Goodman’s Fields, E1

Goodman’s Fields, E1

Berkeley Homes
Ranked 43rd out of 208 in East London

Rating Details

4.16 (based on 24 reviews) 4.16 (24 reviews)

Excellent

33%

Very Good

54%

Average

13%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Category Scores

4.13
Facilities
4.38
Design
4.46
Location
3.75
Value
3.95
Management

Located moments away from both Aldgate East and Aldgate Underground stations, Goodman’s Fields features a collection of 864 one, two, three and four bedroom apartments and studios in a 23-storey building. London Fenchurch Street is also within a short walking distance from the development with links into Central London.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Everything’s local

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

It was a super easy process to purchase our flat via the developer, Berkeley Homes. The person who was assigned to us was very helpful. We chose to purchase at Goodman’s fields because of its amazing location as well as all the onsite facilities like the gym, pool, cinema and sauna which were all included.

We have lived in the flat since April and we have had no major issues with it. The only minor issue was that it took about 2 weeks to get fobs to get access to the underground bike storage space and during this time, my boyfriend had left his bike outside the development, which although was locked up, a part of it was stolen.

Overall, I am quite happy with the management of the building. The only thing is that the concierge could do with a bit more training. The concierge service is available 24/7 but the managers are only available between 9-5 so getting something done outside these hours is difficult. Generally, however the service works well, and they are brilliant at dealing with deliveries. They left some guide books in the flat as well as some contact numbers for us to get in contact with them. When we did have some issues with our air con, these were dealt with quite promptly. They have gone above and beyond for us.

We were able to personalise our flat at the development stage and got to choose the colour scheme of the appliances and features, which we kept pretty minimalist in order to be able to decorate. The flat is very stylish and sleek with an all-white design. We have a corner flat, which has an open plan living space with lots of big windows, so we get lots of light in. We also make use of our balcony space and occasionally have dinner on it when the weather is nice. The bathrooms have been beautifully designed. They are ultra-modern and one of my favourite features is the light around the mirror, which is a nice touch.

The development does feel quite under-occupied as some of the other buildings are not open yet and it seems that some flats were built for investment. The flat beside us was empty for ages. It generally feels quite quiet and a bit like a ghost town on the site, but that’s how we prefer it. We don’t always come across our neighbours and there have been no noise issues.

We make use of the gym on the site, which is a huge perk of living here. My boyfriend uses it every morning and I always like to go to spin or a yoga class every Monday.

There is also a communal rooftop garden where you can grow your own fruit and vegetables, which we love as at the moment, the space doesn’t appear to be used much by other residents so we’re able to enjoy the space for ourselves. We like to take coffee up there and read. Having said that, the surrounding area in Shoreditch does have an amazing buzzing atmosphere and there are a number of different social events put on that we can attend at the development. For example, there have been various mixers with other residents and there is a book club, which I have been meaning to join.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is amazing. I have lived in East London since University and it holds a special place in my heart. It is very easy for my boyfriend to cycle to work and it only takes him 5 minutes. It only takes me 15 minutes for me to get the tube to work. We can get to Spitalfields Market in Shoreditch really quickly and there are lots of different options in the local area for restaurants as well as to order in from. Even at night, as a young woman I feel super safe and the security really look after us. The area itself, I always feel super safe in. As there is so much to do where we live, there is really no excuse not to do anything.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is a small shop/café opening up on the ground floor of the development. It would been better if they had built up more of a plan about what was going to be built on the site to let us know if advance, because of any issues with noise. We specifically purchased our corner flat to face away from the street and away from any major noise issues.

The way the building management communicates any issues to us could also be improved.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Not as well trained
Really friendly
Things take longer

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Drug use in this area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

I think that the quality of the building of this development is fairly good. I like how my flat is laid out.
The size of my flat is in comparison to other flats very spacious. As a building we have had issues with homeless people sleeping in side the entrance.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that’s it’s busy, plenty to do but I highly dislike the open use of drugs, people use it openly and cell it openly.
The rubbish is something I dislike. Many just toss it.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

None. I have lived in London for twenty years, I knew what I was getting into.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The entrance of the door. It’s been mishandled and we have had homeless people sleeping indoors because it won’t lock

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
2
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The building is often clean. We have had issues with the front door. The entrance door closes really slow because of disabled people to have the time to enter
Number on the door would be nice, it’s hard for others to find it since we don’t have a number on the wallet or door.
I can still hear the lift when i am inside of my flat, the lift is that loud.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that it’s so connected and close to my work. I feel relatively safe.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish had known that the empty stores would remain empty. I thought it would develop into a coffee shop but they have been empty for 2 years.

