About Bovis Homes

Part of Vistry Group

Bovis Homes, started by Charles William Bovis created the beginning of Bovis Homes in 1885. Bovis Homes builds a range of homes, everything from apartments and starter homes through to five and six-bedroom family houses. In addition Bovis, deliver smaller developments of around 100 dwellings, to larger urban extensions with over 1000 new homes. As well as this Bovis will provide supporting infrastructure. Bovis build for the private market, and also work in partnership with housing associations, councils and other public sector agencies, providing affordable, quality homes, in sustainable locations.

Bovis Homes Developments

Wendelburie Rise in Stanton Cross is a Bovis Home development. The development sits on the eastern edge of the historic town of Wellingborough. Residents benefit a range of 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 bed homes on offer. In addition, there is leisure, retail and office space being constructed. As well as this there new public parks and schools being built for the wider Stanton Cross development. Stanton Cross residential areas are divided into 5 phases, each with their own unique character.  Set within the first phase, is Wendelburie Rise.

Bovis Homes Reviews

You can read more reviews from Bovis Homes residents by clicking on the properties below. Similarly, do you live in a Bovis Homes development? Click here to share your experience with the HomeViews community.

Number of Developments

20

Ratings

3.58 Rating

Rating (based on 198 reviews)

Excellent

19.70%

Very Good

40.40%

Average

25.76%

Disappointing

8.59%

Very Poor

5.56%

Developments

MAP

Showing all 20 developments

Bovis Homes reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 198 reviews

Nice community, average development

The development is a work in progress and will still be a number of years until it is close to being finished. This means it feels we are living on a building site all the time however that was our choice when buying.
We love the value and space of the home however the value is reflected on the fittings and workmanship. We are 9 months into living in our home and still have a lot of snags to be completed but that is also due to lack of continuity amongst Bovis with the site managers always changing. I would say customer care is not the top of priorities for Bovis/Vistry.
Dorchester manage the development and they are not very transparent with what is actually happening versus what they promise.
The facilities we are gaining are through the hard work of local residents such as a bike and coffee shop which fits perfectly in this area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Dorchester have promised a lot in this development and it is very slow to produce its promises. This is not just due to covid delays. On the plus side we recently have a Sainsbury’s local, a good private dentist and a bike and coffee shop.
The main road is badly maintained which is made worse by the constant HGVs and car transporters from the hangars and this is also very noisy. This could be relived by building the road at the back of the estate which was a selling point to new buyers.
There are several parks although not the best I think they are building a couple more that will be better. The schools are in walking distance and there is great community spirit.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known we had more choices and upgrades to personalise our new home.
We paid a professional snagger and it was the best money we spent as they look at things we never knew could be an issue.
NHBC guidelines are a public document and I have read many of them since moving in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Badly. There have been 7 site managers in 9 months and the higher management cannot seem to put a customer care hat on and only talk in money and how much it will set them back.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

the after sales service (customer care) has been very poor

The development is to a good standard and we do not regret moving here, but not without its issues. The houses behind us are a little closer than we expected and we were misadvised in relation to the location of the shared ownership houses, which are directly behind us. The pre sales service was excellent and Julie in particular was very helpful and always available to answer any questions and to assist us. However the after sales service (customer care) has been very poor with them being very slow in addressing the snagging issues. If we did not chase nothing would be done and the organisation and coordination of the snagging works is poor. We found that the site managers when they were responsible for addressing the snagging tried to pull the wool over our eyes and give us excuses in the hope we would not pursue certain snagging issues. We always expected some snagging but they need to improve their service in addressing any issues.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We love living in wombourne we are a short walk and drive away from local convenience stores, coffee shop and restaurants. We love living on our street our neighbours are lovely. Some people have moved in behind and they have had a few gatherings and they have disturbed our daughters sleep but other than that we love living in the area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If we had known about using a snagging company before we moved in we would have got them in as soon as we moved in like one of our neighbours did and they have seemed to have had their snagging issues addressed sooner, as the snagging issues found initially are dealt with by the site and not customer care.

What is the best feature of your home:

We love our kitchen/diner and the house seems bigger than our old 4 bed detached house even though this house is only 3 bed.

5
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice estate, building management could have been much better.

The house design and layout is nice. Only small gripe is that many people with Long driveways (opposed to the wide ones,) unfortunately tend to park only one car on their drive and one on the road, presumably so they don’t have to keep swapping the cars around.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is great, close enough to town yet far enough away for it to be quieter. With a small local shop in the village to pop to for milk etc, and supermarkets a small drive away.
The main issue is that there is only one way out of this fairly large estate, this can get busy at times and will only get worse when the more people move into the remaining houses. It’s a shame there is no road out onto offchurch road to improve this. However, the walk way there is useful.
It’s also a shame the local pub is currently looking for a new owner again.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I was never shown the detailed plans for the building and grounds, which indicates that our garden was to be sloped and what we were promised by the sales team was incorrect… Who designs a house to have an unusable sloped garden? After a lot of effort I’ve managed to level it off, with no prior knowledge of landscaping, so I see this as laziness on Bovis’ part. Either way, these plans should be readily available before reserving a property.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I feel most have been responded to poorly, both in terms of time and quality. I have mentioned some issues in the developer comments, but to give another example with the drive way, we had plants growing up through the surface, resulting in it being dug out and redone, however, the issue is still there and we are still waiting for it to be sorted….over 2 years later.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A great development for families and commuters to settle down in. Needs local amenities in place asap.

The development in general is good. The house prices are good value for the area and the location is very well placed for both commuters and those working in local area. Facilities do need improving and the local parkland that residents are paying for has not been landscaped in any way as promised by the developers.

Once other facilities such as schools, doctors, retail are within the development it will significantly enhance the experience of living here but these things need to happen sooner rather than later.

The management of properties and aftercare from the developer is poor. Communication is not great and a lot of the properties seem to have been rushed to completion.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local facilities are generally good with Rushden Lakes on the doorstep. The development is still missing key facilities within it, such as retail, school, medical etc which many people expected to be in place by now.

Transport links are excellent with train station on our doorstep and good routes in/out of the development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We wish we’d have known the logistics involved in living on a working site. Once the section where your house is completes, that doesnt mean you wont have a lot of noise and mess for quite some time after.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes they have responded to issues raised but the communication is poor and the timescales to resolve issues leaves a lot to be desired.

2
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More