links.
Bins are always collected without a problem.
I have lived in the village all my life and love it. There are a few pubs and clubs for the locals and a nice restaurant and cafe. There are a few shops conveniently spaced throughout the village as well as other local amenities such as hairdressers and beauticians etc. There are a couple of parks for children in the village including one actually on our estate.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We were told to order our outdoor bins early due to the long delivery time. This enabled us to receive them within a week of moving in which was handy.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The had everything resolved quickly and promptly..

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A new build estate, but quite a nice one

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The development is managed in a way that we don’t notice problems and/or issues arising or being fixed. I guess this can only be good since we don’t notice them. The progress of the development itself isn’t clear and we have no understanding of where the building is up to which would be nice since it affects us all living there in some way of another.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local shops are very limited since it’s a small village. But the closest town is good and not an inconvenience to travel to by car. There are several bars, restaurants and takeaways to choose from in the town too. Transport links seem to be good. Personally I use my own, but there are several bus stops within walking distance of the estate. Our street is okay. The houses clearly.are not designed for a two car household as many of our street have to park one on the driveway, one ok the road. The roads are also very narrow which doesn’t help the situation. As it seems with most new builds, we’re packed in like sardines to make the most of the land and profits of the building company. Traffic noise is moderate since the main roadway on our estate isn’t currently open due to the development so it’s to be seen if this calms down. The main road away from the estate is barely noticeable from my location. Bin collections are consistent and as you’d expect.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How overlooked and closed in we’d feel. The shear amount of traffic due to the main road not being accessible. How small the entry way was to the back yard. How either side plots have, what should be, our space for bins and/or passage ways.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have had no issues raised personally so cannot comment. There was a sunken area of road which did take several weeks to be spotted and rectified, but other than that we’ve had no issues.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Beautiful location and homes, but some hiccups

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The development is well designed, however some of the newer properties, being 3 story houses, don’t quite blend with some of the other, 2 story detached properties leading to a mismatch in style. The landscaping is lush and green, but up-keeping in the autumn and winter is sporadic. There is a play area for children which is ideal, however keeping this clean and the rubbish from the public bins emptied appears challenging

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is beautiful, quiet and has access to good services like shops and health care. The walks are lovely and very little local noise

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Check the water and soil quality independently as these have been hard to adapt around for cleaning maintenance.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Slowly unfortunately. Raising issues to the aftercare team has required a number of chaser contacts – while these are small issues, they are big to us as they have really impacted our enjoyment of our new home.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent location, poor development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

It’s quite obvious they have tried to get as many houses as possible onto the site, not thinking about road width, and also quality of the road is very poor in places, already having to be patched up to a bad standard that will eventually before long need repairing properly. We have had a few Issues with the property in our short tenancy of 2 years, they were resolved quite quickly, without question, quality of the lawns is basically a weed fest, laid on building rubble as it doesn’t grow properly, and is patchy. The park is very good for younger Children, but to
My knowledge has had equipment brake on a few occasions, but quickly fixed by bovis.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The village location is lovely, can’t fault it, walking distance of shops, Crewe and Sandbach within a short drive away, easy to get to
M6.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish we’d have known the quality of the property before we moved into it.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, we have found that they have responded well and quickly to any issues we have had.

3
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

New home new start

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

As a development its still ongoing but as a new build its pretty its clean solid community and work done with little upset the reserve is on going and when done local nature will do the rest a pleasant home and community

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The development is a super area with good abilities locally a village with character history and a great community spirit we have felt very welcome since arriving and as a small village it truly has everything pubs clubs restaurants shops of all kinds etc the house tho had minor issues were dealt with in a sympathic manner and to our satisfaction super build great community well done bovis and trafford

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Just would have liked to know more about area Village but ok tbf

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Friendly Development in Friendly Village

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Development is still under construction and the workers are polite and considerate of the residents at all times. The area is kept safe and clean. The children’s play park is a great facility which is regularly used.
The variety of housing designs makes it an interesting development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lovely friendly village with rural walks local pubs, small shops. Located near larger towns of Crewe and Sandbach for convenient shopping and rail links.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Bins need to be purchased from Cheshire East and can take awhile to arrive.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Really nice site

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

It is a good devoplmemt really nice site peaceful as a personal opinion i think the houses should be built the with the lounge at the front as carpark I at the back and many people have pets nowadays would easier access the other way round

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Is has easy access for a bus route but would be good if was a bus running on a sunday

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

You don’t really get told about emergency i.e if something happens with the boiler

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The housing association have been responsive with questions and querys

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

So far, love it!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Lovely house have no complaints at all. However, takes quite a while to get stuff fixed. The area is quiet and the neighbours are very friendly. Great transport links into main city as well as train and bus stations. It was our desired location too. I would definitely recommend.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good parking availability, bin collection, no anti social behaviour, great location and quiet area

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

N/a

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Overally good but takes time for stuff ro get fixed

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 20

3.58

Average rating based on 198 reviews

View company