What is the best feature of your home:

I just love it. I like the layout the finishing. Theyou where we’re helpful when I moved

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Development for young professionals

The layout is good in terms of it being very spacious, professional looking and environmental friendly looking on the outside.

The gym facilities are very useful in terms of it being accessiable for us young professionals and is kept tidy.

We have a 24 hour conceirge which is handy for usuage and we use it to help us relax and vibe off of.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

This development is for young professionals, which is good as it helps to keep the focus on them and their career.

However, this development is not suitable for families as it does not cater to their needs.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is nothing I had wished before moving in.

Are there any facilities you would like added, or that you have but do not use:

No there are none that I can think of as all of the facilities I am satisfied with,

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Pretty and convenient

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The inside of the building is nothing short of amazing, I love the design of the halls and my flat is really nice, it’s spacious and modern.
Obviously the location is very good, there are plenty of stations, bus stops etc all nearby but its really central so you can pretty much walk anywhere easily.
We have a 24hr concierge that picks up my packages when I’m at work which is brilliant.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The amenites here are amazing, we have a sainsburys, countless restaurants and coffee shops, a gym, pool and cinema all on the site.
At the moment there is building going on behind the building, i think to build a new garden but its very noisy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are quite a few fees etc that i wasnt aware we had to pay before movimg in which made the place a lot more expensive than i thought itd be.

Are there any facilities you would like added, or that you have but do not use:

For me presonally i dont use the garden here but im aware that lots of people really enjoy it, other than that i cant think of amythimf we particularly need.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Fun, central and a lot going on

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

There is a centre court yard of getting rid of city noise which is great especially at night time, as it can help me to focus and get good rest.

There is a boxing place down the road which loads of residents go to sometimes, to enjoy the live entertainment.

Things in my apartment building breaks sometimes,
Which is very unfortunate seeing that it is a very well looked after development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Its a really fun area to be in as it is very central and a lot is going on which makes it a precious area to be in.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There were 5 different buildings that shared one conceirge which I felt was missold as I was expecting 1 building per conceirge.

What is the best feature of your home:

It works perfectly for me. I really like the layout of the flat.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Pretty good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

In terms of the way the building is structured, I really like the colours and the designs of the building, which gives off an industrial business-y vibe.

I love how there are a variety of supermarkets to choose from such as Sainsbury’s, a cinema, swimming pool and gym facilities, which are really handy and nearby.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I have just moved into this new development today, which I find pretty amazing so far as I feel safe.

However, due to being impressed by the area I have no dislikes so far.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is no expectations I had before moving in.

Why did you choose this development:

I did choose the development because I wanted a say in the area I was moving into.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Morden building with lots of friendly neighbours

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

I have lived in Kingwood House for a year, and I lived in Cashmere House 2 years ago. I could feel the improvements from the developer, and they always use the good brand facilities. For example, the new building has bigger wardrobe…

I chose this development because there is always use good quality facilities, and here is close to my school.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the environment and vibes here, and more and more shops are opening

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Sound insulation, good quality facilities, nice conceirge

Why did you choose this development:

They always use good quality facilities, and here is close to my school

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Comfortable challenging

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

The design is amazing here, it is beautiful. We have a garden, the flats themselves are very nice.
it is super convenient here, we have plenty of amenities such as the local sainsbury’s, restaurants and a cinema on the site itself.

The shared garden, its a good place for studying if you’re a student.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The company that supplies heating is very bad, they have trerrible service a d their customer service is really bad, they dont sort it out at all.
the convenience here is great.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The price is very high, there are lots of hidden fees to pay.

What is the best feature of your home:

The shared garden, its a good place for studying if youre a student.

3
Facilities
5
Design
2
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice but not great for a student

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2019

Liked the design and overall quality is great.

Facilities are great but there were responsive issues with the fire alarm that took a long time.

Likes there is privacy in the development as it feels very safe and secure and is less loud than other areas.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There a groceries but they are small.

There are good restuarants but there are loads of loud people in the building.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That its very hightec but there is not enough info how to setup water, wifi and bills.

Why did you choose this development:

Close to her Uni and overrall qualith and the price is high as a student.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

About Berkeley Homes

Berkeley Homes is part of Berkeley Group – one of Britain’s best-known property developers. Operating across London, Birmingham and the…
Number of developments 19

4.28

Average rating based on 426 reviews

View company