Havelock Estate, UB2

Havelock Estate, UB2

By
Catalyst Housing
Ranked 50th out of 129 in West London
3.46 (based on 22 reviews) 3.46 (22 reviews)

Category Scores

3.32
Facilities
3.59
Design
3.64
Location
3.59
Value
2.95
Management

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Happy to live here, great location a great views to the canalside

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The development is very well built in terms of solar orientation. Flats are spacious and floor to celling windows allow a lot of light to come in. Walls are mainly plasterboard which actually helps with noise insulation ( I can’t hear any noise coming from neighbours!) and easiness to drill on walls to hang furniture. Not so nice things: Roof has not been built to last and had to be redone by the builders after some leaks were noticed with rain coming through the winter. Also some problems with the pipes as very noisy when running hot water, which have now been fixed.
Communal areas have very basic specs, no decoration whatsoever and everything is pretty much painted in white or grey. However there are spacious communal gardens separating the buildings. Inside specs are average to good, solid wooden doors and floor are probably the best of it. Bike storage room is one of the best thought things in the building as well as the two front doors that create an additional hallway to separate access to mail boxes from access to the flats.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The estate is between the busy Southall centre and the quiet neighbourhoods that stand by the Grand Union Canal which makes both green areas, such as Osterley Park and comercial high streets at walking distance. GP practice and pharmacy just around the corner and post office 10min walking distance, all good things. Southall is still going through a revamping plan and some surrounding areas are still to be avoided as old industrial areas are getting slowly replaced by new housing and green places.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had seen the flat finished before buying it, so I could have a better sense of the size.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The Zanussi washing machine. The actual one coming with the flat is not really good and has already given me problems.

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A surprisingly exceptional development, amidst many London developments which all looks samey. Improvements as ever, but it’s a great spot.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Visually, the area looks so impressive. Having moved in 3 years ago when the area was 1/4 done, to see how far it has come now – it’s incredible and everyone that comes to visit is super impressed by the area, the greenery, and that such an area exists in the heart of such a busy area.

The quality of the houses are better than the majority if new builds, but they certainly have flaws which I think the developer should take more ownership over. Very frustrating for home owners to have basic issues with the house that haven’t been / can’t be resolved, even though we paid a premium.

The area is ‘decently’ looked after – but I think more should be done as there is a litter issue.

Parking is a problem, and I don’t think there is a plan to solve this unfortunately.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

In view of Crossrail, the connection to Southall station will be incredible. Even presently, to be into Paddington Station within 15-20 minutes. The road connections in theory are great; M4, A40, A4, locally into Ealing. However the traffic makes travelling during the day twice as long to any direction, which is no exaggeration.

In terms of local food and restaurants – faultless. Significant variety that can delivery, and if you travel for 10 minutes you reach Hounslow and Ealing which opens up significantly more options.

The quality of the infrastructure in the area is not handling current population levels, and my worry is that with so many new areas being built, the infrastructure may not scale with him.

Two local significant supermarkets in the area too.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Traffic really is horrific in the area.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

An extension of the kitchen area to have a larger downstairs living room!

4
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

One for the future

Review Date Nov 2020

The house is really poorly built – had leaks from all three toilets within first 3 months.

No facilities within walking distance so you must have a car or face a 30 minutes return journey to your nearest super market.

User to be a lot of doggy people around but now the development has knocked most of the council estate down so situation is improving.

Parking is free but you do get into competition in some areas of the development, where it’s near the canal where a lot of boat people live – they all drive.

However you do get new builds connected to the Elizabeth line, so if you are investing for the long game a very good bid.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes

– new built and a garden in London
– good neighbours
– affordable price
– free parking
– on Elizabeth line

Dislikes

– poor built quality
– lack of facilities at the moment
– 15 minutes walk from train station

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How dodgy the area is

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes but wasn’t easy and there is a whole debate about warranty period – apparently the builders have started their warranty after they hand over to developer, but the developer didn’t manage to sell the houses in time so customer getting less warranty period

2
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice design, bad management.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The development itself is really nice and is well connected with Heatrow airport and Paddington.
Hopefully the cross rail will make easier commuting to the center.
The path by the canal is truly a lovely area – just towards Ealing and Brentford though.
The problem are the property management and building management – is just awful. The flats are not built properly and we had problems with water infiltration. They kept ignoring our complaints and it took a year for them to fix it.
Catalyst uses every little excuse to increase the service charge without asking first. But, if you have a problem is really difficult reaching someone at Catalyst who will be able to help you.
Very disappointed with the management in general.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is always dirty.
No enough parking.
There are groups of teenagers selling drugs. People do not respect the parking signs and there is rubbish everywhere.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The issue about the fire certificate. We have recently known that we might have problems selling or remortgaging the flat because of it.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The area where is placed and of course the roof of the building, since is still wetting my walls.

1
Facilities
4
Design
2
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Decent property in a nice location in Southall

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Buildings are newly constructed and are pretty good. The materials used are good as well so far. There are few in homes in our apartment complaining about noise in their pipes and some leakage on the wall and ceiling., we don’t have that problem so far. Our building is cleaned once every week and its ok. Garden maintenance within the building premise is just average as there is no maintenance or non one looks after it. Building management is ok as well. they respond to your queries promptly though some times its not relevant for you.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Havelock estate is in an amazing location with the canal and the new open garden. The estate looks neat and its fresh. Southall station is about 15-20 min walk (reach Paddington in 10 min), there is a bus stand just round the corner of the estate. A little walk and there are plenty shops, though they are all Indian influenced shops.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Do a thorough research of what is coming up later and some new developments around. You might want to check the travel time to the station near by.

What is the best feature of your home:

Our apartment is location in the 3rd floor corner, so we have an amazing view of the canal on one side and a nice green view of the garden on the other so thats the best feature (View).

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Okay development, houses need to be finished to a better quality for private sale

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

The development is overall of a good quality but not outstanding. We have had many defects in the house, some of which are still outstanding since March 2020 – incorrectly installed heating and faulty plumbing, broken doorbell, creaky joists – so it has been a constant case of reporting and chasing the contractors, overall design of estate is okay but quality of properties isn’t what I expected for the hefty price tag

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the proximity of transport, however there is not much in the way of local shopping near the development, including a decent convenient store

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Accurate measurement of floor space for ordering furniture (taking into account radiators and skirting boards) would make ordering furniture less stressful whilst waiting to complete

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The amount of issues that we have had with the house that haven’t been small

3
Facilities
4
Design
2
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very disappointing.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

I am very disappointed after our purchase. Firstly we have been mis-sold on a large number of things. When we have moved in the development was no where near completion, we have lived on a construction site for the first several weeks. The house is a very poor quality from a few leaks happening in the first weeks, wonky walls, the garden has pot holes… I could continue. The after care team is absolute nightmare to deal with. Not sticking to legal obligations, rude, extremely unhelpful. We really regret purchasing this home. So many other issues I could include…

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is ok for people with a car, except there is no parking. The parking has not been thought out at all.
There is no big shops near, limited variety of restraints, there is 2 corner stores near but one sells expedited products.
Transport is a disaster with only one bus route running near by and the bus takes a really long / back route around southall elongating the journey by an extra 30 minutes at least. For example it’s a 20 minute walk to southall station and a 25 minute bus ride …
All those factors are really disappointing, especially that the development location was really falsely up-sold.
The only nice thing is the canal near by but even then the path is a horrible state, difficult to walk with a stroller ect.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

– that we can not use the garden
– all the things we we’re mis-sold on
(Storage, ability to instal a dishwasher, we were told no council tenants are in the development (there is), that our road would not be completed meaning we would be barricaded out of our street during our move, generally living on a construction site the first several weeks, that the park we were paying maintenance fees for would not be built till around April/ June (they started charging us in January I believe)… I could go on

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Yes, most things. The home is built very poorly, you can tell it has been rushed and that the construction workers must not have been experienced.
At first glance it looks nice, clean white walls but in practise it doesn’t work. The house has not been thought out at all.
There is a lot I would change.

1
Facilities
2
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Communication is lacking

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

Building management and communication is very poor. Emails are left without response in regards to issues with the development. No transparent communication. Building in itself is nice and I’m happy with it. Cleaning is only done once a week if not less. Not enough parking bays or places where you can store motorbikes.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Rubbish not being cleaned from the side of the roads
Not enough bins by the canal and park
Not enough transport links
No shops close enough for everyday groceries
No coffee shops
A lot of questionable individuals and groups of individuals hanging around drinking etc by the canal

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Developer and lack of communication and help when needed.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Happy with the flat apart from the damp wall which was reported few weeks ago and left without response or acknowledgement.

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Wish I could give 0 stars

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Parking is a huge issue which nobody is willing to resolve.
Home built quality is very poor compared to price paid.
Children from other neighbourhood are allow to play ball games.
Overall very dissapointed.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very poorly designed.
Not worth the price paid.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Parking

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Built good quality overall & design proper parking

1
Facilities
1
Design
3
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good place to live. Accessibility to central London and good amenities. Some areas need an update

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Not enough parking for residents makes it very difficult especially at night with a baby. Havelock road is uneven and pavement parking either side makes it difficult to navigate. There are always delays during rush hour as it’s also a bus route. Park and green spaces are good.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good access to central London via train. Buses also accessible. Shops nearby. Some roads need serious works. Potholes and generally looking bad.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there are plans to create more access than just havelock road. Would be very useful

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Front parking outside the house instead of the gate and green patch. Ground works aren’t great so under the chipping was horrible. Weed membrane should have been used at least. More open plan downstairs (the small room isn’t the most useable space). Kitchen counter quartz and mirrors in the toilets like the back houses – disappointed the quality isn’t consistent.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Havelock Estate, UB2

Location

About Catalyst Housing

Based in various locations around the UK, with offices in Ealing, Kensington, Reading and Oxford, Catalyst Housing is one of…
Number of developments 6

3.84

Average rating based on 88 reviews

View company